$289 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

4 stars
110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
229 reviews
Beautiful

When we arrived we were upgraded (for free) to a two bedroom corner suite on the top floor. The... See full review

  • Guzman Family
  • Oct 20, 2014
A Hidden Gem

We've stayed here twice and both times have been wonderful. The deluxe (remodeled) rooms are... See full review

  • Another Maui Regular
  • Oct 19, 2014
Dreams of a tropical tranquil Hawaiian getaway come true on the northwest shores of Maui, at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. The complex offers guests the beach as their playground, along with fabulous ocean views. Two beautiful towers front the pristine sands, and lush grounds surround this condominium resort. Every room looks across the water to the nearby islands of Lanai and Molokai, through floor-to-ceiling windows. Fall asleep to the sound of gentle waves every evening when you open your private deck to catch the tropical breeze. Fully-equipped kitchens allow guests to make breakfast in time for the unforgettable sunrises. A swimming pool, tennis courts, and shuffleboard games are available all day long at the Aston Mahana.
Key facts
  • 215 guestrooms
  • 12 floors
  • Pool
  • In-room washer and dryer
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Tennis court
  • Shuffleboard
  • Outdoor barbecues
Neighborhood
The warm ocean waters are right outside your front door, and guests can nap on the beach or dive into a snorkeling adventure through vibrant, offshore coral reefs. Look out the back of the hotel to enjoy the majestic West Maui Mountains. Upscale shopping and delicious local fare can be found just minutes down the road at the historic town of Lahaina.

Hints and tips
  • Take advantage of local grocery delivery services, and enjoy a private cookout around one of the resort's outdoor barbecues.
  • Children will especially enjoy year-round Camp Kaanapali, along with the beach ball presented to each little one at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Mahana at Kaanapali also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Aston Mahana at Kaanapali Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite Ocean Front
Two bedroom suite with king or queen bed, 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes 2 full bathrooms, Complimentary High-Speed wireless internet access, lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, full kitchen, cable TV, dataport, VCR, washer/dryer and in-room safe.
Hawaii Saver One Bedroom Ocean Front
One bedroom suite with a queen or king bed. Includes separate living area with sofabed, full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, full kitchen, cable TV, dataport, VCR, washer/dryer and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
One bedroom suite with a queen or king bed. Includes separate living area with sofabed, full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, full kitchen, cable TV, dataport, VCR, washer/dryer and in-room safe.
Freedom Studio Ocean Front
Studio suite with queen bed or queen Murphy bed. 2 person maxium in room. An infant counts as one person Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, full kitchen, cable TV, dataport, VCR, washer/dryer & in-room safe.
Studio Suite Ocean Front
Studio suite with queen bed or queen Murphy bed. 2 person maxium in room. An infant counts as one person Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, full kitchen, cable TV, dataport, VCR, washer/dryer & in-room safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Shaka
Cuisine Type Coffee Espresso and Light Fare, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 9am-5pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (229)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 229
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lynda R.
Business
Union City, California
Jun 25, 2013

Not recommended

We just returned from our vacation in Maui. We stayed in unit #807 and it was satisfactory. The only problem we had was that the DVD player in the living room did not work, they promised us a replacement but they did not deliver it. Our friends stayed in unit #909 and it was terrible. The living room was extremely hot even though the air conditioner was on. The TV remote controls did not work. The decor in this room was dated and the walls needed a paint job. The office staff was not helpful. When we checked out, we were charged for daily housekeeping services. Our understanding was that we only get charged for the days that we used the services so we requested only 2 days. The person who checked us out couldn't careless and charged us for the 7 days anyway. The only good thing about this property is that the view from our rooms was fantastic and it was at a good location. We would NOT recommend this property at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kellen
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Feb 12, 2012

Best Location for Whale Watching

The Mahana is the perfect location for whale watching during December-March, as every unit is ocean front, with spectacular views of the neighboring islands, and the whales romping offshore. Rooms are well furnished, and staff is responsive to your needs. While the Mahana does not have a Fitness Center, there is a new boardwalk which takes you all the way to Whaler's Village, and for a small fee, you can use the exercise facilities at a neighboring Aston property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Hula Pie at Leilani's on the Beach at Whaler's Village!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Birthday Girls
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Great Location!

The Mahana is in a great location! All units face the beach, awesome! Our room could have been alot cleaner, thank goodness that I carry Clorax Wipes, kitchen needed lots of attention. Beds and bed linens old and worn out. MAJOR dust bunnies. Carpets stained. When asked if we could have another room, young man at desk became kind of snarky and blew us off. Maybe a change of room would have made us 100% happy, but we will never know. Did I mention that the Mahana is in a great location! We made our decision to stay here from previous reviews, people need to be honest, trips depend on it. My advise, check out your room first and be very persistent to get what you want and deserve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sansei, the BEST sushi EVER! Worth every penny!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wakebaby
Business
Oregon
May 22, 2011

Great View

This was my 4th trip to Maui and must say this one of the nicest places yet. The place was clean, the staff very friendly and the views are beautiful. The biggest draw back to this place for me personally was the beach. There is a reef in front of this hotel than runs all the way along it and than some, so if your looking to swim you need to drive to another location. It is good for snorkeling however if thats what your interested in.Just not good for kids or swimming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Stop by Costco after you get off the plane and do some shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
kitsap county, WA
Nov 1, 2010

Beautiful Condo, Great Staff & Location

My third time staying in Kaanapali and first time staying at the Mahana. My husband and I planned this trip with good friends who have never been to Hawaii before and we wanted a condo location that would be near the beach walk and have a ocean front. Mahana did this for us and our upgraded two bedroom two bath unit on the 12th floor was stunning! The only downside to our trip was the whistling wind that we could hear in the unit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Gazebo restaurant at Napilli Shores just north a short drive for a fantastic breakfast. Get there early as you will wait. We arrived at 8am and waited for 45mins but well worth it! The macadamia nut pancakes are worth the trip to Maui.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Paul, MN
Oct 30, 2010

Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

This was my first trip to Hawaii; the purpose of the visit was to attend a good friend's wedding (a beach wedding) which was fabulous! The location of the Mahana is wonderful. Parking ample and FREE. The hotel was very clean, although the carpeting in our particular unit was heavily stained. I'm hoping it will soon be replaced with tile. In the future, I would request a room without carpeting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the Times grocery store before heading into the hotel/condos to pick up all beverages etc. as there are no restaurants, cafes or vending machines available at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Jun 22, 2009

Good location

The hotel is just a few steps away from the ocean. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Apr 28, 2009

what a view

We loved our room! It must have been newly remodeled. Wonderful kitchen and I LOVED the shower!!! The views were amazing! We went with our 22 year old daughter, and met friends of ours there. They stayed at Mahana too, but their room was not as updated as ours. We loved to do the Beach Walk in the morning. Usually went to Whalers Village and back. Even though we went in April, we did see several whales while on the walk and sometimes while we ate breakfast! We also liked to grill out and eat overlooking the ocean and islands!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Nov 25, 2008

Strong to very strong

The condo unit was large. Good location on the beach, nice pool (little bit windy), and great amenities (shuffleboard, bbq's, etc). We had some issues with the wireless internet but good excuse not to work. Overall great place to stay for a group or family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Not too much right by, short drive to Whaler's Village and Lahaina.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top