$205 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

4 stars
View map of 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roseville, CA
Aug 7, 2009

family trip

We stayed at the Mahana for 6 nights. The room was great. Well decorated, clean, newly remodeled, and the view was exceptional. The only negative is that they put me in a room that was having the lanai railing being replaced so for most of my trip the view from the lanai had scaffolding lines hanging in front of it. It would have been nicer if they could have put me in a room that wasn't being done until after I left. The location is good; there was a grocery store right down the street. This room definitely looked like the pictures. There is also a concierge to help book activities. They also have daily housekeeping. I highly recommend the Mahana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las vegas
Jul 24, 2009

perfect place

We enjoyed staying at this hotel very much. It had all to do with the wiev from the balcony and the great and comfortable studio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
INDIANA
Jul 20, 2009

all oceanfront

Well manages hotel with all rooms faceing the ocean. We had a great time. DAVE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mount Pleasant, TX
Jun 22, 2009

great stay

The Mahana was ideal for us. Our room was very clean and fresh each day, the hotel was mostly quiet and peaceful. The community grills down by the pool are great. The grills combined with the kitchen in our room helped make our Maui trip affordable. Rather than eating out every meal we cooked for ourselves several times...which was fun and saved us money. Comparing the Mahana to the many, many other resorts we saw up-close while in Maui, I think it would be very tough to beat the quality of the Mahana for the money. Excellent accomodations, excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

ROAD TO HANA...makes for a long day. This recreational attraction came highly recommended, but I think more so for the rainy months...maybe Jan-Mar. We spent 11 hours on the road to drive only 100 miles or so. Lots of pretty landscapes, but still gets kind of boring after the first 2 hours or so.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Jun 22, 2009

Good location

The hotel is just a few steps away from the ocean. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roarlion
Business
Indiana
Jun 17, 2009

Known as The Mahana

All units face the ocean. Just minutes north of Lahaina and the marina. Well appointed kitchen makes for a good dining option. Private balconies. Free Parking. Because of the rock formations, the swimming areas are located up and/or down the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

For groceries, Safeway is located in Lahaina Cannery Mall in Lahaina. Apply for the free savers card to get the lower prices. You'll have a refrigerator, oven and microwave for frozen breakfast and lunch entries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bolingbrook, il
Jun 14, 2009

I thought the hotel was nice but

The bathroom we had only had a shower and we would have prefreed a whrilpool or tub. There was no fitness center at the hotel. Other than that I enjoyed my stay. When I return I'll probably try another hotel. The hotel was nice and quiet. I enjoyed laying on the beach and reading. There was no restaurants in our hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you stay at this hotel you need a car. Nothing I wanted to do was in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
May 28, 2009

Good hotel for the price

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights and 4 days. This was our first trip to Maui so we don;t have a basis for comparison with other hotels. But we did like our stay here. We took a studio room. All the rooms in this hotel face the beach front so no confusions in getting a ocean front room. The room was spacious and best thing was it had a full blown kitchen with microwave,fridge,blender, coffee maker and even a dishwasher! They had even provided some plates, bowls, glasses and cups.They have a washer/dryer unit too inside the room. I just wish their website would mention that they had all these included. My only complaint is they do not clean the rooms daily. The maid service does change the towels, but they do not make the beds or clean the room. They apparently do it only every 4 days. Since we come back from the beach everyday, the room does get sandy. Otherwise our stay here was very pleasant. Would definitely recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay Area, CA
May 26, 2009

Somewhat disappointed

I chose this hotel for my honeymoon, based on the Orbitz reviews. Unfortunately, I don't think anyone reviewing it went there on a honeymoon. This property is great if you have a family and don't want to spend the money on meals each day (rooms have a kitchen) and don't care about amenities and super-cleanliness. But this is not the resort-experience you might expect from Maui. The views were spectacular, and pool was clean. Otherwise, the room was not very clean upon arrival and the housekeepers only come every fourth day (other than giving you new towels, making the bed, and emptying the trash). We asked the front desk twice to vacuum the old food out of the couch, and change the sheets (there were stains on them), but none of these were done, nor did we receive an apology. The rooms are all decorated according to the condo owners' tastes, so that adds to the uncertainty of what you're going to get. There's also no gym or restaurant. All in all, it's a nice place to stay with great views, but definitely not a "hidden treasure" when you consider the lack of service or amenities that you could get at another equally-priced hotel. I won't stay here again unless I have three kids that will dirty up a room anyway. And I will definitely do more-than-Orbitz research before booking a romantic getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Feast at Lele was an amazing experience - if you can get away for a wonderful meal on the water, go there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BudWynnMadison
Business
St. Cloud, MN
May 24, 2009

Picture Perfect

The hotel was very nice: clean, excellent staff, rooms well furnished, barbeque area, within minutes of restraunts and adventures. The beach was wide, views of two other islands and we could see whales surfacing. We also saw two Monk Seals, which are almost extinct. Snorkeling was done in front of the hotel or swimming about 150 yards either direction. There were three fitness centers only a few minutes away. This was our favorite vacation yet!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is no onsite restraunt. They do, however, have a great grilling area for free use. The staff keep it clean within minutes of being used. Get your groceries at Super Savers in Lahaina about a 10 minute drive away instead of the expensive Market across the street. Super Savers is also connected to a mall that has a food court.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top