$205 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

4 stars
View map of 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA
May 18, 2009

Our Stay at the Mahana

The hotel was very nice, and very convienient. me and my husband stayed at the bedroom, and my mother and baby were at the living room, everyone had enough room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
May 10, 2009

Unique Secluded Experience

This is a unique experience, given that these are thousand dollar plus a square foot Condos ( a million bucks to buy a one bedroom, thus great rental value at these discounted rates) - which are nicely laid out in a super location, literally 50 feet from the Surf. Modern building restrictions regarding setbacks from the water make it unlikely that a project like this could be built as close to the water’s edge as this one was back in the mid 1970’s. The units have been nicely upgraded, the staff is great. Step out on the beach and one can walk for miles, or lounge under one of the trees along the beachfront. Great snorkeling on the Reef, but remember to bring those rubber reef shoes so as not to get cut on the coral. When the Trade Winds pick up in the afternoon, the Kite Boarders come out to play, soaring into the air as they tack off of their beachside turn, something which one never tires of watching while sitting out on the deck. If one is looking for a quiet, non resort style accommodation, where one can be on the water, but a bit away from the typical resort / hotel experience, then this is the one for you. We loved it, and will always go back. One thing which is not quiet is the ocean, which one is right next too. Some may find the level of surf sound overpowering when sleeping. Not a problem for us, but bring some of those soft foam earplugs just in case it is an issue (I use them on the airplanes anyway). Click on the virtual tour on the Mahana’s website, experience the 360’ pan view, and you will see it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining Options a 5 because we like to eat in for breakfast, enjoying cocktails on the deck, but preferred eating lunch and dinners down in Lihaina Town, not in a hotel. Many great restaurants built on the water. Kimo’s, Buba Gump, Lahaina Fish Company were some which we liked a bunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Decatur, GA
May 7, 2009

Beautiful View

Enjoy the view, walk on the beach, & sightseeing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Very Expense so bring plenty spending money, but you can save on food since you have a full kitchen in your room. You need a car to get to the shopping area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
badrat32
Business
Iowa
May 4, 2009

Mahana

We did not receive the room requested, even though it was avaiable at time of booking. Put us on 1st floor-totally un-remodeled unit--we requested change immedately--got moved to 2nd floor--unit was just ok. Finally got the room we requested on day 3 of trip. It was great!!! Never did receive the 2 for 1 laua. Asked to stay an additional 4 hours and they tried to charge us $375.00 Needs at least a bar on site.Loved watching the whales every day. Would go back if we are guaranteed the correct room. Great beaches near by, great places to eat 5 minutes away, good shopping 10 minutes away. Best side of Island to be on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lahainia or Whaler's Village has great places!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
May 2, 2009

Great ocean view

close to the ocean and great views and nice beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Subway and food shopping center. Also beach boardwalk you can go to other hotels and dining areas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Apr 28, 2009

what a view

We loved our room! It must have been newly remodeled. Wonderful kitchen and I LOVED the shower!!! The views were amazing! We went with our 22 year old daughter, and met friends of ours there. They stayed at Mahana too, but their room was not as updated as ours. We loved to do the Beach Walk in the morning. Usually went to Whalers Village and back. Even though we went in April, we did see several whales while on the walk and sometimes while we ate breakfast! We also liked to grill out and eat overlooking the ocean and islands!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 22, 2009

Wonderful Vacation

We have stayed here before and have always loved the hotel. It was perfect again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great seafood at Kimo's in Lahina.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pinckney
Jan 2, 2009

My review of ResortQuest Mahana at Kaanapali

The view was beautiful, the condo was clean and spacious with a nice lanai. We saw whales and occasionally a monk seal. There is a beach close by (in walking distance) that is great for snorkeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car to get around. There is a supermarket nearby that we used to stock the kitchen. We brought our own snorkel, mask and fins and made great use of them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Perkasie
Dec 21, 2008

Great place, close to Lahaina

We stayed on the second floor, close to the pool. The beach and the ocean were a stone's throw away. There are great bbq grills in the pool area that you could eat off of every morning ..... we cooked out twice. Great people hang around the grills at dinner time, make sure you cook out and meet other travellers! The Hotel does not have an on-site resaturant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Super market & breakfast resturant less than a 10 minute walk away. The super market is very well stocked with food, beer, wine etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Nov 25, 2008

Strong to very strong

The condo unit was large. Good location on the beach, nice pool (little bit windy), and great amenities (shuffleboard, bbq's, etc). We had some issues with the wireless internet but good excuse not to work. Overall great place to stay for a group or family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Not too much right by, short drive to Whaler's Village and Lahaina.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top