$256 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

4 stars
View map of 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, HI 96761

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
221 out of 221
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joseph M.
Business
Prospect
Jan 5, 2015

The Best of Maui

Stay on the 10th floor out of the noise and chatter of people passing by and kids playing on the beach. Perfect view of the beach and the blue ocean of Maui. I am very happy that I had 2 weeks in this perfect place. I have increased my stay very time I have been (3 times). Everyone is friendly without being pushy. These are rented private suites so it is different from the noise of a Hotel or Vacation rental only suite. A little extra but worth it. I have recommended this place to all my friends and I could never say enough good things about my home away from home. You can cook and eat what you want or go out to an array of nearby restaurants. There are many activities available from para sailing to volcano flights. I am a scuba diver and can recommend the dive shop just down the road. I would say that there is little chance that you will be disappointed and if you are say something because they will go out of their way to help you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The local Walgreen is a get place to pick up a few snacks and drinks at mainland prices.

Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fellow Traveler Explorer
Business
Northern California
Dec 5, 2014

Reconstruction, hidden fees, water stopped running!

This hotel is on the beach and has direct access to the beach but so are many other hotels in Maui. However, there was a construction going on in the hotel which made the balcony unusable. This website did not tell us about the construction and neither did the staff at the reception desk. To make things worse, they stopped the water in the middle of the day and I just happened to be in the shower. They called after they stopped the water which was useless. They charge you hidden fees when you check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neatraveller
Business
Ottawa, Ontario
Nov 9, 2014

Fantastic vacation!

We were on vacation for a week first time in Maui and this hotel definitely exceeded our expectations. From minute one we were happy as we were upgraded to a 1 bedroom apartment from a studio unit. All units are facing the ocean so no chance of facing the mountain or gardens if you are looking forward to see the humpbacks! Great location, pool and hot tub are very clean, units have all kinds of kitchen supplies (appliances are great quality for a hotel) which is great if you are planning to do some meals at the unit (which we did). Daily newspaper, tea/coffee service was also useful. Free wifi (super fast) and free parking was quite nice considering most hotels in Maui charge for those two. Finally, this hotel is definitely worth the money for what it has to offer. Definitely recommend it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Old Lahaina Luau

Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Guzman Family
Business
Jackson, CA
Oct 20, 2014

Beautiful

When we arrived we were upgraded (for free) to a two bedroom corner suite on the top floor. The room was beautiful, as were both bedrooms. We absolutely loved the view and sounds of the ocean. Everything was great. The hotel does not have a restaurant but they do have a food cart by the pool that sells burgers and stuff. He makes great smoothies too! We didn't mind not having a restaurant because we went grocery shopping and were able to cook everything we needed to in the kitchen. This condo did not disappoint in any way. We were very close to everything we wanted to do (surfing, snorkeling, scuba diving, a luau, shopping...)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We stopped at Safeway a few miles from the condo after we arrived at the airport. It was PACKED and took forever. There is a grocery store right across the street from the condo that we used a few times during the week. We would recommend going there and skipping Safeway.

Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Another Maui Regular
Business
San Diego
Oct 19, 2014

A Hidden Gem

We've stayed here twice and both times have been wonderful. The deluxe (remodeled) rooms are extremely nice. The rooms and buildings have always been clean and exceptionally nice. You have to walk only about 100 feet down the beach to get away from the shore break, and then you have over a mile of nice beach to use. This is not a resort, so if you're looking for the resort (cruise ship on dry land) experience look elsewhere. Likewise if you want a place to entertain little kids a resort would be better. But if you like a beautiful, relaxing place away from the crowds where you can roll your own vacation the Mahana is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ErinSan Diego
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 30, 2014

Beautiful view!

We really enjoyed the location if this hotel. Our room had a fantastic view of the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPLATER
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 24, 2014

Wonderful Stay

Our room (1 bedroom, 2 bath) was amazing. Clean, comfortable, and a balcony overlooking the ocean that was great for sunsets. My wife and I loved the location, just north of the more touristy area. No problems parking, no real traffic in the area, and the restaurants and stores nearby were good and convenient. The only reasons I didn't give this place 5 stars is because the $18 daily amenities fee didn't cover the cost of using the gym, and you had to pay if you wanted coffee in the lobby (both small things but I love my coffee in the morning and my wife is a gym rat). The fact that ever room is an oceanfront is amazing, and the big windows overlooking such a beautiful view will get us to stay here next time we visit Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Rent a jeep and do the road to Hana. If you are comfortable driving, we went all the way around (even though the car rental companies won't cover a small stretch of the trip). The backside was amazing, IMHO better than the first part. Just make sure you leave Hana no later than 5pm because you do NOT want to be driving those roads at night.

Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vik08
Business
Fremont, CA
Jul 20, 2014

I Loved it

Awesome Experience! Loved the view and the staff were very friendly. Property right next to the beach and I could hear waves all through the night .. will definitely go back. My 2 year old had great fun too !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places to eat within short walking distance

Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stolte
Business
Mankato, MN
Jul 1, 2014

Just what we needed

This was our second trip to Maui and we were looking for a great place to stay and relax. It was wonderful to have a washer/dryer and kitchenette. The different patio areas for grilling were a great resource too. We were a little disappointed that the bathroom wasn't as nice as the rest of the room/area, but overall we were very pleased with the accomodations. The view was amazing! The beach area was great and plenty to see snorkeling right on site!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lahaina Pizza Company has great deep dish pizza!

Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frankie023
Business
Anaheim Hills, California
Jun 29, 2014

Great vacation

Wonderful experience. The room was always kept clean. The staff were on hand to please. The location was perfect. The environment was peaceful. Centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

A short drive to front street.

Back to menu Return to top