$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 17, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

4 stars
110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
228 reviews
Beautiful

When we arrived we were upgraded (for free) to a two bedroom corner suite on the top floor. The... See full review

  • Guzman Family
  • Oct 20, 2014
A Hidden Gem

We've stayed here twice and both times have been wonderful. The deluxe (remodeled) rooms are... See full review

  • Another Maui Regular
  • Oct 19, 2014
Dreams of a tropical tranquil Hawaiian getaway come true on the northwest shores of Maui, at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. The complex offers guests the beach as their playground, along with fabulous ocean views. Two beautiful towers front the pristine sands, and lush grounds surround this condominium resort. Every room looks across the water to the nearby islands of Lanai and Molokai, through floor-to-ceiling windows. Fall asleep to the sound of gentle waves every evening when you open your private deck to catch the tropical breeze. Fully-equipped kitchens allow guests to make breakfast in time for the unforgettable sunrises. A swimming pool, tennis courts, and shuffleboard games are available all day long at the Aston Mahana.
Key facts
  • 215 guestrooms
  • 12 floors
  • Pool
  • In-room washer and dryer
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Tennis court
  • Shuffleboard
  • Outdoor barbecues
Neighborhood
The warm ocean waters are right outside your front door, and guests can nap on the beach or dive into a snorkeling adventure through vibrant, offshore coral reefs. Look out the back of the hotel to enjoy the majestic West Maui Mountains. Upscale shopping and delicious local fare can be found just minutes down the road at the historic town of Lahaina.

Hints and tips
  • Take advantage of local grocery delivery services, and enjoy a private cookout around one of the resort's outdoor barbecues.
  • Children will especially enjoy year-round Camp Kaanapali, along with the beach ball presented to each little one at check-in.
  • NOTICE: The Lanai Building of the hotel is undergoing exterior renovations until 19 December 2014, from 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM during weekdays.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Mahana at Kaanapali also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Aston Mahana at Kaanapali Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite Ocean Front
Two bedroom suite with king or queen bed, 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes 2 full bathrooms, Complimentary High-Speed wireless internet access, lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, full kitchen, cable TV, dataport, VCR, washer/dryer and in-room safe.
Hawaii Saver One Bedroom Ocean Front
One bedroom suite with a queen or king bed. Includes separate living area with sofabed, full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, full kitchen, cable TV, dataport, VCR, washer/dryer and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
One bedroom suite with a queen or king bed. Includes separate living area with sofabed, full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, full kitchen, cable TV, dataport, VCR, washer/dryer and in-room safe.
Freedom Studio Ocean Front
Studio suite with queen bed or queen Murphy bed. 2 person maxium in room. An infant counts as one person Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, full kitchen, cable TV, dataport, VCR, washer/dryer & in-room safe.
Studio Suite Ocean Front
Studio suite with queen bed or queen Murphy bed. 2 person maxium in room. An infant counts as one person Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, full kitchen, cable TV, dataport, VCR, washer/dryer & in-room safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Shaka
Cuisine Type Coffee Espresso and Light Fare, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 9am-5pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (228)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
228 out of 228
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fellow Traveler Explorer
Business
Northern California
Dec 5, 2014

Reconstruction, hidden fees, water stopped running!

This hotel is on the beach and has direct access to the beach but so are many other hotels in Maui. However, there was a construction going on in the hotel which made the balcony unusable. This website did not tell us about the construction and neither did the staff at the reception desk. To make things worse, they stopped the water in the middle of the day and I just happened to be in the shower. They called after they stopped the water which was useless. They charge you hidden fees when you check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neatraveller
Business
Ottawa, Ontario
Nov 9, 2014

Fantastic vacation!

We were on vacation for a week first time in Maui and this hotel definitely exceeded our expectations. From minute one we were happy as we were upgraded to a 1 bedroom apartment from a studio unit. All units are facing the ocean so no chance of facing the mountain or gardens if you are looking forward to see the humpbacks! Great location, pool and hot tub are very clean, units have all kinds of kitchen supplies (appliances are great quality for a hotel) which is great if you are planning to do some meals at the unit (which we did). Daily newspaper, tea/coffee service was also useful. Free wifi (super fast) and free parking was quite nice considering most hotels in Maui charge for those two. Finally, this hotel is definitely worth the money for what it has to offer. Definitely recommend it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Old Lahaina Luau

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Guzman Family
Business
Jackson, CA
Oct 20, 2014

Beautiful

When we arrived we were upgraded (for free) to a two bedroom corner suite on the top floor. The room was beautiful, as were both bedrooms. We absolutely loved the view and sounds of the ocean. Everything was great. The hotel does not have a restaurant but they do have a food cart by the pool that sells burgers and stuff. He makes great smoothies too! We didn't mind not having a restaurant because we went grocery shopping and were able to cook everything we needed to in the kitchen. This condo did not disappoint in any way. We were very close to everything we wanted to do (surfing, snorkeling, scuba diving, a luau, shopping...)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We stopped at Safeway a few miles from the condo after we arrived at the airport. It was PACKED and took forever. There is a grocery store right across the street from the condo that we used a few times during the week. We would recommend going there and skipping Safeway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Another Maui Regular
Business
San Diego
Oct 19, 2014

A Hidden Gem

We've stayed here twice and both times have been wonderful. The deluxe (remodeled) rooms are extremely nice. The rooms and buildings have always been clean and exceptionally nice. You have to walk only about 100 feet down the beach to get away from the shore break, and then you have over a mile of nice beach to use. This is not a resort, so if you're looking for the resort (cruise ship on dry land) experience look elsewhere. Likewise if you want a place to entertain little kids a resort would be better. But if you like a beautiful, relaxing place away from the crowds where you can roll your own vacation the Mahana is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ErinSan Diego
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 30, 2014

Beautiful view!

We really enjoyed the location if this hotel. Our room had a fantastic view of the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPLATER
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 24, 2014

Wonderful Stay

Our room (1 bedroom, 2 bath) was amazing. Clean, comfortable, and a balcony overlooking the ocean that was great for sunsets. My wife and I loved the location, just north of the more touristy area. No problems parking, no real traffic in the area, and the restaurants and stores nearby were good and convenient. The only reasons I didn't give this place 5 stars is because the $18 daily amenities fee didn't cover the cost of using the gym, and you had to pay if you wanted coffee in the lobby (both small things but I love my coffee in the morning and my wife is a gym rat). The fact that ever room is an oceanfront is amazing, and the big windows overlooking such a beautiful view will get us to stay here next time we visit Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Rent a jeep and do the road to Hana. If you are comfortable driving, we went all the way around (even though the car rental companies won't cover a small stretch of the trip). The backside was amazing, IMHO better than the first part. Just make sure you leave Hana no later than 5pm because you do NOT want to be driving those roads at night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vik08
Business
Fremont, CA
Jul 20, 2014

I Loved it

Awesome Experience! Loved the view and the staff were very friendly. Property right next to the beach and I could hear waves all through the night .. will definitely go back. My 2 year old had great fun too !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places to eat within short walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stolte
Business
Mankato, MN
Jul 1, 2014

Just what we needed

This was our second trip to Maui and we were looking for a great place to stay and relax. It was wonderful to have a washer/dryer and kitchenette. The different patio areas for grilling were a great resource too. We were a little disappointed that the bathroom wasn't as nice as the rest of the room/area, but overall we were very pleased with the accomodations. The view was amazing! The beach area was great and plenty to see snorkeling right on site!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lahaina Pizza Company has great deep dish pizza!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frankie023
Business
Anaheim Hills, California
Jun 29, 2014

Great vacation

Wonderful experience. The room was always kept clean. The staff were on hand to please. The location was perfect. The environment was peaceful. Centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

A short drive to front street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wildling
Business
canada
Jun 25, 2014

Great location, excellent views, spacious. A little dated, construction noise

Upon check in, we had a slight issue. Prior to arrival, we had called and upgraded the room to ensure we stay in one that was recently renovated/updated, as these are privately owned condos. The room we received was dated--very dated. Shag carpeting, old fixtures, broken patio lock, old wall finishing, etc. It was not what we were promised on the phone for the upgrade fee. We immediately requested another room that was closer to what we had been promised, and we received a better room--nicer carpet, functioning locks, reasonably newer appearance. Though still not quite what we were promised, it was much better than what we had. They are also doing renovations currently, so we were disturbed by the sounds of hammers, saws, and for one morning, a man suspended in front of/underneath our room window working on the other floors. Apart from that, it was a smooth experience. Great snorkeling on the beach (although sand space is limited). Accessible to all parts of the island, near a couple great restaurants, friendly housekeeping staff, but most important of all, the views were literally unbeatable. We would stay here again, hopefully without the hiccups in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top