$329 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 6, 2015 Check-out: Feb 9, 2015

Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

4 stars
110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
232 reviews
Ocean front value

We had a great 10 day stay. The ocean view was outstanding. At check-in we had to wait 20 minutes... See full review

  • penny s.
  • Jan 5, 2015
The Best of Maui

Stay on the 10th floor out of the noise and chatter of people passing by and kids playing on the... See full review

  • Joseph M.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Dreams of a tropical tranquil Hawaiian getaway come true on the northwest shores of Maui, at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. The complex offers guests the beach as their playground, along with fabulous ocean views. Two beautiful towers front the pristine sands, and lush grounds surround this condominium resort. Every room looks across the water to the nearby islands of Lanai and Molokai, through floor-to-ceiling windows. Fall asleep to the sound of gentle waves every evening when you open your private deck to catch the tropical breeze. Fully-equipped kitchens allow guests to make breakfast in time for the unforgettable sunrises. A swimming pool, tennis courts, and shuffleboard games are available all day long at the Aston Mahana.
Key facts
  • 215 guestrooms
  • 12 floors
  • Pool
  • In-room washer and dryer
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Tennis court
  • Shuffleboard
  • Outdoor barbecues
Neighborhood
The warm ocean waters are right outside your front door, and guests can nap on the beach or dive into a snorkeling adventure through vibrant, offshore coral reefs. Look out the back of the hotel to enjoy the majestic West Maui Mountains. Upscale shopping and delicious local fare can be found just minutes down the road at the historic town of Lahaina.

Hints and tips
  • Take advantage of local grocery delivery services, and enjoy a private cookout around one of the resort's outdoor barbecues.
  • Children will especially enjoy year-round Camp Kaanapali, along with the beach ball presented to each little one at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Mahana at Kaanapali also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Aston Mahana at Kaanapali Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite Ocean Front
Two bedroom suite with king or queen bed, 2 twin beds and sofabed. Includes 2 full bathrooms, Complimentary High-Speed wireless internet access, lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, full kitchen, cable TV, dataport, VCR, washer/dryer and in-room safe.
Hawaii Saver One Bedroom Ocean Front
One bedroom suite with a queen or king bed. Includes separate living area with sofabed, full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, full kitchen, cable TV, dataport, VCR, washer/dryer and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
One bedroom suite with a queen or king bed. Includes separate living area with sofabed, full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, full kitchen, cable TV, dataport, VCR, washer/dryer and in-room safe.
Freedom Studio Ocean Front
Studio suite with queen bed or queen Murphy bed. 2 person maxium in room. An infant counts as one person Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, full kitchen, cable TV, dataport, VCR, washer/dryer & in-room safe.
Studio Suite Ocean Front
Studio suite with queen bed or queen Murphy bed. 2 person maxium in room. An infant counts as one person Includes full bathroom, Complimentary High-Speed wireless access, lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, full kitchen, cable TV, dataport, VCR, washer/dryer & in-room safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Shaka
Cuisine Type Coffee Espresso and Light Fare, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 9am-5pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (232)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bret S.
Business
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

Mahana- Maui

Fantastic place to stay. Location: right on beach with great views however, away from all the shopping, dining, etc. Also snorkeling right out front, but need short walk 100 yards either direction for swimming area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
penny s.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Ocean front value

We had a great 10 day stay. The ocean view was outstanding. At check-in we had to wait 20 minutes for the room to be ready and the management made it up by waiving the daily $18.00 amenities fee. In addition, there was some minor construction on our tower. When we inquired about the inconvenience from some noise they waived the amenities fee for the entire stay. Easy access to parking and the boardwalk was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joseph M.
Business
Prospect
Jan 5, 2015

The Best of Maui

Stay on the 10th floor out of the noise and chatter of people passing by and kids playing on the beach. Perfect view of the beach and the blue ocean of Maui. I am very happy that I had 2 weeks in this perfect place. I have increased my stay very time I have been (3 times). Everyone is friendly without being pushy. These are rented private suites so it is different from the noise of a Hotel or Vacation rental only suite. A little extra but worth it. I have recommended this place to all my friends and I could never say enough good things about my home away from home. You can cook and eat what you want or go out to an array of nearby restaurants. There are many activities available from para sailing to volcano flights. I am a scuba diver and can recommend the dive shop just down the road. I would say that there is little chance that you will be disappointed and if you are say something because they will go out of their way to help you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The local Walgreen is a get place to pick up a few snacks and drinks at mainland prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fellow Traveler Explorer
Business
Northern California
Dec 5, 2014

Reconstruction, hidden fees, water stopped running!

This hotel is on the beach and has direct access to the beach but so are many other hotels in Maui. However, there was a construction going on in the hotel which made the balcony unusable. This website did not tell us about the construction and neither did the staff at the reception desk. To make things worse, they stopped the water in the middle of the day and I just happened to be in the shower. They called after they stopped the water which was useless. They charge you hidden fees when you check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neatraveller
Business
Ottawa, Ontario
Nov 9, 2014

Fantastic vacation!

We were on vacation for a week first time in Maui and this hotel definitely exceeded our expectations. From minute one we were happy as we were upgraded to a 1 bedroom apartment from a studio unit. All units are facing the ocean so no chance of facing the mountain or gardens if you are looking forward to see the humpbacks! Great location, pool and hot tub are very clean, units have all kinds of kitchen supplies (appliances are great quality for a hotel) which is great if you are planning to do some meals at the unit (which we did). Daily newspaper, tea/coffee service was also useful. Free wifi (super fast) and free parking was quite nice considering most hotels in Maui charge for those two. Finally, this hotel is definitely worth the money for what it has to offer. Definitely recommend it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Old Lahaina Luau

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Guzman Family
Business
Jackson, CA
Oct 20, 2014

Beautiful

When we arrived we were upgraded (for free) to a two bedroom corner suite on the top floor. The room was beautiful, as were both bedrooms. We absolutely loved the view and sounds of the ocean. Everything was great. The hotel does not have a restaurant but they do have a food cart by the pool that sells burgers and stuff. He makes great smoothies too! We didn't mind not having a restaurant because we went grocery shopping and were able to cook everything we needed to in the kitchen. This condo did not disappoint in any way. We were very close to everything we wanted to do (surfing, snorkeling, scuba diving, a luau, shopping...)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We stopped at Safeway a few miles from the condo after we arrived at the airport. It was PACKED and took forever. There is a grocery store right across the street from the condo that we used a few times during the week. We would recommend going there and skipping Safeway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Another Maui Regular
Business
San Diego
Oct 19, 2014

A Hidden Gem

We've stayed here twice and both times have been wonderful. The deluxe (remodeled) rooms are extremely nice. The rooms and buildings have always been clean and exceptionally nice. You have to walk only about 100 feet down the beach to get away from the shore break, and then you have over a mile of nice beach to use. This is not a resort, so if you're looking for the resort (cruise ship on dry land) experience look elsewhere. Likewise if you want a place to entertain little kids a resort would be better. But if you like a beautiful, relaxing place away from the crowds where you can roll your own vacation the Mahana is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ErinSan Diego
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 30, 2014

Beautiful view!

We really enjoyed the location if this hotel. Our room had a fantastic view of the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPLATER
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 24, 2014

Wonderful Stay

Our room (1 bedroom, 2 bath) was amazing. Clean, comfortable, and a balcony overlooking the ocean that was great for sunsets. My wife and I loved the location, just north of the more touristy area. No problems parking, no real traffic in the area, and the restaurants and stores nearby were good and convenient. The only reasons I didn't give this place 5 stars is because the $18 daily amenities fee didn't cover the cost of using the gym, and you had to pay if you wanted coffee in the lobby (both small things but I love my coffee in the morning and my wife is a gym rat). The fact that ever room is an oceanfront is amazing, and the big windows overlooking such a beautiful view will get us to stay here next time we visit Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Rent a jeep and do the road to Hana. If you are comfortable driving, we went all the way around (even though the car rental companies won't cover a small stretch of the trip). The backside was amazing, IMHO better than the first part. Just make sure you leave Hana no later than 5pm because you do NOT want to be driving those roads at night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vik08
Business
Fremont, CA
Jul 20, 2014

I Loved it

Awesome Experience! Loved the view and the staff were very friendly. Property right next to the beach and I could hear waves all through the night .. will definitely go back. My 2 year old had great fun too !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places to eat within short walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top