$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

4 stars
78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
725 reviews
db1&2

The hotel was awesome. The registration process and information given were disappointing. The... See full review

  • db squared
  • Apr 12, 2014
Great hotel

Staff were helpful, clean hotel, and great relaxing location See full review

  • AYJV
  • Apr 7, 2014
Hawaiian getaway for canoeing, dolphin swims, and Holoholo tours

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay on Hawaii, the Big Island, is a blend of adventure, culture, heritage and authentic Hawaiian aloha hospitality. Situated on the iconic lava rocks of the Kona coast, overlooking historically significant Keauhou Bay, guests relax, experience and create memories with family and friends. The newly revitalized and completely unique oceanfront resort flourishes with naturally landscaped lands that were once the birthplace and playgrounds of kings which offer visitors a profound sense of place and storytelling that can be shared and appreciated across many generations. Considered the "Gateway to the Bay," the Flying Fish outfitters store provides an all-access pass to fun and adventure where guests can have immediate access to paddle boarding, kayaking, fishing, surfing, boat tours and exploring the pristine reef. The ocean view restaurants partner with local farms and fishermen to serve only the freshest ingredients. Rays on the Bay is the world's only restaurant where diners can enjoy live music seven nights per week by fire pit and observe majestic Manta Rays in their natural habitat. Under the stars, a weekly luau offers a colorful journey through history. Offering the most ultimate pool experience on the Kona coast, patrons rave about the 200-foot lava tube water slide, hot tubs, sprouting fountains and sandy-bottomed children's play area. Ho'ola Spa offers a healing Himalayan Salt Room and an oceanfront treatment patio. Whether culture seeker, romantic or ocean or land explorer, vacationers find themselves in the perfect location to discover and experience the beauty of Hawaii.

Reasons to stay
  • Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay's exemplary service
  • Hoola Spa and LomiLomi massage
  • Manta ray, Kailua and Hilo Village adventures
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay rooms
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay offers 24 suites and 485 guest rooms with double or king Sweet Sleeper beds with down quilts. Overlooking the Hualalai Mountains and Pacific shores, natural island-inspired textiles adorn all Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay furnishings. Rooms offer 37" LCD TV, Wi-Fi (fees may apply), safe, and in-room dining facilities.
Things to do nearby
  • Kona Country Club (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Keahou Shopping Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • End of the World Cliff Diving (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Teshima Restaurant (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Kailua Village and Hulihee Palace (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Manago Restaurant (10.6 mi/17 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Park (11.2 mi/ 8 km)

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay Rooms

Ocean View Room
Ocean View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Partial Ocean View
Partial Ocean View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Mountain View Room
Mountain View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Ocean Front Room
Ocean Front View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.5586 -155.9648
Area served
Kailua-Kona Hawaii, Big Island Keauhou Bay
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-KOA 15 Miles Hilo International Airport-ITO 96 Miles
Area description
Hulihe'e Palace - 5.0 mi/8.1 km Hawaii Forest and Trail Ecotours - 5.0 mi/8.1 km,Kona Coffee Living History Farm - 10.0 mi/16.1 km City of Refuge - 25.0 mi/40.2 km Volcano National Park - 96.0 mi/154.5 km

Dining

Ainakai Restaurant
Island inspired, seasonal breakfast buffet From the land to the sea, Ainakai features a fresh rotation of breakfast items with emphasis on Sheratons Color your Plate philosophy
Rays on the Bay
Where the food compliments the view Amazing views along with handcrafted cocktails, Hawaii inspired cuisine and live, local entertainment. Nightly sunsets and the resident Manta Rays await.
Holua Bar and Grill
Casual and fun poolside dining Holua embraces relaxation and fun poolside. Join us for a maitai and our world famous sliders!
Keauhou Coffee Company
Featuring Mamas 100% Kona Coffee in a relaxed outdoor setting A coffee shop, Kona Style. Grab and go or relax in open air lounge.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Largest Meeting Room: 10000 sq. ft. Largest Meeting Room Seats: 1200 Smallest Meeting Room: 1000 sq. ft. Smallest Meeting Room Seats: 10 Conference Center on Site Meeting and Event Facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (725)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 725
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Strike Counter
Denver
Feb 20, 2014

Many Strikes Against

Strike #1 When I called the property from a local restaurant, while I was a guest, no one ever answered. I dialed repeatedly for 15 minutes off & on but no one ever answered. Yet, when I returned and walked by the front desk, 4 staff members were just standing around socializing - there were no customers at that time. Strike #2 Hostess at Rays on the Bay restaurant had a snooty attitude, never smiled or acted as a hostess at a restaurant should - welcoming. I struck up a conversation with two other folks having dinner and they leveled the same complaint, UN-solicited by me. Strike #3 Went to the front desk to get quarters to do laundry. They had none. NONE!, and did not really care about the difficulty this caused - told me to come back later. UN-believable. Strike #4 Bellman at curbside would not listen to me, the customer, about how I wanted something handled with my computer bag. Doing things "his way" was more important to him than undestanding what I wanted to be done. A customer should not have to fight with a bellman over how he wants his luggage treated. And I LIKE tipping those guys well. This hotel has good points - Tracy, Room Service operator was helpful, & the cancer survivor housekeeping lady was friendly - but this property has a big customer service problem. Lack of training or the culture management fosters may be to blame, but I am NOT a fan, nor would I promote the Sheraton Keahou. Marc F. Denver, CO

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Solo wanderer
Mountain View, CA, USA
Aug 21, 2013

Great Kona hotel

I've stayed at this hotel before and keep coming back. The staff is friendly. On this visit, they were able to accommodate my request to change rooms without any problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kentucky Mimi
Bowling Green, KY
Jan 19, 2013

The end of a great vacation.

From check-in to check-out this was a fabulous resort. I was on the big island for 5 weeks and stayed at two other locations to just have a variety of locales. This was the best way to end my stay. The room was quite spacious and a wonderful fragrance wafted about. Sleep came easily in the most comfy bed with lots of pillows. The pool area was beautiful and had a great area for children. Even "big" kids enjoyed the 2 story slide. Cabanas spaced around the pool added a touch of luxury. Waves crashing over the lava rocks were spectacular and just spend a few minutes watching the ocean and whales were breaching. Ray's on the Bay was the perfect place to watch glorious sunsets while dining and listening to Hawaiian music of LT Smooth was sublime. The resort is not close to town so for excursions a rental car would be needed. However, there is a trolley that runs regularly and your resort fee gives you free access to that. I can't think of a thing I didn't like except the fact that I didn't stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bicycle Adventurer
Columbus area, Ohio
Nov 15, 2012

Bicycling Getaway

I went to the Kona area to experience some bicycling and watch the Ironman Championships. This hotel was about 7.5 miles south of Kona and thus away from the hustle and bustle of Kona and all of the intensity of the competition. There was a shopping area 1.25 miles away that you could walk to with some restaurants, cinema, and a grocery store. The hotel grounds were very well maintained. Very clean there. My room was taken care of every day. Loved the fast wireless Internet access! I was able to easily take my bike out and bring it back in to the room. I really enjoyed my stay there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There was a pizza/pasta place in the shopping center that was awesome! I went there twice.

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skyrider
California
Oct 25, 2012

Relax and Kick back

Everything about this location is amazing. The views, the staff and the rates. The hotel cleaning staff are top notch. Prompt, efficient and courteous. The Concierge was amazing. She gave us great recommendations and never missed a beat in helping us find the best places. Front counter staff were a little curt, but maybe that's just the person i had. Restaurant is top notch but pricey. Overall, this is the place to be to unwind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Huggo's. Awesome seafood and steak and a great view of the bay. Only 10 minute drive from the hotel.

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roger Mathye
Los Angeles, California
Jul 23, 2012

It was ok.

The hotel set up was kind of weird, having to walk to a corridor to get to the front desk which looked more like a conference room. It seemed like the place needed some renovations, It had a very 70's look to it. The pool area was ok, but the restaurants were a little lackluster. The room was ok, except the temp wouldn't go below 72 and the tub was dirty looking. They charged an extra $20 for internet and some bottled water, whether you wanted it or not. I wanted it, so I was ok with it. The hotel was kid friendy (too kid friendly for me) with ping pong tables, pool tables, and a water slide to entertain screaming kids. The best service was from the valet department who were always courteous and quick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't eat in the hotel. Go down to the Kona Strip and there are tons of good eateries. If you want some great cuisine at a fairly decent price, Sam Choy's is two lights away from the hotel.

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teph18
Los Angeles
Feb 6, 2012

Wonderful resort

This was my first time in Kona and I am extremely glad I chose the Sheraton as my hotel to stay in. The hotel is amazingly beautiful inside and out. My room was spotless, neat, comfortable, and quiet. The staff is very friendly and helpful with directions if you need it. There's also a pier right next to the hotel where you can sign up to go snorkeling during the day or at night to see the Manta Rays. Beautiful ocean view, great food, and a great experience.. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel0x0
Houston, TX, USA
Jan 29, 2012

Nice place to stay

Nice location, very calm. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The hotel restaurant is nice with a great view. The staff is very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
OneMoreTime
Lemoore, California
Jan 28, 2012

Disappointing for a Sheraton

Customer service by desk staff was incredibly poor for a Sheraton, and the worst I've personally experienced at any Sheraton property I've stayed at. Room was good, beds super comfortable (like every other Sheraton I've stayed at). The pros for this place are its location (just south of Kona town & right on the ocean), and the awesome pool & water slide. Forget about trying to see anything at the advertised "view the manta rays from our deck" because you won't. All you'll see are the boats carrying the people who've paid extra just offshore that are stopped above where the rays play. There's no spotlight from the deck into the water, the spotlights are on the boats to enhance the view for the snorkellers. Food is nothing special, and overpriced for what you get. I would stay somewhere else on my next visit to the Big Island - namely the Outrigger just up the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cynthia1C
Milwaukie, OR, USA
Nov 12, 2011

Overall Good Hotel, A Couple of Issues

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The grounds were beautiful & there were a lot of amenities. I wasn't too happy at having to pay a "mandatory resort fee" for each day of my stay, since I didn't plan to use some of the things included, though. The one thing I definitely wanted was internet access. But to be honest, that sucked. While in my room, half the time I could not get a connection & the other half it was so painfully slow that I gave up. I tried using the computers in the business center, but just about every site came up "blocked for adult content" - even when I tried to sign onto AOL to read my personal email. And trust me there was no "adult content" in there! I have a travel blog & it was very disappointing not to be able to share my adventures with friends and family. I would definitely recommend people take advantage of the trolley into Kona town. The area along the beach is full of little shops & places to eat. It's also the start/stop point for part of the Iron Man competition (location is marked with a sign) There s even a small sandy beach off to the right of the pier. This is where I did my "beach time" on the Big Island, since there was no beach area at the hotel. The trolley is open-air & fun to ride. Obviously a lot of people who stay at places like this aren't on a budget, but for myself I woud rather spend less on food. etc. & more on activities and doing stuff when I am on vacation. The food at the hotel is expensive ($17.00 for so-so sandwich in the Manta Lounge, $9.00 for a small dessert), so I would suggest looking for other places to eat if you are of the same philosophy. I took Speedi Shuttle there from the airport, it was about $38.00 each way. Cab fare to Hawaii Forest & Trail (tour provider) is about $35.00 one way. Their Twilight Volcano Tour was great & I got to see the glow from the lava!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the trolley!

Back to menu Return to top