$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

4 stars
78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
461 reviews
Heaven meets paradise

This hotel is located in a beautiful spot! We upgraded to ocean front rooms, and enjoyed the sunset... See full review

  • Anne M.
  • Aug 17, 2014
Great family spot. Terrific pool

Beautiful grounds. Excellent activities for kids Local golf course was closed for renovation, so... See full review

  • Rob clemson
  • Aug 2, 2014
Hawaiian getaway for canoeing, dolphin swims, and Holoholo tours

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay on Hawaii, the Big Island, is a blend of adventure, culture, heritage and authentic Hawaiian aloha hospitality. Situated on the iconic lava rocks of the Kona coast, overlooking historically significant Keauhou Bay, guests relax, experience and create memories with family and friends. The newly revitalized and completely unique oceanfront resort flourishes with naturally landscaped lands that were once the birthplace and playgrounds of kings which offer visitors a profound sense of place and storytelling that can be shared and appreciated across many generations. Considered the "Gateway to the Bay," the Flying Fish outfitters store provides an all-access pass to fun and adventure where guests can have immediate access to paddle boarding, kayaking, fishing, surfing, boat tours and exploring the pristine reef. The ocean view restaurants partner with local farms and fishermen to serve only the freshest ingredients. Rays on the Bay is the world's only restaurant where diners can enjoy live music seven nights per week by fire pit and observe majestic Manta Rays in their natural habitat. Under the stars, a weekly luau offers a colorful journey through history. Offering the most ultimate pool experience on the Kona coast, patrons rave about the 200-foot lava tube water slide, hot tubs, sprouting fountains and sandy-bottomed children's play area. Ho'ola Spa offers a healing Himalayan Salt Room and an oceanfront treatment patio. Whether culture seeker, romantic or ocean or land explorer, vacationers find themselves in the perfect location to discover and experience the beauty of Hawaii.

Reasons to stay
  • Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay's exemplary service
  • Hoola Spa and LomiLomi massage
  • Manta ray, Kailua and Hilo Village adventures
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay rooms
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay offers 24 suites and 485 guest rooms with double or king Sweet Sleeper beds with down quilts. Overlooking the Hualalai Mountains and Pacific shores, natural island-inspired textiles adorn all Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay furnishings. Rooms offer 37" LCD TV, Wi-Fi (fees may apply), safe, and in-room dining facilities.
Things to do nearby
  • Kona Country Club (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Keahou Shopping Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • End of the World Cliff Diving (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Teshima Restaurant (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Kailua Village and Hulihee Palace (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Manago Restaurant (10.6 mi/17 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Park (11.2 mi/ 8 km)

Hotel Map

19.5586 -155.9648
Area served
Kailua-Kona Hawaii, Big Island Keauhou Bay
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-KOA 15 Miles Hilo International Airport-ITO 96 Miles
Area description
Hulihe'e Palace - 5.0 mi/8.1 km Hawaii Forest and Trail Ecotours - 5.0 mi/8.1 km,Kona Coffee Living History Farm - 10.0 mi/16.1 km City of Refuge - 25.0 mi/40.2 km Volcano National Park - 96.0 mi/154.5 km

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay Rooms

Ocean View Room
Ocean View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Partial Ocean View
Partial Ocean View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Mountain View Room
Mountain View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Ocean Front Room
Ocean Front View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Largest Meeting Room: 10000 sq. ft. Largest Meeting Room Seats: 1200 Smallest Meeting Room: 1000 sq. ft. Smallest Meeting Room Seats: 10 Conference Center on Site Meeting and Event Facilities

Dining

Ainakai Restaurant
Island inspired, seasonal breakfast buffet From the land to the sea, Ainakai features a fresh rotation of breakfast items with emphasis on Sheratons Color your Plate philosophy
Rays on the Bay
Where the food compliments the view Amazing views along with handcrafted cocktails, Hawaii inspired cuisine and live, local entertainment. Nightly sunsets and the resident Manta Rays await.
Holua Bar and Grill
Casual and fun poolside dining Holua embraces relaxation and fun poolside. Join us for a maitai and our world famous sliders!
Keauhou Coffee Company
Featuring Mamas 100% Kona Coffee in a relaxed outdoor setting A coffee shop, Kona Style. Grab and go or relax in open air lounge.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (461)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 461
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blonde Hula Girl
Business
San Diego, California
Jan 21, 2014

Gorgeous Setting

Upon check in, we were upgraded from a Mountain View room to a partial ocean view. Wow! Our room was beautiful. We were on the ground floor with a large lanai. The ceilings must have been at least 20 feet! Very spacious. Our black out drapes would not close so we called maintenance and they arrived 5 minutes later. The drapes were fixed immediately. The beds and pillows are truly perfect. So, so comfortable. Rays, the restaurant located in the hotel, has a social hour everyday 5-7. For $5 you get to choose two 2ounce pours of excellent wines, reds, whites, and sparkling ( ie. - St. Francis Merlot, DeLoach Pinot ) The setting is so beautiful overlooking the pacific ocean as the sun is setting. The Kona Coffee shop has amazing coffee and very nice people who work there, which starts your day in such a positive way. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

You can watch the Manta Rays right from Rays around 8pm every night. As long as the waves are too large.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SCGirl
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Sheraton

Remodel, wasn't told this was in progress. Staff at front desk seemed stressed, eye contact was the exception. Not the same place as when I stayed there two years ago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

hula daddy coffee is the real thing, don't be misled.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ShirlJ
Business
Edmonton, AB, Canada
Oct 1, 2011

Great place to relax

Staff really service oriented, they made my stay enjoyable. Would recommend the hotel to friends and colleagues

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Suggest going to the Manta Ray

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jemi
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Work Getaway!

I upgraded my room for a reasonable $25 to an ocean view, which was well worth it. Had a wonderful stay. The facility is beautiful, the room was nice, the view is spectacular, and the staff was very nice. My only suggestion is to do some mood lighting in your dining rooms at night. The lights are a little bright.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 28, 2011

Great Spot for Business and Vacation

Very Clean room, majority of the staff they were very helpful. Location was great, couple draw back, there is not beach from the hotel, would love for my vacation package to include breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AZ Family
Business
Glendale AZ
Mar 10, 2010

Sheraton Keauhou Bay, Nice place to stay

Close to attractions and food, Breathtaking sunsets, Super friendly staff. The only strike against was the internet service in the room, It was not free like most properties and once paid for the connections was extremly weak at best. The upside is they have a bussiness room that could be accessed by their club members. The connection there was fairly good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southern California
Feb 7, 2010

Bugs Bugs and more Bugs. Otherwise nice.

First off, let's make it clear that this is a resort and perhaps not the best for business travelers. That stated it could have been a wonderful experience of not for a few things. 1) Ocean view which is what I requested was a view of the swimming pool (noise people in the pool) right outside my balcony. Literally 20' from my door. So you have to get well past this to get the ocean view. The fridge did not work, neither did the TV. This was in Wing 4. Additionally, absolutely no cel coverage for Spring no T-Mobile from this room. Zero. They moves me to another room, this time in Wing1 which does have adequate cel coverage. 2) Bugs! I realize this is an island and there will be a few. Bug never have I experienced so many bugs and ants. On the balcony overlooking the ocean, I had my laptop and a snack to enjoy the atmosphere. In no time there were ants on me, laptop, and snacks. Called and they sprayed bug spray all over which of course prevented me from using the balcony again. Turn off the lights inside and guess what, little tiny black bugs come out and were crawling all over the nightstands and table. They were in the bathroom (many dead ones also), carpet, floor, my drink,etc. The front desk lady said, 'sorry , I will let housekeeping know.' That was it. By the way, they had to come and fix the fridge in this room also. If you can get beyond this, it is a nice hotel. Great location with little to eat off the grounds. Self parking is $10.00 a day and they make you part faaaar away well past the valet parking. Plus you have to hike up a incline or take steps to get from the self parking area. There is a vending machine for soda hidden on the second floor even though an employee told me there was none. The gift shop is hidden well in the corner which can easily be missed. They really need more signs to direct people to elevators, floors,etc. The valets/bell hops were outstanding-the best I have come across. Service was not bad overall. Rooms were quiet. Towels were old and the hotel does needs a refresh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a shopping center about 3 miles away which has a drug store and some little eating area. Also a movie theater. It beats the overpriced hotel food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Feb 3, 2010

business

Very relaxing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wiseone
Business
fremont, ca
Jun 15, 2009

Price vs Service

The location is no doubt beautiful but it seems like they were charging for everything and if possible would have charged for breathing as well. With that rate, I expected atleast internet and continental breakfast included but everything (including drinks) was quite expensive to buy. And come on why there is a charge for parking? That was quite ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Volcano sight was amazing and also some historical sights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Astrofish
Business
Monterey, CA
Jun 12, 2009

Great rates, but eat off site

Great location and reasonable room rates with the Orbitz travel package. However, the dining was excessively expensive. $16-20 for a continental breakfast was ridiculous. Dinners were good, but very expensive for the amount. Splitting dinner was the deal. Appetizers were very small and nowhere near a good value. Ceviche was 3 chips and a dolup on top of each. $9?? It just takes the fun right out of it when you both sit and stare in awe at the audacity of such a presentation. Get with it, Sheraton. You are insulting your guests!Eat out on Alii Drive! We could have rented a car for each day with what we spent on food! Go see [...] (manager) at Bongo Ben's Island Cafe. [...] service, food and value. Best on Alii Drive and no reason to go elsewhere once you've been there...On another note, the pool is great and loved the slide!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go for the kayaking and snorkel tour with Ocean Safaris. They are close and reasonable. Nice paddle and saw spinner dolphin up close (lucky).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search