$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

4 stars
View map of 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
437 reviews
Best family trip of all Hawaii Vacation

Before booking the trip, I was searching for a particular area city where we can have the best... See full review

  • Joua V.
  • Aug 20, 2015
Nice hotel on the beautiful ocean

Beautiful hotel and nice people. Nice pool. Enjoyed strolling by the oceanside with waves crashing... See full review

  • Misako M.
  • Jul 18, 2015

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay on Hawaii, the Big Island, is a blend of adventure, culture, heritage and authentic Hawaiian aloha hospitality. Situated on the iconic lava rocks of the Kona coast, overlooking historically significant Keauhou Bay, guests relax, experience and create memories with family and friends. The newly revitalized and completely unique oceanfront resort flourishes with naturally landscaped lands that were once the birthplace and playgrounds of kings which offer visitors a profound sense of place and storytelling that can be shared and appreciated across many generations. Considered the "Gateway to the Bay," the Flying Fish outfitters store provides an all-access pass to fun and adventure where guests can have immediate access to paddle boarding, kayaking, fishing, surfing, boat tours and exploring the pristine reef. The ocean view restaurants partner with local farms and fishermen to serve only the freshest ingredients. Rays on the Bay is the world's only restaurant where diners can enjoy live music seven nights per week by fire pit and observe majestic Manta Rays in their natural habitat. Under the stars, a weekly luau offers a colorful journey through history. Offering the most ultimate pool experience on the Kona coast, patrons rave about the 200-foot lava tube water slide, hot tubs, sprouting fountains and sandy-bottomed children's play area. Ho'ola Spa offers a healing Himalayan Salt Room and an oceanfront treatment patio. Whether culture seeker, romantic or ocean or land explorer, vacationers find themselves in the perfect location to discover and experience the beauty of Hawaii.

Rooms
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay offers 24 suites and 485 guest rooms with double or king Sweet Sleeper beds with down quilts. Overlooking the Hualalai Mountains and Pacific shores, natural island-inspired textiles adorn all Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay furnishings. Rooms offer 37" LCD TV, Wi-Fi (fees may apply), safe, and in-room dining facilities.
Highlights
  • Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay's exemplary service
  • Hoola Spa and LomiLomi massage
  • Manta ray, Kailua and Hilo Village adventures
Nearby attractions
  • Kona Country Club (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Keahou Shopping Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • End of the World Cliff Diving (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Teshima Restaurant (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Kailua Village and Hulihee Palace (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Manago Restaurant (10.6 mi/17 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Park (11.2 mi/ 8 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay also booked these hotels.

★★★
$126
4.2 / 5 127 reviews
★★★
$147
4.5 / 5 72 reviews
★★★
$156
3.6 / 5 10 reviews

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay Rooms

Ocean View Room
Ocean View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Partial Ocean View
Partial Ocean View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Mountain View Room
Mountain View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Ocean Front Room
Ocean Front View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Largest Meeting Room: 10000 sq. ft. Largest Meeting Room Seats: 1200 Smallest Meeting Room: 1000 sq. ft. Smallest Meeting Room Seats: 10 Conference Center on Site Meeting and Event Facilities

Dining

Ainakai Restaurant
Island inspired, seasonal breakfast buffet From the land to the sea, Ainakai features a fresh rotation of breakfast items with emphasis on Sheratons Color your Plate philosophy
Rays on the Bay
Where the food compliments the view Amazing views along with handcrafted cocktails, Hawaii inspired cuisine and live, local entertainment. Nightly sunsets and the resident Manta Rays await.
Holua Bar and Grill
Casual and fun poolside dining Holua embraces relaxation and fun poolside. Join us for a maitai and our world famous sliders!
Keauhou Coffee Company
Featuring Mamas 100% Kona Coffee in a relaxed outdoor setting A coffee shop, Kona Style. Grab and go or relax in open air lounge.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
437 out of 437
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SeaMark98101
Washington
May 18, 2012

Waste of vacation time

It was a waste of money and a waste of my vacation time. Seriously overrated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Raven101
Couples
Honolulu, HI, USA
Mar 5, 2013

Dispute Resort Fee/Dinner Reservations

The mandatory resort fee includes parking, which is claimed to be free on the your web page. It also includes a daily charge for things that are not wanted, such as hula lessons and yoga classes, or not used -like long distance minutes for guests who own cell phones. The restaurant hostess did not return my message to confirm our dinner reservation, then said they do not pick up messages during the shift. Consequently, we had to eat in the bar, which did not offer a full dinner menu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not stay in this hotel unless you are going to use the things that are included in the $30 daily resort fee. If the restaurant hostess does not answer the phone, make your reservation in person. Better yet, take in the restaurant view, but eat somewhere other than the hotel.

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PaintingByScott
Family
Crystal Lake, IL
Sep 11, 2013

Avoid this place like the plague

Let me start out by saying that the walls are paper thin, we could actually hear people in the next room charging their iphone (or iproduct, as we could hear the little chime noise it makes when plugged in). The doors are very solid and we could hear every door open and close from our room, it was rather annoying. we even tried to be courteous to others, and we found it next to impossible to close the door without making any noise. back to paper thin walls, we were able to hear conversations in other rooms, and people going up and down the halls early morning, all day, and well into the night. You know what surprises me most, is that it was the adults making more noise than the kids. Now lets move onto the customer service... from our room, we tried to save some time to have our car brought around, so we called down to the operator. It rang for more than 5 minutes, (we could have walked to the front by that time) I gave up on that and called an outside reservation line, and was then transferred to the front desk after about another 5 minutes, and eventually gave the valet people the card number for the car. We walked through the lobby, which didn't seem busy at all, and out to the valet which was also not busy, because they had 3 guys standing there, and when we showed up, they asked who we were, and then went to get the keys, and get the car at that point, so there was absolutely no time saved by calling down ahead of time. Now onto the pool/waterslide, we looked over the rules sign posted near the waterslide stairs, and it said a wristband was required for the slide, nowhere does it mention one was needed for the pools or hot tubs, so we tried to enjoy the pool, the quieter portion near the center of the resort. well we were in for maybe 2-3 minutes, and I was almost relaxed, because im aggravated because I had very little sleep because of the door slamings I mentioned earlier, anyways, the employee walking around the pool says we have to get out, get our room key, and get wristbands... I even showed him the sign that only says wristband needed for the waterslide, he said new rules from new management. I asked to speak with the management, and he said they were not there that day (which I can't believe)... In my own opinion, its not that hard for a resort to put up signs stating new rules, I mean we saw an out of order signs on an elevator that had been printed and taped to the elevator door, so the same could be done for pool rules, but it wasn't. Onto the next big thing... Their restaurant on the bay, my fresh catch was good, but plain white rice was not. My wife had a burger, that she wanted medium well (which should still have juices in it, but no pink) it was extremely dry. The final night we stayed here, we were waiting for the elevator, (it was between 11pm and 12am) when it opened there was a puddle on the floor, and the smell of urine in the air. I am glad this was on our last night, and not the first. The only thing good that we can think of about this resort is the location. Now that we have experienced this resort, we know we will never return there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

I would have to say its a good thing there are near by stores and restaurants, because I would hate to be stuck at this resort

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Creolecount
Couples
Oahu, Hawaii
Jul 7, 2009

Big Island Sheraton

Nickle & Dime you to death. Start with parking, $10 to self park $18 to valet. Don't care about handicapped, they pay as well. Internet, $13 per day in your room, free in the lobby. Food costs were out of sight. We could hear the next door couples conversation and as soon as bey bey kids started moving around about 8 a.m., you could forget sleeping, too noisy. Families with kids should be placed in a part of the hotel by themselves. The carpet had a jelly stain from the date we arrived until the date we left. there was accumalated dirt under the dresser. The TV was old and the channels didn't match the guide. Run, stay somewhere else. No, I'm not cheap, my last trip to an outer Island we stayed at the Ritz Carlton................

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay some where else. If you have kids, stay there, you'll enjoy the noise....................

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Roseville, CA
Oct 9, 2009

never ever stay here, horrible place

we stayed here for our honeymoon and would never ever stay here again. the room when we got there was completely dirty, the floors had stains, there was stuff on the sheets, once they moved us after i had to tell them 4 times, the next room wasn't much better...staff completely unfriendly, can only use all the amenities if you are one of their "preferred" members. would never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 11, 2010

Bad! Cancelled Reservation Upon Arrival

This hotel was an enormous disappointment and in person was not at all like the photos online. After viewing the hotel and room we chose to cancel our reservation and move to another hotel. This hotel is in desperate need of some TLC. The lobby is quite pretty, but that's where the good news ends. The layout is bizarre and the various wings are not well marked. It's easy to get lost. We couldn't even find the elevator and ended up having to carry our baggage down the stairwell. The ocean view room we booked was also a large disappointment. The toilet looked like a park restroom. Our room was non-smoking but smelled like smoke. The room had peeling paint in one of the corners and felt dingy. The exterior of the hotel was no better. It is in need of a power wash to remove dirt and what appeared to be rust stains to the stucco. The location is also disappointing - it was the farthest hotel from the Kona shopping area. During our very short stay at the hotel the restaurant appeared to be closed (it was approximately 3:00 in the afternoon.) We felt the condition of the hotel was unsatisfactory and wasn't consistent with the restful hawaiian vacation we pictured for ourselves. [...]Sheraton staff were very helpful in issuing a full refund and canceling our reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Stamford , CT
Sep 22, 2009

PRETTY BAD

Hotel location was OK. The occupancy was low; however they did not offer a room upgrade. Rooms were spacious but the carpet was extremely dirty. We had the option of getting $5 per day on the restaurant if we did not need maid service... bad idea. In the bathroom there was a hole behind the toilet. One night we found a good size bug in the bathroom that probably found his way in thru the hole, overall a very unpleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Strike Counter
Single
Denver
Feb 20, 2014

Many Strikes Against

Strike #1 When I called the property from a local restaurant, while I was a guest, no one ever answered. I dialed repeatedly for 15 minutes off & on but no one ever answered. Yet, when I returned and walked by the front desk, 4 staff members were just standing around socializing - there were no customers at that time. Strike #2 Hostess at Rays on the Bay restaurant had a snooty attitude, never smiled or acted as a hostess at a restaurant should - welcoming. I struck up a conversation with two other folks having dinner and they leveled the same complaint, UN-solicited by me. Strike #3 Went to the front desk to get quarters to do laundry. They had none. NONE!, and did not really care about the difficulty this caused - told me to come back later. UN-believable. Strike #4 Bellman at curbside would not listen to me, the customer, about how I wanted something handled with my computer bag. Doing things "his way" was more important to him than undestanding what I wanted to be done. A customer should not have to fight with a bellman over how he wants his luggage treated. And I LIKE tipping those guys well. This hotel has good points - Tracy, Room Service operator was helpful, & the cancer survivor housekeeping lady was friendly - but this property has a big customer service problem. Lack of training or the culture management fosters may be to blame, but I am NOT a fan, nor would I promote the Sheraton Keahou. Marc F. Denver, CO

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JetSetter917
Friends
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 27, 2011

Room was not what we expected!

We were not at all pleased by the cleanliness and the aesthetic of the room. It's old fashioned and it was dirty. There were stains on the carpet, the furniture smelled musty and the toilet which looked like belong to a public facility had to be flushed twice. I usually stay at a Sheraton and this experience completely surprised me. The room picture does not represent at all what we got. The location and the facility amenities were great though but the room and overall hotel just did not appear clean. We hated going back to our room after enjoy the day in the island. The hotel was nice enough to switch us to the different room but it was exactly the same with what appears to be less stain. But by the time, we just wanted to go to bed and check out the next day. So long story short, make sure when you book, they put you in the room that is recently renovated. I was told they had that but was completely booked!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Walmart to buy the items you want to bring back to your friends and family. It's cheaper!

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
disappointed2012
Couples
Washington DC
Jan 13, 2012

not quite there yet

Booking company did not tell us this hotel is under renovation, half empty, no front lobby, staff not most friendly/helpful, definitely not a 4 star; currently a 2, max 3. Walls are paper thin, you can hear door slammings all night and construction was early and loud; restaurant was empty most nights; would not be my first choice again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top