$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2015 Check-out: Sep 6, 2015

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

4 stars
View map of 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
437 reviews
Best family trip of all Hawaii Vacation

Before booking the trip, I was searching for a particular area city where we can have the best... See full review

  • Joua V.
  • Aug 20, 2015
Nice hotel on the beautiful ocean

Beautiful hotel and nice people. Nice pool. Enjoyed strolling by the oceanside with waves crashing... See full review

  • Misako M.
  • Jul 18, 2015

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay on Hawaii, the Big Island, is a blend of adventure, culture, heritage and authentic Hawaiian aloha hospitality. Situated on the iconic lava rocks of the Kona coast, overlooking historically significant Keauhou Bay, guests relax, experience and create memories with family and friends. The newly revitalized and completely unique oceanfront resort flourishes with naturally landscaped lands that were once the birthplace and playgrounds of kings which offer visitors a profound sense of place and storytelling that can be shared and appreciated across many generations. Considered the "Gateway to the Bay," the Flying Fish outfitters store provides an all-access pass to fun and adventure where guests can have immediate access to paddle boarding, kayaking, fishing, surfing, boat tours and exploring the pristine reef. The ocean view restaurants partner with local farms and fishermen to serve only the freshest ingredients. Rays on the Bay is the world's only restaurant where diners can enjoy live music seven nights per week by fire pit and observe majestic Manta Rays in their natural habitat. Under the stars, a weekly luau offers a colorful journey through history. Offering the most ultimate pool experience on the Kona coast, patrons rave about the 200-foot lava tube water slide, hot tubs, sprouting fountains and sandy-bottomed children's play area. Ho'ola Spa offers a healing Himalayan Salt Room and an oceanfront treatment patio. Whether culture seeker, romantic or ocean or land explorer, vacationers find themselves in the perfect location to discover and experience the beauty of Hawaii.

Rooms
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay offers 24 suites and 485 guest rooms with double or king Sweet Sleeper beds with down quilts. Overlooking the Hualalai Mountains and Pacific shores, natural island-inspired textiles adorn all Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay furnishings. Rooms offer 37" LCD TV, Wi-Fi (fees may apply), safe, and in-room dining facilities.
Highlights
  • Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay's exemplary service
  • Hoola Spa and LomiLomi massage
  • Manta ray, Kailua and Hilo Village adventures
Nearby attractions
  • Kona Country Club (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Keahou Shopping Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • End of the World Cliff Diving (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Teshima Restaurant (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Kailua Village and Hulihee Palace (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Manago Restaurant (10.6 mi/17 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Park (11.2 mi/ 8 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay also booked these hotels.

★★★
$126
4.2 / 5 127 reviews
★★★
$147
4.5 / 5 72 reviews
★★★
$156
3.6 / 5 10 reviews

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay Rooms

Ocean View Room
Ocean View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Partial Ocean View
Partial Ocean View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Mountain View Room
Mountain View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Ocean Front Room
Ocean Front View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Largest Meeting Room: 10000 sq. ft. Largest Meeting Room Seats: 1200 Smallest Meeting Room: 1000 sq. ft. Smallest Meeting Room Seats: 10 Conference Center on Site Meeting and Event Facilities

Dining

Ainakai Restaurant
Island inspired, seasonal breakfast buffet From the land to the sea, Ainakai features a fresh rotation of breakfast items with emphasis on Sheratons Color your Plate philosophy
Rays on the Bay
Where the food compliments the view Amazing views along with handcrafted cocktails, Hawaii inspired cuisine and live, local entertainment. Nightly sunsets and the resident Manta Rays await.
Holua Bar and Grill
Casual and fun poolside dining Holua embraces relaxation and fun poolside. Join us for a maitai and our world famous sliders!
Keauhou Coffee Company
Featuring Mamas 100% Kona Coffee in a relaxed outdoor setting A coffee shop, Kona Style. Grab and go or relax in open air lounge.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 437
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rustie
Single
N/A
Jul 12, 2015

Awesome Kona Resort

The resort has everything you need, restarants, pools, waterslide, water activities, fitness center, kids activities, shopping close by, self park or valet, beautiful rooms, most comfortable beds, wonderful, helpful, an friendly staff, always smiling an happy to assist you. The food in the restarants was excellent an fair priced. Loved this resort an would recommend it to everyone, all ages, it's amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Reanna P.
Single
N/A
Jul 7, 2015

Visiting kona for the weekend

Beautiful area. Parts of hotel could use a little remodeling. My room had baby roaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annemarie R.
Single
N/A
Mar 14, 2015

Get away

The hotel is very good, the staff excellent, pleasant, accommodating. The staff serving breakfast and expresso on the L floor in the small cafe every morning deserve kudos for their pleasant personalities. I will recommend this hotel and return with my spouse. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathleen O.
Single
PORTLAND
Mar 10, 2015

great vacation

This hotel was an excellent place to enjoy the island. The breakfast was way too expensive but the food by the pool was excellent. The location was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Srsf
Single
San francisco
Aug 14, 2014

PleSant getaway

Very nice,clean and wonderful place to spend time away for a vacation. The rooms are great making it easy to drift off to sleep or sit and watch the ocean from the lanai. Helpful staff keep you informed about the latest events in or around town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

Rey's on the bay is wonderful

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Strike Counter
Single
Denver
Feb 20, 2014

Many Strikes Against

Strike #1 When I called the property from a local restaurant, while I was a guest, no one ever answered. I dialed repeatedly for 15 minutes off & on but no one ever answered. Yet, when I returned and walked by the front desk, 4 staff members were just standing around socializing - there were no customers at that time. Strike #2 Hostess at Rays on the Bay restaurant had a snooty attitude, never smiled or acted as a hostess at a restaurant should - welcoming. I struck up a conversation with two other folks having dinner and they leveled the same complaint, UN-solicited by me. Strike #3 Went to the front desk to get quarters to do laundry. They had none. NONE!, and did not really care about the difficulty this caused - told me to come back later. UN-believable. Strike #4 Bellman at curbside would not listen to me, the customer, about how I wanted something handled with my computer bag. Doing things "his way" was more important to him than undestanding what I wanted to be done. A customer should not have to fight with a bellman over how he wants his luggage treated. And I LIKE tipping those guys well. This hotel has good points - Tracy, Room Service operator was helpful, & the cancer survivor housekeeping lady was friendly - but this property has a big customer service problem. Lack of training or the culture management fosters may be to blame, but I am NOT a fan, nor would I promote the Sheraton Keahou. Marc F. Denver, CO

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Solo wanderer
Single
Mountain View, CA, USA
Aug 21, 2013

Great Kona hotel

I've stayed at this hotel before and keep coming back. The staff is friendly. On this visit, they were able to accommodate my request to change rooms without any problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kentucky Mimi
Single
Bowling Green, KY
Jan 19, 2013

The end of a great vacation.

From check-in to check-out this was a fabulous resort. I was on the big island for 5 weeks and stayed at two other locations to just have a variety of locales. This was the best way to end my stay. The room was quite spacious and a wonderful fragrance wafted about. Sleep came easily in the most comfy bed with lots of pillows. The pool area was beautiful and had a great area for children. Even "big" kids enjoyed the 2 story slide. Cabanas spaced around the pool added a touch of luxury. Waves crashing over the lava rocks were spectacular and just spend a few minutes watching the ocean and whales were breaching. Ray's on the Bay was the perfect place to watch glorious sunsets while dining and listening to Hawaiian music of LT Smooth was sublime. The resort is not close to town so for excursions a rental car would be needed. However, there is a trolley that runs regularly and your resort fee gives you free access to that. I can't think of a thing I didn't like except the fact that I didn't stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bicycle Adventurer
Single
Columbus area, Ohio
Nov 15, 2012

Bicycling Getaway

I went to the Kona area to experience some bicycling and watch the Ironman Championships. This hotel was about 7.5 miles south of Kona and thus away from the hustle and bustle of Kona and all of the intensity of the competition. There was a shopping area 1.25 miles away that you could walk to with some restaurants, cinema, and a grocery store. The hotel grounds were very well maintained. Very clean there. My room was taken care of every day. Loved the fast wireless Internet access! I was able to easily take my bike out and bring it back in to the room. I really enjoyed my stay there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There was a pizza/pasta place in the shopping center that was awesome! I went there twice.

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roger Mathye
Single
Los Angeles, California
Jul 23, 2012

It was ok.

The hotel set up was kind of weird, having to walk to a corridor to get to the front desk which looked more like a conference room. It seemed like the place needed some renovations, It had a very 70's look to it. The pool area was ok, but the restaurants were a little lackluster. The room was ok, except the temp wouldn't go below 72 and the tub was dirty looking. They charged an extra $20 for internet and some bottled water, whether you wanted it or not. I wanted it, so I was ok with it. The hotel was kid friendy (too kid friendly for me) with ping pong tables, pool tables, and a water slide to entertain screaming kids. The best service was from the valet department who were always courteous and quick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't eat in the hotel. Go down to the Kona Strip and there are tons of good eateries. If you want some great cuisine at a fairly decent price, Sam Choy's is two lights away from the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top