$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

4 stars
View map of 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
434 reviews
Nice hotel on the beautiful ocean

Beautiful hotel and nice people. Nice pool. Enjoyed strolling by the oceanside with waves crashing... See full review

  • Misako M.
  • Jul 18, 2015
Awesome Kona Resort

The resort has everything you need, restarants, pools, waterslide, water activities, fitness... See full review

  • Rustie
  • Jul 12, 2015

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay on Hawaii, the Big Island, is a blend of adventure, culture, heritage and authentic Hawaiian aloha hospitality. Situated on the iconic lava rocks of the Kona coast, overlooking historically significant Keauhou Bay, guests relax, experience and create memories with family and friends. The newly revitalized and completely unique oceanfront resort flourishes with naturally landscaped lands that were once the birthplace and playgrounds of kings which offer visitors a profound sense of place and storytelling that can be shared and appreciated across many generations. Considered the "Gateway to the Bay," the Flying Fish outfitters store provides an all-access pass to fun and adventure where guests can have immediate access to paddle boarding, kayaking, fishing, surfing, boat tours and exploring the pristine reef. The ocean view restaurants partner with local farms and fishermen to serve only the freshest ingredients. Rays on the Bay is the world's only restaurant where diners can enjoy live music seven nights per week by fire pit and observe majestic Manta Rays in their natural habitat. Under the stars, a weekly luau offers a colorful journey through history. Offering the most ultimate pool experience on the Kona coast, patrons rave about the 200-foot lava tube water slide, hot tubs, sprouting fountains and sandy-bottomed children's play area. Ho'ola Spa offers a healing Himalayan Salt Room and an oceanfront treatment patio. Whether culture seeker, romantic or ocean or land explorer, vacationers find themselves in the perfect location to discover and experience the beauty of Hawaii.

Rooms
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay offers 24 suites and 485 guest rooms with double or king Sweet Sleeper beds with down quilts. Overlooking the Hualalai Mountains and Pacific shores, natural island-inspired textiles adorn all Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay furnishings. Rooms offer 37" LCD TV, Wi-Fi (fees may apply), safe, and in-room dining facilities.
Highlights
  • Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay's exemplary service
  • Hoola Spa and LomiLomi massage
  • Manta ray, Kailua and Hilo Village adventures
Nearby attractions
  • Kona Country Club (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Keahou Shopping Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • End of the World Cliff Diving (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Teshima Restaurant (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Kailua Village and Hulihee Palace (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Manago Restaurant (10.6 mi/17 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Park (11.2 mi/ 8 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay Rooms

Ocean View Room
Ocean View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Partial Ocean View
Partial Ocean View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Mountain View Room
Mountain View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Ocean Front Room
Ocean Front View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Ainakai Restaurant
Island inspired, seasonal breakfast buffet From the land to the sea, Ainakai features a fresh rotation of breakfast items with emphasis on Sheratons Color your Plate philosophy
Rays on the Bay
Where the food compliments the view Amazing views along with handcrafted cocktails, Hawaii inspired cuisine and live, local entertainment. Nightly sunsets and the resident Manta Rays await.
Holua Bar and Grill
Casual and fun poolside dining Holua embraces relaxation and fun poolside. Join us for a maitai and our world famous sliders!
Keauhou Coffee Company
Featuring Mamas 100% Kona Coffee in a relaxed outdoor setting A coffee shop, Kona Style. Grab and go or relax in open air lounge.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Largest Meeting Room: 10000 sq. ft. Largest Meeting Room Seats: 1200 Smallest Meeting Room: 1000 sq. ft. Smallest Meeting Room Seats: 10 Conference Center on Site Meeting and Event Facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 434
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FunTraveler0546
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 7, 2014

Nice Place with Good location

Nice place, very good location. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The hotel restaurant was also very nice and it was a good place to go around 9pm when most of other places are closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

View manta rays from the hotel restaurant with binoculars. The action happens right in front of the restaurant.

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RJ Super Beat
Business
LA
Aug 18, 2013

Good Time, but .....

I enjoyed my stay; but: Re: the Luau. We arrived at 4:30 pm as advised, but we were not seated and not served. Instead, we were held captive from 4:30 to 5:00 pm. We were made to stand in line in the sun. We were not seated and we were not served. We were just forced to stand there hot and uncomfortable. It made me angry. I would have just left, but for my guests who had never been to a Luau before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yskim
Business
New Jersey
Jul 25, 2013

They have Korean staff!!!

They have Korean staff at the counter. She's name was Sally. She was very kind and helpful. Hotel is very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JetSetter917
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 27, 2011

Room was not what we expected!

We were not at all pleased by the cleanliness and the aesthetic of the room. It's old fashioned and it was dirty. There were stains on the carpet, the furniture smelled musty and the toilet which looked like belong to a public facility had to be flushed twice. I usually stay at a Sheraton and this experience completely surprised me. The room picture does not represent at all what we got. The location and the facility amenities were great though but the room and overall hotel just did not appear clean. We hated going back to our room after enjoy the day in the island. The hotel was nice enough to switch us to the different room but it was exactly the same with what appears to be less stain. But by the time, we just wanted to go to bed and check out the next day. So long story short, make sure when you book, they put you in the room that is recently renovated. I was told they had that but was completely booked!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Walmart to buy the items you want to bring back to your friends and family. It's cheaper!

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
duder
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Very relaxing

Good service from start to finish. Very clean and updated rooms, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Aficionado
Business
Irvine, CA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Just what we expected

A positive experience overall. The hotel is south of all the big resorts on Kohala Coast and so more conveniently located since we wanted to visit Volcanoes National Park. It's still a drive to get to Volcanoes but shortened a little bit by staying at the Sheraton. Has all the amenities expected at a corporate resort. I would say the hotel is more accurately 3.5 stars because the room and the rest of the hotel were a bit run-down and could use some sprucing up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lead Driver
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Alternative after Irene hit!

The Sheraton did not have my reservation so after an all night flight it was disappointing. Did I mention Orbitz chat booked my flight and hotel? After arriving I found out the hotel had been owned by the bank for 6 years prior to the Sheraton purchasing it a few months ago. The first day at the pool $118 for two greek salads and 4 drinks. That does not include tip. It took 11/2 hours to get our salads and it was gross. When we asked what was the hold up the pool staff said the kitchen was backed up. It was 45 minutes for our first drink to arrive. After this experience, we ate all our meals off site. The greatest help was not the concierge but the guys at Hertz who we rented a car from! Rock stars. They gave us a screaming deal on a vehicle and went over the island map with us! Gave us great places to visit and restaurants. Scary huh?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Huggos for dinner. Java Lava for breakfast. Merrimen for lunch and a scenic drive. Kapuna Beach for beach time. Don't bother with Canoe House they were not interested in service. The hostess needs to return to Japan. Or the establishment is exclusive to the Japanese culture.

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
darkalina
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Aug 16, 2011

Great vacation stay

Very nice and clean. Beautiful hotel and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bubbly biologist
Business
Hilo, Hawaii
Aug 8, 2011

Rockin poooooooool

This was an awesome end to a long week. We stayed one night and enjoyed the prime rib buffet. the dinner was more expensive than the hotel reservation, but it was so worth it. the drinks were delish, but a little weak. the service was wonderful. The only complaint was the hallway rooms can hear an awful echo when children run amuck outside, but i was so comfortable in my bed i didn't care. the hot tubs were great and the pool at night was bliss. totally rocktacular stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Jul 25, 2011

Gorgeous Hotel[...]

The hotel was wonderful[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The walk to the ocean is just past the pool.

Back to menu Return to top