$163 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

4 stars
78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
466 reviews
Very nice anniversary get away

We particularly liked the tropical setting and the care given to maintaining it. A full range of... See full review

  • Prbe1
  • Nov 11, 2014
Heaven meets paradise

This hotel is located in a beautiful spot! We upgraded to ocean front rooms, and enjoyed the sunset... See full review

  • Anne M.
  • Aug 17, 2014
Hawaiian getaway for canoeing, dolphin swims, and Holoholo tours

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay on Hawaii, the Big Island, is a blend of adventure, culture, heritage and authentic Hawaiian aloha hospitality. Situated on the iconic lava rocks of the Kona coast, overlooking historically significant Keauhou Bay, guests relax, experience and create memories with family and friends. The newly revitalized and completely unique oceanfront resort flourishes with naturally landscaped lands that were once the birthplace and playgrounds of kings which offer visitors a profound sense of place and storytelling that can be shared and appreciated across many generations. Considered the "Gateway to the Bay," the Flying Fish outfitters store provides an all-access pass to fun and adventure where guests can have immediate access to paddle boarding, kayaking, fishing, surfing, boat tours and exploring the pristine reef. The ocean view restaurants partner with local farms and fishermen to serve only the freshest ingredients. Rays on the Bay is the world's only restaurant where diners can enjoy live music seven nights per week by fire pit and observe majestic Manta Rays in their natural habitat. Under the stars, a weekly luau offers a colorful journey through history. Offering the most ultimate pool experience on the Kona coast, patrons rave about the 200-foot lava tube water slide, hot tubs, sprouting fountains and sandy-bottomed children's play area. Ho'ola Spa offers a healing Himalayan Salt Room and an oceanfront treatment patio. Whether culture seeker, romantic or ocean or land explorer, vacationers find themselves in the perfect location to discover and experience the beauty of Hawaii.

Reasons to stay
  • Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay's exemplary service
  • Hoola Spa and LomiLomi massage
  • Manta ray, Kailua and Hilo Village adventures
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay rooms
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay offers 24 suites and 485 guest rooms with double or king Sweet Sleeper beds with down quilts. Overlooking the Hualalai Mountains and Pacific shores, natural island-inspired textiles adorn all Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay furnishings. Rooms offer 37" LCD TV, Wi-Fi (fees may apply), safe, and in-room dining facilities.
Things to do nearby
  • Kona Country Club (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Keahou Shopping Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • End of the World Cliff Diving (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Teshima Restaurant (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Kailua Village and Hulihee Palace (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Manago Restaurant (10.6 mi/17 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Park (11.2 mi/ 8 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay Rooms

Ocean View Room
Ocean View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Partial Ocean View
Partial Ocean View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Mountain View Room
Mountain View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Ocean Front Room
Ocean Front View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Ainakai Restaurant
Island inspired, seasonal breakfast buffet From the land to the sea, Ainakai features a fresh rotation of breakfast items with emphasis on Sheratons Color your Plate philosophy
Rays on the Bay
Where the food compliments the view Amazing views along with handcrafted cocktails, Hawaii inspired cuisine and live, local entertainment. Nightly sunsets and the resident Manta Rays await.
Holua Bar and Grill
Casual and fun poolside dining Holua embraces relaxation and fun poolside. Join us for a maitai and our world famous sliders!
Keauhou Coffee Company
Featuring Mamas 100% Kona Coffee in a relaxed outdoor setting A coffee shop, Kona Style. Grab and go or relax in open air lounge.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Largest Meeting Room: 10000 sq. ft. Largest Meeting Room Seats: 1200 Smallest Meeting Room: 1000 sq. ft. Smallest Meeting Room Seats: 10 Conference Center on Site Meeting and Event Facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (466)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 466
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hhb1
Business
Jackson, WY
Oct 15, 2014

Some great stuff some just okay

We enjoyed the property. The pool is great for the kids and the adults. The bar and food is perfect for lunch and the set up with the water slide in one area and a whole additional pool section in another is really nice. The bar staff is very attentive and food is decent (prices high but nothing too ridiculous). We were there for the Ironman and I'd say as an athlete this was a great place to stay. Not too far, but far enough that you could get away from the 'noise' and relax. The room were a nice size. We upgraded to the ocean view and did have perfect view. The deck was nice but the hotel is situated so you don't really hear waves at night. I might have gone with a partial ocean view next time - not sure I needed the full view or not. The kids game room was great. Good way to get out of the sun. My issues with the hotel are that there is very inconsistent hotel staff. Some are great, supportive, helpful etc. Some are grumpy and not helpful at all (like the concierge that I asked to open the game room when it wasn't open on time and he said "I don't know its supposed to be open I don't know what to tell you". I'm still shocked that he said that to me. Also, in general there are not enough staff. Not enough at the front desk, the coffee shop line was always ridiculously long, and if you need something (like a key that you lost) you had to get lucky that someone was available. I could see us staying here again if we are lucky enough to go back to IM World Championships.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go drive down Ali'i drive. You will find lots of dining options. Bubba Gump has a nice breakfast that is not that crowded and a very nice deck to sit out and watch the waves.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kimo777
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 24, 2014

Sheraton Kona Review August 2014

Good value. Good for families. daily "resort fee" a joke. Parking could be easier. Overall a good choice for the budget minded family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Bianelli's italian restaurant has amazing deep dish pizza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anne M.
Business
Los Gatos, California
Aug 17, 2014

Heaven meets paradise

This hotel is located in a beautiful spot! We upgraded to ocean front rooms, and enjoyed the sunset from our room. The pool is great for kids and the fitness center is excellent. A must-do is the manta ray night-time snorkeling, which is right by the hotel restaurant. A once-in-a-lifetime experience. We loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Gio's Gelato has the best ice-cream (gelato), we've had in a long time! They're closed now until some time September, but if they're open, don't miss it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
globe trotting tribe
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 10, 2014

Fantastic family vacation

We loved the outdoor pools, how warm the water was, how easy it was to entertain our 8-yr-old child all day long just around the pool and activity center (even if we didn't go to other island activities). The Manta Ray viewing experience was amazing! The whole hotel was beautiful, open and spacious with fantastic view of the ocean and Keauhou bay, conveniently situated near to Keauhou shopping center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

To see the manta rays you have to stay up late, until all the boats have left, around 9:30 to 10 pm

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rob clemson
Business
Virginia
Aug 2, 2014

Great family spot. Terrific pool

Beautiful grounds. Excellent activities for kids Local golf course was closed for renovation, so golf was far away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hapuna beAch is great Sea quest snorkeling was very good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rockstar2304
Business
Kona Hawaii
Jul 11, 2014

Best vacation ever!!

This place was by far the perfect getaway. I recommend this to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The pool is the best!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MKR11
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 9, 2014

Sheraton in Kona

There is NO way this hotel should be classified as a FOUR star hotel. I honestly have no idea how it got into this high of a category, because it is old, outdated, and just lacks an overall "vibe" or "personality". The rooms are just average. Our bathroom was quite outdated, peeling caulking around the shower tile, and literally the toilet had one of those industrial flushers that you see at parks/outdoor restrooms….the kind that you use your foot to flush with. That was our toilet, in our bathroom, at a four star hotel. Outside the property just lacks something….there is a lot of metal fencing everywhere, which made it seem somewhat industrial feeling. Landscaping is average, and there just seems to be a lot of things "in repair" or kinda semi-fixed. The lights went out in the pool one night, as well as all the other outside pool area lighting. I will say though the staff is super nice, no complaints there at all, and the water slide was fun for our 5 year old. One other thing that didn't work for us were the other hotel guests…….quite a few loud, obnoxious types there, some drinking quite a lot, and others, well just, not quite our speed. I will not stay at this hotel again though. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Make an early evening reservation at Huggos- we got there at 6:30pm, perfect for a Hawaiian sunset viewing, on the water. Food is excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Team IronSam
Business
Maui, HI
May 23, 2014

Ironman weekend

It was very relaxing yet exciting. Just far enough away from the action to be able to relax and enjoy the lovely pool facilities. Definitely worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicholas Oahu
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Apr 11, 2014

good value

Hotel room and accommodations were great. The kids enjoyed the water slide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kellycr
Business
Maryland
Mar 1, 2014

Everything bit the bathroom

The Sheraton had a lovely view! The rooms were nicely kept but the bathroom left much to be had. The toilet and shower just looked old and since there was no fan it smelled like mildew. Everything else about the hotel was just about perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Kona is a short drive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top