$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2015 Check-out: Apr 25, 2015

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

4 stars
View map of 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
481 out of 481
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dad to be
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 25, 2014

Great views and relaxing

We liked the hotel a lot. It was a relaxing place to sea the beautiful bay and chill by the pool. One negative was that the waves were crashing so hard that our patio door was rattling constantly. Despite that, it was good place and would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Sam Choys at the nearby shopping center had good food and a great view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blonde Hula Girl
Business
San Diego, California
Jan 21, 2014

Gorgeous Setting

Upon check in, we were upgraded from a Mountain View room to a partial ocean view. Wow! Our room was beautiful. We were on the ground floor with a large lanai. The ceilings must have been at least 20 feet! Very spacious. Our black out drapes would not close so we called maintenance and they arrived 5 minutes later. The drapes were fixed immediately. The beds and pillows are truly perfect. So, so comfortable. Rays, the restaurant located in the hotel, has a social hour everyday 5-7. For $5 you get to choose two 2ounce pours of excellent wines, reds, whites, and sparkling ( ie. - St. Francis Merlot, DeLoach Pinot ) The setting is so beautiful overlooking the pacific ocean as the sun is setting. The Kona Coffee shop has amazing coffee and very nice people who work there, which starts your day in such a positive way. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

You can watch the Manta Rays right from Rays around 8pm every night. As long as the waves are too large.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EYEA
Business
Bay Area, California
Jan 2, 2014

Comfortable family hotel.

Fairly standard rooms but very nice grounds and pools - our kids did not want to leave the hotel. Staff was very pleasant and responsive to our request.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AmandaC123
Business
Anchorage, AK
Nov 14, 2013

Not a Four-Star Hotel

I travel all over the world. This is my fourth trip this year, and my second stay in this particular chain this year. I had some good experiences and some negative experiences at the hotel. Amenities: The pool is awesome for kids and adults alike. Just don't plan on sending your kids to the pool while you have drinks-- everyone at the pool (even just the pool-side loungers) has to wear a wrist band. They literally patrol the pool areas. Each hotel room is permitted to have two adult and two children in the pool at a time. Forget having your friends from the next hotel over come swim with you. My entire family got turned away, and all they wanted was to watch my niece go down the awesome water slide. That really soured the experience for me. The staff were super polite about it, but I still regretted my decision to stay in a different hotel than the rest of my family. The restaurant was way over-priced. The food was okay, but you can go a mile up the road and get way better food in a much better setting for the same cost if not a little less. Room service was pretty quick-- usually within about 20 minutes, but the phone in my room didn't work. When I pressed the in-room dining button at 10 PM, I got another guest's room and woke some poor man up. Do not be fooled by the advertised "free parking." You pay a $30/day resort fee, which then gets taxed for every day you're at the hotel. This covers the cost of parking and in-room wifi which was acceptably fast. This is in addition to anything you pay through your online booking agent. The parking is quite a hike away from your room, which isn't really an issue unless you've got heavy items or banged your foot just so on the coral which causes every step to be painful. Location: The location is fine. There's nothing terrible about it, but it's not exactly on the beach either. It's right on the water, but the lava cliffs keep you from getting near the water. There are swimming beaches just a few miles down the road though. The only special thing about this location is that you can see manta rays in the water from the restaurant. Room cleanliness/comfort: So, when we first checked in, the room we were in had two double beds even though I booked with an online agent which doesn't guarantee a king bed, I had called ahead to ensure I got a king bed because my boyfriend and I are big and tall people. There were crumbs on the TV counter, and the fixtures in the bathroom were completely covered in a thick green corrosion. Even my two star hotel in Costa Rica managed to get around this issue by using special plumbing. I wouldn't have touched that toilet handle with a paper towel wrapped over my fingers, and I certainly wouldn't have let water out of the sink or the shower touch my skin. I called to complain right away, and we were transferred to a much more updated room. There was a little staining in the tile, but nothing that grossed me out. We also got the king bed we needed to be comfortable. Staff: The staff at this hotel were incredible. The man who initially checked us in was a little on the gruff side, but every single person we interacted with after him was fantastic. Value: I am disappointed in my overall experience in Kona. I feel like my family who stayed in a less expensive hotel got a better deal than I did. I really should have stayed with them, and next time I go to Kona, I will choose the three-star condos that my family chose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Stop by Wal-Mart or Costco on your way to this hotel and stock on snacks and drinks. There are fridges in every room!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Natr
Business
Cleveland, OH
Oct 20, 2013

Ironmanvisitor

Rooms are clean, comfortable and offer stunning views. Amenities are as expected. Enjoyable pool, prime restaurant, pleasant breakfast, coffee shop and a few gift shops. Strange "Green" rewards program where use of vouchers is extremely limited. Room service dropped the ball by not having a wine opener we could use for a bottle of wine we purchased at the local winery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent location for Ironman visitors. The night manta ray swimming was a once and a lifetime event. They can also be seen from Ray's on the Bay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ironman race spectator
Business
Burnsville, MN
Oct 14, 2013

Beautiful Resort

Resort was beautiful! Had a partial ocean view. Resort fee was way too much as we did not participate in any hula our leigh making lessons. $30 a night which came to $250 at check out. Resort does not have beach access due to lava rock but plenty of beaches 6 miles into town. Large parking lot which is a little walk, but it was no problem for us to walk. Participate in " going green" which declines housekeeping and new towels and bedding. You receive a $5 voucher per day for going green. the vouchers can be used for food or drinks or other stuff at the hotel. If u do not receive the voucher get it from the front desk because we had to ask almost daily for the voucher. Rays on the bay restaurant d his not have choices for people who do not eat seafood, and no kids menu. Breakfast buffet was part of our reservation so we got vouchers at check in to use for buffet. Food was ok, nothing was excellent. We recommend this resort and will definitely return to the same resort. It is only 6 miles from the hustle and bustle of Ali'I Drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PaintingByScott
Business
Crystal Lake, IL
Sep 11, 2013

Avoid this place like the plague

Let me start out by saying that the walls are paper thin, we could actually hear people in the next room charging their iphone (or iproduct, as we could hear the little chime noise it makes when plugged in). The doors are very solid and we could hear every door open and close from our room, it was rather annoying. we even tried to be courteous to others, and we found it next to impossible to close the door without making any noise. back to paper thin walls, we were able to hear conversations in other rooms, and people going up and down the halls early morning, all day, and well into the night. You know what surprises me most, is that it was the adults making more noise than the kids. Now lets move onto the customer service... from our room, we tried to save some time to have our car brought around, so we called down to the operator. It rang for more than 5 minutes, (we could have walked to the front by that time) I gave up on that and called an outside reservation line, and was then transferred to the front desk after about another 5 minutes, and eventually gave the valet people the card number for the car. We walked through the lobby, which didn't seem busy at all, and out to the valet which was also not busy, because they had 3 guys standing there, and when we showed up, they asked who we were, and then went to get the keys, and get the car at that point, so there was absolutely no time saved by calling down ahead of time. Now onto the pool/waterslide, we looked over the rules sign posted near the waterslide stairs, and it said a wristband was required for the slide, nowhere does it mention one was needed for the pools or hot tubs, so we tried to enjoy the pool, the quieter portion near the center of the resort. well we were in for maybe 2-3 minutes, and I was almost relaxed, because im aggravated because I had very little sleep because of the door slamings I mentioned earlier, anyways, the employee walking around the pool says we have to get out, get our room key, and get wristbands... I even showed him the sign that only says wristband needed for the waterslide, he said new rules from new management. I asked to speak with the management, and he said they were not there that day (which I can't believe)... In my own opinion, its not that hard for a resort to put up signs stating new rules, I mean we saw an out of order signs on an elevator that had been printed and taped to the elevator door, so the same could be done for pool rules, but it wasn't. Onto the next big thing... Their restaurant on the bay, my fresh catch was good, but plain white rice was not. My wife had a burger, that she wanted medium well (which should still have juices in it, but no pink) it was extremely dry. The final night we stayed here, we were waiting for the elevator, (it was between 11pm and 12am) when it opened there was a puddle on the floor, and the smell of urine in the air. I am glad this was on our last night, and not the first. The only thing good that we can think of about this resort is the location. Now that we have experienced this resort, we know we will never return there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

I would have to say its a good thing there are near by stores and restaurants, because I would hate to be stuck at this resort

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jamali
Business
Honolulu, HI
Aug 28, 2013

Sheraton Kona

Loved relaxing by the amazing pool! And watching the sunset there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Island Lava Java for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Solo wanderer
Business
Mountain View, CA, USA
Aug 21, 2013

Great Kona hotel

I've stayed at this hotel before and keep coming back. The staff is friendly. On this visit, they were able to accommodate my request to change rooms without any problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RJ Super Beat
Business
LA
Aug 18, 2013

Good Time, but .....

I enjoyed my stay; but: Re: the Luau. We arrived at 4:30 pm as advised, but we were not seated and not served. Instead, we were held captive from 4:30 to 5:00 pm. We were made to stand in line in the sun. We were not seated and we were not served. We were just forced to stand there hot and uncomfortable. It made me angry. I would have just left, but for my guests who had never been to a Luau before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top