$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

4 stars
78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
466 reviews
Very nice anniversary get away

We particularly liked the tropical setting and the care given to maintaining it. A full range of... See full review

  • Prbe1
  • Nov 11, 2014
Heaven meets paradise

This hotel is located in a beautiful spot! We upgraded to ocean front rooms, and enjoyed the sunset... See full review

  • Anne M.
  • Aug 17, 2014
Hawaiian getaway for canoeing, dolphin swims, and Holoholo tours

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay on Hawaii, the Big Island, is a blend of adventure, culture, heritage and authentic Hawaiian aloha hospitality. Situated on the iconic lava rocks of the Kona coast, overlooking historically significant Keauhou Bay, guests relax, experience and create memories with family and friends. The newly revitalized and completely unique oceanfront resort flourishes with naturally landscaped lands that were once the birthplace and playgrounds of kings which offer visitors a profound sense of place and storytelling that can be shared and appreciated across many generations. Considered the "Gateway to the Bay," the Flying Fish outfitters store provides an all-access pass to fun and adventure where guests can have immediate access to paddle boarding, kayaking, fishing, surfing, boat tours and exploring the pristine reef. The ocean view restaurants partner with local farms and fishermen to serve only the freshest ingredients. Rays on the Bay is the world's only restaurant where diners can enjoy live music seven nights per week by fire pit and observe majestic Manta Rays in their natural habitat. Under the stars, a weekly luau offers a colorful journey through history. Offering the most ultimate pool experience on the Kona coast, patrons rave about the 200-foot lava tube water slide, hot tubs, sprouting fountains and sandy-bottomed children's play area. Ho'ola Spa offers a healing Himalayan Salt Room and an oceanfront treatment patio. Whether culture seeker, romantic or ocean or land explorer, vacationers find themselves in the perfect location to discover and experience the beauty of Hawaii.

Reasons to stay
  • Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay's exemplary service
  • Hoola Spa and LomiLomi massage
  • Manta ray, Kailua and Hilo Village adventures
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay rooms
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay offers 24 suites and 485 guest rooms with double or king Sweet Sleeper beds with down quilts. Overlooking the Hualalai Mountains and Pacific shores, natural island-inspired textiles adorn all Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay furnishings. Rooms offer 37" LCD TV, Wi-Fi (fees may apply), safe, and in-room dining facilities.
Things to do nearby
  • Kona Country Club (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Keahou Shopping Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • End of the World Cliff Diving (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Teshima Restaurant (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Kailua Village and Hulihee Palace (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Manago Restaurant (10.6 mi/17 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Park (11.2 mi/ 8 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay Rooms

Ocean View Room
Ocean View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Partial Ocean View
Partial Ocean View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Mountain View Room
Mountain View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Ocean Front Room
Ocean Front View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Ainakai Restaurant
Island inspired, seasonal breakfast buffet From the land to the sea, Ainakai features a fresh rotation of breakfast items with emphasis on Sheratons Color your Plate philosophy
Rays on the Bay
Where the food compliments the view Amazing views along with handcrafted cocktails, Hawaii inspired cuisine and live, local entertainment. Nightly sunsets and the resident Manta Rays await.
Holua Bar and Grill
Casual and fun poolside dining Holua embraces relaxation and fun poolside. Join us for a maitai and our world famous sliders!
Keauhou Coffee Company
Featuring Mamas 100% Kona Coffee in a relaxed outdoor setting A coffee shop, Kona Style. Grab and go or relax in open air lounge.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Largest Meeting Room: 10000 sq. ft. Largest Meeting Room Seats: 1200 Smallest Meeting Room: 1000 sq. ft. Smallest Meeting Room Seats: 10 Conference Center on Site Meeting and Event Facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (466)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
466 out of 466
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ironman race spectator
Business
Burnsville, MN
Oct 14, 2013

Beautiful Resort

Resort was beautiful! Had a partial ocean view. Resort fee was way too much as we did not participate in any hula our leigh making lessons. $30 a night which came to $250 at check out. Resort does not have beach access due to lava rock but plenty of beaches 6 miles into town. Large parking lot which is a little walk, but it was no problem for us to walk. Participate in " going green" which declines housekeeping and new towels and bedding. You receive a $5 voucher per day for going green. the vouchers can be used for food or drinks or other stuff at the hotel. If u do not receive the voucher get it from the front desk because we had to ask almost daily for the voucher. Rays on the bay restaurant d his not have choices for people who do not eat seafood, and no kids menu. Breakfast buffet was part of our reservation so we got vouchers at check in to use for buffet. Food was ok, nothing was excellent. We recommend this resort and will definitely return to the same resort. It is only 6 miles from the hustle and bustle of Ali'I Drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PaintingByScott
Business
Crystal Lake, IL
Sep 11, 2013

Avoid this place like the plague

Let me start out by saying that the walls are paper thin, we could actually hear people in the next room charging their iphone (or iproduct, as we could hear the little chime noise it makes when plugged in). The doors are very solid and we could hear every door open and close from our room, it was rather annoying. we even tried to be courteous to others, and we found it next to impossible to close the door without making any noise. back to paper thin walls, we were able to hear conversations in other rooms, and people going up and down the halls early morning, all day, and well into the night. You know what surprises me most, is that it was the adults making more noise than the kids. Now lets move onto the customer service... from our room, we tried to save some time to have our car brought around, so we called down to the operator. It rang for more than 5 minutes, (we could have walked to the front by that time) I gave up on that and called an outside reservation line, and was then transferred to the front desk after about another 5 minutes, and eventually gave the valet people the card number for the car. We walked through the lobby, which didn't seem busy at all, and out to the valet which was also not busy, because they had 3 guys standing there, and when we showed up, they asked who we were, and then went to get the keys, and get the car at that point, so there was absolutely no time saved by calling down ahead of time. Now onto the pool/waterslide, we looked over the rules sign posted near the waterslide stairs, and it said a wristband was required for the slide, nowhere does it mention one was needed for the pools or hot tubs, so we tried to enjoy the pool, the quieter portion near the center of the resort. well we were in for maybe 2-3 minutes, and I was almost relaxed, because im aggravated because I had very little sleep because of the door slamings I mentioned earlier, anyways, the employee walking around the pool says we have to get out, get our room key, and get wristbands... I even showed him the sign that only says wristband needed for the waterslide, he said new rules from new management. I asked to speak with the management, and he said they were not there that day (which I can't believe)... In my own opinion, its not that hard for a resort to put up signs stating new rules, I mean we saw an out of order signs on an elevator that had been printed and taped to the elevator door, so the same could be done for pool rules, but it wasn't. Onto the next big thing... Their restaurant on the bay, my fresh catch was good, but plain white rice was not. My wife had a burger, that she wanted medium well (which should still have juices in it, but no pink) it was extremely dry. The final night we stayed here, we were waiting for the elevator, (it was between 11pm and 12am) when it opened there was a puddle on the floor, and the smell of urine in the air. I am glad this was on our last night, and not the first. The only thing good that we can think of about this resort is the location. Now that we have experienced this resort, we know we will never return there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

I would have to say its a good thing there are near by stores and restaurants, because I would hate to be stuck at this resort

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jamali
Business
Honolulu, HI
Aug 28, 2013

Sheraton Kona

Loved relaxing by the amazing pool! And watching the sunset there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Island Lava Java for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Solo wanderer
Business
Mountain View, CA, USA
Aug 21, 2013

Great Kona hotel

I've stayed at this hotel before and keep coming back. The staff is friendly. On this visit, they were able to accommodate my request to change rooms without any problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RJ Super Beat
Business
LA
Aug 18, 2013

Good Time, but .....

I enjoyed my stay; but: Re: the Luau. We arrived at 4:30 pm as advised, but we were not seated and not served. Instead, we were held captive from 4:30 to 5:00 pm. We were made to stand in line in the sun. We were not seated and we were not served. We were just forced to stand there hot and uncomfortable. It made me angry. I would have just left, but for my guests who had never been to a Luau before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yskim
Business
New Jersey
Jul 25, 2013

They have Korean staff!!!

They have Korean staff at the counter. She's name was Sally. She was very kind and helpful. Hotel is very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DougB of the desert
Business
La Quinta,CA
Jul 16, 2013

Fantastic family vacation spot

Could not have asked for more. From the time we arrived until we checked out we were treated like one of the "ohana". Every staff member greeted us with an "aloha" every time we came across one. Everyone was so helpful, asking what we had planned for the day, what we could do while we were there, where to go, etc. The pool at the hotel is fantastic and the grounds are both inviting and give the whole place a get away feeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If in Kona you have to eat at the Kona Inn. It is right on the bay with the most outstanding sunsets ever.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamie Honeymooner
Business
Minnesota, MN
Jun 2, 2013

Great place to stay

Rooms were amazing, I loved that they had yoga everyday by the ocean. Beautiful views of the ocean, and Manta Rays at night! Only wish that it had a beach (although there is a small beach with ocean access within a 5 minute walk).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Annie's Burgers were amazing. Grass fed beef, OR I got a really nice Ono burger that they made too! They trade off the fresh fish of the day in it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chuckilla
Business
issaquah, wa
May 2, 2013

Relaxing and beautiful

Wow, as we staggered off the plane and checked in the staff was great, very friendly and helpful. We switched to a room facing the ocean last minute with no problem. I accidentally left my computer mouse in the room after check out and they held it for me til I could come get it. (They woulda shipped it if I had left the island already!) The downstairs restaurant was delicious and the sunsets were amazing. We were there in late April, the weather was perfect. My only surprise was how far away from the parking the rooms are, but after a few days I actually got in shape and didn't mind! :) Will definetly be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Paparoni's Pizza & Pasta, in Captain Cook. Small place, real NY pizza and fun staff!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Portland family
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 5, 2013

Great family hotel on Kona

I brought my 2 boys (10 and 13) completely enjoyed the pool and amenities. We were a little disappointed in the dining options. While there were 3 restaurants, there never seemed to be more than one open at a time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top