$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

4 stars
View map of 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
520 out of 520
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mizzzanet
Business
Texas
Nov 17, 2009

Beautiful Grounds!

The staff was warm and friendly.The hotel grounds are beautifully kept, but our room wasn't as clean as we would've liked. There were dead bugs that never got cleaned away.The hairdryer was a sticky mes that had hair stuck all over it and there were hairs stuck along the toilet and bathtub thet were not ours. The carpet was clean, the sheets and blankets seemed to be clean and we recieved clean towels everyday. The house keeper was an older lady so maybe she had a hard time seeing the things we saw. All in al the hotel was great and we enjoyed our stay there, and we woulddefinitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sunlight On Water offers two excursions that you MUST do! The morning snorkel with the spinner dolphins is a wonderful experience!The night snorkel with the manta rays was awesome! The staff are friendly and very informative and their prces are very reasonable! China and Melainah will take excellent care of you!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Nov 10, 2009

Anniversary Get Away

Nice clean hotel with very friendly staff. No beach to hang out on, even though it is ocean front, but the pool was nice and relaxing and they even have a waterslide to bring out the kid in everyone. Great snorkeling close to hotel. Hotel restaurants were pricey, chose most often to head into town to eat. Fitness center was nice. Check out the manta ray viewing area at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clifton Park, NY
Nov 10, 2009

Wonderful experience.

The view from my balcony was breathtaking. I had a wonderful experience. The concierge recommended a snorkeling trip that was awesome. The grounds surrounding the hotel were beautiful. I just loved the whole experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I would absolutely recommend the Firenesia Luau at the hotel. It was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kearney, MO
Nov 2, 2009

Beautiful location

We really enjoyed this hotel. Our room was amazing, with an expansive ocean view. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating, and the room was very large and clean. Our primary reason for the trip was seeing Kilauea, and be aware it is a couple of hours drive to the volcany from Kailua-Kona. However, it was well worth it. We would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Island Lava Java on Alli Drive north of the hotel is a great place to have breakfast overlooking the ocean.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vacation lovers
Business
bend oregon
Nov 1, 2009

relax at the sheraton

you definitly need a rental car if you stay here,because it is very secluded and quiet. it is about 5 miles from town. great place to come and relax after sightseeing hawaii.the staff is very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

use a rental car and shop around.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daniel & Ashlie'
Business
Vancouver, WA
Oct 29, 2009

Great Resort! Would stay again!

We visited the Big Island October 5-9 and were very pleased with our stay at the Sheraton. We give the resort 5 stars based on our expectations.We knew booking the hotel that it would be one of the nicer places on the island. It certainly was. The outside is beautiful it it is clear they have put much time and effort into grounds-keeping and landscaping. The pools, waterslide, and other outdoor amenities are also top-notch. The resort's only weakness seemed to be its rooms. The hallways were dark and the rooms showed their age but it didn't make the trip at all unenjoyable. Just know going into it that the rooms are nice and serviceable but not top-notch.The rooms have a fridge and a very effective A/C unit. They also have big balconies complete with a table and chairs. The bed was quite comfortable and the in-room safe was nice. Other than that they're quite plain and a little dated. The breakfast buffet is $20/person and it is worth checking out. The Luau (Monday nights) was also nice and at $80/person for buffet, open bar, and a Luau it was worth it. Internet is $12ish/day and Parking is $10/day. We skipped the internet and came with our iPhones and that was certainly worth the savings. AT&T service throughout the island was great, FYI. The main activities we did were a trip to the Volcano, a Dolphin Swim, the Luau, and Zip Lining. Definitely rent a car at the airport, it really isn't that expensive and you can save tons by not taking bus tours or waiting for shuttles and being able to drive where ever you want to eat. Our biggest tip to everyone is to read as many reviews as you can for everything you're going to be doing. Find out which activities are worth your time and money!Keauhou Bay is about 15-20 minutes from Kona. There's a Target, Wal-Mart, Safeway and more in Kona. Check out reviews for local restaurants before you go. Remember, the resort is not located on a beach but rather on a bay lined with black lava rocks. It's gorgeous but remember that if you're looking for a white sand beach you're going to have to drive to get there. [...]All in all it was a great stay! Know what you're getting in advance and I don't see how any reasonable person wouldn't be blown away by the beauty of the Island as well as by this resort and its amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Schip
Business
Sacramento, CA
Oct 28, 2009

Stay in paradise

Love this hotel! I have been staying at this hotel when in Kona for 23 years and every time I stay, the experience is wonderful. I like staying away from the crowds and yet Kailua is only 15 minutes away. I always upgrade to an ocean front room and have never been disappointed with the view. The hotel is very kid friendly but also caters to couples. Even with the kids, the hotel is quiet. The staff is very friendly. This trip, due to the economy, the hotel was not very full. Hence the valet suggested that we not pay for valet parking but could park, ourselves, in the valet lot. We ended up three stalls away from the entrance to the hotel almost every night. You cannot go wrong staying at the Sheraton Keauhou!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go into Kailua or Keauhou for dinning options. The hotel's options are limited and expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver/Canada
Oct 27, 2009

Nothing spectacular

The Hotel staff was not really helpful even there weren't that many people staying in the hotel. It is very secluded, you have to walk for about 20 Minutes to get to other restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MommaL
Business
LA
Oct 26, 2009

Beautiful oceanfront location!

Very enjoyable and relaxing. This was our second stay at the Sheraton Resort. I would recommend the resort to couples and families. We had our meals at the hotel resturant each night we stayed. We spent a lot of time at the pool, played golf at the Kona Country Club next door--the number two hole was across from our room, the Firenesia Luau was very entertaining, the staff very accomodating and I guess the only complaint is that we ran out of time!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Haole from Honolulu
Business
Honolulu, HI
Oct 26, 2009

Not new, but definetly not bad

The resort seemed very empty during our 7day/6night stay. We never encountered a crowd at pool, bar, dining facilities, or even the parking lot. We enjoyed our stay tremendously, in no small part because the resort was so quiet, peaceful, and what felt like all to ourselves. The staff was generally pleasant and helpful. You could tell the staff has been impacted by the low traffic, our very helpful concierge, who quickly and effectively booked and confirmed several tours and attractions for us during the week was pulling double-duty working from the pool-side towel stand. Overall the resort needs updating and refreshing, but it was great for what it offered, didn't hurt that it was empty..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Pass on the spa services here... Nothing special, and lots of better options in Kailua-Kona resort area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top