$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2015 Check-out: Apr 24, 2015

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

4 stars
View map of 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
482 out of 482
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vigothecruel
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 14, 2009

Honeymooning on the Big Island

The hotel was beautiful. Our first experience with using Orbitz to book our hotel rental resulted in less-than-ideal results. My reservation with Orbitz stated that my room at the Sheraton Keauhou would include either two fulls or a king-sized bed. Since my new wife and I were celebrating our honeymoon, we obviously would prefer a king-sized bed. After arriving at the Sheraton, we were assigned a room with two full sized beds. We walked back to registration and were told that no other rooms with king-sized beds were available unless we wanted to upgrade to an ocean-view room for an extra $25 per night. Naturally, I was incensed that I received no notification that a room with a king-sized bed would be unavailable. I would like to continue my patronage with Orbitz handling my travel arrangements, but these kinds of sloppy arrangements makes me seriously reconsider any further transactions with either Orbitz or the Sheraton chains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SloRocket
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Sep 11, 2009

Fabulous Ocean view cliffside location

The hotel is located on lava cliffs overlooking the Pacific. The sunsets are priceless. You can watch the sun dip into the Pacific Ocean while enjoying your favorite cocktail and then head inside or downtown for a wonderful variety of dinner choices. Food and beverage costs are on the high side but not much more than what you pay in Kona. The pools are kept in very nice condition and there are no resort fees for towels or shade. There is a water slide, pool volleyball, and a basketball hoop set up to keep you or your kids entertained while basking in the Hawaiian sun. The grounds are beautifully maintained and sitting areas throughout the resort make for nice backdrops for many photo opportunities. Take along a camera with knowledge on how to get the best shots in a variety of conditions to best record your memorable vacation. After dark the hotel turns on two powerful oceanside spotlights that allow you to view huge Manta Rays swimming gracefully within a hundred yards of the outdoor lounge. While the economy has taken a toll on the tourist business in general, the staff of the Sheraton could not have been more friendly and helpful. From the moment we stepped out of our car we felt like we were being treated as VIP's. It was difficult to say goodbye but we look forward to our next visit. It is important to note that the Sheraton is located at the south end of the Kailua-Kona district. They have a shuttle bus that runs downtown and elsewhere. There is a shopping center close by. And best of all, there is plenty to do on the big island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of wonderful restaurants located in town. Ask others where they suggest, take a look at website reviews, and stop and look at menus for good scouting information. We enjoyed Huggo's for dinner (oceanside with open air dining), Outback Steakhouse, Bubba Gump's, Pancho & Lefty's, Quinn's, Bongo Ben's, Island Lava Java, and U-Top-It for a variety of meals. Next time we look forward to trying the Kona Inn, Jameson's, and LuLu's for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Auburn, CA
Sep 10, 2009

gorgous grounhds

Manta ray viewing was fantastic. Food expensive. Hotel room was large with very comfortable beds. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Pools with water slide would have been great for big kids. Sandy beach in pool great for little kids.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Delta Dawn
Business
Gilbert, AZ
Sep 9, 2009

Big Island Beautiful

We stayed for 4 nights. The value was great, the partial ocean view might has well be considered a full view. The rooms are spacious. The pool is amazing. The only bad thing I could say was that it's way off the beaten path, you have to drive in to Kona and to everywhere,although most hotels that are nicer are the same way. They have a "green" program where if you don't request your room be cleaned the first 3 days they give you a $5.00 coupon each day but we it expires the next day. We only got two, should have rec'd 3 and never got a chance to use it.They also apparently spaced and didn't clean our room on the 4th day so we had to request towels when we got back at 9pm. The Crystal Bar has an amazing view, their nicer restaurant doesn't have much of a view and it's very buffet style decor. If you love pools and views and quiet location it's your hotel for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oahu, Hi.
Sep 9, 2009

Pretty good deal

My family and I headed to Hilo side to check out the volcano, worth the 2 hour drive. When we got back we check in to the hotel. Check in and out was simple and easy. The Sheraton is pretty big, lots to do at the hotel. You can lounge at the pool and order food and drinks. The pool has two water slides and a neat kiddie pool. The hotel is right on the ocean and has great sunsets. The do charge $10 a night for parking. Overall, the Sheraton was worth it for the price we booked at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy food, drinks, adult beverages, and snacks from Wal-Mart or Target 10 minutes away instead of eating at the hotel, very expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aunt Bat
Business
Tacoma, WA
Sep 7, 2009

A great spot for the money!!

[...] and [...] at the Manta Ray Bar & Grill were fantastic! Their service was fast and efficient. They were attentative and informative without being flirty, which I truly appreciated being an older single female. The staff in general was warm and friendly. The entire hotel was clean and appeared well maintained. The pool was everything it needed to be. Fun, spacious and beautiful. I will return to this hotel yearly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

To save a few dollars on meals and beverages take the free shuttle to the Long's drugstore stop and shop at the KTA grocery store to stock up. For emergency puchases there is a small sundries store at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 6, 2009

Big Island Vacation

Very beautiful, peaceful and serene setting. Hotel was kept immaculate

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Allow an entire day when visiting the Volcanoes, this way you can make various stops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hawaiin Princess
Business
The Big Island of Hawaii
Sep 2, 2009

Nice Hotel

We visited many attractions when we were in Hawaii. Our stay would have been more enjoyable had the hotel had some form of free nightly entertainment. Also, if the prices of food and drinks were less costly. This trip was good because of the attractions we saw and the kind staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The markets are the best place to find nice souvenirs. Also, rent a vehicle and make sure you have insurance on it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LCB
Business
Dallas, Texas
Sep 1, 2009

Kona

It was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

This is for Orbitz to make sure when breakfast is included in the package the hotel also receives that information and has it ready at checkin.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bored in Kona
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 30, 2009

So-So Kona

We were paying good money at the bar, they still closed earlier than stated. Could not get food or anything after 10pm. The pool was nice. The service sucked. The front desk staff was horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you get anything you want to eat or drink ahead of time because everything, and I mean everything closes early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top