$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2014 Check-out: May 15, 2014

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

4 stars
78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
443 reviews
db1&2

The hotel was awesome. The registration process and information given were disappointing. The... See full review

  • db squared
  • Apr 12, 2014
Great hotel

Staff were helpful, clean hotel, and great relaxing location See full review

  • AYJV
  • Apr 7, 2014
Hawaiian getaway for canoeing, dolphin swims, and Holoholo tours

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay on Hawaii, the Big Island, is a blend of adventure, culture, heritage and authentic Hawaiian aloha hospitality. Situated on the iconic lava rocks of the Kona coast, overlooking historically significant Keauhou Bay, guests relax, experience and create memories with family and friends. The newly revitalized and completely unique oceanfront resort flourishes with naturally landscaped lands that were once the birthplace and playgrounds of kings which offer visitors a profound sense of place and storytelling that can be shared and appreciated across many generations. Considered the "Gateway to the Bay," the Flying Fish outfitters store provides an all-access pass to fun and adventure where guests can have immediate access to paddle boarding, kayaking, fishing, surfing, boat tours and exploring the pristine reef. The ocean view restaurants partner with local farms and fishermen to serve only the freshest ingredients. Rays on the Bay is the world's only restaurant where diners can enjoy live music seven nights per week by fire pit and observe majestic Manta Rays in their natural habitat. Under the stars, a weekly luau offers a colorful journey through history. Offering the most ultimate pool experience on the Kona coast, patrons rave about the 200-foot lava tube water slide, hot tubs, sprouting fountains and sandy-bottomed children's play area. Ho'ola Spa offers a healing Himalayan Salt Room and an oceanfront treatment patio. Whether culture seeker, romantic or ocean or land explorer, vacationers find themselves in the perfect location to discover and experience the beauty of Hawaii.

Reasons to stay
  • Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay's exemplary service
  • Hoola Spa and LomiLomi massage
  • Manta ray, Kailua and Hilo Village adventures
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay rooms
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay offers 24 suites and 485 guest rooms with double or king Sweet Sleeper beds with down quilts. Overlooking the Hualalai Mountains and Pacific shores, natural island-inspired textiles adorn all Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay furnishings. Rooms offer 37" LCD TV, Wi-Fi (fees may apply), safe, and in-room dining facilities.
Things to do nearby
  • Kona Country Club (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Keahou Shopping Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • End of the World Cliff Diving (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Teshima Restaurant (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Kailua Village and Hulihee Palace (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Manago Restaurant (10.6 mi/17 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Park (11.2 mi/ 8 km)

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay Rooms

Ocean View Room
Ocean View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Partial Ocean View
Partial Ocean View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Mountain View Room
Mountain View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Ocean Front Room
Ocean Front View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.5586 -155.9648
Area served
Kailua-Kona Hawaii, Big Island Keauhou Bay
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-KOA 15 Miles Hilo International Airport-ITO 96 Miles
Area description
Hulihe'e Palace - 5.0 mi/8.1 km Hawaii Forest and Trail Ecotours - 5.0 mi/8.1 km,Kona Coffee Living History Farm - 10.0 mi/16.1 km City of Refuge - 25.0 mi/40.2 km Volcano National Park - 96.0 mi/154.5 km

Dining

Ainakai Restaurant
Island inspired, seasonal breakfast buffet From the land to the sea, Ainakai features a fresh rotation of breakfast items with emphasis on Sheratons Color your Plate philosophy
Rays on the Bay
Where the food compliments the view Amazing views along with handcrafted cocktails, Hawaii inspired cuisine and live, local entertainment. Nightly sunsets and the resident Manta Rays await.
Holua Bar and Grill
Casual and fun poolside dining Holua embraces relaxation and fun poolside. Join us for a maitai and our world famous sliders!
Keauhou Coffee Company
Featuring Mamas 100% Kona Coffee in a relaxed outdoor setting A coffee shop, Kona Style. Grab and go or relax in open air lounge.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Largest Meeting Room: 10000 sq. ft. Largest Meeting Room Seats: 1200 Smallest Meeting Room: 1000 sq. ft. Smallest Meeting Room Seats: 10 Conference Center on Site Meeting and Event Facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (443)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
443 out of 443
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
Wendy 43
Hilo, HI
Feb 19, 2014

Whales At Play!!

What a great trip!! The hotel was wonderful! Their staff was very friendly and accommodating. February seems to bring the whales to that side of the island and we watched several of them jumping out of the water and splashing around. The price could be a little better, but our room was a ocean view room and we were directly in front of the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There are other restaurants around that are much less expensive with more food.

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
Julie R.
Kona, Hawaii
Feb 10, 2014

Awesome!

Our room with a King Size bed was facing the ocean on the cold magma coastline. Patio doors leading to the lanai(balcony) could be left open as we slept. You slept to the crash of waves against the rock cliffs. Screens were not necessary, as we saw only one fly elsewhere on the island on our 2nd last day. There was a mini-fridge in the room, a safe, iron and ironing board. We were probably 30 feet from the shoreline. We could view the manta rays from our balcony as they swam in the illuminated shallow waters. Black manta rays would flip over and be totally white. An awesome room and an amazing vacation!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
Backroads biker
WI
Jan 27, 2014

Kona

Efficient staff, nice pool and fitness room, amazing crashing surf just outside your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
Dad to be
Chicago, IL
Jan 25, 2014

Great views and relaxing

We liked the hotel a lot. It was a relaxing place to sea the beautiful bay and chill by the pool. One negative was that the waves were crashing so hard that our patio door was rattling constantly. Despite that, it was good place and would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Sam Choys at the nearby shopping center had good food and a great view.

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
Blonde Hula Girl
Business
San Diego, California
Jan 21, 2014

Gorgeous Setting

Upon check in, we were upgraded from a Mountain View room to a partial ocean view. Wow! Our room was beautiful. We were on the ground floor with a large lanai. The ceilings must have been at least 20 feet! Very spacious. Our black out drapes would not close so we called maintenance and they arrived 5 minutes later. The drapes were fixed immediately. The beds and pillows are truly perfect. So, so comfortable. Rays, the restaurant located in the hotel, has a social hour everyday 5-7. For $5 you get to choose two 2ounce pours of excellent wines, reds, whites, and sparkling ( ie. - St. Francis Merlot, DeLoach Pinot ) The setting is so beautiful overlooking the pacific ocean as the sun is setting. The Kona Coffee shop has amazing coffee and very nice people who work there, which starts your day in such a positive way. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

You can watch the Manta Rays right from Rays around 8pm every night. As long as the waves are too large.

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
EYEA
Bay Area, California
Jan 2, 2014

Comfortable family hotel.

Fairly standard rooms but very nice grounds and pools - our kids did not want to leave the hotel. Staff was very pleasant and responsive to our request.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

3
AmandaC123
Anchorage, AK
Nov 14, 2013

Not a Four-Star Hotel

I travel all over the world. This is my fourth trip this year, and my second stay in this particular chain this year. I had some good experiences and some negative experiences at the hotel. Amenities: The pool is awesome for kids and adults alike. Just don't plan on sending your kids to the pool while you have drinks-- everyone at the pool (even just the pool-side loungers) has to wear a wrist band. They literally patrol the pool areas. Each hotel room is permitted to have two adult and two children in the pool at a time. Forget having your friends from the next hotel over come swim with you. My entire family got turned away, and all they wanted was to watch my niece go down the awesome water slide. That really soured the experience for me. The staff were super polite about it, but I still regretted my decision to stay in a different hotel than the rest of my family. The restaurant was way over-priced. The food was okay, but you can go a mile up the road and get way better food in a much better setting for the same cost if not a little less. Room service was pretty quick-- usually within about 20 minutes, but the phone in my room didn't work. When I pressed the in-room dining button at 10 PM, I got another guest's room and woke some poor man up. Do not be fooled by the advertised "free parking." You pay a $30/day resort fee, which then gets taxed for every day you're at the hotel. This covers the cost of parking and in-room wifi which was acceptably fast. This is in addition to anything you pay through your online booking agent. The parking is quite a hike away from your room, which isn't really an issue unless you've got heavy items or banged your foot just so on the coral which causes every step to be painful. Location: The location is fine. There's nothing terrible about it, but it's not exactly on the beach either. It's right on the water, but the lava cliffs keep you from getting near the water. There are swimming beaches just a few miles down the road though. The only special thing about this location is that you can see manta rays in the water from the restaurant. Room cleanliness/comfort: So, when we first checked in, the room we were in had two double beds even though I booked with an online agent which doesn't guarantee a king bed, I had called ahead to ensure I got a king bed because my boyfriend and I are big and tall people. There were crumbs on the TV counter, and the fixtures in the bathroom were completely covered in a thick green corrosion. Even my two star hotel in Costa Rica managed to get around this issue by using special plumbing. I wouldn't have touched that toilet handle with a paper towel wrapped over my fingers, and I certainly wouldn't have let water out of the sink or the shower touch my skin. I called to complain right away, and we were transferred to a much more updated room. There was a little staining in the tile, but nothing that grossed me out. We also got the king bed we needed to be comfortable. Staff: The staff at this hotel were incredible. The man who initially checked us in was a little on the gruff side, but every single person we interacted with after him was fantastic. Value: I am disappointed in my overall experience in Kona. I feel like my family who stayed in a less expensive hotel got a better deal than I did. I really should have stayed with them, and next time I go to Kona, I will choose the three-star condos that my family chose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Stop by Wal-Mart or Costco on your way to this hotel and stock on snacks and drinks. There are fridges in every room!

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
Natr
Cleveland, OH
Oct 20, 2013

Ironmanvisitor

Rooms are clean, comfortable and offer stunning views. Amenities are as expected. Enjoyable pool, prime restaurant, pleasant breakfast, coffee shop and a few gift shops. Strange "Green" rewards program where use of vouchers is extremely limited. Room service dropped the ball by not having a wine opener we could use for a bottle of wine we purchased at the local winery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent location for Ironman visitors. The night manta ray swimming was a once and a lifetime event. They can also be seen from Ray's on the Bay.

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
Ironman race spectator
Burnsville, MN
Oct 14, 2013

Beautiful Resort

Resort was beautiful! Had a partial ocean view. Resort fee was way too much as we did not participate in any hula our leigh making lessons. $30 a night which came to $250 at check out. Resort does not have beach access due to lava rock but plenty of beaches 6 miles into town. Large parking lot which is a little walk, but it was no problem for us to walk. Participate in " going green" which declines housekeeping and new towels and bedding. You receive a $5 voucher per day for going green. the vouchers can be used for food or drinks or other stuff at the hotel. If u do not receive the voucher get it from the front desk because we had to ask almost daily for the voucher. Rays on the bay restaurant d his not have choices for people who do not eat seafood, and no kids menu. Breakfast buffet was part of our reservation so we got vouchers at check in to use for buffet. Food was ok, nothing was excellent. We recommend this resort and will definitely return to the same resort. It is only 6 miles from the hustle and bustle of Ali'I Drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

1
PaintingByScott
Crystal Lake, IL
Sep 11, 2013

Avoid this place like the plague

Let me start out by saying that the walls are paper thin, we could actually hear people in the next room charging their iphone (or iproduct, as we could hear the little chime noise it makes when plugged in). The doors are very solid and we could hear every door open and close from our room, it was rather annoying. we even tried to be courteous to others, and we found it next to impossible to close the door without making any noise. back to paper thin walls, we were able to hear conversations in other rooms, and people going up and down the halls early morning, all day, and well into the night. You know what surprises me most, is that it was the adults making more noise than the kids. Now lets move onto the customer service... from our room, we tried to save some time to have our car brought around, so we called down to the operator. It rang for more than 5 minutes, (we could have walked to the front by that time) I gave up on that and called an outside reservation line, and was then transferred to the front desk after about another 5 minutes, and eventually gave the valet people the card number for the car. We walked through the lobby, which didn't seem busy at all, and out to the valet which was also not busy, because they had 3 guys standing there, and when we showed up, they asked who we were, and then went to get the keys, and get the car at that point, so there was absolutely no time saved by calling down ahead of time. Now onto the pool/waterslide, we looked over the rules sign posted near the waterslide stairs, and it said a wristband was required for the slide, nowhere does it mention one was needed for the pools or hot tubs, so we tried to enjoy the pool, the quieter portion near the center of the resort. well we were in for maybe 2-3 minutes, and I was almost relaxed, because im aggravated because I had very little sleep because of the door slamings I mentioned earlier, anyways, the employee walking around the pool says we have to get out, get our room key, and get wristbands... I even showed him the sign that only says wristband needed for the waterslide, he said new rules from new management. I asked to speak with the management, and he said they were not there that day (which I can't believe)... In my own opinion, its not that hard for a resort to put up signs stating new rules, I mean we saw an out of order signs on an elevator that had been printed and taped to the elevator door, so the same could be done for pool rules, but it wasn't. Onto the next big thing... Their restaurant on the bay, my fresh catch was good, but plain white rice was not. My wife had a burger, that she wanted medium well (which should still have juices in it, but no pink) it was extremely dry. The final night we stayed here, we were waiting for the elevator, (it was between 11pm and 12am) when it opened there was a puddle on the floor, and the smell of urine in the air. I am glad this was on our last night, and not the first. The only thing good that we can think of about this resort is the location. Now that we have experienced this resort, we know we will never return there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

I would have to say its a good thing there are near by stores and restaurants, because I would hate to be stuck at this resort

Back to menu Return to top