$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

4 stars
78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
728 reviews
Best vacation ever!!

This place was by far the perfect getaway. I recommend this to anyone! See full review

  • Rockstar2304
  • Jul 11, 2014
db1&2

The hotel was awesome. The registration process and information given were disappointing. The... See full review

  • db squared
  • Apr 12, 2014
Hawaiian getaway for canoeing, dolphin swims, and Holoholo tours

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay on Hawaii, the Big Island, is a blend of adventure, culture, heritage and authentic Hawaiian aloha hospitality. Situated on the iconic lava rocks of the Kona coast, overlooking historically significant Keauhou Bay, guests relax, experience and create memories with family and friends. The newly revitalized and completely unique oceanfront resort flourishes with naturally landscaped lands that were once the birthplace and playgrounds of kings which offer visitors a profound sense of place and storytelling that can be shared and appreciated across many generations. Considered the "Gateway to the Bay," the Flying Fish outfitters store provides an all-access pass to fun and adventure where guests can have immediate access to paddle boarding, kayaking, fishing, surfing, boat tours and exploring the pristine reef. The ocean view restaurants partner with local farms and fishermen to serve only the freshest ingredients. Rays on the Bay is the world's only restaurant where diners can enjoy live music seven nights per week by fire pit and observe majestic Manta Rays in their natural habitat. Under the stars, a weekly luau offers a colorful journey through history. Offering the most ultimate pool experience on the Kona coast, patrons rave about the 200-foot lava tube water slide, hot tubs, sprouting fountains and sandy-bottomed children's play area. Ho'ola Spa offers a healing Himalayan Salt Room and an oceanfront treatment patio. Whether culture seeker, romantic or ocean or land explorer, vacationers find themselves in the perfect location to discover and experience the beauty of Hawaii.

Reasons to stay
  • Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay's exemplary service
  • Hoola Spa and LomiLomi massage
  • Manta ray, Kailua and Hilo Village adventures
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay rooms
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay offers 24 suites and 485 guest rooms with double or king Sweet Sleeper beds with down quilts. Overlooking the Hualalai Mountains and Pacific shores, natural island-inspired textiles adorn all Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay furnishings. Rooms offer 37" LCD TV, Wi-Fi (fees may apply), safe, and in-room dining facilities.
Things to do nearby
  • Kona Country Club (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Keahou Shopping Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • End of the World Cliff Diving (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Teshima Restaurant (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Kailua Village and Hulihee Palace (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Manago Restaurant (10.6 mi/17 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Park (11.2 mi/ 8 km)

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay Rooms

Ocean View Room
Ocean View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Partial Ocean View
Partial Ocean View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Mountain View Room
Mountain View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Ocean Front Room
Ocean Front View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.5586 -155.9648
Area served
Kailua-Kona Hawaii, Big Island Keauhou Bay
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-KOA 15 Miles Hilo International Airport-ITO 96 Miles
Area description
Hulihe'e Palace - 5.0 mi/8.1 km Hawaii Forest and Trail Ecotours - 5.0 mi/8.1 km,Kona Coffee Living History Farm - 10.0 mi/16.1 km City of Refuge - 25.0 mi/40.2 km Volcano National Park - 96.0 mi/154.5 km

Dining

Ainakai Restaurant
Island inspired, seasonal breakfast buffet From the land to the sea, Ainakai features a fresh rotation of breakfast items with emphasis on Sheratons Color your Plate philosophy
Rays on the Bay
Where the food compliments the view Amazing views along with handcrafted cocktails, Hawaii inspired cuisine and live, local entertainment. Nightly sunsets and the resident Manta Rays await.
Holua Bar and Grill
Casual and fun poolside dining Holua embraces relaxation and fun poolside. Join us for a maitai and our world famous sliders!
Keauhou Coffee Company
Featuring Mamas 100% Kona Coffee in a relaxed outdoor setting A coffee shop, Kona Style. Grab and go or relax in open air lounge.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Largest Meeting Room: 10000 sq. ft. Largest Meeting Room Seats: 1200 Smallest Meeting Room: 1000 sq. ft. Smallest Meeting Room Seats: 10 Conference Center on Site Meeting and Event Facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (728)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
728 out of 728
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeff AZ
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Very good resort, so-so rooms

We found the hotel staff and amenities very nice, however the rooms were showing their age. We take 3-4 trips a year and the two things we generally judge our hotel rooms on are the bathroom and the TV. Granted what are you doing watching TV on vacation?! We actually don't watch much but its a good indicator of the rooms overall quality. This room had an old 27" tube style TV, not a good start. The bathroom was very small, tub and shower combo with a shower curtain and very low water pressure. Small sink and little counter space. I don't notice things like this but my girlfriend says the sheets were not soft enough and were scratchy. On the positive side the Valets and registration staff were very friendly and helpful. Our flight did not leave til almost 11 pm, and they were able to lock up our luggage while we utilized the fabulous pool for one more day, then they have hospitality suite to use to shower and change in. Speaking of the pool it was very nice with a water slide for the kids (I also enjoyed it, as did most of the adults there.) 2 hot tubs, a spa on site, got a great massage after a day of hiking. There is a bar at the pool with a nice variety of food and drinks. All kinds of activities to keep a family busy. I would recommend this resort. When they upgrade the rooms it will be even better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't bother driving to Hilo, we found nothing there. We even asked a local and she said there is nothing to do there.

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GinaLynn
New Hope, MN, USA
Nov 1, 2011

nice honeymoon spot

Great friendly service from all emplyees! Greeted with shell and flower lei's :) Super comfortable beds, spacious rooms and lanai with great views! Right on the water, though it is on a rocky part so you will be unable to just walk right out onto the beach. The Keahou Bay is a very very short walk down the street. At night you can see the manta rays swimming in the ocean... it was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

On Ali'i Dr. theres is a Shell Vacations Club shop.... if you plan to do multiple major activities (snorkeling, volcanoe tours, helicopter tours, etc) stop in at this shop and talk to Sandy Choi! You will get huge discounts with the Diamond Card!! The only catch is you have to sit through an hour long timeshare presentation.... though it is no pressure and we said no to every offer... no big deal... we saved over $300-400 bucks! :)

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ShirlJ
Edmonton, AB, Canada
Oct 28, 2011

Great place for a vacation

The hotel is great and the staff is excellent. It is beautifully located but it is a bit isolated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
G Girl
California
Oct 25, 2011

Group of 15

The grounds and pool area are spectacular and staff was very nice and helpful. Bathrooms need updating. Toilet has gross flushing mechanism

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a safeway and macdonalds short drive away to get snacks and meals for rooms. Expensive at hotel--refrig in room and they have a dining plan for kids 12 and under at hotel for $15.oo a day which is pretty good

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T.O.
Stone Mountain, GA, USA
Oct 19, 2011

First Hawai'ian visit

The hotel offers a complete array of amenities for families and couples. Strategically located near many extremely enjoyable "sightseeing" opportunities, we snorkeled with a Captain Zodiac crew, traveled up Mauna Kea for a sunset / star gazing extravaganza and in general tried to see as much of the island as possible in our ten day stay. There is so much beauty on the 'Big Island' that ten days was not near enough time to see everything, yet we both were very pleased with our vacation. My only minor complaint was that there was not a true beach within walking distance of the hotel, but as stated this was a minor complaint. There are some very nice beaches while driving to Kona City proper and we did enjoy them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at the "local" joints.

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DelNic
Long Island, New York, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Eh, you get what you pay for

We opted to stay here since we found a good deal a few months back. The deal was for $129/night, which was a pretty good rate for a seemingly nice place. However, it proved to be pretty average, and we found ourselves wondering if maybe we should have gone elsewhere. It ended up being decent, but there were a few pitfalls. Upon check-in, we were greeted with lei's, which was a nice touch. The valet attendants were very helpful in unloading the car and assisting with bringing up all luggage to our room. Once we entered our room though, we were disappointed in the "ocean view". We expected a great view since we upgraded when purchasing, but in reality, it was a very small view of the ocean, behind a sea of parking and other parts of the hotel. We tried changing the room, but all rooms were the same. Another issue we had was that of ants. They were tiny, and everywhere! There was a sign in the room posting that insects may pose a problem and to keep the balcony door closed. However, they seemed to have come from other places, as they were in our room the entire duration of our stay. Aside from the ants, the room itself was so-so. The bed was comfy, and the mini-fridge built into the dresser was handy. Cleanliness was not an issue. However, the decor was so minimal it was basically non-existant, and everything was quite plain. Could have stood to improve in that area. Overall, the resort seemed to be stuck in the 1990s. There were some improvements, but could stand to see more. The pool area was nice, as was Kai, the restaurant. Service was great, and food was tasty both times. The Manta Ray bar was nice, and a great place to view the sunset each evening. They had live music a few nights a week, which was nice. To sum it up, I’d recommend going there, but only if you’re looking for a very basic and relatively inexpensive place to stay. It’s convenient to other nearby attractions, and there are a few nice amenities, but keep in mind that you get what you pay for. If you don’t get a good deal on this place, I’d recommend looking elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Sam Choy's, just up the street from the Sheraton hotel. Restaurant has a great view, and serves really good fare - breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Aficionado
Irvine, CA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Just what we expected

A positive experience overall. The hotel is south of all the big resorts on Kohala Coast and so more conveniently located since we wanted to visit Volcanoes National Park. It's still a drive to get to Volcanoes but shortened a little bit by staying at the Sheraton. Has all the amenities expected at a corporate resort. I would say the hotel is more accurately 3.5 stars because the room and the rest of the hotel were a bit run-down and could use some sprucing up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike and Katie
Wisconsin
Oct 8, 2011

Large Hotel

Much larger than what I thought. Has a Convention Center next to it. Parking is too far from hotel. Everything purchased at the hotel including bar and restaurant is expensive. We ate downtown Kona. Beach is very rocky but scenic. No place to swim in the ocean. Very big and impersonal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pocahontas
Hayward, California
Oct 7, 2011

First Visit to the Big Island

I've never expected to enjoy a hotel for a very reasonable price. The staff were courteous and friendly. The room was clean and I get to enjoy having a meal at my own lanai. The room I was given provided me with mountain view on the left and ocean view on the right. I would stay at this hotel again when I come and visit the Big Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

When in the Big island, it is a must that you see the National Volcano Park.

Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pocahontas
Hayward, California
Oct 7, 2011

First Visit to the Big Island

I've never expected to enjoy a hotel for a very reasonable price. The staff were courteous and friendly. The room was clean and I get to enjoy having a meal at my own lanai. The room I was given provided me with mountain view on the left and ocean view on the right. I would stay at this hotel again when I come and visit the Big Island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

When in the Big island, it is a must that you see the National Volcano Park.

Back to menu Return to top