$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

4 stars
View map of 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
519 out of 519
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jason H
Business
Loganville, GA
Jun 10, 2012

Hotel was "so-so"

Pluses: - Location!! Beautiful views from every side (mountain or ocean). It was far enough out of town but not inconveniently so. - The pool was great! A slide for the kids, two hot tubs for the older folks, and a large pool with a waterfall for everyone. - The intended design of the hotel (after renovation) is open and functional. - The staff was very attentive, courteous, and addressed any issues quickly. Bad: - There were numerous issues. - The hotel is under renovation, a fact that we were not advised of before booking our vacation. Most of the stores, the front lobby, the restaurant, and many of the rooms were either closed or under renovation, which was visible to the guests. - There was no ice machine or vending on my floor and no sign indicating where they were. - The mattress and towels were consistent with a three star hotel, not a four star hotel. The sheets were good. - The air conditioning didn't work well and never got down to the set temperature (68) except in the middle of the night. It ran constantly the rest of the time. - The tub drains slowly (fixed when reported), the exhaust fan doesn't work well (not fixed), and there is no lock on the bathroom door. - There were some cleanliness issues: the intake vent in the room was dirty (the bathroom exhaust vent wasn't because it doesn't work); I left a cup on the balcony to see if they would pick it up, and there was a smoked cigarette out there too (which was there before I got there) which were never picked up; the rock features in the pool had debris in the crevices which were not cleaned even after I pointed them out to the management. - No working ATM on property. - The hotel is apparently understaffed, as they frequently didn't answer the phone at the front desk. - Its a long walk from self parking. I might try it again after renovations are finished. But I was disappointed this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SeaMark98101
Business
Washington
May 18, 2012

Waste of vacation time

It was a waste of money and a waste of my vacation time. Seriously overrated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AlohaKat
Business
Fullerton, CA
May 10, 2012

Our Kona vacation

After waiting for a vacation for 4 months after booking our trip I have to say that we were very disappointed in this hotel. We arrived early and noticed that they were under construction which was not indicated when we purchased the package deal. Which I think should have been told up front but was not. The front desk told us that our original room on the 7th floor was not ready and do we want to take a room on the 5th floor? So we accepted since we were tired from our flight and wanted to take a little rest. Our room was comparable and clean but the furniture needs upgrading (the dresser drawers would not stay shut) and the towels were very rough. We expected a little more from a Sheraton Hotel! The next day, Monday, we came back to our room after a day of shopping and oh my goodness the noise was horrible. The construction was right out our window with concrete cutting,drilling and banging! Not relaxing! I think this should have been communicated to us BEFORE we took this room! So we asked to be moved and they did and also did not charge us the resort fee which we thought was nice. After packing back up AGAIN we moved to the 7th floor. After we got settled we were watching the TV and the picture went from a very bright picture to almost black! The hike back and forth from the car down the long halls was a very long way! I have to say that the food was very overpriced when you could go downtown and get a much better deal. The second coffee shop was closed due to the remodel so you didn't have too many options for eating there. Their breakfast buffet was $19.00 each Really????? The pool area was fabulous and also geared for kids and they have a very big slide that was great! We felt that if we had know there was going to be construction we probably would have chosen a different hotel! It does not look like the picture! The staff was very friendly and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to town to eat a lot less expensive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jim Super Gpa
Business
Davis, California
May 5, 2012

Great pool area & location

Large pool with somethiing for everyone, but water cold! One restaurant closed due to remodeling. Waiter did not recommend one of the fares on the menu. One conseier was not good, one excellent. House cleaner forgot coffee package one morning. Slider door onto patio was very hard to open/close, my wife couldn't move it. Staff pushing carts with wheels were very noisy everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not eat in Poi restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cruiserx40
Business
South Lake Tahoe, CA, USA
Apr 21, 2012

Family fun on the Big Island!

The place is beautiful and the pool was fun for our six year old son! The gardens surrounding the property were gorgeous. Over all the location of the Hotel was in a perfect spot, staff was nice. The only complaint I had they were in a middle of remodeling, the new health club was going to be finished on Monday but due to electrical problems they did not open until Saturday. I'm sure on our next trip all the work will be done. Remodeled rooms, Valet, Front desk ,lobby, bar and restaurant as well as the gym .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Lu Lu's for breakfast and Huggos on the Rocks for Happy Hour!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
shuffman
Business
Fresno, CA, USA
Apr 20, 2012

Needs staffing improvement

I went on family trip for my BFFs wedding. We were the only group who stayed at a different resort. We brought family back to our resort not thinking it would be a big deal. We all went to hang out at the pool. We were approached by security and asked if we spoke English. For one, we never should have been approached like this and for two the security should have approached the situation in a totally different way. Instead of approaching each individual they could have came to me or asked to speak to the person staying at the resort and

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tante's Resturant on Ali'i Drive Great Filipino Food..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom needs a vacation
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Under construction

When we booked this package last September, we thought we were getting a great deal. Little did we know the hotel would be undergoing major renovations. We only found that out shortly before we arrived. Nearly half the rooms were unavailable due to painting, remodeling, etc., so our "Ocean View" room ended up being a harbor view. Still nice, but not what we were expecting. The staff was not able to move us to a different room, which was disappointing. The Manta viewing area was closed, so people were climbing on to the lava to see them at night. The main lobby entrance and drive up were also closed. The rest of the hotel is nice, the pools are awesome and the food from the pool restaurant was adequate. My advice would be to call the hotel before you book and see what is scheduled to be open or closed during the construction. They are making some nice improvements, but it's noisy during the day from the construction noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sam Choy's Restaurant! Wish we had found this sooner. The view is awesome and the food was some of the best we ate the whole vacation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeida
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 7, 2012

Nice place...But wouldnt go back.

It was a good experience if you take away the fact that they changed my room supposedly as an "upgrade". However they did not mention the fact that the view would be horrible because of the construction work they are doing to the front. Another thing, the food there is horribly expensive and the charge for the daily parking of a car is 20 dollars including the wi-fi. If however you dont have a car to park, daily wi-fi is $12.99. And last, the sheets on the bed are not changed daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dont eat at the hotel, too spencive. There are better deals along the bay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family Spring Break
Business
Napa, CA, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Great stay despite renovations

Sheraton bought this hotel several years ago and has been putting a lot of money into it. I knew from reviews that renovations were ongoing. The grounds and landscaping, as well as pool are amazing. The room was clean but bathroom was not completely renovated with old tile in the shower. The manta ray bar and balcony for viewing the manta rays at night had just closed and are undergoing construction. The only bad thing about our stay is that we paid for an ocean view room but our room was actually facing the bay, overlooking the wedding chapel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The snorkel cruise on Fair Winds II was awesome and included breakfast and lunch; a great time for the whole family!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Watercolor artist
Business
Bermuda Dunes, CA
Mar 30, 2012

Hotel a big disappointment

Although the Sheraton Kona has a beautiful view and location, they were under renovation and construction while we were there. There was no main lobby or shops. We entered what seemed like the back service entrance. The halls and rooms seemed dingy and worn. The walls must have been paper thin as we could hear the next door neighbor's entire conversations and felt like they were in our room! Several calls to the front desk quieted them down when it was 11 p.m. and after. They need some of kind of insulation badly. The pool area was very nice with beautiful views of the ocean, nice public internet and coffee area. The gym and fitness room was closed, the breakfast cafe was closed and relocated around the pool. We'd say - STAY AWAY FROM HERE UNTIL THEIR REMODEL IS FINISHED!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Pu uhonua O Honaunau Natl Historical Park just south of Captain on 160 off Hwy 11. A must do for seeing historical Hawaiian sites, tide pools with coral and tropical fish, etc. Plan to spend 2 hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top