$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 13, 2015 Check-out: Mar 15, 2015

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

4 stars
View map of 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
475 reviews
Always a good time

We have stayed at the Sheraton Kona for three years in a row. We always stay here when visiting... See full review

  • Kathleen M.
  • Feb 25, 2015
Amazing property....

We loved our stay, amazing grounds and activities! My only complaint would be the lack of food... See full review

  • Jerrod H.
  • Feb 16, 2015
Hawaiian getaway for canoeing, dolphin swims, and Holoholo tours

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay on Hawaii, the Big Island, is a blend of adventure, culture, heritage and authentic Hawaiian aloha hospitality. Situated on the iconic lava rocks of the Kona coast, overlooking historically significant Keauhou Bay, guests relax, experience and create memories with family and friends. The newly revitalized and completely unique oceanfront resort flourishes with naturally landscaped lands that were once the birthplace and playgrounds of kings which offer visitors a profound sense of place and storytelling that can be shared and appreciated across many generations. Considered the "Gateway to the Bay," the Flying Fish outfitters store provides an all-access pass to fun and adventure where guests can have immediate access to paddle boarding, kayaking, fishing, surfing, boat tours and exploring the pristine reef. The ocean view restaurants partner with local farms and fishermen to serve only the freshest ingredients. Rays on the Bay is the world's only restaurant where diners can enjoy live music seven nights per week by fire pit and observe majestic Manta Rays in their natural habitat. Under the stars, a weekly luau offers a colorful journey through history. Offering the most ultimate pool experience on the Kona coast, patrons rave about the 200-foot lava tube water slide, hot tubs, sprouting fountains and sandy-bottomed children's play area. Ho'ola Spa offers a healing Himalayan Salt Room and an oceanfront treatment patio. Whether culture seeker, romantic or ocean or land explorer, vacationers find themselves in the perfect location to discover and experience the beauty of Hawaii.

Reasons to stay
  • Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay's exemplary service
  • Hoola Spa and LomiLomi massage
  • Manta ray, Kailua and Hilo Village adventures
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay rooms
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay offers 24 suites and 485 guest rooms with double or king Sweet Sleeper beds with down quilts. Overlooking the Hualalai Mountains and Pacific shores, natural island-inspired textiles adorn all Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay furnishings. Rooms offer 37" LCD TV, Wi-Fi (fees may apply), safe, and in-room dining facilities.
Things to do nearby
  • Kona Country Club (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Keahou Shopping Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • End of the World Cliff Diving (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Teshima Restaurant (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Kailua Village and Hulihee Palace (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Manago Restaurant (10.6 mi/17 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Park (11.2 mi/ 8 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay Rooms

Ocean View Room
Ocean View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Partial Ocean View
Partial Ocean View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Mountain View Room
Mountain View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Ocean Front Room
Ocean Front View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Largest Meeting Room: 10000 sq. ft. Largest Meeting Room Seats: 1200 Smallest Meeting Room: 1000 sq. ft. Smallest Meeting Room Seats: 10 Conference Center on Site Meeting and Event Facilities

Dining

Ainakai Restaurant
Island inspired, seasonal breakfast buffet From the land to the sea, Ainakai features a fresh rotation of breakfast items with emphasis on Sheratons Color your Plate philosophy
Rays on the Bay
Where the food compliments the view Amazing views along with handcrafted cocktails, Hawaii inspired cuisine and live, local entertainment. Nightly sunsets and the resident Manta Rays await.
Holua Bar and Grill
Casual and fun poolside dining Holua embraces relaxation and fun poolside. Join us for a maitai and our world famous sliders!
Keauhou Coffee Company
Featuring Mamas 100% Kona Coffee in a relaxed outdoor setting A coffee shop, Kona Style. Grab and go or relax in open air lounge.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (475)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
475 out of 475
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MKT STU
Business
Los Angeles, California
Sep 14, 2012

Great hotel for kids

We had a really good time at the pool, slide and the whole hotel was very kid friendly. So we didnt have any issue with a 5 month old The only issue is that the Oceanview rooms are not full oceanview, for that you need to have Oceanfront which is misleading

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Morningperson
Business
LA
Aug 29, 2012

Top Drawer

Take advantage of the hotel events and you hardly need to leave the property except to see the volcanoes and local sights. Great pools and slide, game room, fitness, spa, rentals, trolley transportation. Has it all. Manta rays not such a big deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the cultural morning hike of hotel surroundings. Very informative. Great guide. Free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nancy123
Business
Wisconsin
Aug 24, 2012

Even the teenagers enjoyed it!

We really enjoyed this Sheraton. Loved the pools and grounds. It was convenient to pretty much everything on the island. Everything was clean and the staff was very friendly. We were pleased with some of the offerings at the hotel like Yoga.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alain Los Angeles
Business
Los Angeles, California
Aug 12, 2012

Great for families with small kids

Overall we add a great experience at this hotel despite the remodeling currently going on (lobby, Manta ray bar, parking). The staff was very friendly and helpful. The very large swimming pool is ideal for kids with its artificial sand beach and long manta slide. Manta ray viewing directly from the hotel grounds is also a unique feature of this hotel. The landscaping is magnificent. The rooms were comfortable and functional. We had a nice view of the mountains and the sea on the large patio. Although the bathroom was somewhat older it was very functional (a lot of space to place bottles, children toys and other items). Overall we had a very positive experience at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melz Leisure Travel
Business
Big Island, Hawaii
Jul 23, 2012

Fun Family Getaway

The overall experience was good, however, the front desk personnel could have been a little more friendlier. We asked for late check out and the girl said with a little attitude, "Well, you need to call tomorrow to request that." Why could she not have just let us do a late check out, at the price I paid per night, it should have been done, NO QUESTIONS asked. Ugh. But the hotel grounds were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roger Mathye
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jul 23, 2012

It was ok.

The hotel set up was kind of weird, having to walk to a corridor to get to the front desk which looked more like a conference room. It seemed like the place needed some renovations, It had a very 70's look to it. The pool area was ok, but the restaurants were a little lackluster. The room was ok, except the temp wouldn't go below 72 and the tub was dirty looking. They charged an extra $20 for internet and some bottled water, whether you wanted it or not. I wanted it, so I was ok with it. The hotel was kid friendy (too kid friendly for me) with ping pong tables, pool tables, and a water slide to entertain screaming kids. The best service was from the valet department who were always courteous and quick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't eat in the hotel. Go down to the Kona Strip and there are tons of good eateries. If you want some great cuisine at a fairly decent price, Sam Choy's is two lights away from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Protz
Business
Saxoburg, PA
Jul 14, 2012

Not quite 4 star

The main entrance, hotel lobby and front desk were under construction. As you pulled in to valet parking it looked like the delivery area or employee entrance. Had a hard time finding the temporary front desk and got lost trying to find our room. Room was small but clean and well equipped. We stayed at five different properties during our Hawaii trip. This was the lowest value for price paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DesiFamily
Business
Pleasanton, CA
Jul 9, 2012

First class fare but economy class experience

Paid too much for a hotel stay without complementary breakfast. Location is ok and not as close as the ones in waikoloa village. Guest Service Staff can be little more courteous. Staff at their restaurant were very kind and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elleny
Business
San Jose, CA
Jun 15, 2012

Amazing family getaway

We stumpled upon this hotel and were hesitant a bit when we read some reviews, but it turned out a great experience for us! We would come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jason H
Business
Loganville, GA
Jun 10, 2012

Hotel was "so-so"

Pluses: - Location!! Beautiful views from every side (mountain or ocean). It was far enough out of town but not inconveniently so. - The pool was great! A slide for the kids, two hot tubs for the older folks, and a large pool with a waterfall for everyone. - The intended design of the hotel (after renovation) is open and functional. - The staff was very attentive, courteous, and addressed any issues quickly. Bad: - There were numerous issues. - The hotel is under renovation, a fact that we were not advised of before booking our vacation. Most of the stores, the front lobby, the restaurant, and many of the rooms were either closed or under renovation, which was visible to the guests. - There was no ice machine or vending on my floor and no sign indicating where they were. - The mattress and towels were consistent with a three star hotel, not a four star hotel. The sheets were good. - The air conditioning didn't work well and never got down to the set temperature (68) except in the middle of the night. It ran constantly the rest of the time. - The tub drains slowly (fixed when reported), the exhaust fan doesn't work well (not fixed), and there is no lock on the bathroom door. - There were some cleanliness issues: the intake vent in the room was dirty (the bathroom exhaust vent wasn't because it doesn't work); I left a cup on the balcony to see if they would pick it up, and there was a smoked cigarette out there too (which was there before I got there) which were never picked up; the rock features in the pool had debris in the crevices which were not cleaned even after I pointed them out to the management. - No working ATM on property. - The hotel is apparently understaffed, as they frequently didn't answer the phone at the front desk. - Its a long walk from self parking. I might try it again after renovations are finished. But I was disappointed this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top