$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 20, 2014 Check-out: Oct 23, 2014

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

4 stars
78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
462 reviews
Heaven meets paradise

This hotel is located in a beautiful spot! We upgraded to ocean front rooms, and enjoyed the sunset... See full review

  • Anne M.
  • Aug 17, 2014
Great family spot. Terrific pool

Beautiful grounds. Excellent activities for kids Local golf course was closed for renovation, so... See full review

  • Rob clemson
  • Aug 2, 2014
Hawaiian getaway for canoeing, dolphin swims, and Holoholo tours

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay on Hawaii, the Big Island, is a blend of adventure, culture, heritage and authentic Hawaiian aloha hospitality. Situated on the iconic lava rocks of the Kona coast, overlooking historically significant Keauhou Bay, guests relax, experience and create memories with family and friends. The newly revitalized and completely unique oceanfront resort flourishes with naturally landscaped lands that were once the birthplace and playgrounds of kings which offer visitors a profound sense of place and storytelling that can be shared and appreciated across many generations. Considered the "Gateway to the Bay," the Flying Fish outfitters store provides an all-access pass to fun and adventure where guests can have immediate access to paddle boarding, kayaking, fishing, surfing, boat tours and exploring the pristine reef. The ocean view restaurants partner with local farms and fishermen to serve only the freshest ingredients. Rays on the Bay is the world's only restaurant where diners can enjoy live music seven nights per week by fire pit and observe majestic Manta Rays in their natural habitat. Under the stars, a weekly luau offers a colorful journey through history. Offering the most ultimate pool experience on the Kona coast, patrons rave about the 200-foot lava tube water slide, hot tubs, sprouting fountains and sandy-bottomed children's play area. Ho'ola Spa offers a healing Himalayan Salt Room and an oceanfront treatment patio. Whether culture seeker, romantic or ocean or land explorer, vacationers find themselves in the perfect location to discover and experience the beauty of Hawaii.

Reasons to stay
  • Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay's exemplary service
  • Hoola Spa and LomiLomi massage
  • Manta ray, Kailua and Hilo Village adventures
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay rooms
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay offers 24 suites and 485 guest rooms with double or king Sweet Sleeper beds with down quilts. Overlooking the Hualalai Mountains and Pacific shores, natural island-inspired textiles adorn all Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay furnishings. Rooms offer 37" LCD TV, Wi-Fi (fees may apply), safe, and in-room dining facilities.
Things to do nearby
  • Kona Country Club (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Keahou Shopping Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • End of the World Cliff Diving (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Teshima Restaurant (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • Kailua Village and Hulihee Palace (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Manago Restaurant (10.6 mi/17 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Park (11.2 mi/ 8 km)

Hotel Map

19.5586 -155.9648
Area served
Kailua-Kona Hawaii, Big Island Keauhou Bay
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-KOA 15 Miles Hilo International Airport-ITO 96 Miles
Area description
Hulihe'e Palace - 5.0 mi/8.1 km Hawaii Forest and Trail Ecotours - 5.0 mi/8.1 km,Kona Coffee Living History Farm - 10.0 mi/16.1 km City of Refuge - 25.0 mi/40.2 km Volcano National Park - 96.0 mi/154.5 km

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay Rooms

Ocean View Room
Ocean View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Partial Ocean View
Partial Ocean View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Mountain View Room
Mountain View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator
Ocean Front Room
Ocean Front View Non-smoking, Sweet Sleeper Bed, Private Lanai W/tbl/chairs, High Speed Internet Connection, Refrigerator

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Ainakai Restaurant
Island inspired, seasonal breakfast buffet From the land to the sea, Ainakai features a fresh rotation of breakfast items with emphasis on Sheratons Color your Plate philosophy
Rays on the Bay
Where the food compliments the view Amazing views along with handcrafted cocktails, Hawaii inspired cuisine and live, local entertainment. Nightly sunsets and the resident Manta Rays await.
Holua Bar and Grill
Casual and fun poolside dining Holua embraces relaxation and fun poolside. Join us for a maitai and our world famous sliders!
Keauhou Coffee Company
Featuring Mamas 100% Kona Coffee in a relaxed outdoor setting A coffee shop, Kona Style. Grab and go or relax in open air lounge.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Largest Meeting Room: 10000 sq. ft. Largest Meeting Room Seats: 1200 Smallest Meeting Room: 1000 sq. ft. Smallest Meeting Room Seats: 10 Conference Center on Site Meeting and Event Facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (462)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
462 out of 462
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jiche
detroit
Sep 21, 2014

needs updating

hotel was very beautiful, i think biggest in the area. very close to Ali'i drive which has lots of places to go to for food and souvenirs and book activities with. rooms are a little bit older with small bathrooms. beaitiful view from our room, given another chance i will choose the room overlooking the pool and the oceab. btw, their immaculate pool is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

lots of places at Ali'i drive. i recommend this small place called -The Poke Shack- they serve ahi pokes love love this place!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Falconer
Houston, Texas
Aug 31, 2014

Couples getaway.

. The Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. They gave tips on things to do in the area. The room was very nice and bed was comfortable. I asked for a Full ocean view. Our balcony faced the pool right next to the slide. Like I could hop my balcony and go down the slide. When I called to find out about the mix up they told me I should of asked for an ocean front not a full ocean view. I was told it would be another $50 a night. So we did not sit out on balcony much which was disappointing. The amenities were very basic. The wifi did not work so you had to go to business center and two of those computers were down. The pool was nice and cleaned every morning. You could tell the staff took pride. The $30 a day resort fee was too much. it covers your self parking. It also says it covers The yoga class, hula, and lei making but it's only Monday, Wednesday and Friday morning. It was nice but not worth $30 a day if you do not offer it everyday. I would return mostly for the staff as far as cost of room and board it is way over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Walmart pick up some liquor and snacks. Drinks and food were really expensive and small portions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kimo777
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 24, 2014

Sheraton Kona Review August 2014

Good value. Good for families. daily "resort fee" a joke. Parking could be easier. Overall a good choice for the budget minded family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Bianelli's italian restaurant has amazing deep dish pizza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marilyn the planner
Grand Prairie, Texas
Aug 21, 2014

Anniversary

Great, everything I wanted and expected. Beautiful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Google gps

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CJ100
Berkeley, CA
Aug 20, 2014

Basically average

Nice building and OK rooms for the price, although the daily cleaning was very poor. We could've done better ourselves in 5 minutes each morning. Food and drink choices were rather uninspired, and hugely overpriced. And there's not many off-resort dining options unless you're willing to drive into town. Watch out for the $30 a day resort fee, it's a bit of a joke, and it's really just letting them pretend that their rates are $30 a day less than they really are. And what does that $30 cover? Two bottles of water a day. And a few packets of coffee - if the cleaning staff remember to leave it. Oh, and a parking space! Gee, thanks for letting me park at your hotel! Really the only thing that made the place OK was the lovely pool. Very nice to come back to after a long day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anne M.
Los Gatos, California
Aug 17, 2014

Heaven meets paradise

This hotel is located in a beautiful spot! We upgraded to ocean front rooms, and enjoyed the sunset from our room. The pool is great for kids and the fitness center is excellent. A must-do is the manta ray night-time snorkeling, which is right by the hotel restaurant. A once-in-a-lifetime experience. We loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Gio's Gelato has the best ice-cream (gelato), we've had in a long time! They're closed now until some time September, but if they're open, don't miss it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FHCW
Ohio
Aug 16, 2014

Wonderful Hotel, Poor Restaurant

The stay was great, the view was great, and the staff was friendly, helpful, and always courteous. The restaurant however, Rays on the Bay, was the worst "high-end" restaurant we've ever been to. You can't see the rays unless you are in the water with the boats that come to do the diving, but aside from that the food was incredibly over-priced for almost nothing. I recieved a $36 steak that wasn't prepared the way I wanted and a bowl of Potatoes which I ordered because I thiought the steak came with a side...It doesn't by the way the potatoes were $6 alone. This is a wonderful Hotel and we've stayed here before. We have come to Kona three times and stayed here the first time then tried a location in the middle of the strip and it was lacking in all things except it's location, a poor trade-off. Sheraton is the place to stay, and we would recommend it to anyone, but eat elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great Snorkel beach and Great Wave beach only 5 minutes away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erin Apoppin
San Francisco
Aug 14, 2014

very nice, just a little pricey

Overall I had a very good experience at the Sheraton. The location was a bit inconvenient, and the shuttle provided only comes once every two hours, so you pretty much have to rent a car. It was pretty clean and there were a ton of amenities available if you're willing to pay extra. The resort fee is stupid, extra $30 per day for things you probably won't use, and they won't waive it. The staff were very helpful, though restaurant staff seem to work slowly (though that seems to be a Hawaii thing rather than a Sheraton thing haha). I just wish it were a cheaper, for the price I would expect more amenities included at no extra cost. But really these are minor flaws to me, it was a beautiful and comfortable place to stay. I didn't want to leave :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Srsf
San francisco
Aug 14, 2014

PleSant getaway

Very nice,clean and wonderful place to spend time away for a vacation. The rooms are great making it easy to drift off to sleep or sit and watch the ocean from the lanai. Helpful staff keep you informed about the latest events in or around town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Rey's on the bay is wonderful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
globe trotting tribe
San Francisco, CA
Aug 10, 2014

Fantastic family vacation

We loved the outdoor pools, how warm the water was, how easy it was to entertain our 8-yr-old child all day long just around the pool and activity center (even if we didn't go to other island activities). The Manta Ray viewing experience was amazing! The whole hotel was beautiful, open and spacious with fantastic view of the ocean and Keauhou bay, conveniently situated near to Keauhou shopping center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

To see the manta rays you have to stay up late, until all the boats have left, around 9:30 to 10 pm

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top