$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2015 Check-out: Aug 8, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
430 reviews
Great place to stay and enjoy the ocean view. Great Luau!

We enjoyed our stay very much. We had a nice view from our balcony. Our only complaint about the... See full review

  • Nyla W.
  • Jul 19, 2015
great family vacation

We stayed 2 nights here. The hotel is fantastic, right in the beach. Minutes walking to get food... See full review

  • Ric
  • Jul 17, 2015

The Royal Kona Resort in Kona, located on the Big Island of Hawaii, sits on the tip of Kailua Bay, and its spacious rooms are located in three towers: the center Alii Tower, the south Lagoon Tower and the north Bay Tower. Guests enjoy magnificent views of the Pacific Ocean, a private lagoon, Kailua Bay, tropical gardens and a seaside town.

 

Kailua-Kona is located on the Big Island’s leeward side and offers protection from prevailing winds. This means little rain and an average year-round temperature of 70-80 degrees Fahrenheit, which is perfect for enjoying the beach, pool or lanai.

Location
The oceanfront Royal Kona Resort is perched on a dramatic lava-rock bluff in Kailua-Kona town, just minutes from restaurants and shops. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, snorkeling, coffee and macadamia nut farms, big-game fishing and local-style charm.
Dining
The Royal Kona Resort is home to the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don’s Mai Tai Bar, where, of course, a mai tai is a must. Several nights a week, the Royal Kona Resort also presents an oceanfront luau and Polynesian revue. Restaurants are plentiful throughout Kailua-Kona.
Rooms
The tri-star shaped Royal Kona Resort has recently refurbished and remodeled its accommodations, resulting in a fresh, Island-contemporary atmosphere. Each alii, bay and lagoon tower guest room features a beautiful garden, mountain or ocean view, private balcony, air conditioning, TV, mini-refrigerator and high-speed wireless Internet access at the Royal Kona Resort (fees may apply).
Highlights

The Royal Kona Resort is full service with an oceanfront swimming pool, lighted tennis courts, The Lotus Center spa, full-service hair salon and private swimming lagoon on Kailua Bay. The resort takes advantage of ocean views. The Don the Beachcomber Restaurant, described as Polynesian retro-tiki chic, was designed by tiki architect George Wimberly and sits on the water’s edge.

 

The oceanfront, open air Don’s Mai Tai Bar has a 360-degree ocean view, and Don’s Breezeway Lounge delivers a better full-ocean view. The Royal Kona Luau is an oceanfront production with Hawaiian-style buffet, Samoan fire dance and other exciting activities. The historic Kona Town, filled with shops and restaurants, is within walking distance.

Nearby attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park (“Snorkel Beach”) (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.8 mi/149 km)
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.4 mi/15 km)

 

Recreation
Enjoy the Royal Kona Resort's split-level swimming pool, saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach, tennis courts (fees apply), fitness center and full-service spa (fees apply).

 

Policies

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Royal Kona Resort Rooms

Alii Tower / Lagoon Tower Rooms
All guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Alii / Lagoon Tower Garden/Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.
Bay Tower Rooms
Offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Bay Tower Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Don the Beachcomber
Set oceanfront with sunsets and a tropical atmosphere, the Hotel presents Don the Beachcomber, a specialty-themed restaurant serving Pacific Fusion cuisine. This Restaurant is the newest addition to the Royal Kona Resort serving breakfast and dinner daily.
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Curving around the water's edge, features Hawaiian specialty drinks including the Original Mai Tai! In addition to the complete cocktail service in Kona's most spectacular location overlooking Kailua Bay, guests can enjoy lunch or appetizers (pupus) while watching dolphins, sea turtles and whales (seasonal) frolic in the ocean. This is the ideal spot for watching a Hawaiian sunset. Big screen television, dancing and entertainment scheduled throughout the week.
Lava Legends & Legacies Polynesian Luau
Featuring Kona's only oceanfront Luau, guests can enjoy an open bar and a feast of traditional Luau favorites. Watch as the evening begins with an authentic Imu ceremony and continues with a lively performance of song and dance that is common throughout the Pacific Islands. The evening of entertainment concludes with an incredible fire knife demonstration by the award winning Tihati Productions!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel provides over 25,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for small intimate gatherings or meeting to theatrical Theme Parties for up to 500 guests! Audio visual equipment is available to rent in addition to WIFI services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
261 out of 430
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dmgal
Business
Rollinsville
Jul 25, 2015

Always like staying here

You can't beat the location for the heart of Kona right on the ocean and the staff is very friendly. Not luxury but rooms are big and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nyla W.
Business
N/A
Jul 19, 2015

Great place to stay and enjoy the ocean view. Great Luau!

We enjoyed our stay very much. We had a nice view from our balcony. Our only complaint about the room was the air conditioning. The vent was high above our bed, and blew cold air right down on us. It was also very noisy. My husband booked a fishing charter for one day. We attended the luau which was great! The rest of the time we just did some sightseeing. shopping, and went to a couple beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jukid
Business
Mableton
Jul 11, 2015

Honeymoon

Staff placed champagne bottle in our room as a gift for honeymoon. Super happy for that. Hotel was great. No problems. Love it all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mollykona
Business
Kona
Jun 25, 2015

good staycation

i live on the island and had a very lovely time. my go to hotel when im looking for a nice getaway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christine M.
Business
Portland
Jun 12, 2015

Great getaway

Loved every minute. Good service, location and amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathleen K.
Business
GORE
May 26, 2015

Big island Vacation

We spent four nights at the Royal Kona Resort, and had an absolutely awesome time. We were blessed to be in a room with a wraparound lanai facing the ocean and the main street of Kailua-Kona. From the lanai, we watched dolphins, swimmers, boats, and one early morning saw a cruise ship come into port in a display of beautiful lighting. The courtyard outside our room in the central area of the tower, was stunning, with tall trees and beautiful flowers. The open air lobby was also wonderful, and it was so nice to have a glass of watermelon water when passing through. Shopping and restaurants (had breakfast at Bongo Ben's every morning!) were within easy walking distance. The Royal Kona was a fabulous hotel. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anna K.
Business
N/A
May 10, 2015

Great Value

I will definitely come back. The hotel is a bit on the older side, but a great value. I loved staying ocean in Kona! Falling asleep and walking up to the sounds of crashing ocean waves is the life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Con
Business
N/A
May 10, 2015

Great place

We had a wonderful time here, good bar right n the water, good food,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dustin D.
Business
Leander
Mar 26, 2015

honeymoon

great value resort compared to the others in the area and comfortable stay. great place to relax and enjoy the surroundings

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roland F.
Business
Monument
Mar 16, 2015

Awesome Trip

An awesome trip to Hawaii. The hotel was within walking distance to the best restaurants. The staff was very friendly and always willing to assist you with your requests. Will definitely return to Hawaii and stay at the Royal Kona Resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top