$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2015 Check-out: Aug 8, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
431 reviews
amazing

We where a little skeptical because of reviews. But once we arrived we where in aww . This place... See full review

  • Nicole B.
  • Jul 24, 2015
Great place to stay and enjoy the ocean view. Great Luau!

We enjoyed our stay very much. We had a nice view from our balcony. Our only complaint about the... See full review

  • Nyla W.
  • Jul 19, 2015

The Royal Kona Resort in Kona, located on the Big Island of Hawaii, sits on the tip of Kailua Bay, and its spacious rooms are located in three towers: the center Alii Tower, the south Lagoon Tower and the north Bay Tower. Guests enjoy magnificent views of the Pacific Ocean, a private lagoon, Kailua Bay, tropical gardens and a seaside town.

 

Kailua-Kona is located on the Big Island’s leeward side and offers protection from prevailing winds. This means little rain and an average year-round temperature of 70-80 degrees Fahrenheit, which is perfect for enjoying the beach, pool or lanai.

Location
The oceanfront Royal Kona Resort is perched on a dramatic lava-rock bluff in Kailua-Kona town, just minutes from restaurants and shops. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, snorkeling, coffee and macadamia nut farms, big-game fishing and local-style charm.
Dining
The Royal Kona Resort is home to the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don’s Mai Tai Bar, where, of course, a mai tai is a must. Several nights a week, the Royal Kona Resort also presents an oceanfront luau and Polynesian revue. Restaurants are plentiful throughout Kailua-Kona.
Rooms
The tri-star shaped Royal Kona Resort has recently refurbished and remodeled its accommodations, resulting in a fresh, Island-contemporary atmosphere. Each alii, bay and lagoon tower guest room features a beautiful garden, mountain or ocean view, private balcony, air conditioning, TV, mini-refrigerator and high-speed wireless Internet access at the Royal Kona Resort (fees may apply).
Highlights

The Royal Kona Resort is full service with an oceanfront swimming pool, lighted tennis courts, The Lotus Center spa, full-service hair salon and private swimming lagoon on Kailua Bay. The resort takes advantage of ocean views. The Don the Beachcomber Restaurant, described as Polynesian retro-tiki chic, was designed by tiki architect George Wimberly and sits on the water’s edge.

 

The oceanfront, open air Don’s Mai Tai Bar has a 360-degree ocean view, and Don’s Breezeway Lounge delivers a better full-ocean view. The Royal Kona Luau is an oceanfront production with Hawaiian-style buffet, Samoan fire dance and other exciting activities. The historic Kona Town, filled with shops and restaurants, is within walking distance.

Nearby attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park (“Snorkel Beach”) (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.8 mi/149 km)
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.4 mi/15 km)

 

Recreation
Enjoy the Royal Kona Resort's split-level swimming pool, saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach, tennis courts (fees apply), fitness center and full-service spa (fees apply).

 

Policies

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Royal Kona Resort Rooms

Alii Tower / Lagoon Tower Rooms
All guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Alii / Lagoon Tower Garden/Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.
Bay Tower Rooms
Offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Bay Tower Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Don the Beachcomber
Set oceanfront with sunsets and a tropical atmosphere, the Hotel presents Don the Beachcomber, a specialty-themed restaurant serving Pacific Fusion cuisine. This Restaurant is the newest addition to the Royal Kona Resort serving breakfast and dinner daily.
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Curving around the water's edge, features Hawaiian specialty drinks including the Original Mai Tai! In addition to the complete cocktail service in Kona's most spectacular location overlooking Kailua Bay, guests can enjoy lunch or appetizers (pupus) while watching dolphins, sea turtles and whales (seasonal) frolic in the ocean. This is the ideal spot for watching a Hawaiian sunset. Big screen television, dancing and entertainment scheduled throughout the week.
Lava Legends & Legacies Polynesian Luau
Featuring Kona's only oceanfront Luau, guests can enjoy an open bar and a feast of traditional Luau favorites. Watch as the evening begins with an authentic Imu ceremony and continues with a lively performance of song and dance that is common throughout the Pacific Islands. The evening of entertainment concludes with an incredible fire knife demonstration by the award winning Tihati Productions!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel provides over 25,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for small intimate gatherings or meeting to theatrical Theme Parties for up to 500 guests! Audio visual equipment is available to rent in addition to WIFI services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 431
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SCR Mom
Business
North Carolina
Dec 3, 2009

My Review

I upgraded to an ocean view, but really had a view of the building across the parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TexasTechGrad
Business
Honolulu, HI
Apr 3, 2011

OK Hotel

Old and small TV, very narrow shower, no lotion in room, parking is $10/night or take chances with street parking - Beautiful ocean view -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Food was not bad for being hotel food, but not great either.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 2, 2007

Location, Location, Location - nothing else

The sound of the crashing waves and the spectacular view of the beach from the hotel was awesome. Nothing else was. The room was antiquated. The towels had holes, were frayed, and small. The bathroom ceiling had mold on it. The room smelled musty. But the view from the balcony was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were several good restaurants within walking distance.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 19, 2008

The hotel is in a good ...

The hotel is in a good locations and ok in other respects.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Kava bar & great sushi all within walking distance.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Farren
Business
Miami, FL
Mar 5, 2009

Great Location, Fair Rooms

The resort grounds were fantastic and the location is fantastic. Walking distance from everything. However, the rooms are a bit out dated and old. They are doing a major renovation unfortunately our room was not one of the newly renovates ones. Because of the climate and moisture we had "Black" spores or mold on the ceilings and in the bathroom. This is typical to moist climates but not healthy to breathe. I was in Kona on business and would deffinitely go back for business. Just not for pleasure. There are other higher end rsorts at a higer rate...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everything

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hal W.
Business
Honolulu, HI
Mar 8, 2012

Outdated rooms, Sub-par service, First Rate Location

My room hadn't been updated since this place was built in the 1970's. Inconveniently placed power-outlets, old light switches, stains on the carpet... it works, but if you are a picky hotel guest- you may want to check elsewhere.. On the other hand, if you don't really care about little details like that, and just want a nice comfortable bed in a beautiful location, for a really good price this facility will fit the bill. (the bed was very comfortable btw) Was here on business, so didn't explore beach/pool (do they have a pool?) but otherwise it fits the bill for business travel to Kona. As an aside, the chief complaint I had was the lack of Bell Service/Valet. You have to unload curbside yourself, then go park your car in a rickety old parking lot a bit of a walk from the entrance. They also give you a parking pass to display on your dash on check-in so if you are going to park, you are supposed to walk all the way back to your car to display that... I ignored those instructions and my car was still there in the morning. $10/day for parking- don't show the gatekeeper your computer stamped ticket when you go to leave, show them the handwritten one they give you when you check in to avoid paying double for parking as other guests have alluded to in these reviews. At $100/a night in paradise, I'm willing to overlook this minor inconveniences though- I think most rooms have ocean view, and you just can't beat the location. One other high point- the lobby bar- EXCELLENT service from the bar tenders there, and the setting is simply magical- Quesadilla is really good too with a Kona Brewery Longboard draft. Recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Lobby bar is a great place to get your drink on and enjoy a great sunset. Always a pleasant breeze flowing through.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iren2012
Business
Michigan, USA
Oct 23, 2012

Exotic place to stay

Exotic, beautiful, inspiring and mystical place! There was the only thing what upset me much: my room wasn't ready when i arrived at the hotel at 3p.m. My flight was too long -16 hours; and i was too tired to wait for an additional hour at the lobby when my room will be cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Delicious food, reasonable prices, inviting environment...

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las vegas
Mar 8, 2011

nice place in kona

first time in Kona. Nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Aug 14, 2007

Economical

We found the staff to be ambivalent towards their guests. The rooms are nothing special. After a long journey to get to Hawaii, we checked in and went to the hotel restaurant for dinner. It was 1 minute after closing and we were turned away and directed to a neighboring restaurant. Our rate was economical for the area. Pool is small. Beach is non existant. $10 per day parking fee on hotel grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, Dining, Entertainment within walking distance.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dale Joo
Business
Seoul, Korea
Mar 25, 2011

Best price and location to enjoy Kona

I wouln't recommend to have a breakfast/dinner in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top