$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
435 reviews
Great get away

Quick check in Nice rooms in the lagoon tower Located on the bay on the edge of down town. Bar menu... See full review

  • GeoJo
  • Mar 13, 2014
Honeymoon/Vacation

Every person and every thing about the Royal Kona Hotel was perfect. From the room, to the... See full review

  • BobPullen
  • Jan 21, 2014
Oceanfront Kailua resort features Don the Beachcomber mai tai heaven
Perched on a lava-rock promontory on the edge of downtown Kailua-Kona, the Royal Kona Resort is a landmark hotel with renovated rooms and stellar ocean views. On site, guests find the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don's Mai Tai Bar. A tri-star shaped hotel built around an open-air lobby and surrounded by a tropical saltwater fishpond, the atmosphere captures the Big Island spirit without forgoing all the niceties of resort living. A sandy beach ledge, sheltered swimming lagoon and split-level swimming pool add to the romance.

 

Highlights
  • Split-level swimming pool
  • Fitness center
  • Legendary Don the Beachcomber restaurant and mai tai bar
  • Saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach
  • Evening luau and Polynesian revue
Location
The oceanfront Royal Kona Resort is perched on a dramatic lava-rock bluff in Kailua-Kona town, just minutes from restaurants and shops. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, snorkeling, coffee and macadamia nut farms, big-game fishing and local-style charm.
Rooms
The tri-star shaped Royal Kona Resort has recently refurbished and remodeled its accommodations, resulting in a fresh, Island-contemporary atmosphere. Each alii, bay and lagoon tower guest room features a beautiful garden, mountain or ocean view, private balcony, air conditioning, TV, mini-refrigerator and high-speed wireless Internet access at the Royal Kona Resort (fees may apply).
Dining
The Royal Kona Resort is home to the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don’s Mai Tai Bar, where, of course, a mai tai is a must. Several nights a week, the Royal Kona Resort also presents an oceanfront luau and Polynesian revue. Restaurants are plentiful throughout Kailua-Kona.
Recreation
Enjoy the Royal Kona Resort's split-level swimming pool, saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach, tennis courts (fees apply), fitness center and full-service spa (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.4 mi/15 km)

 

Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park (“Snorkel Beach”) (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.8 mi/149 km)
Policies and fees
The pool will be closed from 23 September to 30 September. During this period, the private saltwater lagoon will remain available. Guests can also use the pool facilities at neighboring Kona Reef.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.6323 -155.9891
Area served
Kailua-Kona-Big Island of Hawaii, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-LOA
Area description
Unique and dramatic setting located overlooking beautiful Kailua Bay. Walking distance to historic Kailua-Kona town's shopping and attractions. Approximately 15 minutes south of Kona International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Royal Kona Resort Rooms

Alii Tower / Lagoon Tower Rooms
All guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Alii / Lagoon Tower Garden/Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.
Bay Tower Rooms
Offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Bay Tower Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Don the Beachcomber
Set oceanfront with sunsets and a tropical atmosphere, the Hotel presents Don the Beachcomber, a specialty-themed restaurant serving Pacific Fusion cuisine. This Restaurant is the newest addition to the Royal Kona Resort serving breakfast and dinner daily.
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Curving around the water's edge, features Hawaiian specialty drinks including the Original Mai Tai! In addition to the complete cocktail service in Kona's most spectacular location overlooking Kailua Bay, guests can enjoy lunch or appetizers (pupus) while watching dolphins, sea turtles and whales (seasonal) frolic in the ocean. This is the ideal spot for watching a Hawaiian sunset. Big screen television, dancing and entertainment scheduled throughout the week.
Lava Legends & Legacies Polynesian Luau
Featuring Kona's only oceanfront Luau, guests can enjoy an open bar and a feast of traditional Luau favorites. Watch as the evening begins with an authentic Imu ceremony and continues with a lively performance of song and dance that is common throughout the Pacific Islands. The evening of entertainment concludes with an incredible fire knife demonstration by the award winning Tihati Productions!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel provides over 25,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for small intimate gatherings or meeting to theatrical Theme Parties for up to 500 guests! Audio visual equipment is available to rent in addition to WIFI services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (435)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
435 out of 435
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CaryD
Business
Portland, OR
Feb 11, 2013

Great proximity to downtown

Rooms overlooking the inlet are great and location to downtown is terrific. However, you need to enjoy the nightlife because the bands at 3 clubs go till closing time. Beds could use updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

3 locations all within stumbling distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mushy
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 9, 2013

Winter break

Hotel is very retro and needs updating. We had booked a garden view room and what we got was a 2nd floor room overlooking the roof with the air conditioners running 24 hrs a day. When I asked about the room I was told that this is what is offered for a garden view room. I suggest when making your booking you talk to the hotel to be sure of what you are getting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
patty perky
Business
lakewood, wa
Mar 3, 2013

Royal Kona

My room facing the ocean was fabulous. The roar of t he ocean, the views just couldn't be improved upon. however the last nite was a garden room & I was awakened to horns blowing & traffic noise. The hotel is in dire need of major uplift. Bthroom fixtures were rusty, popcorn ceilings cheap furniture. But the bones & the location are awesome & it was full on my last nite. I,m certain it was a fabulous place when it was first built.Service was so-so.Couldn't get a wine glass but had a small fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I had one meal there & it was very good. The only breakfast available was a $16. buffet but right next dooron the beach is a place where you can get excellant coffee &lighter fare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Snerty Girl
Business
North Carolina
Mar 5, 2013

Beautiful Property

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Kona Resort for one night during a trip to the Big Island. The common areas and lobby of the resort are beautiful. We also enjoyed Don's Mai Tai bar at night. There aren't enough dining options on the resort property for guests. It's strange that the restaurant on the property is only open on certain days of the week. However, several very good restaurants are just a quick walk up the block. Also, there were a few maintenance issues in our room, specifically in the bathroom/shower area that need attention. Overall, we were happy with our stay and would visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Bongo Ben's for a great burger and a live band.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nateruns
Business
massachusetts
Feb 27, 2013

In need of an update but still nice

The Royal Kona really is in the perfect spot for the big island and the common areas are really amazing. As was the ocean view from our room. That said the carpet was very dirty and overall the room was a bit tired. As were the halls and elevators. The price was very reasonable. The location was tip top, the service was very good the lagoon was very neat and the patio and lounge were pretty top notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Monstera, short drive by Big Island standards for a great Japanese/sushi meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ameee
Business
Carlsbad CA
Mar 14, 2013

Not so smooth, but worked out fine

The staff at the hotel was exceptional, especially since the booking company "O"did not forward the reservation and the hotel was technically sold out. All was well, as they found us a room after about a 20 minute wait.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Seems like all taken
Business
South dakota
Apr 2, 2013

Great area.

Love the location. Food at hotel restaurants was great, except for buffet breakfast. The outdoor bar/restaurant was very nice. First room did not have hot water. Couldn't fix it, so we were moved to another room. Had an odd smell, but got used to it. Rain water came in ceiling one night. They dried it out next day. Location and view from room was excellent. Staff was friendly and accommodating. It is very nice to be able to walk downtown to eat in the evenings. Didn't spend hardly any time in room during daytime, as we travelled the island. Parking was a bit spendy, and spots too close to each other. Would had to pay for wifi, but we brought our own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk downtown, and check out menus from street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Arryla
Business
Pagosa, CO
Apr 2, 2013

Plenty of room

We were in need of a place to stay that was reasonably priced and was close to the ocean and Royal Kona fit the bill. Thank you for the great deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The Luau at the hotel was excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paovia
Business
North Hollywood, California
Apr 9, 2013

Beautiful destination wedding/vacation!

The room in the hotel was clean but a bit old. There were rust stains in the shower & cracks on the bathroom door but that didn't stop us from having a good time. The bar hours were inconvenient. They open late & close early. We tried going to the bar around 10:30am & they weren't open yet. We tried again at 11pm & they were already closed. The front desk/activities desk was very helpful & friendly. The pool & lagoon was very nice. All in all, the hotel location is prime...can't beat watching the sunset from where we were at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dragon Mama
Business
Gainesville, Florida
May 10, 2013

Best view for the dollar

Hotel rooms dated and mod worn. the hotel grounds and lobby very nice and view from hotel great overlooking ocean. I would stay there again because price is good for Hawaii and view of ocean was wonderful. The luau was okay food and good entertainment, However alcoholic drinks were poor and not much selection as I have had at other Luaus, Only tropical drink offered was Mai tai and I saw bartender putting his hands in Ice of bowl and eating ice before he added liquid Mai tais to punch bowl. I also saw bartender use hands to shovel ice in glasses instead of a scoop, but what the heck, I drank it anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top