$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
684 reviews
Great get away

Quick check in Nice rooms in the lagoon tower Located on the bay on the edge of down town. Bar menu... See full review

  • GeoJo
  • Mar 13, 2014
Honeymoon/Vacation

Every person and every thing about the Royal Kona Hotel was perfect. From the room, to the... See full review

  • BobPullen
  • Jan 21, 2014
Oceanfront Kailua resort features Don the Beachcomber mai tai heaven
Perched on a lava-rock promontory on the edge of downtown Kailua-Kona, the Royal Kona Resort is a landmark hotel with renovated rooms and stellar ocean views. On site, guests find the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don's Mai Tai Bar. A tri-star shaped hotel built around an open-air lobby and surrounded by a tropical saltwater fishpond, the atmosphere captures the Big Island spirit without forgoing all the niceties of resort living. A sandy beach ledge, sheltered swimming lagoon and split-level swimming pool add to the romance.

 

Highlights
  • Split-level swimming pool
  • Fitness center
  • Legendary Don the Beachcomber restaurant and mai tai bar
  • Saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach
  • Evening luau and Polynesian revue
Location
The oceanfront Royal Kona Resort is perched on a dramatic lava-rock bluff in Kailua-Kona town, just minutes from restaurants and shops. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, snorkeling, coffee and macadamia nut farms, big-game fishing and local-style charm.
Rooms
The tri-star shaped Royal Kona Resort has recently refurbished and remodeled its accommodations, resulting in a fresh, Island-contemporary atmosphere. Each alii, bay and lagoon tower guest room features a beautiful garden, mountain or ocean view, private balcony, air conditioning, TV, mini-refrigerator and high-speed wireless Internet access at the Royal Kona Resort (fees may apply).
Dining
The Royal Kona Resort is home to the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don’s Mai Tai Bar, where, of course, a mai tai is a must. Several nights a week, the Royal Kona Resort also presents an oceanfront luau and Polynesian revue. Restaurants are plentiful throughout Kailua-Kona.
Recreation
Enjoy the Royal Kona Resort's split-level swimming pool, saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach, tennis courts (fees apply), fitness center and full-service spa (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.4 mi/15 km)

 

Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park (“Snorkel Beach”) (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.8 mi/149 km)
Policies and fees
The pool will be closed from 23 September to 30 September. During this period, the private saltwater lagoon will remain available. Guests can also use the pool facilities at neighboring Kona Reef.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.6323 -155.9891
Area served
Kailua-Kona-Big Island of Hawaii, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-LOA
Area description
Unique and dramatic setting located overlooking beautiful Kailua Bay. Walking distance to historic Kailua-Kona town's shopping and attractions. Approximately 15 minutes south of Kona International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Royal Kona Resort Rooms

Alii Tower / Lagoon Tower Rooms
All guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Alii / Lagoon Tower Garden/Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.
Bay Tower Rooms
Offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Bay Tower Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Don the Beachcomber
Set oceanfront with sunsets and a tropical atmosphere, the Hotel presents Don the Beachcomber, a specialty-themed restaurant serving Pacific Fusion cuisine. This Restaurant is the newest addition to the Royal Kona Resort serving breakfast and dinner daily.
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Curving around the water's edge, features Hawaiian specialty drinks including the Original Mai Tai! In addition to the complete cocktail service in Kona's most spectacular location overlooking Kailua Bay, guests can enjoy lunch or appetizers (pupus) while watching dolphins, sea turtles and whales (seasonal) frolic in the ocean. This is the ideal spot for watching a Hawaiian sunset. Big screen television, dancing and entertainment scheduled throughout the week.
Lava Legends & Legacies Polynesian Luau
Featuring Kona's only oceanfront Luau, guests can enjoy an open bar and a feast of traditional Luau favorites. Watch as the evening begins with an authentic Imu ceremony and continues with a lively performance of song and dance that is common throughout the Pacific Islands. The evening of entertainment concludes with an incredible fire knife demonstration by the award winning Tihati Productions!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel provides over 25,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for small intimate gatherings or meeting to theatrical Theme Parties for up to 500 guests! Audio visual equipment is available to rent in addition to WIFI services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (684)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
684 out of 684
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Snerty Girl
North Carolina
Mar 5, 2013

Beautiful Property

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Kona Resort for one night during a trip to the Big Island. The common areas and lobby of the resort are beautiful. We also enjoyed Don's Mai Tai bar at night. There aren't enough dining options on the resort property for guests. It's strange that the restaurant on the property is only open on certain days of the week. However, several very good restaurants are just a quick walk up the block. Also, there were a few maintenance issues in our room, specifically in the bathroom/shower area that need attention. Overall, we were happy with our stay and would visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Bongo Ben's for a great burger and a live band.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Squeezed Middle Class Citizen
Ventura, CA
Oct 7, 2010

Nice...but not

Our room was ocean front, corner patio in the Lagoon Tower, with an incredible view right over the crashing waves. Unfortunately, however, it smelled musty and old, and anything metal in the room, from tables to door jams, had rust on it. Bathroom was straight out of the 70's. Be careful with the sliding glass doors, you might rip a shoulder. Carpets were old commercial grade, nasty too, laid right over the concrete floor. The "Fitness Center" literally consists of a single treadmill, a yoga ball, and a couple small barbells all packed into one of the regular sized rooms...what a joke! "Don's MaiTai Bar" in the hotel has good happy-hour deals on drinks and pupus, friendly bartenders and a KILLER sunset view, stay CLEAR of Don The BeachComber Restaurant unless you light your cigars with hundred dollar bills. Short walk to several eating establishments and nightlife locations, shopping as well. Price was right though[...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eating and drinking establishments very close by...Island Lava Java for breakfast and coffee. Humpy's for a sunset microbrew at the bar and decent happy-hour prices on surprisingly good food. Lulu's is a cardiac death trap with horrible service. Outback Steakhouse...do I even need to comment on that one? Bongo Ben's, nothing remarkable, except the price.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacation Lover Extra
Honolulu, HI
Jan 8, 2013

Great location, but not too much more

My husband and I previously stayed at this hotel when it was under other ownership.....and so our memory of 'what it once was' was the basis of our selection. The location is great, room is comfortable, but nothing much. Could clean it a bit better as it didn't appear to have been vaccuumed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good dining options across the street within walking distance.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cory cheese
anchorage, ak
Dec 11, 2012

Vacation with GF for a friend's wedding

The location was prime for all the downtown shopping, restaurants, and night life. The price was also well worth the quality of hotel. The service, however, was atrocious. It was difficult to find anyone at the front desk, and they were distant when you talked to them. There was no room services, and getting fresh towels, etc was a chore. The view was amazing, but being so close to town it was loud until around 930 weekdays and 1130 weekends. Overall, it was a good experience for us because we are independent and loved the location, but if you are looking for more than that, this is not the choice for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hapuna Beach, about 30 miles north, an amazing spot with minimal waves and great sand.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio
Mar 27, 2011

Good overnight stop for late arrivals

We arrived at Kona airport on late evening flight on our way to a vacation stay far away from airport. We choose to arrive day early and stay first night at Royal Kona Resort, close to airport, very reasonable price and quite comfortable. This let us start our vacation well rested and with full day to enjoy at our more upscale destination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Like being in Waikiki. Just walk down the main street in front of this resort to find any sort of activity that interests you.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paovia
North Hollywood, California
Apr 9, 2013

Beautiful destination wedding/vacation!

The room in the hotel was clean but a bit old. There were rust stains in the shower & cracks on the bathroom door but that didn't stop us from having a good time. The bar hours were inconvenient. They open late & close early. We tried going to the bar around 10:30am & they weren't open yet. We tried again at 11pm & they were already closed. The front desk/activities desk was very helpful & friendly. The pool & lagoon was very nice. All in all, the hotel location is prime...can't beat watching the sunset from where we were at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu,Hi
Jun 14, 2010

very convenient location

Staff was very friendly and willing to help if you needed anything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

hotel buffet was very good

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Farren
Business
Miami, FL
Mar 5, 2009

Great Location, Fair Rooms

The resort grounds were fantastic and the location is fantastic. Walking distance from everything. However, the rooms are a bit out dated and old. They are doing a major renovation unfortunately our room was not one of the newly renovates ones. Because of the climate and moisture we had "Black" spores or mold on the ceilings and in the bathroom. This is typical to moist climates but not healthy to breathe. I was in Kona on business and would deffinitely go back for business. Just not for pleasure. There are other higher end rsorts at a higer rate...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everything

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bummed to be home
Eugene Oregon
Jul 20, 2009

Great Location

Great location and plenty of food options within walking distance. Our favorite was LA CALA Mexican food just a couple blocks away on Ali'i Drive(try the house margerita). The hotel staff were friendly but the room was not as clean as it should have been (being 6'4" I can see places that had not been dusted/wiped in years maybe). The room was in some disrepair (damaged/hole in bathroom door not patched very well, missing baseboard trim, sliding balcony doors rough to open, tacky restoration in bathroom). We stayed in the Ali'i tower that was supposed to have been updated maybe they just missed our room? Minor stuff to some maybe but overall the room could have used a good spring cleaning. If we go back to Kona I think we would stay here again, as the other options off Ali'i Dr. did not look much better from the outside. Staying on Ali'i Dr. cut out having to find parking in the area which can be hard to find when busy. The hotel had a nice little lagoon to hang at however we did not use the lagoon as we were busy snorkeling other areas. Snorkel Bobs rents and sells snorkel/beach gear and is less than a block away from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LA CALA Mexican food (better than any in Eugene, OR). We ate here many times and tried several different items. They were all good and they had very friendly staff. Also, Lava Java has great breakfast (if you sit outside do not leave your food unattended as the birds will swoop in and nibble at it). Stay away from the hotel buffet it was bad.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Arryla
Pagosa, CO
Apr 2, 2013

Plenty of room

We were in need of a place to stay that was reasonably priced and was close to the ocean and Royal Kona fit the bill. Thank you for the great deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The Luau at the hotel was excellent!

Back to menu Return to top