$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
431 out of 431
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dream vacationer
Couples
Eastern Oregon
Feb 6, 2013

Beautiful pool area

The location of the hotel was amazing! The hotel looked to be remodeled and the pool area was fantastic. We saw huge fish jumping in the ocean from the pool area. Although the room was clean, the bathroom had an odd smell and the one of the pillows should have been replaced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CaryD
Couples
Portland, OR
Feb 11, 2013

Great proximity to downtown

Rooms overlooking the inlet are great and location to downtown is terrific. However, you need to enjoy the nightlife because the bands at 3 clubs go till closing time. Beds could use updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

3 locations all within stumbling distance

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mushy
Couples
Seattle, WA
Feb 9, 2013

Winter break

Hotel is very retro and needs updating. We had booked a garden view room and what we got was a 2nd floor room overlooking the roof with the air conditioners running 24 hrs a day. When I asked about the room I was told that this is what is offered for a garden view room. I suggest when making your booking you talk to the hotel to be sure of what you are getting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
patty perky
Single
lakewood, wa
Mar 3, 2013

Royal Kona

My room facing the ocean was fabulous. The roar of t he ocean, the views just couldn't be improved upon. however the last nite was a garden room & I was awakened to horns blowing & traffic noise. The hotel is in dire need of major uplift. Bthroom fixtures were rusty, popcorn ceilings cheap furniture. But the bones & the location are awesome & it was full on my last nite. I,m certain it was a fabulous place when it was first built.Service was so-so.Couldn't get a wine glass but had a small fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

I had one meal there & it was very good. The only breakfast available was a $16. buffet but right next dooron the beach is a place where you can get excellant coffee &lighter fare.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Snerty Girl
Couples
North Carolina
Mar 5, 2013

Beautiful Property

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Kona Resort for one night during a trip to the Big Island. The common areas and lobby of the resort are beautiful. We also enjoyed Don's Mai Tai bar at night. There aren't enough dining options on the resort property for guests. It's strange that the restaurant on the property is only open on certain days of the week. However, several very good restaurants are just a quick walk up the block. Also, there were a few maintenance issues in our room, specifically in the bathroom/shower area that need attention. Overall, we were happy with our stay and would visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Bongo Ben's for a great burger and a live band.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nateruns
Couples
massachusetts
Feb 27, 2013

In need of an update but still nice

The Royal Kona really is in the perfect spot for the big island and the common areas are really amazing. As was the ocean view from our room. That said the carpet was very dirty and overall the room was a bit tired. As were the halls and elevators. The price was very reasonable. The location was tip top, the service was very good the lagoon was very neat and the patio and lounge were pretty top notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Monstera, short drive by Big Island standards for a great Japanese/sushi meal.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ameee
Couples
Carlsbad CA
Mar 14, 2013

Not so smooth, but worked out fine

The staff at the hotel was exceptional, especially since the booking company "O"did not forward the reservation and the hotel was technically sold out. All was well, as they found us a room after about a 20 minute wait.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Seems like all taken
Couples
South dakota
Apr 2, 2013

Great area.

Love the location. Food at hotel restaurants was great, except for buffet breakfast. The outdoor bar/restaurant was very nice. First room did not have hot water. Couldn't fix it, so we were moved to another room. Had an odd smell, but got used to it. Rain water came in ceiling one night. They dried it out next day. Location and view from room was excellent. Staff was friendly and accommodating. It is very nice to be able to walk downtown to eat in the evenings. Didn't spend hardly any time in room during daytime, as we travelled the island. Parking was a bit spendy, and spots too close to each other. Would had to pay for wifi, but we brought our own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk downtown, and check out menus from street.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Arryla
Couples
Pagosa, CO
Apr 2, 2013

Plenty of room

We were in need of a place to stay that was reasonably priced and was close to the ocean and Royal Kona fit the bill. Thank you for the great deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The Luau at the hotel was excellent!

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paovia
Couples
North Hollywood, California
Apr 9, 2013

Beautiful destination wedding/vacation!

The room in the hotel was clean but a bit old. There were rust stains in the shower & cracks on the bathroom door but that didn't stop us from having a good time. The bar hours were inconvenient. They open late & close early. We tried going to the bar around 10:30am & they weren't open yet. We tried again at 11pm & they were already closed. The front desk/activities desk was very helpful & friendly. The pool & lagoon was very nice. All in all, the hotel location is prime...can't beat watching the sunset from where we were at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top