$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
514 out of 514
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Diver Dan
Business
Vista, Ca
Dec 10, 2009

Needs rehab & Mai Tai bar a rip off

Great location for walking to downtown, bike riding, free diving and swimming. Staff didn't do a thing about the dirty carpet. Advised them of the condition first morning there. Hotel bar is a rip off. Expensive drinks little alcohol content. Outrigger Resort much better location and experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Surferboy
Business
Great Falls, VA
May 7, 2010

left

Too noisy asked for my money back after one night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
Oct 24, 2010

Overpriced and tacky

The hotel is not bad, but, like so many in Hawai'i, has seen better days. Internet is not free. Breakfast is reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TexasTechGrad
Business
Honolulu, HI
Apr 3, 2011

OK Hotel

Old and small TV, very narrow shower, no lotion in room, parking is $10/night or take chances with street parking - Beautiful ocean view -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Food was not bad for being hotel food, but not great either.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 11, 2008

Not our best experience

The Royal Kona Resort is not the best place to stay if you expect to be able to eat at the resort. We walked through the restaurant to see several empty tables, since we arrived late and didn't have a reservation we could wait an hour and a half to be seated. They appeared to seat about 9 groups every thirty minutes. The following morning we went back to the buffet and they same problem, long line, not enough tables. The restaurant is small and the only place to eat on the property that has three multistory buildings with guest rooms. We were able to order appetizers from the bar menu to keep from getting back in the car and looking for a place to eat in an area with limited parking. Parking was also limited and a long walk to the room with the luggage. We had to take our own luggage and could not pull up by the building to unload our stuff. The Lanai's were not private, the people in the rooms on either side could just look into your room if you did not have the wooden doors closed at night (so much for listening to the wonderful sounds of the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles, ca
Jul 10, 2011

Not the best experience

We did not stay in Hotel a lot as we were pretty packed with day schedule for family. We planned such that we returned to Hotel rooms in evenings/nights. It was 2 night stay. I did not find the hotel at par with cost paid. Parking fee was steep to park in lot and breakfast was paid buffet. Rooms were spacious and clean. No nearby water fountain so you have to buy lot of water. Bottom line it was pricey hotel resort with very little to no matching amenities. We also stayed at lower profile hotels but had great breakfast and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Jul 26, 2011

"Aloha Spirit Still remains"

From the front desk to the Grounds people and parking gate, very warm with Aloha. you can't find these unique people in many places.The rooms are large and spacious. we stayed in the main building which did not have a nice ocean view. The rooms desperately need a Renovation! old looking furniture, beds are not comfortable. Housekeeping knocked on our door even with the Privacy Card displayed just to ask what time we would be checking out, even after front desk appoved our 2pm checkout the day before. overall, it was OK. hopefully the owners put some capital into this property soon. I would only then, love to return yearly. Its very convenient to the town area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Moscow
Jan 5, 2009

Not worth the money

The room was small and the bathroom was tiny. The room had an odd odor and had hideous yellow walls. The t.v. was very small, the number of channels few, and the reception poor. No complimentary wireless internet. No fitness center. Hotel generally shabby. Considering how much we paid in comparison to a cheaper, much nicer condo in Maui, this place was extremely disappointing. There is also very little in the way of affordable restaurants nearby nor is there much to do in Kona. Also, they charge you $10 a day for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CAMERON PARK, CA
Mar 12, 2009

good location for the price.

IN ALL FAIRNESS I WOULD GO BACK THE CHECK IN WAS NOT GOOD TRIED TO UP GRADE CLERK NOT HELPFUL. AND SHORT . I WOULD GET A PARTIAL OR FULL OCEAN VIEW NEXT TIME. MUCH BETTER TO LOOK AT THE OCEAN THAN THE PARKING LOT, CARS GOING BY PEOPLE WALKING BY A LITTLE NOISEY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 2, 2007

Location, Location, Location - nothing else

The sound of the crashing waves and the spectacular view of the beach from the hotel was awesome. Nothing else was. The room was antiquated. The towels had holes, were frayed, and small. The bathroom ceiling had mold on it. The room smelled musty. But the view from the balcony was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were several good restaurants within walking distance.

Back to menu Return to top