$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
506 out of 506
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HANSOME HAYES
Business
kona
Oct 7, 2012

beautiful room but housekeeping was poor

Housekeeping not too good Restaurant way too expensive Parking is extra

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

prices much better than hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mee wong
Business
san jose, ca
Dec 3, 2012

senior citizen home

If you are a senior citizen, looking for a place to sleep, this is ideal -- however, if you want to have something to do, I would opt to go elsewhere more scenic. There's no hot tub or fitness center. The location is near the shops and restaurants, but is a bore for anyone under the age of 65 years old. The rooms were really small and run down. The sheets felt dirty and the bathroom did not even come with conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FHCW
Business
Ohio
Jan 14, 2013

Dirty Room

The hotel room was dirty. The bath tub had not been cleaned and had hair and dirt in the bottom of it. Along the floors where the walls meet the floor there was a thick line of dust. I told the front desk that I needed the room cleaned and the only part that they cleaned was the tub not even the handles or walls of the tub. I liked the location of the hotel, everthing was in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Impressed with Hawaii
Business
Trail B.C.
Feb 18, 2013

Fantastic location

Just got back from the Royal Kona Hotel in Hawaii. I'll start off with the good points, very friendly and helpfull staff. The location is perfect the atmosphere around the Hotel is great. When I first got there I was impressed by the scenery and the layout of the Hotel. There are definately better Hotels around but for a highter price. First impression is very good, that is until you walk up to the front desk and see the condition of the front desk, ceiling, and the mail boxes behind the counter, They are in definate need of upgrading. Walking up to my room I noticed that they had carpeting which is in dire need of replacement. When I got to my room I was impressed with our view ( south tower facing south) but that was about all I was impressed with, The rooms are a throw back to the 70's, all of the furniture is in need of replacement, When I sat on my bed I was not impressed, I lifed my mattress up and found that the Hotel had put a 3/8 sheet of plywood between my mattress and boxspring instead of replacing them. The only nice thing about the rooms is they were clean. If you plan on staying here don't expect to be impressed by the rooms. You will also pay for the internet $4.95 a day for one week and $ 10.00 a day for parking, Other than that it's in a great location and the price is right, I met a local waitress right across the street and she pretty much summed the Royal Kona Hotel up in one sentence. She said "They act like they are 5 star Hotel when in reality there only a 2 1/2 star Hotel" I would have to agree with her statement!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of great restaurants within walking distance and for better prices. The Royal Kona Hotels Restaurants are not worth the price and the service is terrible the food okay. The servers are friendly and helpful but they were way over worked.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jaynna
Business
Hilo, HI
Apr 1, 2013

2 stars due to bad resturant services

The Bad: This is the second time that I stayed at the Royal Kona Resort. The first time I stayed there I did not utilize any of the amenities nor did I eat at the restaurants. However, this time around my husband and I did have breakfast and tried to get drinks at the bar. Our breakfast experience was not the greatest on Sat (3/30/13). $16 for the breakfast buffet was not worth it. The waffles were awful and the selection of food was very minimal. The servers ignored me and my husband when we sat down at our table but greeted and talked to the other guests around us. I had to stop one of the servers to ask for coffee. Later on that same day we decided to lounge around the hotel to enjoy the view of the ocean with some cocktails (3/30/13 around 2pm). Well, that didn't happen. My husband sat at the bar and waited to be served. Apparently, the bartender just looked at him and walked away. I understand if the bar was full of customers but there were probably only 5 people there with drinks already. Oh well, you're not getting our money! So we went back to our room and enjoyed a bottle of wine that we brought with us. Yes, Sat was not our day at the Royal Kona Resort. We had put up the privacy sign up on our door but I guess that doesn’t mean anything because the maid still walked in our room. Good thing we were only watching TV and not doing something else. Lol. The good: Rose, was the person that checked us in. She was very nice and accommodating. Thank you! The room was nice and clean. There was a leaking faucet but that was something that we were able to ignore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
canadiancalgarian
Business
calgary
May 14, 2013

Not good for the money

Old hotel, needs renovation urgently. Cost is too high for what it delivers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aapriltax
Business
Lake Villa, IL
Jun 24, 2013

Loud wedding parties & hidden costs

We stayed in the bay tower. Can tell it was rehabbed over 10 yrs ago. Needs it again. View was great but our room was right by the location for wedding parties. My husband ran the marathon on Sunday so after traveling all day Saturday we just wanted to go to bed. There was a party with the music so loud we felt like we were apart of the party. We heard every word of the groom"s speech. I called the desk twice to asked if it could be turned down some it only seemed to get louder. Luckily the party stopped at 10. On Sunday there was another wedding. Again we had a front row seat. We had to close up our balcony door to keep some of the sound out. We finally decided to go to dinner and stayed away until 8 when the party would be over Also they show wifi as an amenity but fail to say there is a fee for it. The parking fee of $10 a day is not mentioned either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
natcom
Business
honolulu
Jun 21, 2013

kinda old, but the most central game in town

very run down. warning parking 10$ a day, internet 11$ per device a day. I would stay outside kona and drive in next time. but if you just plan to be in room to sleep, taxi from the airport and walk, its ok. they have a monopoly so I don't see it getting better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
traveler from Phoenix
Business
Phoenix , Arizona
Sep 21, 2013

vacation ath the end of August 2013

The room was clean and the hotel staff has always been helpful and courteous. However the acoustic isolation is poor and the balcony is designed in a way that you almost share it with the other rooms on the floor. The only :kitchen appliances or tools" in the room were a small refrigerator and a coffee machine. The rooms have no curtains and there are a lot of rooms around. The hotel has no parking lot, there is a parking across the street but you have to pay $10/day. 2 Stars because the past 2 years I have been on other Hawaiian island, and in both case the hotel/resort was offering much more for a significant lower price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sunnyme
Business
Settle, Washington
May 30, 2014

Sunnyme

Hotel is old and needs updating. Breakfast is not included. Rooms are away from the parking lot so moving your luggage in and out of the hotel is a pain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top