$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
453 reviews
A very good resort for family

The style of the resort - all openness and panoramic ocean view. I am happy just setting in the bar... See full review

  • Lady from Brisbane
  • Jul 23, 2014
Great get away

Quick check in Nice rooms in the lagoon tower Located on the bay on the edge of down town. Bar menu... See full review

  • GeoJo
  • Mar 13, 2014
Oceanfront Kailua resort features Don the Beachcomber mai tai heaven
Perched on a lava-rock promontory on the edge of downtown Kailua-Kona, the Royal Kona Resort is a landmark hotel with renovated rooms and stellar ocean views. On site, guests find the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don's Mai Tai Bar. A tri-star shaped hotel built around an open-air lobby and surrounded by a tropical saltwater fishpond, the atmosphere captures the Big Island spirit without forgoing all the niceties of resort living. A sandy beach ledge, sheltered swimming lagoon and split-level swimming pool add to the romance.

 

Highlights
  • Split-level swimming pool
  • Fitness center
  • Legendary Don the Beachcomber restaurant and mai tai bar
  • Saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach
  • Evening luau and Polynesian revue
Location
The oceanfront Royal Kona Resort is perched on a dramatic lava-rock bluff in Kailua-Kona town, just minutes from restaurants and shops. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, snorkeling, coffee and macadamia nut farms, big-game fishing and local-style charm.
Rooms
The tri-star shaped Royal Kona Resort has recently refurbished and remodeled its accommodations, resulting in a fresh, Island-contemporary atmosphere. Each alii, bay and lagoon tower guest room features a beautiful garden, mountain or ocean view, private balcony, air conditioning, TV, mini-refrigerator and high-speed wireless Internet access at the Royal Kona Resort (fees may apply).
Dining
The Royal Kona Resort is home to the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don’s Mai Tai Bar, where, of course, a mai tai is a must. Several nights a week, the Royal Kona Resort also presents an oceanfront luau and Polynesian revue. Restaurants are plentiful throughout Kailua-Kona.
Recreation
Enjoy the Royal Kona Resort's split-level swimming pool, saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach, tennis courts (fees apply), fitness center and full-service spa (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.4 mi/15 km)

 

Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park (“Snorkel Beach”) (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.8 mi/149 km)
Policies and fees
The pool will be closed from 23 September to 30 September. During this period, the private saltwater lagoon will remain available. Guests can also use the pool facilities at neighboring Kona Reef.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.6323 -155.9891
Area served
Kailua-Kona-Big Island of Hawaii, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-LOA
Area description
Unique and dramatic setting located overlooking beautiful Kailua Bay. Walking distance to historic Kailua-Kona town's shopping and attractions. Approximately 15 minutes south of Kona International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Royal Kona Resort Rooms

Alii Tower / Lagoon Tower Rooms
All guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Alii / Lagoon Tower Garden/Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.
Bay Tower Rooms
Offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Bay Tower Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Don the Beachcomber
Set oceanfront with sunsets and a tropical atmosphere, the Hotel presents Don the Beachcomber, a specialty-themed restaurant serving Pacific Fusion cuisine. This Restaurant is the newest addition to the Royal Kona Resort serving breakfast and dinner daily.
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Curving around the water's edge, features Hawaiian specialty drinks including the Original Mai Tai! In addition to the complete cocktail service in Kona's most spectacular location overlooking Kailua Bay, guests can enjoy lunch or appetizers (pupus) while watching dolphins, sea turtles and whales (seasonal) frolic in the ocean. This is the ideal spot for watching a Hawaiian sunset. Big screen television, dancing and entertainment scheduled throughout the week.
Lava Legends & Legacies Polynesian Luau
Featuring Kona's only oceanfront Luau, guests can enjoy an open bar and a feast of traditional Luau favorites. Watch as the evening begins with an authentic Imu ceremony and continues with a lively performance of song and dance that is common throughout the Pacific Islands. The evening of entertainment concludes with an incredible fire knife demonstration by the award winning Tihati Productions!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel provides over 25,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for small intimate gatherings or meeting to theatrical Theme Parties for up to 500 guests! Audio visual equipment is available to rent in addition to WIFI services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (453)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
453 out of 453
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FHCW
Ohio
Jan 14, 2013

Dirty Room

The hotel room was dirty. The bath tub had not been cleaned and had hair and dirt in the bottom of it. Along the floors where the walls meet the floor there was a thick line of dust. I told the front desk that I needed the room cleaned and the only part that they cleaned was the tub not even the handles or walls of the tub. I liked the location of the hotel, everthing was in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Impressed with Hawaii
Trail B.C.
Feb 18, 2013

Fantastic location

Just got back from the Royal Kona Hotel in Hawaii. I'll start off with the good points, very friendly and helpfull staff. The location is perfect the atmosphere around the Hotel is great. When I first got there I was impressed by the scenery and the layout of the Hotel. There are definately better Hotels around but for a highter price. First impression is very good, that is until you walk up to the front desk and see the condition of the front desk, ceiling, and the mail boxes behind the counter, They are in definate need of upgrading. Walking up to my room I noticed that they had carpeting which is in dire need of replacement. When I got to my room I was impressed with our view ( south tower facing south) but that was about all I was impressed with, The rooms are a throw back to the 70's, all of the furniture is in need of replacement, When I sat on my bed I was not impressed, I lifed my mattress up and found that the Hotel had put a 3/8 sheet of plywood between my mattress and boxspring instead of replacing them. The only nice thing about the rooms is they were clean. If you plan on staying here don't expect to be impressed by the rooms. You will also pay for the internet $4.95 a day for one week and $ 10.00 a day for parking, Other than that it's in a great location and the price is right, I met a local waitress right across the street and she pretty much summed the Royal Kona Hotel up in one sentence. She said "They act like they are 5 star Hotel when in reality there only a 2 1/2 star Hotel" I would have to agree with her statement!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of great restaurants within walking distance and for better prices. The Royal Kona Hotels Restaurants are not worth the price and the service is terrible the food okay. The servers are friendly and helpful but they were way over worked.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jaynna
Hilo, HI
Apr 1, 2013

2 stars due to bad resturant services

The Bad: This is the second time that I stayed at the Royal Kona Resort. The first time I stayed there I did not utilize any of the amenities nor did I eat at the restaurants. However, this time around my husband and I did have breakfast and tried to get drinks at the bar. Our breakfast experience was not the greatest on Sat (3/30/13). $16 for the breakfast buffet was not worth it. The waffles were awful and the selection of food was very minimal. The servers ignored me and my husband when we sat down at our table but greeted and talked to the other guests around us. I had to stop one of the servers to ask for coffee. Later on that same day we decided to lounge around the hotel to enjoy the view of the ocean with some cocktails (3/30/13 around 2pm). Well, that didn't happen. My husband sat at the bar and waited to be served. Apparently, the bartender just looked at him and walked away. I understand if the bar was full of customers but there were probably only 5 people there with drinks already. Oh well, you're not getting our money! So we went back to our room and enjoyed a bottle of wine that we brought with us. Yes, Sat was not our day at the Royal Kona Resort. We had put up the privacy sign up on our door but I guess that doesn’t mean anything because the maid still walked in our room. Good thing we were only watching TV and not doing something else. Lol. The good: Rose, was the person that checked us in. She was very nice and accommodating. Thank you! The room was nice and clean. There was a leaking faucet but that was something that we were able to ignore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
canadiancalgarian
calgary
May 14, 2013

Not good for the money

Old hotel, needs renovation urgently. Cost is too high for what it delivers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aapriltax
Lake Villa, IL
Jun 24, 2013

Loud wedding parties & hidden costs

We stayed in the bay tower. Can tell it was rehabbed over 10 yrs ago. Needs it again. View was great but our room was right by the location for wedding parties. My husband ran the marathon on Sunday so after traveling all day Saturday we just wanted to go to bed. There was a party with the music so loud we felt like we were apart of the party. We heard every word of the groom"s speech. I called the desk twice to asked if it could be turned down some it only seemed to get louder. Luckily the party stopped at 10. On Sunday there was another wedding. Again we had a front row seat. We had to close up our balcony door to keep some of the sound out. We finally decided to go to dinner and stayed away until 8 when the party would be over Also they show wifi as an amenity but fail to say there is a fee for it. The parking fee of $10 a day is not mentioned either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
natcom
honolulu
Jun 21, 2013

kinda old, but the most central game in town

very run down. warning parking 10$ a day, internet 11$ per device a day. I would stay outside kona and drive in next time. but if you just plan to be in room to sleep, taxi from the airport and walk, its ok. they have a monopoly so I don't see it getting better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
traveler from Phoenix
Phoenix , Arizona
Sep 21, 2013

vacation ath the end of August 2013

The room was clean and the hotel staff has always been helpful and courteous. However the acoustic isolation is poor and the balcony is designed in a way that you almost share it with the other rooms on the floor. The only :kitchen appliances or tools" in the room were a small refrigerator and a coffee machine. The rooms have no curtains and there are a lot of rooms around. The hotel has no parking lot, there is a parking across the street but you have to pay $10/day. 2 Stars because the past 2 years I have been on other Hawaiian island, and in both case the hotel/resort was offering much more for a significant lower price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sunnyme
Settle, Washington
May 30, 2014

Sunnyme

Hotel is old and needs updating. Breakfast is not included. Rooms are away from the parking lot so moving your luggage in and out of the hotel is a pain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Diver Dan
Vista, Ca
Dec 10, 2009

Needs rehab & Mai Tai bar a rip off

Great location for walking to downtown, bike riding, free diving and swimming. Staff didn't do a thing about the dirty carpet. Advised them of the condition first morning there. Hotel bar is a rip off. Expensive drinks little alcohol content. Outrigger Resort much better location and experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Surferboy
Great Falls, VA
May 7, 2010

left

Too noisy asked for my money back after one night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search