$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
454 reviews
Awesome

This hotel is walking distance to main downtown.. However the view, bar and restaurant make you not... See full review

  • Abbey S.
  • Feb 23, 2015
Nice place to stay

While the hotel does need some updating the overall experience was amazing. The room had a great... See full review

  • Kathy E.
  • Jan 12, 2015
Oceanfront Kailua resort features Don the Beachcomber mai tai heaven
Perched on a lava-rock promontory on the edge of downtown Kailua-Kona, the Royal Kona Resort is a landmark hotel with renovated rooms and stellar ocean views. On site, guests find the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don's Mai Tai Bar. A tri-star shaped hotel built around an open-air lobby and surrounded by a tropical saltwater fishpond, the atmosphere captures the Big Island spirit without forgoing all the niceties of resort living. A sandy beach ledge, sheltered swimming lagoon and split-level swimming pool add to the romance.

 

Highlights
  • Split-level swimming pool
  • Fitness center
  • Legendary Don the Beachcomber restaurant and mai tai bar
  • Saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach
  • Evening luau and Polynesian revue
Location
The oceanfront Royal Kona Resort is perched on a dramatic lava-rock bluff in Kailua-Kona town, just minutes from restaurants and shops. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, snorkeling, coffee and macadamia nut farms, big-game fishing and local-style charm.
Rooms
The tri-star shaped Royal Kona Resort has recently refurbished and remodeled its accommodations, resulting in a fresh, Island-contemporary atmosphere. Each alii, bay and lagoon tower guest room features a beautiful garden, mountain or ocean view, private balcony, air conditioning, TV, mini-refrigerator and high-speed wireless Internet access at the Royal Kona Resort (fees may apply).
Dining
The Royal Kona Resort is home to the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don’s Mai Tai Bar, where, of course, a mai tai is a must. Several nights a week, the Royal Kona Resort also presents an oceanfront luau and Polynesian revue. Restaurants are plentiful throughout Kailua-Kona.
Recreation
Enjoy the Royal Kona Resort's split-level swimming pool, saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach, tennis courts (fees apply), fitness center and full-service spa (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.4 mi/15 km)

 

Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park (“Snorkel Beach”) (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.8 mi/149 km)
Policies and fees
  • The freshwater pool will be closed for repairs from 1 - 7 April 2015. During this period, the saltwater lagoon will be available for use. Arrangements have been made for guests to enjoy access to the freshwater pool area at neighboring Kona Reef.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Royal Kona Resort Rooms

Alii Tower / Lagoon Tower Rooms
All guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Alii / Lagoon Tower Garden/Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.
Bay Tower Rooms
Offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Bay Tower Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Don the Beachcomber
Set oceanfront with sunsets and a tropical atmosphere, the Hotel presents Don the Beachcomber, a specialty-themed restaurant serving Pacific Fusion cuisine. This Restaurant is the newest addition to the Royal Kona Resort serving breakfast and dinner daily.
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Curving around the water's edge, features Hawaiian specialty drinks including the Original Mai Tai! In addition to the complete cocktail service in Kona's most spectacular location overlooking Kailua Bay, guests can enjoy lunch or appetizers (pupus) while watching dolphins, sea turtles and whales (seasonal) frolic in the ocean. This is the ideal spot for watching a Hawaiian sunset. Big screen television, dancing and entertainment scheduled throughout the week.
Lava Legends & Legacies Polynesian Luau
Featuring Kona's only oceanfront Luau, guests can enjoy an open bar and a feast of traditional Luau favorites. Watch as the evening begins with an authentic Imu ceremony and continues with a lively performance of song and dance that is common throughout the Pacific Islands. The evening of entertainment concludes with an incredible fire knife demonstration by the award winning Tihati Productions!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel provides over 25,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for small intimate gatherings or meeting to theatrical Theme Parties for up to 500 guests! Audio visual equipment is available to rent in addition to WIFI services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (454)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
454 out of 454
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kappa
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Dec 31, 2010

The room assigned was questionable

We booked a cheapest standard room via [...]and were assigned to the room right next to elevators. The noise of the two elevators was incredibly loud that we had to ask for a room change. We made a strong request for a room that is far away from the elevators so that we do not have to bear the noise they makes every time they are in use. As a result we got the room that is one room away from those elevators. The noise from the elevators was not as loud as in the one right night to them, but it was still annoying. After settling down with tons of diving gears, we were too tired to have it changed again, so we tried to stay out of the room as much as possible. I suppose the the cheapest Garden View rooms must be near the elevators since the elevators are located at the opposite side of ocean in the building we stayed (south of the main building near tennis courts). So here is our suggestion: make sure you get a room at least three rooms apart from the elevators. One nice thing about the hotel is that they offered a hospitality room that we could take a shower in before leaving for the evening flight. Guess what? The room used for the hospitality room was the one we were assigned for the first time!! They probably know the room is too noisy except for temporally usage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Manta night diving was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ltdan1985
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Aug 13, 2014

Still waiting to for Hotel Managment to contact me

I stayed at this resort on August 5, 2014 and checked out on August 6, 2014. My trip was ruined because of the resort and treatment by staff after I was badly injured at resort. Around 4pm on August 5, 2014 I cut my toe severely while swimming in their lagoon. There was no warning sign at the deep part of the extremely dangerous lagoon. After getting injured as I bled all over the resort to guest services for first aide. When asking for help I was told to wait and was ignored. I then went to the bathroom since my accident was not important and got towels to try and stop the bleeding. Till a other guest got help for me. Then after 10-15 minutes security did a report and got me first aide. No one asked if I needed any help. Later that evening the wound would not stop bleeding and I had to go to ER in Kona where I had to get a shot, medication, and ended up sleeping in the hospital the majority of the night and not enjoying my hotel room bed. I am still waiting to hear back from the hotel management and what they plan to make up for my trip being bad. It's now approaching a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Creator God
Business
lees summit
Jan 9, 2015

horrible hotel

the staff was very rude and snobby the room was cold and had a bad vibe they don't like gay people I spent a lot of money to stay there and they complained over $50 the staff was extremely rude don't stay here you risk going to jail

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

do not waste your time or money this hotel has bed bugs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alaska
Nov 1, 2010

Nice View

Our room was upgraded to a nice ocean view room upon apprival. The view was awesome. The bed was hard as a rock and the room was dated and a little dirty. Many times when we came back to the room at 4:00 or so, the room had not yet been cleaned. Once, the maid showed up at 4:50 and wanted to get in the room right away as they were getting off at 5:00. We were in the process of getting dressed and ready to go out and we had the clean room sign on the door for most of the day. Love the location, so close to Kailus-Kona, but the hotel is only so-so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good dining spots within a short walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kona tom
Business
Pleasanton, CA, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Needs to remodel

Had a 13 inch analog tv and the remote did not work. Doors were slamming too noisy. This was an upgrade? Will probably stay at the King K hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HANSOME HAYES
Business
kona
Oct 7, 2012

beautiful room but housekeeping was poor

Housekeeping not too good Restaurant way too expensive Parking is extra

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

prices much better than hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mee wong
Business
san jose, ca
Dec 3, 2012

senior citizen home

If you are a senior citizen, looking for a place to sleep, this is ideal -- however, if you want to have something to do, I would opt to go elsewhere more scenic. There's no hot tub or fitness center. The location is near the shops and restaurants, but is a bore for anyone under the age of 65 years old. The rooms were really small and run down. The sheets felt dirty and the bathroom did not even come with conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FHCW
Business
Ohio
Jan 14, 2013

Dirty Room

The hotel room was dirty. The bath tub had not been cleaned and had hair and dirt in the bottom of it. Along the floors where the walls meet the floor there was a thick line of dust. I told the front desk that I needed the room cleaned and the only part that they cleaned was the tub not even the handles or walls of the tub. I liked the location of the hotel, everthing was in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Impressed with Hawaii
Business
Trail B.C.
Feb 18, 2013

Fantastic location

Just got back from the Royal Kona Hotel in Hawaii. I'll start off with the good points, very friendly and helpfull staff. The location is perfect the atmosphere around the Hotel is great. When I first got there I was impressed by the scenery and the layout of the Hotel. There are definately better Hotels around but for a highter price. First impression is very good, that is until you walk up to the front desk and see the condition of the front desk, ceiling, and the mail boxes behind the counter, They are in definate need of upgrading. Walking up to my room I noticed that they had carpeting which is in dire need of replacement. When I got to my room I was impressed with our view ( south tower facing south) but that was about all I was impressed with, The rooms are a throw back to the 70's, all of the furniture is in need of replacement, When I sat on my bed I was not impressed, I lifed my mattress up and found that the Hotel had put a 3/8 sheet of plywood between my mattress and boxspring instead of replacing them. The only nice thing about the rooms is they were clean. If you plan on staying here don't expect to be impressed by the rooms. You will also pay for the internet $4.95 a day for one week and $ 10.00 a day for parking, Other than that it's in a great location and the price is right, I met a local waitress right across the street and she pretty much summed the Royal Kona Hotel up in one sentence. She said "They act like they are 5 star Hotel when in reality there only a 2 1/2 star Hotel" I would have to agree with her statement!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of great restaurants within walking distance and for better prices. The Royal Kona Hotels Restaurants are not worth the price and the service is terrible the food okay. The servers are friendly and helpful but they were way over worked.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jaynna
Business
Hilo, HI
Apr 1, 2013

2 stars due to bad resturant services

The Bad: This is the second time that I stayed at the Royal Kona Resort. The first time I stayed there I did not utilize any of the amenities nor did I eat at the restaurants. However, this time around my husband and I did have breakfast and tried to get drinks at the bar. Our breakfast experience was not the greatest on Sat (3/30/13). $16 for the breakfast buffet was not worth it. The waffles were awful and the selection of food was very minimal. The servers ignored me and my husband when we sat down at our table but greeted and talked to the other guests around us. I had to stop one of the servers to ask for coffee. Later on that same day we decided to lounge around the hotel to enjoy the view of the ocean with some cocktails (3/30/13 around 2pm). Well, that didn't happen. My husband sat at the bar and waited to be served. Apparently, the bartender just looked at him and walked away. I understand if the bar was full of customers but there were probably only 5 people there with drinks already. Oh well, you're not getting our money! So we went back to our room and enjoyed a bottle of wine that we brought with us. Yes, Sat was not our day at the Royal Kona Resort. We had put up the privacy sign up on our door but I guess that doesn’t mean anything because the maid still walked in our room. Good thing we were only watching TV and not doing something else. Lol. The good: Rose, was the person that checked us in. She was very nice and accommodating. Thank you! The room was nice and clean. There was a leaking faucet but that was something that we were able to ignore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top