$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
435 reviews
Great get away

Quick check in Nice rooms in the lagoon tower Located on the bay on the edge of down town. Bar menu... See full review

  • GeoJo
  • Mar 13, 2014
Honeymoon/Vacation

Every person and every thing about the Royal Kona Hotel was perfect. From the room, to the... See full review

  • BobPullen
  • Jan 21, 2014
Oceanfront Kailua resort features Don the Beachcomber mai tai heaven
Perched on a lava-rock promontory on the edge of downtown Kailua-Kona, the Royal Kona Resort is a landmark hotel with renovated rooms and stellar ocean views. On site, guests find the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don's Mai Tai Bar. A tri-star shaped hotel built around an open-air lobby and surrounded by a tropical saltwater fishpond, the atmosphere captures the Big Island spirit without forgoing all the niceties of resort living. A sandy beach ledge, sheltered swimming lagoon and split-level swimming pool add to the romance.

 

Highlights
  • Split-level swimming pool
  • Fitness center
  • Legendary Don the Beachcomber restaurant and mai tai bar
  • Saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach
  • Evening luau and Polynesian revue
Location
The oceanfront Royal Kona Resort is perched on a dramatic lava-rock bluff in Kailua-Kona town, just minutes from restaurants and shops. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, snorkeling, coffee and macadamia nut farms, big-game fishing and local-style charm.
Rooms
The tri-star shaped Royal Kona Resort has recently refurbished and remodeled its accommodations, resulting in a fresh, Island-contemporary atmosphere. Each alii, bay and lagoon tower guest room features a beautiful garden, mountain or ocean view, private balcony, air conditioning, TV, mini-refrigerator and high-speed wireless Internet access at the Royal Kona Resort (fees may apply).
Dining
The Royal Kona Resort is home to the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don’s Mai Tai Bar, where, of course, a mai tai is a must. Several nights a week, the Royal Kona Resort also presents an oceanfront luau and Polynesian revue. Restaurants are plentiful throughout Kailua-Kona.
Recreation
Enjoy the Royal Kona Resort's split-level swimming pool, saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach, tennis courts (fees apply), fitness center and full-service spa (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.4 mi/15 km)

 

Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park (“Snorkel Beach”) (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.8 mi/149 km)
Policies and fees
The pool will be closed from 23 September to 30 September. During this period, the private saltwater lagoon will remain available. Guests can also use the pool facilities at neighboring Kona Reef.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.6323 -155.9891
Area served
Kailua-Kona-Big Island of Hawaii, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-LOA
Area description
Unique and dramatic setting located overlooking beautiful Kailua Bay. Walking distance to historic Kailua-Kona town's shopping and attractions. Approximately 15 minutes south of Kona International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Royal Kona Resort Rooms

Alii Tower / Lagoon Tower Rooms
All guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Alii / Lagoon Tower Garden/Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.
Bay Tower Rooms
Offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Bay Tower Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel provides over 25,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for small intimate gatherings or meeting to theatrical Theme Parties for up to 500 guests! Audio visual equipment is available to rent in addition to WIFI services.

Dining

Don the Beachcomber
Set oceanfront with sunsets and a tropical atmosphere, the Hotel presents Don the Beachcomber, a specialty-themed restaurant serving Pacific Fusion cuisine. This Restaurant is the newest addition to the Royal Kona Resort serving breakfast and dinner daily.
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Curving around the water's edge, features Hawaiian specialty drinks including the Original Mai Tai! In addition to the complete cocktail service in Kona's most spectacular location overlooking Kailua Bay, guests can enjoy lunch or appetizers (pupus) while watching dolphins, sea turtles and whales (seasonal) frolic in the ocean. This is the ideal spot for watching a Hawaiian sunset. Big screen television, dancing and entertainment scheduled throughout the week.
Lava Legends & Legacies Polynesian Luau
Featuring Kona's only oceanfront Luau, guests can enjoy an open bar and a feast of traditional Luau favorites. Watch as the evening begins with an authentic Imu ceremony and continues with a lively performance of song and dance that is common throughout the Pacific Islands. The evening of entertainment concludes with an incredible fire knife demonstration by the award winning Tihati Productions!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (435)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
435 out of 435
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SCR Mom
Business
North Carolina
Dec 3, 2009

My Review

I upgraded to an ocean view, but really had a view of the building across the parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ltdan1985
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Aug 13, 2014

Still waiting to for Hotel Managment to contact me

I stayed at this resort on August 5, 2014 and checked out on August 6, 2014. My trip was ruined because of the resort and treatment by staff after I was badly injured at resort. Around 4pm on August 5, 2014 I cut my toe severely while swimming in their lagoon. There was no warning sign at the deep part of the extremely dangerous lagoon. After getting injured as I bled all over the resort to guest services for first aide. When asking for help I was told to wait and was ignored. I then went to the bathroom since my accident was not important and got towels to try and stop the bleeding. Till a other guest got help for me. Then after 10-15 minutes security did a report and got me first aide. No one asked if I needed any help. Later that evening the wound would not stop bleeding and I had to go to ER in Kona where I had to get a shot, medication, and ended up sleeping in the hospital the majority of the night and not enjoying my hotel room bed. I am still waiting to hear back from the hotel management and what they plan to make up for my trip being bad. It's now approaching a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Grandma Racer
Business
Calhan, CO
Jan 8, 2014

Not real pleased

The primary problem was the cockroaches. When you wake in the middle of the night to use the bathroom and see them scurrying away you lose a lot of sleep. No idea when it was last vacuumed found pieces of cereal in sight of the bed. Moldy walls, loose fixtures toilets that wouldn't stop running. Dope smoking neighbors, apparently legal cigarettes is the only smoking prohibited. Glad I didn't look for bed bugs. We moved from The Royal Kona Resort to the King Kamehameha no comparison. Quiet, Clean much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Camp Ranger Pottsy
Business
Coeur D'Alene, Idaho
Feb 18, 2014

Not a place to rest

I stayed at Royal Kona from the 10th of Feb thru the 17th of February. I called and complained about the extreme noise several nights that kept us awake ever night from a live music, open air facility with a coved top next door. I paid good money To the Royal Kona Resort for a place I could rest and enjoy. They offered me free parking for three days. I will never book with Royal Kona again. I believe they may not have had Another Roon to move us into. Last but not least is that their Building need an up grade if they are going to compete with Other resorts. I would. Only give them a two Star Rating!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joseyone
Business
Minnesota
Mar 3, 2014

fantastic location, lacking in comfort and interior updates

The location was fantastic! The room however is in dire need of updates -new bed/mattress and bedding as well as carpet and paint is desperately needed! we paid for the king oceanfront with wrap around lanai and while the view was great - the room itself was not worth the $300/night price tag! the Royal Lahaina in Maui was a thousand times better and less money. A few updates to this motel is much needed and would go a LONG ways! This was a once in a lifetime trip for us and while the view was great, the room was very disappointing for the cost! don't get your hopes up by the photos -they are deceiving!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alaska
Nov 1, 2010

Nice View

Our room was upgraded to a nice ocean view room upon apprival. The view was awesome. The bed was hard as a rock and the room was dated and a little dirty. Many times when we came back to the room at 4:00 or so, the room had not yet been cleaned. Once, the maid showed up at 4:50 and wanted to get in the room right away as they were getting off at 5:00. We were in the process of getting dressed and ready to go out and we had the clean room sign on the door for most of the day. Love the location, so close to Kailus-Kona, but the hotel is only so-so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good dining spots within a short walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kona tom
Business
Pleasanton, CA, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Needs to remodel

Had a 13 inch analog tv and the remote did not work. Doors were slamming too noisy. This was an upgrade? Will probably stay at the King K hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HANSOME HAYES
Business
kona
Oct 7, 2012

beautiful room but housekeeping was poor

Housekeeping not too good Restaurant way too expensive Parking is extra

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

prices much better than hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mee wong
Business
san jose, ca
Dec 3, 2012

senior citizen home

If you are a senior citizen, looking for a place to sleep, this is ideal -- however, if you want to have something to do, I would opt to go elsewhere more scenic. There's no hot tub or fitness center. The location is near the shops and restaurants, but is a bore for anyone under the age of 65 years old. The rooms were really small and run down. The sheets felt dirty and the bathroom did not even come with conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FHCW
Business
Ohio
Jan 14, 2013

Dirty Room

The hotel room was dirty. The bath tub had not been cleaned and had hair and dirt in the bottom of it. Along the floors where the walls meet the floor there was a thick line of dust. I told the front desk that I needed the room cleaned and the only part that they cleaned was the tub not even the handles or walls of the tub. I liked the location of the hotel, everthing was in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top