Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
430 reviews
amazing

We where a little skeptical because of reviews. But once we arrived we where in aww . This place... See full review

  • Nicole B.
  • Jul 24, 2015
Great place to stay and enjoy the ocean view. Great Luau!

We enjoyed our stay very much. We had a nice view from our balcony. Our only complaint about the... See full review

  • Nyla W.
  • Jul 19, 2015

The Royal Kona Resort in Kona, located on the Big Island of Hawaii, sits on the tip of Kailua Bay, and its spacious rooms are located in three towers: the center Alii Tower, the south Lagoon Tower and the north Bay Tower. Guests enjoy magnificent views of the Pacific Ocean, a private lagoon, Kailua Bay, tropical gardens and a seaside town.

 

Kailua-Kona is located on the Big Island’s leeward side and offers protection from prevailing winds. This means little rain and an average year-round temperature of 70-80 degrees Fahrenheit, which is perfect for enjoying the beach, pool or lanai.

Location
The oceanfront Royal Kona Resort is perched on a dramatic lava-rock bluff in Kailua-Kona town, just minutes from restaurants and shops. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, snorkeling, coffee and macadamia nut farms, big-game fishing and local-style charm.
Dining
The Royal Kona Resort is home to the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don’s Mai Tai Bar, where, of course, a mai tai is a must. Several nights a week, the Royal Kona Resort also presents an oceanfront luau and Polynesian revue. Restaurants are plentiful throughout Kailua-Kona.
Rooms
The tri-star shaped Royal Kona Resort has recently refurbished and remodeled its accommodations, resulting in a fresh, Island-contemporary atmosphere. Each alii, bay and lagoon tower guest room features a beautiful garden, mountain or ocean view, private balcony, air conditioning, TV, mini-refrigerator and high-speed wireless Internet access at the Royal Kona Resort (fees may apply).
Highlights

The Royal Kona Resort is full service with an oceanfront swimming pool, lighted tennis courts, The Lotus Center spa, full-service hair salon and private swimming lagoon on Kailua Bay. The resort takes advantage of ocean views. The Don the Beachcomber Restaurant, described as Polynesian retro-tiki chic, was designed by tiki architect George Wimberly and sits on the water’s edge.

 

The oceanfront, open air Don’s Mai Tai Bar has a 360-degree ocean view, and Don’s Breezeway Lounge delivers a better full-ocean view. The Royal Kona Luau is an oceanfront production with Hawaiian-style buffet, Samoan fire dance and other exciting activities. The historic Kona Town, filled with shops and restaurants, is within walking distance.

Nearby attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park (“Snorkel Beach”) (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.8 mi/149 km)
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.4 mi/15 km)

 

Recreation
Enjoy the Royal Kona Resort's split-level swimming pool, saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach, tennis courts (fees apply), fitness center and full-service spa (fees apply).

 

Policies

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Royal Kona Resort Rooms

Alii Tower / Lagoon Tower Rooms
All guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Alii / Lagoon Tower Garden/Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.
Bay Tower Rooms
Offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Bay Tower Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Map

19.6323 -155.9891
Area served
Kailua-Kona-Big Island of Hawaii, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-LOA
Area description
Unique and dramatic setting located overlooking beautiful Kailua Bay. Walking distance to historic Kailua-Kona town's shopping and attractions. Approximately 15 minutes south of Kona International Airport.

Dining

Don the Beachcomber
Set oceanfront with sunsets and a tropical atmosphere, the Hotel presents Don the Beachcomber, a specialty-themed restaurant serving Pacific Fusion cuisine. This Restaurant is the newest addition to the Royal Kona Resort serving breakfast and dinner daily.
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Curving around the water's edge, features Hawaiian specialty drinks including the Original Mai Tai! In addition to the complete cocktail service in Kona's most spectacular location overlooking Kailua Bay, guests can enjoy lunch or appetizers (pupus) while watching dolphins, sea turtles and whales (seasonal) frolic in the ocean. This is the ideal spot for watching a Hawaiian sunset. Big screen television, dancing and entertainment scheduled throughout the week.
Lava Legends & Legacies Polynesian Luau
Featuring Kona's only oceanfront Luau, guests can enjoy an open bar and a feast of traditional Luau favorites. Watch as the evening begins with an authentic Imu ceremony and continues with a lively performance of song and dance that is common throughout the Pacific Islands. The evening of entertainment concludes with an incredible fire knife demonstration by the award winning Tihati Productions!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel provides over 25,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for small intimate gatherings or meeting to theatrical Theme Parties for up to 500 guests! Audio visual equipment is available to rent in addition to WIFI services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (430)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
430 out of 430
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mother of a 3 and6 yr old
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
May 21, 2013

Horrible Choice for small children

The staff was friendly and did all they could to make things comfortable for our stay. Shortly after check-in the power went partially out to no fault of the hotel. No air conditioning, elevators were also out, kitchen in the restaurant went out. They did bring 2 portable fan's up to our room to compensate and granted us a very late check out to make up for the inconvenience. The balcony outside our room and railing outside of the room were clearly not up to code... really low and the spacing between was about 9" plenty of room for a small child to fall between falling several flights of stairs while trying to look at the fish in a small pond down below. Outdated accommodations, pictures on website must have been of the very best room they had. The view of an oven view room was the best thing about the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kappa
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Dec 31, 2010

The room assigned was questionable

We booked a cheapest standard room via [...]and were assigned to the room right next to elevators. The noise of the two elevators was incredibly loud that we had to ask for a room change. We made a strong request for a room that is far away from the elevators so that we do not have to bear the noise they makes every time they are in use. As a result we got the room that is one room away from those elevators. The noise from the elevators was not as loud as in the one right night to them, but it was still annoying. After settling down with tons of diving gears, we were too tired to have it changed again, so we tried to stay out of the room as much as possible. I suppose the the cheapest Garden View rooms must be near the elevators since the elevators are located at the opposite side of ocean in the building we stayed (south of the main building near tennis courts). So here is our suggestion: make sure you get a room at least three rooms apart from the elevators. One nice thing about the hotel is that they offered a hospitality room that we could take a shower in before leaving for the evening flight. Guess what? The room used for the hospitality room was the one we were assigned for the first time!! They probably know the room is too noisy except for temporally usage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Manta night diving was great!

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellevue, WA
Feb 27, 2011

not-so-good hotel

mold in bathroom, dirty air vents, blood stains in the bathroom, smelly room, check in @ 3:30 instead of 3:00 only positive points were: the location and the nice ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"java on the rock" near-by has delicious breakfast options and strong coffee - on the down side it's kind of expensive

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 20, 2011

Awful hotel...but a great view

Well it started out ok at best. The check in staff was alright but offered to upgrade us to an oceanfront suite for 20 bucks. So it being our honeymoon, I decided to do it. At first the room was great, although older and it shows, the view was spectacular basically on top of the ocean. But as the night continued it got worse. The AC didn't work, bed was very uncomfortable and we found a bunch of bugs in our bathroom. Thank god we only had one night there cause it was the worst of our trip. If I had another I would have asked to cancel and gone somewhere else. It's only saving grace was Don the Beachcomber restaurant. Don't stay here till a major renovation occurs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to Dons its the only redeeming quality this place has

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Indiana Joe
Business
Bloomington,Indiana
Jul 4, 2009

A bust

Well our flight had mechanical trouble, and we couldn't even get to the island till the following day. I called the Royal Kona Resort, upon arriving in Honolulu and told them we couldn't get over to Kona until the next day, and asked if they would refund all or part of the money we paid. But they said, sorry we can't do that and you have to speak with Orbitz. So I am now finnally able to contact you, and tell you I will never prepay for a hotel again, as I am out $165. I even asked if I could just get a day room maybe for the last day here on the island instead. they didn't even look to see if there were openings, just said No. I have discovered that the real Aloha Spirit out here is very negetive. Amazing how rude people are here, and especcially since it is like paradise. If you are willing or can refund my money, I would be grateful, as things have been alot tougher since the ecomony has had such a down turn. Either way, thanks for you help, and lesson learned. Randall Joe McGlaun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Biggius
Business
Juneau, Ak
Oct 17, 2009

so so

I paid $150 per night, for a mildew room, they charged me another $20 a night to change rooms, then to find out that others in the newer rooms had paid $109 and when we checked out I learned that another guest paid only $75 per night for the same five nights![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
luke and shannon Newlyweds
Business
Corvallis, MT
Oct 25, 2009

Not what you Expect :(

They spent more money on the bar; Dons Beachcomber than all of their rooms. The pillows were like bags of sand. The bed was hard and uncomfortable. When we were laying in bed we had no choice but to listen to the elevator go up and down all night. Plus, the toliet in the room ran all night. Even with the bathroom door shut you could still hear it. The location and the bar are great but hardly make up for everything else. Don't be fooled by their beautiful lobby; you'll understand as soon as you see your room why you got such a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Coconutz is a great little bar that had amazing live music the night we were there. The bartenders are friendly.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SCR Mom
Business
North Carolina
Dec 3, 2009

My Review

I upgraded to an ocean view, but really had a view of the building across the parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ltdan1985
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Aug 13, 2014

Still waiting to for Hotel Managment to contact me

I stayed at this resort on August 5, 2014 and checked out on August 6, 2014. My trip was ruined because of the resort and treatment by staff after I was badly injured at resort. Around 4pm on August 5, 2014 I cut my toe severely while swimming in their lagoon. There was no warning sign at the deep part of the extremely dangerous lagoon. After getting injured as I bled all over the resort to guest services for first aide. When asking for help I was told to wait and was ignored. I then went to the bathroom since my accident was not important and got towels to try and stop the bleeding. Till a other guest got help for me. Then after 10-15 minutes security did a report and got me first aide. No one asked if I needed any help. Later that evening the wound would not stop bleeding and I had to go to ER in Kona where I had to get a shot, medication, and ended up sleeping in the hospital the majority of the night and not enjoying my hotel room bed. I am still waiting to hear back from the hotel management and what they plan to make up for my trip being bad. It's now approaching a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Creator God
Business
lees summit
Jan 9, 2015

horrible hotel

the staff was very rude and snobby the room was cold and had a bad vibe they don't like gay people I spent a lot of money to stay there and they complained over $50 the staff was extremely rude don't stay here you risk going to jail

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

do not waste your time or money this hotel has bed bugs

Back to menu Return to top