$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 5, 2014 Check-out: Nov 6, 2014

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
434 reviews
Great get away

Quick check in Nice rooms in the lagoon tower Located on the bay on the edge of down town. Bar menu... See full review

  • GeoJo
  • Mar 13, 2014
Honeymoon/Vacation

Every person and every thing about the Royal Kona Hotel was perfect. From the room, to the... See full review

  • BobPullen
  • Jan 21, 2014
Oceanfront Kailua resort features Don the Beachcomber mai tai heaven
Perched on a lava-rock promontory on the edge of downtown Kailua-Kona, the Royal Kona Resort is a landmark hotel with renovated rooms and stellar ocean views. On site, guests find the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don's Mai Tai Bar. A tri-star shaped hotel built around an open-air lobby and surrounded by a tropical saltwater fishpond, the atmosphere captures the Big Island spirit without forgoing all the niceties of resort living. A sandy beach ledge, sheltered swimming lagoon and split-level swimming pool add to the romance.

 

Highlights
  • Split-level swimming pool
  • Fitness center
  • Legendary Don the Beachcomber restaurant and mai tai bar
  • Saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach
  • Evening luau and Polynesian revue
Location
The oceanfront Royal Kona Resort is perched on a dramatic lava-rock bluff in Kailua-Kona town, just minutes from restaurants and shops. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, snorkeling, coffee and macadamia nut farms, big-game fishing and local-style charm.
Rooms
The tri-star shaped Royal Kona Resort has recently refurbished and remodeled its accommodations, resulting in a fresh, Island-contemporary atmosphere. Each alii, bay and lagoon tower guest room features a beautiful garden, mountain or ocean view, private balcony, air conditioning, TV, mini-refrigerator and high-speed wireless Internet access at the Royal Kona Resort (fees may apply).
Dining
The Royal Kona Resort is home to the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don’s Mai Tai Bar, where, of course, a mai tai is a must. Several nights a week, the Royal Kona Resort also presents an oceanfront luau and Polynesian revue. Restaurants are plentiful throughout Kailua-Kona.
Recreation
Enjoy the Royal Kona Resort's split-level swimming pool, saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach, tennis courts (fees apply), fitness center and full-service spa (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.4 mi/15 km)

 

Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park (“Snorkel Beach”) (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.8 mi/149 km)
Policies and fees
The pool will be closed from 23 September to 30 September. During this period, the private saltwater lagoon will remain available. Guests can also use the pool facilities at neighboring Kona Reef.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.6323 -155.9891
Area served
Kailua-Kona-Big Island of Hawaii, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-LOA
Area description
Unique and dramatic setting located overlooking beautiful Kailua Bay. Walking distance to historic Kailua-Kona town's shopping and attractions. Approximately 15 minutes south of Kona International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Royal Kona Resort Rooms

Alii Tower / Lagoon Tower Rooms
All guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Alii / Lagoon Tower Garden/Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.
Bay Tower Rooms
Offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Bay Tower Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Don the Beachcomber
Set oceanfront with sunsets and a tropical atmosphere, the Hotel presents Don the Beachcomber, a specialty-themed restaurant serving Pacific Fusion cuisine. This Restaurant is the newest addition to the Royal Kona Resort serving breakfast and dinner daily.
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Curving around the water's edge, features Hawaiian specialty drinks including the Original Mai Tai! In addition to the complete cocktail service in Kona's most spectacular location overlooking Kailua Bay, guests can enjoy lunch or appetizers (pupus) while watching dolphins, sea turtles and whales (seasonal) frolic in the ocean. This is the ideal spot for watching a Hawaiian sunset. Big screen television, dancing and entertainment scheduled throughout the week.
Lava Legends & Legacies Polynesian Luau
Featuring Kona's only oceanfront Luau, guests can enjoy an open bar and a feast of traditional Luau favorites. Watch as the evening begins with an authentic Imu ceremony and continues with a lively performance of song and dance that is common throughout the Pacific Islands. The evening of entertainment concludes with an incredible fire knife demonstration by the award winning Tihati Productions!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel provides over 25,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for small intimate gatherings or meeting to theatrical Theme Parties for up to 500 guests! Audio visual equipment is available to rent in addition to WIFI services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (434)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
434 out of 434
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BobPullen
Business
Lakewood, CA
Jan 21, 2014

Honeymoon/Vacation

Every person and every thing about the Royal Kona Hotel was perfect. From the room, to the location, the Wedding Planner, Photographer, hotel staff, etc etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Snorkel at 2-Step. A family of dolphins reside there, and the experience is amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GeoJo
Business
Minnesota
Mar 13, 2014

Great get away

Quick check in Nice rooms in the lagoon tower Located on the bay on the edge of down town. Bar menu closed at 9 so we went to Huggos Just another day in paradise. Small pool and/or beach lagoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Huggos on the rocks is just next door Stopped at Safeway for wine, beer and snacks on the balcony.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 29, 2008

Great Kona Hotel

The Royal Kona was a terrific in town hotel. We stayed in an ocean view room in the Alii tower. The room was updated and clean, nothing exceptional, but fine for the money. The hotel has been around for a few years and the layout and facilities reflect that, smaller pool, pool area etc. We felt it had a charming presence. The staff was responsive and friendly, not fawning, which I prefer. High speed internet is at an additional cost which is a pet peeve of mine. It worked fine, however. Beautiful evening restaurant setting. Within walking distance of many other restaurants. Visiting cruise ships anchor not far off the coastline in view of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Many shops and restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Astrid
Business
USA
Jan 27, 2008

best hotel in Kona

I had the biggest room ever (lucky corner room) could have had a party of 20 on my balcony which overlooked a sweet lagoon. Def by far the best hotel in Kona. I checked out to stay at a friends & tried to check back in a few days later. by biggest mistake was that I should have saved a room,. It got completely booked because all the other hotels in Kona are sad and bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's shopping, dining, snorkel renting, boat trips, and jet skiing all within walking distance. You need a car to see the real stuff like volcano, mauna loa, 4-wheel drive for waipio,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 9, 2007

A Little Piece of Paradise

To be honest I chose the Royal Kona Resort because it had a spa. I was very happy with Resort as a whole. We did upgrade to an Ocean Front Room, and I am very glad I did. The view from the room was absolutely wonderful. I would sit on the balcony and watch the waves and listen to the variety of birds. The staff was friendly and helpful with all the questions. I was impressed that after just the first day the Recepectionist at the Don the Beachcomber remembered the type of coffee I was drinking in the morning and would bring it right to the table. The breakfast buffet was a wonderful slection of everything from cereal to Papaya. Several different jucies and an assorment of toppings for waffles and pancakes. The dinner menu was varied and dishes were plenty. I enoyed sitting and watching the sunset eating one of their wonderful desserts. I was glad I chose the Spa because my facial was full of relaxing music and refreshing botanicals. I would recommend the Royal Kona Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several restuarants within a short walk as were the shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mira
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 7, 2008

Ocean views

The Royal Kona had fantastic ocean views with plenty of seating to watch the sunsets. The hotel is located in a perfact distance from all the shops and restaurants. I personally loved it I would not of stayed in any other hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Next door to the hotel are two bar/restaurants, Huggo's and The Rocks great food and live music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 10, 2008

I love the Royal Kona Hotel

I love the Royal Kona hotel. This was my second stay there, and I look forward to going back again. The staff was very accommodating and pleasant. My room had a beautiful view of the ocean which I loved. I liked the little kitchen area with a separate sink; I liked the two suitcase stands in the room; I liked the generous beach towels they put in your room. I love the private ocean cove area with private beach that is adjacent to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is in the heart of Kailua-Kona within walking distance to restaurants, nightlife, shopping, churches, boating attractions, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, NY
Apr 20, 2008

Best for your dollar.

The location is excellent!The hotel staff was very helpful.I would stay there again,I just wish the maitainence issues in our room were adressed before we arrived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Freeville, NY
Dec 24, 2008

Great location, nice view, amazing staff, high rates

While the central building in this complex has been renovated recently while my building has not been, my room was in fine condition and I have no complaints. The staff at the front desk learned my name after only two interactions, and was extremely helpful in accommodating early check-in, late check-out, and generally making me feel like a guest, rather than a client. A few suggestions for future visitors: Avoid the garden view rooms. The garden view is actually a parking lot view. The ocean view rooms are much better though, and if you check out the numbering system before checking in, you can get a room that's practically oceanfront for the price of an ocean view. Their restaurant is extremely pricey with mediocre food. You're better off wandering the strip for an alternative, or if you prefer to stay at the hotel, go to their Mai Tai Bar. The prices are less than half those of the restaurant, and the burgers, barbecue, and ahi are excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For beer enthusiasts and families alike, I *highly* recommend the Kona Brewery, located in a strip mall about a mile away (you'll find coupons in many tourist brochures). The beer is very good, the staff are extremely friendly, and they have the best pizza I've ever had in my life. Not to be missed!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Livermore, CA
Jul 6, 2009

Very nice hotel

I used this hotel with my friend from Japan. Of course I am also Japanese, but we were ver satisfied with this hotel. I could see the ocean from the room. It's nice for me!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Our main purpose was Scuba diving. So it was close from hotel to harbor to ride the boat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top