$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
458 out of 458
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paovia
Business
North Hollywood, California
Apr 9, 2013

Beautiful destination wedding/vacation!

The room in the hotel was clean but a bit old. There were rust stains in the shower & cracks on the bathroom door but that didn't stop us from having a good time. The bar hours were inconvenient. They open late & close early. We tried going to the bar around 10:30am & they weren't open yet. We tried again at 11pm & they were already closed. The front desk/activities desk was very helpful & friendly. The pool & lagoon was very nice. All in all, the hotel location is prime...can't beat watching the sunset from where we were at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Seems like all taken
Business
South dakota
Apr 2, 2013

Great area.

Love the location. Food at hotel restaurants was great, except for buffet breakfast. The outdoor bar/restaurant was very nice. First room did not have hot water. Couldn't fix it, so we were moved to another room. Had an odd smell, but got used to it. Rain water came in ceiling one night. They dried it out next day. Location and view from room was excellent. Staff was friendly and accommodating. It is very nice to be able to walk downtown to eat in the evenings. Didn't spend hardly any time in room during daytime, as we travelled the island. Parking was a bit spendy, and spots too close to each other. Would had to pay for wifi, but we brought our own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk downtown, and check out menus from street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Arryla
Business
Pagosa, CO
Apr 2, 2013

Plenty of room

We were in need of a place to stay that was reasonably priced and was close to the ocean and Royal Kona fit the bill. Thank you for the great deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The Luau at the hotel was excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jaynna
Business
Hilo, HI
Apr 1, 2013

2 stars due to bad resturant services

The Bad: This is the second time that I stayed at the Royal Kona Resort. The first time I stayed there I did not utilize any of the amenities nor did I eat at the restaurants. However, this time around my husband and I did have breakfast and tried to get drinks at the bar. Our breakfast experience was not the greatest on Sat (3/30/13). $16 for the breakfast buffet was not worth it. The waffles were awful and the selection of food was very minimal. The servers ignored me and my husband when we sat down at our table but greeted and talked to the other guests around us. I had to stop one of the servers to ask for coffee. Later on that same day we decided to lounge around the hotel to enjoy the view of the ocean with some cocktails (3/30/13 around 2pm). Well, that didn't happen. My husband sat at the bar and waited to be served. Apparently, the bartender just looked at him and walked away. I understand if the bar was full of customers but there were probably only 5 people there with drinks already. Oh well, you're not getting our money! So we went back to our room and enjoyed a bottle of wine that we brought with us. Yes, Sat was not our day at the Royal Kona Resort. We had put up the privacy sign up on our door but I guess that doesn’t mean anything because the maid still walked in our room. Good thing we were only watching TV and not doing something else. Lol. The good: Rose, was the person that checked us in. She was very nice and accommodating. Thank you! The room was nice and clean. There was a leaking faucet but that was something that we were able to ignore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gs98230
Business
Vancouver
Mar 31, 2013

Not all rooma are good...

It is an ols hotel... We see it downgraded year after year... I am sure there are outstanding rooms... Anyway, what we book with the Internet does not fit with the expectation... roadside view, noisy neighbors, tiny refrigerator... expensive parking and exaggerated internet cost at a very low speed. At that price, next time, I will choose a better accomodation. Not what I would call a resort ! ! ! It should not be so expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miss Organizer
Business
Montana
Mar 28, 2013

Great vacation

The chairs in the room are not comfortable. Didn't like having to pay for WIFI. Only hotel that we have stayed at that you had to pay for it. Otherwise it was a great experience. Would stay there again and would highly recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Kona Brewery, Bubba Gumps

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kona bound duo
Business
Denman Island, BC
Mar 24, 2013

Royal Kona Resort

This hotel is older and isn't high end however it has a lot to offer - good location with lots of free parking close by, internet for a daily or weekly extra charge if you wish, off the main road making the location quieter than some, walking distance to lots of good restaurants and shopping as well as a salt water lagoon for swimming and snorkeling, a terrace and pool for relaxing. The only downside was that the hotel restaurant was expensive therefore we did not eat there. I would choose this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of good restaurants near the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ameee
Business
Carlsbad CA
Mar 14, 2013

Not so smooth, but worked out fine

The staff at the hotel was exceptional, especially since the booking company "O"did not forward the reservation and the hotel was technically sold out. All was well, as they found us a room after about a 20 minute wait.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AR2005
Business
Grand Island, NE
Mar 13, 2013

Beautiful resort and views

Was blown away by the view from this resort. Was upgraded to an ocean view. So relaxing to sleep to the sound of the ocean! Beautiful place to stay. Easy location within walking distance of the Kone night life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Snerty Girl
Business
North Carolina
Mar 5, 2013

Beautiful Property

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Kona Resort for one night during a trip to the Big Island. The common areas and lobby of the resort are beautiful. We also enjoyed Don's Mai Tai bar at night. There aren't enough dining options on the resort property for guests. It's strange that the restaurant on the property is only open on certain days of the week. However, several very good restaurants are just a quick walk up the block. Also, there were a few maintenance issues in our room, specifically in the bathroom/shower area that need attention. Overall, we were happy with our stay and would visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Bongo Ben's for a great burger and a live band.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top