$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
453 reviews
A very good resort for family

The style of the resort - all openness and panoramic ocean view. I am happy just setting in the bar... See full review

  • Lady from Brisbane
  • Jul 23, 2014
Great get away

Quick check in Nice rooms in the lagoon tower Located on the bay on the edge of down town. Bar menu... See full review

  • GeoJo
  • Mar 13, 2014
Oceanfront Kailua resort features Don the Beachcomber mai tai heaven
Perched on a lava-rock promontory on the edge of downtown Kailua-Kona, the Royal Kona Resort is a landmark hotel with renovated rooms and stellar ocean views. On site, guests find the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don's Mai Tai Bar. A tri-star shaped hotel built around an open-air lobby and surrounded by a tropical saltwater fishpond, the atmosphere captures the Big Island spirit without forgoing all the niceties of resort living. A sandy beach ledge, sheltered swimming lagoon and split-level swimming pool add to the romance.

 

Highlights
  • Split-level swimming pool
  • Fitness center
  • Legendary Don the Beachcomber restaurant and mai tai bar
  • Saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach
  • Evening luau and Polynesian revue
Location
The oceanfront Royal Kona Resort is perched on a dramatic lava-rock bluff in Kailua-Kona town, just minutes from restaurants and shops. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, snorkeling, coffee and macadamia nut farms, big-game fishing and local-style charm.
Rooms
The tri-star shaped Royal Kona Resort has recently refurbished and remodeled its accommodations, resulting in a fresh, Island-contemporary atmosphere. Each alii, bay and lagoon tower guest room features a beautiful garden, mountain or ocean view, private balcony, air conditioning, TV, mini-refrigerator and high-speed wireless Internet access at the Royal Kona Resort (fees may apply).
Dining
The Royal Kona Resort is home to the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don’s Mai Tai Bar, where, of course, a mai tai is a must. Several nights a week, the Royal Kona Resort also presents an oceanfront luau and Polynesian revue. Restaurants are plentiful throughout Kailua-Kona.
Recreation
Enjoy the Royal Kona Resort's split-level swimming pool, saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach, tennis courts (fees apply), fitness center and full-service spa (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.4 mi/15 km)

 

Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park (“Snorkel Beach”) (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.8 mi/149 km)
Policies and fees
The pool will be closed from 23 September to 30 September. During this period, the private saltwater lagoon will remain available. Guests can also use the pool facilities at neighboring Kona Reef.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.6323 -155.9891
Area served
Kailua-Kona-Big Island of Hawaii, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-LOA
Area description
Unique and dramatic setting located overlooking beautiful Kailua Bay. Walking distance to historic Kailua-Kona town's shopping and attractions. Approximately 15 minutes south of Kona International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Royal Kona Resort Rooms

Alii Tower / Lagoon Tower Rooms
All guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Alii / Lagoon Tower Garden/Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.
Bay Tower Rooms
Offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Bay Tower Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Don the Beachcomber
Set oceanfront with sunsets and a tropical atmosphere, the Hotel presents Don the Beachcomber, a specialty-themed restaurant serving Pacific Fusion cuisine. This Restaurant is the newest addition to the Royal Kona Resort serving breakfast and dinner daily.
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Curving around the water's edge, features Hawaiian specialty drinks including the Original Mai Tai! In addition to the complete cocktail service in Kona's most spectacular location overlooking Kailua Bay, guests can enjoy lunch or appetizers (pupus) while watching dolphins, sea turtles and whales (seasonal) frolic in the ocean. This is the ideal spot for watching a Hawaiian sunset. Big screen television, dancing and entertainment scheduled throughout the week.
Lava Legends & Legacies Polynesian Luau
Featuring Kona's only oceanfront Luau, guests can enjoy an open bar and a feast of traditional Luau favorites. Watch as the evening begins with an authentic Imu ceremony and continues with a lively performance of song and dance that is common throughout the Pacific Islands. The evening of entertainment concludes with an incredible fire knife demonstration by the award winning Tihati Productions!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel provides over 25,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for small intimate gatherings or meeting to theatrical Theme Parties for up to 500 guests! Audio visual equipment is available to rent in addition to WIFI services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (453)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
453 out of 453
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Manta Bday girl
Tarzana, ca
Feb 4, 2013

a nice hotel in kona

I would recommend this hotel if you stay in Kona... The only 2 minuses 1.no conditioner (not ok for a 3 star hotel) 2. if you stay @ the garden room (the one opposite the ocean) be prepared to be awaken @ 6am by the garbage truck... A plus: It was my birthday and they treated me to a bottle of champagne Don't bother paying for parking, I always found a spot on allii dr...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim Jim
Hong Kong
Feb 1, 2013

Great hotel

Lovely Sea View & Private Lagoon, Big Room, Low price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nanny428
Lincoln, Ca
Jan 27, 2013

Real Hawaiian Atmosphere

Beautiful setting, right on the ocean. Very nice bar with good light meals also on ocean. No rm. svc. Small pool overlooks ocean, but lounges etc. in poor cond. beds comfortable but rooms very dated. Great location, easy walk to downtown shops, restaurants, etc. very quiet, more for middle age to senior crowd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beautiful setting. Nicest on any island at any price. Very consistently peaceful and relaxing. Always excellent service. Not a good choice for families or honeymooners! Kaanapali Beach is better for our children and grandchildren!

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jean from NYC
NY, NY
Jan 21, 2013

Nice but dated

Great location, nice staff, but dated. Room was clean but hair dryer didn't work and the replacement didn't work either. Finally, on the third try I got a hair dryer that was brand new and worked. The luau show was nice and the fire twirler exceptionally telented. They charged $10/day for internet and an additional @10/day for parking. The private little sand beach was nice but not policed so locals came and stole the hotel towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hugo's restaurant next door was very tasty. Also enjoyed eating at Yokohama near LuLu.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ephhan
Mill Valley, CA
Jan 19, 2013

Comfort and convenient place to stay

Great location, comfortable and clean room, and kind services. I really enjoy my trip here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
townjackinArizona
Arizona
Jan 16, 2013

Good Location, Average Hotel

Location in the heart of Kona and easy access to shopping, food, etc. However, hotel is dated and is need of an update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kona Brewery was a great place for a drink and food.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FHCW
Ohio
Jan 14, 2013

Dirty Room

The hotel room was dirty. The bath tub had not been cleaned and had hair and dirt in the bottom of it. Along the floors where the walls meet the floor there was a thick line of dust. I told the front desk that I needed the room cleaned and the only part that they cleaned was the tub not even the handles or walls of the tub. I liked the location of the hotel, everthing was in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vacation Lover Extra
Honolulu, HI
Jan 8, 2013

Great location, but not too much more

My husband and I previously stayed at this hotel when it was under other ownership.....and so our memory of 'what it once was' was the basis of our selection. The location is great, room is comfortable, but nothing much. Could clean it a bit better as it didn't appear to have been vaccuumed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good dining options across the street within walking distance.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaii rocks
Seattle
Jan 6, 2013

Stay here

This hotel has it all. Perfect location, you can walk everywhere, views are great, private sandy lagoon is wonderful for relaxing and swimming. My husband and i would stay her again and again. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bongo Ben's is across the street-about 3 minutes. It had the best value for every meal and the food and service were terrific. And the view can't be beat. Also ate at Fish Hopper one night, also a short walk and excellent.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JaseJen
Australia
Jan 6, 2013

Another number

My wife and I booked royal kona for 9 nights. This was the start of our honeymoon. My wife emailed both the hotel and the restaurant Don's the Beachcomber at least ten times. We arrived Christmas day and hence wanted to book a Christmas dinner at Don's, given it was also our honeymoon we were booked in for a beautiful dinner on the waters edge. They even asked for her favorite flower so the table could be decorated. Email after email to confirm this and when we arrived-nothing. Not even a booking for a standard dinner. Sour taste from the start. We were also advised a bottle of champagne was organized for our arrival for our honeymoon-also not provided. One morning after finishing our buffet breakfast included in our booking fully paid for-we asked for our coffee in take away cups as we had done 4 mornings prior. Lady working treated us like dirt and told us we had to pay. It was later confirmed we didn't need to but it was the way she looked at us and treated us like we had just walked in off the street. Two days later, another waitress acted in a similar way because my wife didn't have the reservation card on the table immediately upon entering the buffet. She treated my wife like she was free-loading. Poor, poor customer service at this hotel! I could go on all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search