$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
466 out of 466
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Grandma Racer
Business
Calhan, CO
Jan 8, 2014

Not real pleased

The primary problem was the cockroaches. When you wake in the middle of the night to use the bathroom and see them scurrying away you lose a lot of sleep. No idea when it was last vacuumed found pieces of cereal in sight of the bed. Moldy walls, loose fixtures toilets that wouldn't stop running. Dope smoking neighbors, apparently legal cigarettes is the only smoking prohibited. Glad I didn't look for bed bugs. We moved from The Royal Kona Resort to the King Kamehameha no comparison. Quiet, Clean much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MICHAEL VACATION LOVER
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Jan 3, 2014

Great Location in Kona

The view from our lanai on the third floor was amazing. In fact, it was the best part of our stay. Our room was noisy and needs to be updated. The entire lagoon tower needs to be refurbished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
teleotic
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 9, 2013

Just What I Needed

Beautifully designed, comfortable, clean rooms that are superbly Hawaiian themed without ever being kitschy. I was a particular fan of the sliding wall shutters that replace the generic blackout curtains you would expect at most hotels. After visiting, I want to redecorate my place. Relaxing on the lanai was perfect. We loved the view and sound of the ocean waves, and the music of the luau that would drift up at sunset. Right on the Kailua-Kona strip, so you can walk to bars, restaurants, and shopping, but close enough to the edge that you don't have to fight traffic to get out on your adventures. Very friendly staff, nice pool right next to the ocean. No jacuzzi, which would have been nice on one night, but that's not too big of a deal when you can get right into the warm Hawaiian water the next day. Internet is $10/day per device -- I just tethered my phone when I needed net on the laptop. Would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kmbross
Business
St. Louis, MO
Nov 19, 2013

Relaxing and comfortable

We only stayed 2 nights but were pleasantly surprised with the size of the room which included a mini fridge and sink. The view from our room was wonderful and our floor was quiet - no noisy neighbors. We used the fitness center in the next tower which was very convenient. Very little equipment - 1 treadmill, 1 elliptical, and 1 stationary bike. We walked a short distance to a small pizza place the first night since it served food until midnight. There were multiple options for food/drink within 5-10 minute walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Kona Couple
Business
Vancouver, Washington
Nov 18, 2013

Royal Kona is Great

This was our 3rd stay at the Royal Kona, the location is perfect, the rooms are comfortable and the bar is spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Snorkel in the lagoon on the South (I think) side of the Hotel, the first time we went we didn't do it, we thought it wouldn't be any good. Now, it is not the greatest snorkeling by any means, but, with how close it's a good one to do if you are limited on time or if the water is too rough to do so anywhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike and Sherri
Business
Surprise, AZ
Oct 28, 2013

Great one night stay

We had a beautiful view of the bay. We could see the colored fish in the water. Room and facility were clean and comfortable. Service was great. I had a medical emergency at 2AM. They helped so much. All the staff is helpful and friendly. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There was dining in the hotel and more within a short walk. That goes along with shopping and entertainment. Great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler Virgie
Business
Marshall, MI
Oct 28, 2013

Royal Kona Resort

Location is perfect. Rooms are clean and staff, mostly from the Philippines were very friendly and helpful. The Luau has limited performances, but good. The food at the Luau was excellent. I will recommend to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Travel light and don't over-pack! Don't overeat either. Now I have to loose these "pounds."

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just visiting from cal...
Business
Fairfield, Ca
Oct 23, 2013

Visiting from California

The hotel itself is rather run down. For the amount of people that stay here all the time, they could put a little into the exterior. The room was not that great. The shower had some minor mold and did not drain very well. There was dust behind the dresser and night stands. The positive was the view. For the purpose I was there for (visiting family and just needed a place to sleep), it did the job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
California travel
Business
Temecula, California
Oct 1, 2013

Wedding anniversary

We love it here and have enjoyed 4 vacations at this wonderful resort. The staff are very friendly and make you feel welcome. The atmosphere is very relaxing .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at Bongo Bens was a real good value with free Internet available. Shopping and happy hours are available at a short distance walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DW in LA
Business
LA
Sep 29, 2013

In the heart of Kona

We went on a friend's recommendation and were very glad we did. Staff was very friendly. We didn't like our room and they happily switched us to a room with a great ocean view. (you can see our room in the photo above) Nice balconies, of course, but there are also a lot of great places to sit oceanside near the lobby and the outdoor bar, which makes a great mai tai. I saw the bad reviews about plaster, etc., so maybe it's not five stars, but it's a great hotel in a great location--it's Hawaii. No sandy beaches here, that's the other islands, but the salt water lagoon was very nice. If I can get back to Kona, I will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We bought exotic fruit at the farmer's market, stored it in the room frig and had it for breakfast two days.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top