$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2015 Check-out: Aug 8, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
431 out of 431
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GeoJo
Business
Minnesota
Mar 13, 2014

Great get away

Quick check in Nice rooms in the lagoon tower Located on the bay on the edge of down town. Bar menu closed at 9 so we went to Huggos Just another day in paradise. Small pool and/or beach lagoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Huggos on the rocks is just next door Stopped at Safeway for wine, beer and snacks on the balcony.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lilgerman
Business
Portland
Mar 13, 2014

not bad...

A microwave oven would have been nice. The prices were of course high, so it would have been nice to be able to heat some food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joseyone
Business
Minnesota
Mar 3, 2014

fantastic location, lacking in comfort and interior updates

The location was fantastic! The room however is in dire need of updates -new bed/mattress and bedding as well as carpet and paint is desperately needed! we paid for the king oceanfront with wrap around lanai and while the view was great - the room itself was not worth the $300/night price tag! the Royal Lahaina in Maui was a thousand times better and less money. A few updates to this motel is much needed and would go a LONG ways! This was a once in a lifetime trip for us and while the view was great, the room was very disappointing for the cost! don't get your hopes up by the photos -they are deceiving!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Char Family
Business
Olympia, WA
Feb 22, 2014

Terrific location

Great location and views. Lagoon is pleasant, able to see fish, dolphins and whales. Would have preferred queen or king bed rather than 2 doubles. Liked the open air restaurant/bar great for viewing. Walking to town for shops and restaurants was nice./

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cub Fan
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 22, 2014

Royal Kona - lots to do.

The staff was very Friendly and helpful. The Hotel and the ground were beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy510
Business
Bay Area, ca
Feb 18, 2014

Great location, fantastic view, and food

I loved our ocean front room. The hotel is close to Kona attractions. Highly recommend, will stay here again if I return to the big island. Don's Mai Thai is great. They have awesome drinks and food. There is $10 parking per day and Internet fee. Also the rooms need some updating but they may already be doing that. I saw some construction going on in other rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Camp Ranger Pottsy
Business
Coeur D'Alene, Idaho
Feb 18, 2014

Not a place to rest

I stayed at Royal Kona from the 10th of Feb thru the 17th of February. I called and complained about the extreme noise several nights that kept us awake ever night from a live music, open air facility with a coved top next door. I paid good money To the Royal Kona Resort for a place I could rest and enjoy. They offered me free parking for three days. I will never book with Royal Kona again. I believe they may not have had Another Roon to move us into. Last but not least is that their Building need an up grade if they are going to compete with Other resorts. I would. Only give them a two Star Rating!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aunt LN
Business
Rockford, IL, USA
Feb 12, 2014

Easily accessible location

Hotel is right at the end of the tourist strip in Kona. Perfect for easy walking access, yet easily able to get in and out with the car when needed. Rooms were clean, although bathrooms could use updating. We had three rooms in our group and all had leaky faucets. View of the ocean was nice for a very reasonable price. Not the nicest hotel we have ever stayed at, but definitely worth what we paid for it. Check in process took to long. Clerk seemed to type forever on what was a complete reservation. They could use lessons from the big chains on how to significantly speed up the check in process.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Butch of S.F. and Bronx
Business
San Francisco, Honolulu and the Bronx
Feb 4, 2014

Great downtown Kona location

It was once the best hotel in Kailua-Kona in the 60's and 70's. All the fancy hotels are in the Kohala coast today, but this hotel is great for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AK Chester
Business
Alaska
Jan 29, 2014

Good hotel, but a bit rundown

The hotel is a cool design, but it is a bit rundown. There is ample evidence that the hotel managers are not putting any effort in remodeling or even properly restoring damages. There are many poorly made patches. However, the hotel is in good enough condition for the budget traveler. It was comfortable, quiet, the room was clean, and the service was good. The only issue was the pool looked dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great view of the sunset from the bar.

Back to menu Return to top