$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
441 reviews
Awesome family trip

This hotel was close to everything and has its own private beach the kids loved it. See full review

  • chaquina p.
  • Dec 21, 2014
Hard to beat the location, price and amenities!

Can't think of a single complaint. Right at the southern end of Kona with everything in walking... See full review

  • JReagan
  • Dec 5, 2014
Oceanfront Kailua resort features Don the Beachcomber mai tai heaven
Perched on a lava-rock promontory on the edge of downtown Kailua-Kona, the Royal Kona Resort is a landmark hotel with renovated rooms and stellar ocean views. On site, guests find the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don's Mai Tai Bar. A tri-star shaped hotel built around an open-air lobby and surrounded by a tropical saltwater fishpond, the atmosphere captures the Big Island spirit without forgoing all the niceties of resort living. A sandy beach ledge, sheltered swimming lagoon and split-level swimming pool add to the romance.

 

Highlights
  • Split-level swimming pool
  • Fitness center
  • Legendary Don the Beachcomber restaurant and mai tai bar
  • Saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach
  • Evening luau and Polynesian revue
Location
The oceanfront Royal Kona Resort is perched on a dramatic lava-rock bluff in Kailua-Kona town, just minutes from restaurants and shops. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, snorkeling, coffee and macadamia nut farms, big-game fishing and local-style charm.
Rooms
The tri-star shaped Royal Kona Resort has recently refurbished and remodeled its accommodations, resulting in a fresh, Island-contemporary atmosphere. Each alii, bay and lagoon tower guest room features a beautiful garden, mountain or ocean view, private balcony, air conditioning, TV, mini-refrigerator and high-speed wireless Internet access at the Royal Kona Resort (fees may apply).
Dining
The Royal Kona Resort is home to the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don’s Mai Tai Bar, where, of course, a mai tai is a must. Several nights a week, the Royal Kona Resort also presents an oceanfront luau and Polynesian revue. Restaurants are plentiful throughout Kailua-Kona.
Recreation
Enjoy the Royal Kona Resort's split-level swimming pool, saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach, tennis courts (fees apply), fitness center and full-service spa (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.4 mi/15 km)

 

Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park (“Snorkel Beach”) (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.8 mi/149 km)
Policies and fees
The pool will be closed from 23 September to 30 September. During this period, the private saltwater lagoon will remain available. Guests can also use the pool facilities at neighboring Kona Reef.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Royal Kona Resort Rooms

Alii Tower / Lagoon Tower Rooms
All guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Alii / Lagoon Tower Garden/Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.
Bay Tower Rooms
Offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Bay Tower Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Don the Beachcomber
Set oceanfront with sunsets and a tropical atmosphere, the Hotel presents Don the Beachcomber, a specialty-themed restaurant serving Pacific Fusion cuisine. This Restaurant is the newest addition to the Royal Kona Resort serving breakfast and dinner daily.
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Curving around the water's edge, features Hawaiian specialty drinks including the Original Mai Tai! In addition to the complete cocktail service in Kona's most spectacular location overlooking Kailua Bay, guests can enjoy lunch or appetizers (pupus) while watching dolphins, sea turtles and whales (seasonal) frolic in the ocean. This is the ideal spot for watching a Hawaiian sunset. Big screen television, dancing and entertainment scheduled throughout the week.
Lava Legends & Legacies Polynesian Luau
Featuring Kona's only oceanfront Luau, guests can enjoy an open bar and a feast of traditional Luau favorites. Watch as the evening begins with an authentic Imu ceremony and continues with a lively performance of song and dance that is common throughout the Pacific Islands. The evening of entertainment concludes with an incredible fire knife demonstration by the award winning Tihati Productions!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel provides over 25,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for small intimate gatherings or meeting to theatrical Theme Parties for up to 500 guests! Audio visual equipment is available to rent in addition to WIFI services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (441)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
441 out of 441
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OneHappyCustomer
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 8, 2013

Awesome hotel, awesome views

The hotel is beautiful, we had a huuge room, with a huge Lanai. Yes, the hotel needs a little bit of TLC, but its location and price made it perfect for our vacation. Stayed at a much worse hotel on Waikiki Beacj for twice the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aapriltax
Business
Lake Villa, IL
Jun 24, 2013

Loud wedding parties & hidden costs

We stayed in the bay tower. Can tell it was rehabbed over 10 yrs ago. Needs it again. View was great but our room was right by the location for wedding parties. My husband ran the marathon on Sunday so after traveling all day Saturday we just wanted to go to bed. There was a party with the music so loud we felt like we were apart of the party. We heard every word of the groom"s speech. I called the desk twice to asked if it could be turned down some it only seemed to get louder. Luckily the party stopped at 10. On Sunday there was another wedding. Again we had a front row seat. We had to close up our balcony door to keep some of the sound out. We finally decided to go to dinner and stayed away until 8 when the party would be over Also they show wifi as an amenity but fail to say there is a fee for it. The parking fee of $10 a day is not mentioned either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
natcom
Business
honolulu
Jun 21, 2013

kinda old, but the most central game in town

very run down. warning parking 10$ a day, internet 11$ per device a day. I would stay outside kona and drive in next time. but if you just plan to be in room to sleep, taxi from the airport and walk, its ok. they have a monopoly so I don't see it getting better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mother of a 3 and6 yr old
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
May 21, 2013

Horrible Choice for small children

The staff was friendly and did all they could to make things comfortable for our stay. Shortly after check-in the power went partially out to no fault of the hotel. No air conditioning, elevators were also out, kitchen in the restaurant went out. They did bring 2 portable fan's up to our room to compensate and granted us a very late check out to make up for the inconvenience. The balcony outside our room and railing outside of the room were clearly not up to code... really low and the spacing between was about 9" plenty of room for a small child to fall between falling several flights of stairs while trying to look at the fish in a small pond down below. Outdated accommodations, pictures on website must have been of the very best room they had. The view of an oven view room was the best thing about the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
canadiancalgarian
Business
calgary
May 14, 2013

Not good for the money

Old hotel, needs renovation urgently. Cost is too high for what it delivers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dragon Mama
Business
Gainesville, Florida
May 10, 2013

Best view for the dollar

Hotel rooms dated and mod worn. the hotel grounds and lobby very nice and view from hotel great overlooking ocean. I would stay there again because price is good for Hawaii and view of ocean was wonderful. The luau was okay food and good entertainment, However alcoholic drinks were poor and not much selection as I have had at other Luaus, Only tropical drink offered was Mai tai and I saw bartender putting his hands in Ice of bowl and eating ice before he added liquid Mai tais to punch bowl. I also saw bartender use hands to shovel ice in glasses instead of a scoop, but what the heck, I drank it anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nams
Business
Los Angeles
May 9, 2013

I could live here :)

We had such a great time! The hotel is beautiful and perfectly located in the heart of Kona. My only 2 complaints are that there is no hot tub and the pool closes so early at 8PM!!! Way too early. Other than that, everything was nearly perfect ;)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Pool closes early at 8 pm. Get your pool time in early!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mainlander
Business
Washington
Apr 28, 2013

Enjoyable hotel

We spent a few nights at the Royal Kona and enjoyed our time there. The room was nice but pretty average. The main lobby/bar area is very cool as it is right on an outcropping of rock next to the ocean. Plenty of room to read, work on the computer, or have a drink right next to the water with a great view. Breakfast buffet was ok but not the best we had on the island. No free internet in the rooms. Overall, for the value, this hotel was a good deal and provided an enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BunnyAlex
Business
Israel/Seattle
Apr 28, 2013

Great location, wonderful staff, beautiful layout

As wonderful as the hotel was, the staff were even greater! They did everything to make our stay wonderful and they succeeded. Thank tou for a most memorable and marvelous stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoyalKona
Business
Arizona
Apr 24, 2013

Second time there - would go there again

Was there 14 years ago. It was good then and I think it has been updated this time around. Very nice and comfortable - within easy walking distance to the town, restaurants and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top