$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
684 reviews
Great get away

Quick check in Nice rooms in the lagoon tower Located on the bay on the edge of down town. Bar menu... See full review

  • GeoJo
  • Mar 13, 2014
Honeymoon/Vacation

Every person and every thing about the Royal Kona Hotel was perfect. From the room, to the... See full review

  • BobPullen
  • Jan 21, 2014
Oceanfront Kailua resort features Don the Beachcomber mai tai heaven
Perched on a lava-rock promontory on the edge of downtown Kailua-Kona, the Royal Kona Resort is a landmark hotel with renovated rooms and stellar ocean views. On site, guests find the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don's Mai Tai Bar. A tri-star shaped hotel built around an open-air lobby and surrounded by a tropical saltwater fishpond, the atmosphere captures the Big Island spirit without forgoing all the niceties of resort living. A sandy beach ledge, sheltered swimming lagoon and split-level swimming pool add to the romance.

 

Highlights
  • Split-level swimming pool
  • Fitness center
  • Legendary Don the Beachcomber restaurant and mai tai bar
  • Saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach
  • Evening luau and Polynesian revue
Location
The oceanfront Royal Kona Resort is perched on a dramatic lava-rock bluff in Kailua-Kona town, just minutes from restaurants and shops. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, snorkeling, coffee and macadamia nut farms, big-game fishing and local-style charm.
Rooms
The tri-star shaped Royal Kona Resort has recently refurbished and remodeled its accommodations, resulting in a fresh, Island-contemporary atmosphere. Each alii, bay and lagoon tower guest room features a beautiful garden, mountain or ocean view, private balcony, air conditioning, TV, mini-refrigerator and high-speed wireless Internet access at the Royal Kona Resort (fees may apply).
Dining
The Royal Kona Resort is home to the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don’s Mai Tai Bar, where, of course, a mai tai is a must. Several nights a week, the Royal Kona Resort also presents an oceanfront luau and Polynesian revue. Restaurants are plentiful throughout Kailua-Kona.
Recreation
Enjoy the Royal Kona Resort's split-level swimming pool, saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach, tennis courts (fees apply), fitness center and full-service spa (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.4 mi/15 km)

 

Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park (“Snorkel Beach”) (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.8 mi/149 km)
Policies and fees
The pool will be closed from 23 September to 30 September. During this period, the private saltwater lagoon will remain available. Guests can also use the pool facilities at neighboring Kona Reef.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.6323 -155.9891
Area served
Kailua-Kona-Big Island of Hawaii, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-LOA
Area description
Unique and dramatic setting located overlooking beautiful Kailua Bay. Walking distance to historic Kailua-Kona town's shopping and attractions. Approximately 15 minutes south of Kona International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Royal Kona Resort Rooms

Alii Tower / Lagoon Tower Rooms
All guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Alii / Lagoon Tower Garden/Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.
Bay Tower Rooms
Offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Bay Tower Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel provides over 25,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for small intimate gatherings or meeting to theatrical Theme Parties for up to 500 guests! Audio visual equipment is available to rent in addition to WIFI services.

Dining

Don the Beachcomber
Set oceanfront with sunsets and a tropical atmosphere, the Hotel presents Don the Beachcomber, a specialty-themed restaurant serving Pacific Fusion cuisine. This Restaurant is the newest addition to the Royal Kona Resort serving breakfast and dinner daily.
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Curving around the water's edge, features Hawaiian specialty drinks including the Original Mai Tai! In addition to the complete cocktail service in Kona's most spectacular location overlooking Kailua Bay, guests can enjoy lunch or appetizers (pupus) while watching dolphins, sea turtles and whales (seasonal) frolic in the ocean. This is the ideal spot for watching a Hawaiian sunset. Big screen television, dancing and entertainment scheduled throughout the week.
Lava Legends & Legacies Polynesian Luau
Featuring Kona's only oceanfront Luau, guests can enjoy an open bar and a feast of traditional Luau favorites. Watch as the evening begins with an authentic Imu ceremony and continues with a lively performance of song and dance that is common throughout the Pacific Islands. The evening of entertainment concludes with an incredible fire knife demonstration by the award winning Tihati Productions!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (684)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
684 out of 684
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SD Biz Man
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 24, 2010

Gold Star Experience

My stay was for business purposes overnight, but needed to enjoy the beauty of the Big Island as best one can and still conduct business. Conveniently located to my business locations. After a stressful day of meetings, the room accommodations were well appointed(value ocean view type) and provided the solace and comfort that was needed. The view was incredible and the staff were all very courteous. Well priced. Definitely recommend this to all. I can hardly wait to return for a pleasure trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SD Biz Man
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 24, 2010

Gold Star Experience

My stay was for business purposes overnight, but needed to enjoy the beauty of the Big Island as best one can and still conduct business. Conveniently located to my business locations. After a stressful day of meetings, the room accommodations were well appointed(value ocean view type) and provided the solace and comfort that was needed. The view was incredible and the staff were all very courteous. Well priced. Definitely recommend this to all. I can hardly wait to return for a pleasure trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Jun 22, 2010

Great Value for the Price

We were upgraded to an oceanview room with a king bed and a balcony. It had a fantastic view and we were extremely comfortable the whole week. The hotel doesn't have a beach, but few hotels on the island (if not just in that price category) do, as my understanding goes. To compensate, they have the lagoon, which is a nice place to swim when the tide is high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a nice public beach about a half-mile south.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Jun 22, 2010

Great Value for the Price

We were upgraded to an oceanview room with a king bed and a balcony. It had a fantastic view and we were extremely comfortable the whole week. The hotel doesn't have a beach, but few hotels on the island (if not just in that price category) do, as my understanding goes. To compensate, they have the lagoon, which is a nice place to swim when the tide is high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a nice public beach about a half-mile south.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu,Hi
Jun 14, 2010

very convenient location

Staff was very friendly and willing to help if you needed anything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

hotel buffet was very good

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu,Hi
Jun 14, 2010

very convenient location

Staff was very friendly and willing to help if you needed anything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

hotel buffet was very good

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tugboat Annie
Chicago
Jun 10, 2010

Lovely Lagoon

The location is one of the best features of this hotel. It was within easy walking distance to shopping and restaurants. The room was clean with a great balcony and ocean view.We really enjoyed the private lagoon which enabled us to try out our snorkeling skills before going out on the ocean.We could also see the gorgeous fish and even an eel who reside in the lagoon just by looking down into the water from the sidewalk. The luau featured great entertainmment and delicious food. Even though it started to rain during the meal, the staff was prepared with rain gear for us and the show went on. The staff were pleasant and cooperated with any requests. I felt that the pillows were uncommonly hard and asked housekeeping about it and they offered to bring up a feather pillow instead. We really enjoyed our stay at the Royal Kona and would definitely stay there again when we are in Kona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We tried several restaurants and really enjoyed Bongo Bens just down the street a bit and we had morning coffee at Lava Java which is the place to be in the morning for people watching.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tugboat Annie
Chicago
Jun 10, 2010

Lovely Lagoon

The location is one of the best features of this hotel. It was within easy walking distance to shopping and restaurants. The room was clean with a great balcony and ocean view.We really enjoyed the private lagoon which enabled us to try out our snorkeling skills before going out on the ocean.We could also see the gorgeous fish and even an eel who reside in the lagoon just by looking down into the water from the sidewalk. The luau featured great entertainmment and delicious food. Even though it started to rain during the meal, the staff was prepared with rain gear for us and the show went on. The staff were pleasant and cooperated with any requests. I felt that the pillows were uncommonly hard and asked housekeeping about it and they offered to bring up a feather pillow instead. We really enjoyed our stay at the Royal Kona and would definitely stay there again when we are in Kona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We tried several restaurants and really enjoyed Bongo Bens just down the street a bit and we had morning coffee at Lava Java which is the place to be in the morning for people watching.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gottascuba
Business
Murrieta,Ca
Jun 1, 2010

Great place !

I have stayed at other hotels in the Kona area and this was by far the best. Great little oceanside bar, great food at the restaurant, free parking and a short walk to the main town. Even though I had a late check in the staff upgrade my room to an oceanfront at no extra cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Playful_me
Los Angeles, CA
May 25, 2010

Great View!

Pay for an ocean view room--it's worth it! If you are not going to get an ocean view room, then might as well stay at a cheaper hotel. It is great to go to the balcony and see the ocean every morning. Also walking distance from all the main boardwalk, but never noisy. I stayed in the Alii Tower (most recent renovation) and it was nice. Pool is small, but who cares, since you're in Hawaii with great beaches. Parking is a little pricey at $10/day, but so are other hotels. It's my third time staying there and I would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have a Lava Flow at the little bar across the street (Bongo Ben's?). Check out Huggo's for lunch.

Back to menu Return to top