$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
458 out of 458
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AngieeR
Fairfield, CA
Oct 31, 2012

Beautiful Hotel!!

Absolutely enjoyed my stay at this hotel! While it is older it is nicely kept up and very comfortable and clean! Everyone was very nice and helpful whenever we needed something. I would definitely book this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Sep 10, 2009

Beautiful Three Day Getaway

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was convenient and relaxing. The ocean view was breathtaking and we could see all the ocean activities right from the lounge area. We really enjoyed the non-alcohol tropical drinks, while feasting on tangy buffalo wings. The best wings we've ever tasted. We'll stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I enjoy bargains and local produce. The open market is just steps away from the hotel. It's great to pick up some fresh fruits and vegetables. The market has a variety of bread also and tons of souveneirs. More shops are minutes away on Alii Drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jersey
Sep 7, 2009

A perfect location for the stay

While the hotel and room is nice, it lacks interest access if you don't bring your own computer. Don't upgrade your room to "ocean-view" since all rooms have balcony and you can step outside and get a view of the ocean. "ocean-view" room does not get you a full view either, just a corner room, no more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is close to many restaurants. But there are few shopping malls in the arean within 10 minute drive and provide higher class dining experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hudson, NY
Aug 19, 2009

Great stay

It's a short walk to the center of Kona and tourist shopping. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was good and many resturants very close by. A really great open air bar for watching the sunsets. Overall a really great place for the money. I would definetley stat here again. Only negative is they don't have a private beach, but there are beaches in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A good variety of resturants very close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
2 homes - Fresno and Sacramento, Caluif.
Aug 8, 2009

Graet location for the price

Ate a couple of breakfasts there, using the 20% discounts given. Got an up-graded room with an ocen view, which was nice, with surf sounds. Everything was fine; no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Islands Girls
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 5, 2009

Great Stay and Reasonably Priced

Rooms were clean & comfortable. They accomodated our stay to 2 beds as requested and ocean view. They were even able to check us in early. We're from the islands and we expected more "ALOHA" from the staff and not a feeling that it's just a job. This was our 1st time at this hotel and we will return again and maybe we will feel more welcomed the next time. And we do return quite frequently. Great location and in walking distance to a lot of eating & shopping places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go horseback riding in Kamuela (Waimea) side of the island. Had a GREAT time and the "Da Hana Ranch" was wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hawaii 5-0
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Aug 5, 2009

Good Price

Overall it was average for a hotel. 3 out of 5 stars. The staff was excellent. The bedding can improve but was acceptable for sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve Cali
Business
Orange county, CA
Aug 1, 2009

oceanview and conveniently located

We also grealy enjoyed the entertainments

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bend, OR
Jul 30, 2009

Great location

Loved the little lanai to drink coffee on in the morning and watch the sunset from at night. The staff was helpful and friendly. Nice room and comfortable bed. The pool is not elaborate but nice and clean, and close enough to the ocean to look out at the waves from your pool-side chair. On-site restaurant and bar are expensive, but the hotel is walking distance to good shopping and restaurants on Ali'i Drive. Had a good time at the Luau. We liked this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
huyek
Business
minneapolis. mn
Jul 29, 2009

cool place

hotel is fine... kinda old thou.. location is great, stuff too...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Texan-on-the-Bayou
Business
Marrero, LA
Jul 22, 2009

Royal Kona Resort was very good!

Check-in was smooth. They charge for parking but there was plenty of room. This hotel is centrally located for shopping and recreation. Near-by beaches were small, crowded, and rocky but we saw turtles every day. The harbor is close so surfing and fishing are easy to get to. Good restaurants within walking distance. Hotel restaurant overpriced. Friendly, efficient staff. They have a touristy Luau that was loud and close to the hotel, but ended by around 10:30. Great view of the the ocean! Surf pounding below our windows all night. We would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Both Bongo Bens and U Top It are close and affordable for meals. Both had good selection and good quality.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top