$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
466 out of 466
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SidSux
Pasadena, California
Jul 20, 2012

Possibly one of the best locations in Kona

Right on the beach. You can enjoy your meal and drink while staring out to the endless Pacific! All shops and restaurants located close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marcus
Business
Saginaw, MI
Oct 5, 2009

Exactly as advertised.

The only reason I said "noisy" is because when we checked in, there was a huge luao (sp) going on. It was really a great overall experience. Excellent oceanside bar. Very clean and nice rooms. Good HD widescreens for the little TV that you watch. The coffee is not that good compared to other hotel coffees. I highly recommend this hotel--especially if you're on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you have a day trip available. Drive to Volcano National Park instead of the flyover business. Only 5 bucks for everyone in the car to get in and it is SURREAL! Stop at the coffee shack about 30 minutes from Kona. Its on the right side of the road. It has the best view/ dining experience on HWY 11.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Asheville, NC
Oct 5, 2009

Beautiful people and views

This hotel has an unbelievable location and views. The restaurant, bar, and pool are great. The only down side is the property is older and lacks that "Vegas luster" but I liked that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything in Kona is within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neon Leon
Business
Delano MN
Oct 3, 2009

Royal Kona Resort ..Royal!

We had an ocean-front room, the view was outstanding. Walking distance to town, very easy to walk about town. Great bar! Good resturant, but pricey. We got a complimentary bottle of champagne for our anniversary! Special because we'ed never had ocean-front before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining, drinks, music, & shops all very close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth TX
Oct 3, 2009

big island stay

Hotel is ok, a bit old, but nicely kept. Best thing was the ability to check out & come back later before our night time flight to clean up,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lot's of good restaurants/shopping in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Morgan Hill, CA
Sep 28, 2009

Excellant Location

Great location - on ocean and walking distance to other establishments. Excellent food and drink on-site. Great value. Older establishment with dated bathrooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
military mom
Business
Pearl City, HI
Sep 27, 2009

thank you

We loved our stay at the Royal Kona. We were only there a very short time, and we definitely wished we could have stayed longer! We went snorkling and toured the town, and we had a list of other things we wanted to do had time permitted. The view was beautiful and the rooms comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SE Wisconsin
Sep 23, 2009

What a stunning view!

We booked here for its close location to the activities we'd planned - night swimming with mantas & an open-ocean day swim with dolphins. Both were pre-booked with a separate agency. Initially, we had booked a room for cost/location considerations, but when we got there they advised that it had not yet been remodeled, and offered an upgrade for additional cost. We opted to upgrade when offered, based on the cost & location of the upgraded room - a 6th floor room with a gorgeous ocean view!! Well worth the upgrade offer! We had a very pleasant stay and the staff were most pleasant & helpful too. It is an older facility, but very well-maintained & remodeling to keep abreast of changes. I would certainly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Only a short drive to the harbor where great fishing, diving and snorkeling activities can be chartered. The fish market there at the marina serves delicious seafood dishes, at very good prices!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LANDO
Business
LOS ANGELES
Sep 21, 2009

KONA TRIP

WAS NICE BUT HAD A SMALL INCONVENIENCE WITH WATER BACKUP IN BATHROOM ZINC AND WASH HAND ZINC AND HAD FLOODING IN THE ENTRANCE OF OUR HOTEL....WE HAD TO TRANSFER TO ANOTHER ROOM BUT SOME OF OUR STUFF ON THE FLOOR GOT WET WITH DIRTY WATER FROM THE BACKUP.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Sep 10, 2009

Beautiful Three Day Getaway

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was convenient and relaxing. The ocean view was breathtaking and we could see all the ocean activities right from the lounge area. We really enjoyed the non-alcohol tropical drinks, while feasting on tangy buffalo wings. The best wings we've ever tasted. We'll stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I enjoy bargains and local produce. The open market is just steps away from the hotel. It's great to pick up some fresh fruits and vegetables. The market has a variety of bread also and tons of souveneirs. More shops are minutes away on Alii Drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jersey
Sep 7, 2009

A perfect location for the stay

While the hotel and room is nice, it lacks interest access if you don't bring your own computer. Don't upgrade your room to "ocean-view" since all rooms have balcony and you can step outside and get a view of the ocean. "ocean-view" room does not get you a full view either, just a corner room, no more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is close to many restaurants. But there are few shopping malls in the arean within 10 minute drive and provide higher class dining experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top