$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
514 out of 514
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SidSux
Pasadena, California
Jul 20, 2012

Possibly one of the best locations in Kona

Right on the beach. You can enjoy your meal and drink while staring out to the endless Pacific! All shops and restaurants located close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Columbia Basin Couple
Business
Kennewick, Washington
Feb 10, 2010

Great Location

Our room was noise and on the 3rd level. It was roomy, but right above a bunch of vent or air conditioning fans. Oyher rooms the offered were just as bad or small. If I stayed there again I would insist on the 6th or 7th level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Never look back
Business
Modesto Ca
Jan 23, 2010

Loved this hotel

We Loved the sound of the ocean so close to our room. The location cant be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try all you can in town.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loving Kona
Business
North Dakota
Jan 8, 2010

Stunning views of Paradise

We booked the Bay Tower which the views were totally amazing, but I have a bad back and the beds were like sleeping on concrete. I really hope they renovate those rooms within the next 5 years, because I am gonna request the same room, hopefully getting some sleep this time. It was wonderful and the most beautiful place I have ever been. We couldn't ask for more beauty. It was also a little noisy, beings we were very close to the resturant next door, and they had bands way into the night. Other than that, I enjoyed sleeping with the balcony doors open and listening to the waves every night and every morning. I loved my hotel and I loved my vacation!!! The pros are far more than the cons. Thank you so much Kona Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Enjoy the buy one get one half off at the Kona Resort Luau. That saved us 30 some bucks.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jan 7, 2010

Oldie ... but Goodie !

Highly recommended. The Royal Kona is an older property but has been kept up nicely. It's decor is Kitsch and very old Hawaii ... we quite liked it. The Royal Kona has a great location on the edge of town. Perfect for a nice stroll to restaurants and bars. The Hotel bar has a view to the most perfect sunsets we experienced in Kona ... we will go back. We were comparing this versus the Sheraton. The Sheraton is nice and has newly rennovated rooms. But, seemed bland in comparison when we saw the property ... but, they do have the Manta Ray viewing deck.... which is really cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tinman
Business
Indian,Alaska
Jan 1, 2010

Vacationing from Alaska

Our stay was very nice. The location was great, very close to shops and restaurants.We had Rented a Car for our 8 day stay but you dont need to as they also have shuttle buses that drive by the hotel regularly.Our rooms were cleaned extremely well daily.The elevators however did need a good clean and every day that we got on the elevator from our 7th floor ocean room we found the same old band aides on the floor of the elevators for a week.If you decide to pay your Bar tab after you have signed to charge it to your room make sure the bartender tears up that piece of paper and gives you a receipt.We were charged for drinks that we had payed for twice.Apart from that the hotel was nice the front desk were very personable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very Suprised that the Quality of the food in the Restaurant at the hotel was just as good as the local restaurants in town.The coffee in the room was another story.Was the worst coffee we had in years.We drove to Starbucks every day sometimes twice for coffee.Considering its an island noted for its coffee we were very disappointed that the coffee was so bad.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tinman
Business
Indian,Alaska
Jan 1, 2010

Vacationing from Alaska

Our stay was very nice. The location was great, very close to shops and restaurants.We had Rented a Car for our 8 day stay but you dont need to as they also have shuttle buses that drive by the hotel regularly.Our rooms were cleaned extremely well daily.The elevators however did need a good clean and every day that we got on the elevator from our 7th floor ocean room we found the same old band aides on the floor of the elevators for a week.If you decide to pay your Bar tab after you have signed to charge it to your room make sure the bartender tears up that piece of paper and gives you a receipt.We were charged for drinks that we had payed for twice.Apart from that the hotel was nice the front desk were very personable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very Suprised that the Quality of the food in the Restaurant at the hotel was just as good as the local restaurants in town.The coffee in the room was another story.Was the worst coffee we had in years.We drove to Starbucks every day sometimes twice for coffee.Considering its an island noted for its coffee we were very disappointed that the coffee was so bad.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Isle Lover
Business
California
Dec 21, 2009

We love Kona!

We take in the sites of Kona each time we visit the Big Island. This is the only hotel we stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kapolei, Hawaii
Dec 14, 2009

Great getaway. Enjoyed the hotel.

The offer of service was there as we checked in early, but knew the room was not ready (we had other things to do), they offered to take our bags and keep until we came back which pleasanted surprised me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Diver Dan
Business
Vista, Ca
Dec 10, 2009

Needs rehab & Mai Tai bar a rip off

Great location for walking to downtown, bike riding, free diving and swimming. Staff didn't do a thing about the dirty carpet. Advised them of the condition first morning there. Hotel bar is a rip off. Expensive drinks little alcohol content. Outrigger Resort much better location and experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thanksgiving Birthday
Business
Jackson, MS
Dec 3, 2009

Beautiful Location; Hey, it's Hawaii

Rooms were not available early, but upgraded to ocean-view. Worth it. Great bar and grill. Kids (21+) watched football Thanksgiving afternoon. Laua great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top