$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2015 Check-out: Aug 8, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
431 out of 431
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big Island Virgin
Business
Riverside, Ca
Oct 20, 2009

Beauty on the outside

Location is outstanding on Alli Drive, close to downtown activities, can walk to many of the stores, restaurants and island adventures. The on site bar and restaurant has beautiful views and comfortable seating. With multiple photo opportunities. Our room, # 303, was the most Westernly facing room and had direct afternoon sun and a very weak AC that never maintained a cool room. I would avoiding the very end rooms due to the temps and it's best to ask for Ocean & Pool view, as the non pool side overlooks roofs. For fun, we really enjoyed the Fairwinds snorkle trip on the Hula Kai. The horses to the north were worth the 1.5 hour drive on the beautiful country road. Dining at Huggos & Huggos on the Rocks was a great experience during sunset. Breakfast at the Fish Hopper has a beautiful view and I would recommend the Greek Omelett.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DSp
Business
Oetwil am See, Switzerland
Oct 19, 2009

Good location - great vue

Kona has good shopping possibilities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Biggius
Business
Juneau, Ak
Oct 17, 2009

so so

I paid $150 per night, for a mildew room, they charged me another $20 a night to change rooms, then to find out that others in the newer rooms had paid $109 and when we checked out I learned that another guest paid only $75 per night for the same five nights![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Langley BC Canada
Oct 11, 2009

Absolutely Fabulous!

Everything as advertised and more! True Aloha spirit. Staff - including chambermaids and bellman - very helpful,friendly and professional. Every person who worked for the hotel was extremely friendly and ready to answer our questions. Food was great - fresh and exciting menus and lots of locally grown fruit and vegetables. Great selection of wine. Very knowledgeable servers. And the view from the restaurant deck is spectacular. The close proximity to the Pacific Ocean is a huge plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Polynesian Adventure Island tour with Greyline! Our driver was a fountain of knowledge about Hawaii and Kona in particular - he was truly safety conscious and professional. He had a sense of humour which makes the day-long trip a pleasure. He also provided us with tidbits of local gossip which everyone enjoyed! Highly recommend this trip if you want to get an overview of all the exciting things to see and do on Hawaii. There's Kona coffee, chocolate, the volcano, cookies and orchids too!!!

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ahi boy
Business
tucson,az.
Oct 6, 2009

great place to stay

this is the perfect place to stay. great location in the middle of everything with a great open air bar on the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Asheville, NC
Oct 5, 2009

Beautiful people and views

This hotel has an unbelievable location and views. The restaurant, bar, and pool are great. The only down side is the property is older and lacks that "Vegas luster" but I liked that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything in Kona is within walking distance.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neon Leon
Business
Delano MN
Oct 3, 2009

Royal Kona Resort ..Royal!

We had an ocean-front room, the view was outstanding. Walking distance to town, very easy to walk about town. Great bar! Good resturant, but pricey. We got a complimentary bottle of champagne for our anniversary! Special because we'ed never had ocean-front before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining, drinks, music, & shops all very close.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth TX
Oct 3, 2009

big island stay

Hotel is ok, a bit old, but nicely kept. Best thing was the ability to check out & come back later before our night time flight to clean up,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lot's of good restaurants/shopping in walking distance.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Morgan Hill, CA
Sep 28, 2009

Excellant Location

Great location - on ocean and walking distance to other establishments. Excellent food and drink on-site. Great value. Older establishment with dated bathrooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SE Wisconsin
Sep 23, 2009

What a stunning view!

We booked here for its close location to the activities we'd planned - night swimming with mantas & an open-ocean day swim with dolphins. Both were pre-booked with a separate agency. Initially, we had booked a room for cost/location considerations, but when we got there they advised that it had not yet been remodeled, and offered an upgrade for additional cost. We opted to upgrade when offered, based on the cost & location of the upgraded room - a 6th floor room with a gorgeous ocean view!! Well worth the upgrade offer! We had a very pleasant stay and the staff were most pleasant & helpful too. It is an older facility, but very well-maintained & remodeling to keep abreast of changes. I would certainly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Only a short drive to the harbor where great fishing, diving and snorkeling activities can be chartered. The fish market there at the marina serves delicious seafood dishes, at very good prices!

Back to menu Return to top