$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 27, 2015 Check-out: Jan 28, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
449 reviews
Nice place to stay

While the hotel does need some updating the overall experience was amazing. The room had a great... See full review

  • Kathy E.
  • Jan 12, 2015
Awesome family trip

This hotel was close to everything and has its own private beach the kids loved it. See full review

  • chaquina p.
  • Dec 21, 2014
Oceanfront Kailua resort features Don the Beachcomber mai tai heaven
Perched on a lava-rock promontory on the edge of downtown Kailua-Kona, the Royal Kona Resort is a landmark hotel with renovated rooms and stellar ocean views. On site, guests find the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don's Mai Tai Bar. A tri-star shaped hotel built around an open-air lobby and surrounded by a tropical saltwater fishpond, the atmosphere captures the Big Island spirit without forgoing all the niceties of resort living. A sandy beach ledge, sheltered swimming lagoon and split-level swimming pool add to the romance.

 

Highlights
  • Split-level swimming pool
  • Fitness center
  • Legendary Don the Beachcomber restaurant and mai tai bar
  • Saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach
  • Evening luau and Polynesian revue
Location
The oceanfront Royal Kona Resort is perched on a dramatic lava-rock bluff in Kailua-Kona town, just minutes from restaurants and shops. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, snorkeling, coffee and macadamia nut farms, big-game fishing and local-style charm.
Rooms
The tri-star shaped Royal Kona Resort has recently refurbished and remodeled its accommodations, resulting in a fresh, Island-contemporary atmosphere. Each alii, bay and lagoon tower guest room features a beautiful garden, mountain or ocean view, private balcony, air conditioning, TV, mini-refrigerator and high-speed wireless Internet access at the Royal Kona Resort (fees may apply).
Dining
The Royal Kona Resort is home to the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don’s Mai Tai Bar, where, of course, a mai tai is a must. Several nights a week, the Royal Kona Resort also presents an oceanfront luau and Polynesian revue. Restaurants are plentiful throughout Kailua-Kona.
Recreation
Enjoy the Royal Kona Resort's split-level swimming pool, saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach, tennis courts (fees apply), fitness center and full-service spa (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.4 mi/15 km)

 

Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park (“Snorkel Beach”) (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.8 mi/149 km)
Policies and fees
  • The freshwater pool will be closed for repairs from 1 - 7 April 2015. During this period, the saltwater lagoon will be available for use. Arrangements have been made for guests to enjoy access to the freshwater pool area at neighboring Kona Reef.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Royal Kona Resort Rooms

Alii Tower / Lagoon Tower Rooms
All guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Alii / Lagoon Tower Garden/Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.
Bay Tower Rooms
Offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Bay Tower Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel provides over 25,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for small intimate gatherings or meeting to theatrical Theme Parties for up to 500 guests! Audio visual equipment is available to rent in addition to WIFI services.

Dining

Don the Beachcomber
Set oceanfront with sunsets and a tropical atmosphere, the Hotel presents Don the Beachcomber, a specialty-themed restaurant serving Pacific Fusion cuisine. This Restaurant is the newest addition to the Royal Kona Resort serving breakfast and dinner daily.
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Curving around the water's edge, features Hawaiian specialty drinks including the Original Mai Tai! In addition to the complete cocktail service in Kona's most spectacular location overlooking Kailua Bay, guests can enjoy lunch or appetizers (pupus) while watching dolphins, sea turtles and whales (seasonal) frolic in the ocean. This is the ideal spot for watching a Hawaiian sunset. Big screen television, dancing and entertainment scheduled throughout the week.
Lava Legends & Legacies Polynesian Luau
Featuring Kona's only oceanfront Luau, guests can enjoy an open bar and a feast of traditional Luau favorites. Watch as the evening begins with an authentic Imu ceremony and continues with a lively performance of song and dance that is common throughout the Pacific Islands. The evening of entertainment concludes with an incredible fire knife demonstration by the award winning Tihati Productions!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (449)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
449 out of 449
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Biggius
Business
Juneau, Ak
Oct 17, 2009

so so

I paid $150 per night, for a mildew room, they charged me another $20 a night to change rooms, then to find out that others in the newer rooms had paid $109 and when we checked out I learned that another guest paid only $75 per night for the same five nights![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Langley BC Canada
Oct 11, 2009

Absolutely Fabulous!

Everything as advertised and more! True Aloha spirit. Staff - including chambermaids and bellman - very helpful,friendly and professional. Every person who worked for the hotel was extremely friendly and ready to answer our questions. Food was great - fresh and exciting menus and lots of locally grown fruit and vegetables. Great selection of wine. Very knowledgeable servers. And the view from the restaurant deck is spectacular. The close proximity to the Pacific Ocean is a huge plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Polynesian Adventure Island tour with Greyline! Our driver was a fountain of knowledge about Hawaii and Kona in particular - he was truly safety conscious and professional. He had a sense of humour which makes the day-long trip a pleasure. He also provided us with tidbits of local gossip which everyone enjoyed! Highly recommend this trip if you want to get an overview of all the exciting things to see and do on Hawaii. There's Kona coffee, chocolate, the volcano, cookies and orchids too!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ahi boy
Business
tucson,az.
Oct 6, 2009

great place to stay

this is the perfect place to stay. great location in the middle of everything with a great open air bar on the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marcus
Business
Saginaw, MI
Oct 5, 2009

Exactly as advertised.

The only reason I said "noisy" is because when we checked in, there was a huge luao (sp) going on. It was really a great overall experience. Excellent oceanside bar. Very clean and nice rooms. Good HD widescreens for the little TV that you watch. The coffee is not that good compared to other hotel coffees. I highly recommend this hotel--especially if you're on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you have a day trip available. Drive to Volcano National Park instead of the flyover business. Only 5 bucks for everyone in the car to get in and it is SURREAL! Stop at the coffee shack about 30 minutes from Kona. Its on the right side of the road. It has the best view/ dining experience on HWY 11.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Asheville, NC
Oct 5, 2009

Beautiful people and views

This hotel has an unbelievable location and views. The restaurant, bar, and pool are great. The only down side is the property is older and lacks that "Vegas luster" but I liked that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything in Kona is within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neon Leon
Business
Delano MN
Oct 3, 2009

Royal Kona Resort ..Royal!

We had an ocean-front room, the view was outstanding. Walking distance to town, very easy to walk about town. Great bar! Good resturant, but pricey. We got a complimentary bottle of champagne for our anniversary! Special because we'ed never had ocean-front before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining, drinks, music, & shops all very close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth TX
Oct 3, 2009

big island stay

Hotel is ok, a bit old, but nicely kept. Best thing was the ability to check out & come back later before our night time flight to clean up,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lot's of good restaurants/shopping in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Morgan Hill, CA
Sep 28, 2009

Excellant Location

Great location - on ocean and walking distance to other establishments. Excellent food and drink on-site. Great value. Older establishment with dated bathrooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
military mom
Business
Pearl City, HI
Sep 27, 2009

thank you

We loved our stay at the Royal Kona. We were only there a very short time, and we definitely wished we could have stayed longer! We went snorkling and toured the town, and we had a list of other things we wanted to do had time permitted. The view was beautiful and the rooms comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SE Wisconsin
Sep 23, 2009

What a stunning view!

We booked here for its close location to the activities we'd planned - night swimming with mantas & an open-ocean day swim with dolphins. Both were pre-booked with a separate agency. Initially, we had booked a room for cost/location considerations, but when we got there they advised that it had not yet been remodeled, and offered an upgrade for additional cost. We opted to upgrade when offered, based on the cost & location of the upgraded room - a 6th floor room with a gorgeous ocean view!! Well worth the upgrade offer! We had a very pleasant stay and the staff were most pleasant & helpful too. It is an older facility, but very well-maintained & remodeling to keep abreast of changes. I would certainly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Only a short drive to the harbor where great fishing, diving and snorkeling activities can be chartered. The fish market there at the marina serves delicious seafood dishes, at very good prices!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top