$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
434 reviews
Great get away

Quick check in Nice rooms in the lagoon tower Located on the bay on the edge of down town. Bar menu... See full review

  • GeoJo
  • Mar 13, 2014
Honeymoon/Vacation

Every person and every thing about the Royal Kona Hotel was perfect. From the room, to the... See full review

  • BobPullen
  • Jan 21, 2014
Oceanfront Kailua resort features Don the Beachcomber mai tai heaven
Perched on a lava-rock promontory on the edge of downtown Kailua-Kona, the Royal Kona Resort is a landmark hotel with renovated rooms and stellar ocean views. On site, guests find the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don's Mai Tai Bar. A tri-star shaped hotel built around an open-air lobby and surrounded by a tropical saltwater fishpond, the atmosphere captures the Big Island spirit without forgoing all the niceties of resort living. A sandy beach ledge, sheltered swimming lagoon and split-level swimming pool add to the romance.

 

Highlights
  • Split-level swimming pool
  • Fitness center
  • Legendary Don the Beachcomber restaurant and mai tai bar
  • Saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach
  • Evening luau and Polynesian revue
Location
The oceanfront Royal Kona Resort is perched on a dramatic lava-rock bluff in Kailua-Kona town, just minutes from restaurants and shops. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, snorkeling, coffee and macadamia nut farms, big-game fishing and local-style charm.
Rooms
The tri-star shaped Royal Kona Resort has recently refurbished and remodeled its accommodations, resulting in a fresh, Island-contemporary atmosphere. Each alii, bay and lagoon tower guest room features a beautiful garden, mountain or ocean view, private balcony, air conditioning, TV, mini-refrigerator and high-speed wireless Internet access at the Royal Kona Resort (fees may apply).
Dining
The Royal Kona Resort is home to the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don’s Mai Tai Bar, where, of course, a mai tai is a must. Several nights a week, the Royal Kona Resort also presents an oceanfront luau and Polynesian revue. Restaurants are plentiful throughout Kailua-Kona.
Recreation
Enjoy the Royal Kona Resort's split-level swimming pool, saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach, tennis courts (fees apply), fitness center and full-service spa (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.4 mi/15 km)

 

Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park (“Snorkel Beach”) (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.8 mi/149 km)
Policies and fees
The pool will be closed from 23 September to 30 September. During this period, the private saltwater lagoon will remain available. Guests can also use the pool facilities at neighboring Kona Reef.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.6323 -155.9891
Area served
Kailua-Kona-Big Island of Hawaii, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-LOA
Area description
Unique and dramatic setting located overlooking beautiful Kailua Bay. Walking distance to historic Kailua-Kona town's shopping and attractions. Approximately 15 minutes south of Kona International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Royal Kona Resort Rooms

Alii Tower / Lagoon Tower Rooms
All guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Alii / Lagoon Tower Garden/Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.
Bay Tower Rooms
Offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Bay Tower Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Don the Beachcomber
Set oceanfront with sunsets and a tropical atmosphere, the Hotel presents Don the Beachcomber, a specialty-themed restaurant serving Pacific Fusion cuisine. This Restaurant is the newest addition to the Royal Kona Resort serving breakfast and dinner daily.
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Curving around the water's edge, features Hawaiian specialty drinks including the Original Mai Tai! In addition to the complete cocktail service in Kona's most spectacular location overlooking Kailua Bay, guests can enjoy lunch or appetizers (pupus) while watching dolphins, sea turtles and whales (seasonal) frolic in the ocean. This is the ideal spot for watching a Hawaiian sunset. Big screen television, dancing and entertainment scheduled throughout the week.
Lava Legends & Legacies Polynesian Luau
Featuring Kona's only oceanfront Luau, guests can enjoy an open bar and a feast of traditional Luau favorites. Watch as the evening begins with an authentic Imu ceremony and continues with a lively performance of song and dance that is common throughout the Pacific Islands. The evening of entertainment concludes with an incredible fire knife demonstration by the award winning Tihati Productions!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel provides over 25,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for small intimate gatherings or meeting to theatrical Theme Parties for up to 500 guests! Audio visual equipment is available to rent in addition to WIFI services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (434)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
434 out of 434
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
luke and shannon Newlyweds
Business
Corvallis, MT
Oct 25, 2009

Not what you Expect :(

They spent more money on the bar; Dons Beachcomber than all of their rooms. The pillows were like bags of sand. The bed was hard and uncomfortable. When we were laying in bed we had no choice but to listen to the elevator go up and down all night. Plus, the toliet in the room ran all night. Even with the bathroom door shut you could still hear it. The location and the bar are great but hardly make up for everything else. Don't be fooled by their beautiful lobby; you'll understand as soon as you see your room why you got such a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Coconutz is a great little bar that had amazing live music the night we were there. The bartenders are friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Oct 25, 2009

Fun to go back to again

The second part of our 2-island honeymoon was here and it was still nice, but somewhat of a letdown since the early 70s when I was there before as a youngster. Not as many flowers decorating the side of the buildings as I remembered. Our tower was refurbished 3 years ago, but had spots in the ceilings. But the location is very nice and the staff did help us a lot. The airline delayed the start of our trip, which was to another island, but this hotel helped us when we needed to cancel the initial reservation, and at no cost. Later, it worked out for us to rebook the stay at the royal kona resort, for the same number of nights. We arrived and found the front desk people putting us in an upgrade room, since they knew about the honeymoon, and our initial troubles w/ the airlines. We got a corner room and they even put a bottle of wine in the small fridge for us at no charge. During the stay, the front desk people were sooo helpful and friendly. As a result, our stay on the big island was better than expected. They supplied us with a map of the best beaches on the island and other sites to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a good map of the island and its attractions. There are more sites to see than you would think. Plan ahead carefully, especially when visiting the lava flows.....gate opens at 5:00pm, gets dark about 1 hour later, best time to see the glow from the lava, especially as it flows into the ocean. You will need a flashlight, good footwear and water, for this short walk and the wait until darkness. The east side of the island is cloudy and quite often a light rain is associated w/ it. The west is dry. We enjoyed hitting the public beaches for a few hours in the morning then driving to other parts of the island later.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Oct 22, 2009

Nice rooms and beautiful view

We were pleasantly surprised at this hotel and were upgraded to an ocean view room without a request to do so. Our room was clean and spacious and the balcony area was very large. There was a luau one of the evenings and we could view the whole thing from our room if we had wanted to. There are many shops and restaurants within walking distance and most of them have live entertainment, and they all sounded pretty good. The two downfalls of the hotel are that the main restaurant was not open for dinner on Monday or Tuesday night (there was still a grill to get food when you wanted) and there is no direct beach access. The hotel has created a small lagoon, which is great with a pair of goggles to check out the fish, but if you're looking for waves, you'll need to drive about 20 miles up the coast. If I were to return to Kona I would certainly stay at this hotel again. Out of the five hotels we stayed at during our trip to Hawaii it was the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I can't remember the name of the restaurant, but it was the closest to the hotel and on the same side of the street. They had the best live entertainment that we saw throughout our entire 10 day trip. It was just one guy with a guitar and once in a while someone would get up and hula. It wasn't loud and wasn't completely Hawaiian the whole time. He did a lot of cover songs and sounded quite a bit like James Taylor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big Island Virgin
Business
Riverside, Ca
Oct 20, 2009

Beauty on the outside

Location is outstanding on Alli Drive, close to downtown activities, can walk to many of the stores, restaurants and island adventures. The on site bar and restaurant has beautiful views and comfortable seating. With multiple photo opportunities. Our room, # 303, was the most Westernly facing room and had direct afternoon sun and a very weak AC that never maintained a cool room. I would avoiding the very end rooms due to the temps and it's best to ask for Ocean & Pool view, as the non pool side overlooks roofs. For fun, we really enjoyed the Fairwinds snorkle trip on the Hula Kai. The horses to the north were worth the 1.5 hour drive on the beautiful country road. Dining at Huggos & Huggos on the Rocks was a great experience during sunset. Breakfast at the Fish Hopper has a beautiful view and I would recommend the Greek Omelett.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DSp
Business
Oetwil am See, Switzerland
Oct 19, 2009

Good location - great vue

Kona has good shopping possibilities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Biggius
Business
Juneau, Ak
Oct 17, 2009

so so

I paid $150 per night, for a mildew room, they charged me another $20 a night to change rooms, then to find out that others in the newer rooms had paid $109 and when we checked out I learned that another guest paid only $75 per night for the same five nights![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Langley BC Canada
Oct 11, 2009

Absolutely Fabulous!

Everything as advertised and more! True Aloha spirit. Staff - including chambermaids and bellman - very helpful,friendly and professional. Every person who worked for the hotel was extremely friendly and ready to answer our questions. Food was great - fresh and exciting menus and lots of locally grown fruit and vegetables. Great selection of wine. Very knowledgeable servers. And the view from the restaurant deck is spectacular. The close proximity to the Pacific Ocean is a huge plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Polynesian Adventure Island tour with Greyline! Our driver was a fountain of knowledge about Hawaii and Kona in particular - he was truly safety conscious and professional. He had a sense of humour which makes the day-long trip a pleasure. He also provided us with tidbits of local gossip which everyone enjoyed! Highly recommend this trip if you want to get an overview of all the exciting things to see and do on Hawaii. There's Kona coffee, chocolate, the volcano, cookies and orchids too!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ahi boy
Business
tucson,az.
Oct 6, 2009

great place to stay

this is the perfect place to stay. great location in the middle of everything with a great open air bar on the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marcus
Business
Saginaw, MI
Oct 5, 2009

Exactly as advertised.

The only reason I said "noisy" is because when we checked in, there was a huge luao (sp) going on. It was really a great overall experience. Excellent oceanside bar. Very clean and nice rooms. Good HD widescreens for the little TV that you watch. The coffee is not that good compared to other hotel coffees. I highly recommend this hotel--especially if you're on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you have a day trip available. Drive to Volcano National Park instead of the flyover business. Only 5 bucks for everyone in the car to get in and it is SURREAL! Stop at the coffee shack about 30 minutes from Kona. Its on the right side of the road. It has the best view/ dining experience on HWY 11.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Asheville, NC
Oct 5, 2009

Beautiful people and views

This hotel has an unbelievable location and views. The restaurant, bar, and pool are great. The only down side is the property is older and lacks that "Vegas luster" but I liked that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything in Kona is within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top