$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
469 out of 469
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Playful_me
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 25, 2010

Great View!

Pay for an ocean view room--it's worth it! If you are not going to get an ocean view room, then might as well stay at a cheaper hotel. It is great to go to the balcony and see the ocean every morning. Also walking distance from all the main boardwalk, but never noisy. I stayed in the Alii Tower (most recent renovation) and it was nice. Pool is small, but who cares, since you're in Hawaii with great beaches. Parking is a little pricey at $10/day, but so are other hotels. It's my third time staying there and I would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have a Lava Flow at the little bar across the street (Bongo Ben's?). Check out Huggo's for lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dutra
Business
San Jose, CA
May 12, 2010

Great Service, view. Best location Kona

You can tell the Hotel is older and it can use some renovation. However, the biggest plus is the location which is a short walk to some great restaurants and views. Really enjoyed the hotel and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
On the road too much
Business
Outback, Indiana
May 8, 2010

The place to stay in Kona

The hotel looks awesome, but is in fact aging and needs repairs and updating (e.g., elevators, small screen analog TV). Overall, it is worthwhile, but expensive for what you get. Location is on the south corner of the town activities. Meals were very good, but very expensive...thank goodness for the coupons they provide. Had ocean front room, which is great, but beware it is nosey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Lots of outdoor activities to do. But, if walking along a sandy beach is one of them, beware! Very few, they are small and crowded.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Surferboy
Business
Great Falls, VA
May 7, 2010

left

Too noisy asked for my money back after one night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Sansoucie's
Business
St. Louis, MO
Apr 28, 2010

royal kona

The location of the hotel was great! The staff was always helpful and available. The room was clean, but they were out-dated. Besides that, it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Apr 25, 2010

Kona Trip April 2010

This hotel has a great location in Kona for dining and shopping, and is close (10 min drive) to the harbors that many snorkel and dive tours leave from. It does not have a real swimmable beach, but nice public beaches are only 10-15 minutes away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bongo Bens or Java on the Rocks has a much better Breakfast (2 min walk to the north).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WA
Apr 22, 2010

A good Hotel for the price

They should include parking in the package.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandma Annie
Business
Central Coast, CA
Apr 17, 2010

great Kona location

This was our 1st trip to Hawaii, and it was great! The Royal Kona Resort is in a great location, close to restaurants & shopping. Good (if somewhat pricey) restaurant on site and a nice little outdoor bar too. There were spa services & a wedding planning service which we did not use. Fun & delicious Luau on site. We think parking should be discounted better for hotel guests. Excellent ocean views from the restaurant & bar. There is a small shop that offers clothing items & some necessities on site too. Also a tour/recreation company is on site but we didn't have time to make use of their services either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Kona Farmers Market is a must visit!! Great values on food items (especially fresh tropical fruits) gifts & souveniers, clothing. Some vendors even offer shipping!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mar
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 10, 2010

Great place to stay

I did some whale watching, swimm with dolphins and snorkeling. Took a drive down Highway 11 to Volcano's State Park area, the whole area had a strange beauty, the black landscape was something out of a science-fiction movie, some strange planet. Visited the black sand beach. The whole experience was something I'll never forget. I would have loved to see the lava flows but there was none during my short visit to the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BUBBA GUMP Restaurant & Market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oregon duo
Business
Portland Oregon
Mar 29, 2010

Nice vacation location

We upgraded to an ocean front. It was in the older part, but the view was worth it. We walked all over Kailua. Didn't check out the ocean pool until leaving. Can snorkel there and see pretty fish. Beautiful views from bars and resturant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top