$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
441 reviews
Awesome family trip

This hotel was close to everything and has its own private beach the kids loved it. See full review

  • chaquina p.
  • Dec 21, 2014
Hard to beat the location, price and amenities!

Can't think of a single complaint. Right at the southern end of Kona with everything in walking... See full review

  • JReagan
  • Dec 5, 2014
Oceanfront Kailua resort features Don the Beachcomber mai tai heaven
Perched on a lava-rock promontory on the edge of downtown Kailua-Kona, the Royal Kona Resort is a landmark hotel with renovated rooms and stellar ocean views. On site, guests find the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don's Mai Tai Bar. A tri-star shaped hotel built around an open-air lobby and surrounded by a tropical saltwater fishpond, the atmosphere captures the Big Island spirit without forgoing all the niceties of resort living. A sandy beach ledge, sheltered swimming lagoon and split-level swimming pool add to the romance.

 

Highlights
  • Split-level swimming pool
  • Fitness center
  • Legendary Don the Beachcomber restaurant and mai tai bar
  • Saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach
  • Evening luau and Polynesian revue
Location
The oceanfront Royal Kona Resort is perched on a dramatic lava-rock bluff in Kailua-Kona town, just minutes from restaurants and shops. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, snorkeling, coffee and macadamia nut farms, big-game fishing and local-style charm.
Rooms
The tri-star shaped Royal Kona Resort has recently refurbished and remodeled its accommodations, resulting in a fresh, Island-contemporary atmosphere. Each alii, bay and lagoon tower guest room features a beautiful garden, mountain or ocean view, private balcony, air conditioning, TV, mini-refrigerator and high-speed wireless Internet access at the Royal Kona Resort (fees may apply).
Dining
The Royal Kona Resort is home to the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don’s Mai Tai Bar, where, of course, a mai tai is a must. Several nights a week, the Royal Kona Resort also presents an oceanfront luau and Polynesian revue. Restaurants are plentiful throughout Kailua-Kona.
Recreation
Enjoy the Royal Kona Resort's split-level swimming pool, saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach, tennis courts (fees apply), fitness center and full-service spa (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.4 mi/15 km)

 

Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park (“Snorkel Beach”) (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.8 mi/149 km)
Policies and fees
The pool will be closed from 23 September to 30 September. During this period, the private saltwater lagoon will remain available. Guests can also use the pool facilities at neighboring Kona Reef.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Royal Kona Resort Rooms

Alii Tower / Lagoon Tower Rooms
All guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Alii / Lagoon Tower Garden/Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.
Bay Tower Rooms
Offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Bay Tower Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel provides over 25,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for small intimate gatherings or meeting to theatrical Theme Parties for up to 500 guests! Audio visual equipment is available to rent in addition to WIFI services.

Dining

Don the Beachcomber
Set oceanfront with sunsets and a tropical atmosphere, the Hotel presents Don the Beachcomber, a specialty-themed restaurant serving Pacific Fusion cuisine. This Restaurant is the newest addition to the Royal Kona Resort serving breakfast and dinner daily.
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Curving around the water's edge, features Hawaiian specialty drinks including the Original Mai Tai! In addition to the complete cocktail service in Kona's most spectacular location overlooking Kailua Bay, guests can enjoy lunch or appetizers (pupus) while watching dolphins, sea turtles and whales (seasonal) frolic in the ocean. This is the ideal spot for watching a Hawaiian sunset. Big screen television, dancing and entertainment scheduled throughout the week.
Lava Legends & Legacies Polynesian Luau
Featuring Kona's only oceanfront Luau, guests can enjoy an open bar and a feast of traditional Luau favorites. Watch as the evening begins with an authentic Imu ceremony and continues with a lively performance of song and dance that is common throughout the Pacific Islands. The evening of entertainment concludes with an incredible fire knife demonstration by the award winning Tihati Productions!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (441)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
441 out of 441
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JPVC
Boston, MA
Jan 5, 2013

great reasonable choice in town

As most others have noted, it's not the newest, freshest, fanciest resort in town. However, it is VERY good reasonable place to stay. Rooms were clean and large. Ours had a little balcony and a little kitchenette. The lobby area is nice - plenty of cozy couches and chairs to settle down in while watching the sunset. There is a reasonably nice bar with some good food options. Location is great - you can walk right into the town of Kona. Parking is available for 10 dollars a day for hotel guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great alcohol selection at the ABC store, a brief walk outside the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loving Kona
Business
North Dakota
Jan 8, 2010

Stunning views of Paradise

We booked the Bay Tower which the views were totally amazing, but I have a bad back and the beds were like sleeping on concrete. I really hope they renovate those rooms within the next 5 years, because I am gonna request the same room, hopefully getting some sleep this time. It was wonderful and the most beautiful place I have ever been. We couldn't ask for more beauty. It was also a little noisy, beings we were very close to the resturant next door, and they had bands way into the night. Other than that, I enjoyed sleeping with the balcony doors open and listening to the waves every night and every morning. I loved my hotel and I loved my vacation!!! The pros are far more than the cons. Thank you so much Kona Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Enjoy the buy one get one half off at the Kona Resort Luau. That saved us 30 some bucks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jan 7, 2010

Oldie ... but Goodie !

Highly recommended. The Royal Kona is an older property but has been kept up nicely. It's decor is Kitsch and very old Hawaii ... we quite liked it. The Royal Kona has a great location on the edge of town. Perfect for a nice stroll to restaurants and bars. The Hotel bar has a view to the most perfect sunsets we experienced in Kona ... we will go back. We were comparing this versus the Sheraton. The Sheraton is nice and has newly rennovated rooms. But, seemed bland in comparison when we saw the property ... but, they do have the Manta Ray viewing deck.... which is really cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tinman
Business
Indian,Alaska
Jan 1, 2010

Vacationing from Alaska

Our stay was very nice. The location was great, very close to shops and restaurants.We had Rented a Car for our 8 day stay but you dont need to as they also have shuttle buses that drive by the hotel regularly.Our rooms were cleaned extremely well daily.The elevators however did need a good clean and every day that we got on the elevator from our 7th floor ocean room we found the same old band aides on the floor of the elevators for a week.If you decide to pay your Bar tab after you have signed to charge it to your room make sure the bartender tears up that piece of paper and gives you a receipt.We were charged for drinks that we had payed for twice.Apart from that the hotel was nice the front desk were very personable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very Suprised that the Quality of the food in the Restaurant at the hotel was just as good as the local restaurants in town.The coffee in the room was another story.Was the worst coffee we had in years.We drove to Starbucks every day sometimes twice for coffee.Considering its an island noted for its coffee we were very disappointed that the coffee was so bad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Isle Lover
Business
California
Dec 21, 2009

We love Kona!

We take in the sites of Kona each time we visit the Big Island. This is the only hotel we stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kapolei, Hawaii
Dec 14, 2009

Great getaway. Enjoyed the hotel.

The offer of service was there as we checked in early, but knew the room was not ready (we had other things to do), they offered to take our bags and keep until we came back which pleasanted surprised me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Diver Dan
Business
Vista, Ca
Dec 10, 2009

Needs rehab & Mai Tai bar a rip off

Great location for walking to downtown, bike riding, free diving and swimming. Staff didn't do a thing about the dirty carpet. Advised them of the condition first morning there. Hotel bar is a rip off. Expensive drinks little alcohol content. Outrigger Resort much better location and experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thanksgiving Birthday
Business
Jackson, MS
Dec 3, 2009

Beautiful Location; Hey, it's Hawaii

Rooms were not available early, but upgraded to ocean-view. Worth it. Great bar and grill. Kids (21+) watched football Thanksgiving afternoon. Laua great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SCR Mom
Business
North Carolina
Dec 3, 2009

My Review

I upgraded to an ocean view, but really had a view of the building across the parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveling newlywed
Business
Anaheim, CA
Nov 28, 2009

The best in Kona

My husband and I enjoyed staying at the Royal Kona Resort. It is a short walk from Kona's quaint shops. The hotel itself was quiet and well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

We ended up buying a few breakfast supplies and keeping them in the room. Things like creamer, instant oatmeal, and fruit came in handy. We didn't need to eat out for every meal and this saved us money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Nov 26, 2009

Great location!!!

Stayed at Royal Kona for 2 nights paid approx $100 a night (Nov 19-20). Room was small compared to other places I've stayed but it had a balcony and ocean view. Room consisted of a king size bed, safe, and refrigerator. Unfortunately there is no free breakfast, however there is a breakfast buffet, and menu dining offered. Buffet cost about $13 per person, make sure you get the 20% coupon at the front desk. Excellent location, walking distance from shopping and dining. About a 2hour drive to the Volcano Park. Very close to beaches. If you want to swim with sea turtles go to Kahalu'u Beach those little guys are everywhere!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top