$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
466 out of 466
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JJ The traveler
Dallas TX
Dec 13, 2012

NICE property - clean

We were more than satisfied with our room and the locaton of the hotel. Room was clean, big bed, nice view (mountain view b/c I am cheap). The locaton is great, as it is a short walk to ABC store and many restraunts. The bar "beach comber" was great. The mai thai there was great with the sun set. We were on the big island for 2 weeks, and at this hotel for 4 nights. We really enjoyed our stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Manta ray snorkel is worth the money. You can also see them from the bar at the Sherriton for the price of a drink, or you could just walk in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katelax26
Business
SF, CA
Jul 3, 2010

great place for the $

The hotel was very nice! We had an awesome ocean front room which the was a complimentary upgrade because we were on our honeymoon. The pool was very cool with an ocean front set-up. We also liked how close we were to shops and dining...we could just walk, no driving!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to LuLu's...fun place!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SD Biz Man
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 24, 2010

Gold Star Experience

My stay was for business purposes overnight, but needed to enjoy the beauty of the Big Island as best one can and still conduct business. Conveniently located to my business locations. After a stressful day of meetings, the room accommodations were well appointed(value ocean view type) and provided the solace and comfort that was needed. The view was incredible and the staff were all very courteous. Well priced. Definitely recommend this to all. I can hardly wait to return for a pleasure trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 22, 2010

Great Value for the Price

We were upgraded to an oceanview room with a king bed and a balcony. It had a fantastic view and we were extremely comfortable the whole week. The hotel doesn't have a beach, but few hotels on the island (if not just in that price category) do, as my understanding goes. To compensate, they have the lagoon, which is a nice place to swim when the tide is high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a nice public beach about a half-mile south.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu,Hi
Jun 14, 2010

very convenient location

Staff was very friendly and willing to help if you needed anything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

hotel buffet was very good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tugboat Annie
Business
Chicago
Jun 10, 2010

Lovely Lagoon

The location is one of the best features of this hotel. It was within easy walking distance to shopping and restaurants. The room was clean with a great balcony and ocean view.We really enjoyed the private lagoon which enabled us to try out our snorkeling skills before going out on the ocean.We could also see the gorgeous fish and even an eel who reside in the lagoon just by looking down into the water from the sidewalk. The luau featured great entertainmment and delicious food. Even though it started to rain during the meal, the staff was prepared with rain gear for us and the show went on. The staff were pleasant and cooperated with any requests. I felt that the pillows were uncommonly hard and asked housekeeping about it and they offered to bring up a feather pillow instead. We really enjoyed our stay at the Royal Kona and would definitely stay there again when we are in Kona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We tried several restaurants and really enjoyed Bongo Bens just down the street a bit and we had morning coffee at Lava Java which is the place to be in the morning for people watching.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gottascuba
Business
Murrieta,Ca
Jun 1, 2010

Great place !

I have stayed at other hotels in the Kona area and this was by far the best. Great little oceanside bar, great food at the restaurant, free parking and a short walk to the main town. Even though I had a late check in the staff upgrade my room to an oceanfront at no extra cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gottascuba
Business
Murrieta,Ca
Jun 1, 2010

Great place !

I have stayed at other hotels in the Kona area and this was by far the best. Great little oceanside bar, great food at the restaurant, free parking and a short walk to the main town. Even though I had a late check in the staff upgrade my room to an oceanfront at no extra cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Playful_me
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 25, 2010

Great View!

Pay for an ocean view room--it's worth it! If you are not going to get an ocean view room, then might as well stay at a cheaper hotel. It is great to go to the balcony and see the ocean every morning. Also walking distance from all the main boardwalk, but never noisy. I stayed in the Alii Tower (most recent renovation) and it was nice. Pool is small, but who cares, since you're in Hawaii with great beaches. Parking is a little pricey at $10/day, but so are other hotels. It's my third time staying there and I would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have a Lava Flow at the little bar across the street (Bongo Ben's?). Check out Huggo's for lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dutra
Business
San Jose, CA
May 12, 2010

Great Service, view. Best location Kona

You can tell the Hotel is older and it can use some renovation. However, the biggest plus is the location which is a short walk to some great restaurants and views. Really enjoyed the hotel and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
On the road too much
Business
Outback, Indiana
May 8, 2010

The place to stay in Kona

The hotel looks awesome, but is in fact aging and needs repairs and updating (e.g., elevators, small screen analog TV). Overall, it is worthwhile, but expensive for what you get. Location is on the south corner of the town activities. Meals were very good, but very expensive...thank goodness for the coupons they provide. Had ocean front room, which is great, but beware it is nosey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Lots of outdoor activities to do. But, if walking along a sandy beach is one of them, beware! Very few, they are small and crowded.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top