$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
441 reviews
Hard to beat the location, price and amenities!

Can't think of a single complaint. Right at the southern end of Kona with everything in walking... See full review

  • JReagan
  • Dec 5, 2014
Old faithful

RKH is a grand dame hotel. Maybe a little long in the tooth but fundamentally classy bones and... See full review

  • Bibble
  • Dec 1, 2014
Oceanfront Kailua resort features Don the Beachcomber mai tai heaven
Perched on a lava-rock promontory on the edge of downtown Kailua-Kona, the Royal Kona Resort is a landmark hotel with renovated rooms and stellar ocean views. On site, guests find the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don's Mai Tai Bar. A tri-star shaped hotel built around an open-air lobby and surrounded by a tropical saltwater fishpond, the atmosphere captures the Big Island spirit without forgoing all the niceties of resort living. A sandy beach ledge, sheltered swimming lagoon and split-level swimming pool add to the romance.

 

Highlights
  • Split-level swimming pool
  • Fitness center
  • Legendary Don the Beachcomber restaurant and mai tai bar
  • Saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach
  • Evening luau and Polynesian revue
Location
The oceanfront Royal Kona Resort is perched on a dramatic lava-rock bluff in Kailua-Kona town, just minutes from restaurants and shops. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, snorkeling, coffee and macadamia nut farms, big-game fishing and local-style charm.
Rooms
The tri-star shaped Royal Kona Resort has recently refurbished and remodeled its accommodations, resulting in a fresh, Island-contemporary atmosphere. Each alii, bay and lagoon tower guest room features a beautiful garden, mountain or ocean view, private balcony, air conditioning, TV, mini-refrigerator and high-speed wireless Internet access at the Royal Kona Resort (fees may apply).
Dining
The Royal Kona Resort is home to the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don’s Mai Tai Bar, where, of course, a mai tai is a must. Several nights a week, the Royal Kona Resort also presents an oceanfront luau and Polynesian revue. Restaurants are plentiful throughout Kailua-Kona.
Recreation
Enjoy the Royal Kona Resort's split-level swimming pool, saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach, tennis courts (fees apply), fitness center and full-service spa (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.4 mi/15 km)

 

Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park (“Snorkel Beach”) (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.8 mi/149 km)
Policies and fees
The pool will be closed from 23 September to 30 September. During this period, the private saltwater lagoon will remain available. Guests can also use the pool facilities at neighboring Kona Reef.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Royal Kona Resort Rooms

Alii Tower / Lagoon Tower Rooms
All guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Alii / Lagoon Tower Garden/Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.
Bay Tower Rooms
Offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Bay Tower Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Don the Beachcomber
Set oceanfront with sunsets and a tropical atmosphere, the Hotel presents Don the Beachcomber, a specialty-themed restaurant serving Pacific Fusion cuisine. This Restaurant is the newest addition to the Royal Kona Resort serving breakfast and dinner daily.
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Curving around the water's edge, features Hawaiian specialty drinks including the Original Mai Tai! In addition to the complete cocktail service in Kona's most spectacular location overlooking Kailua Bay, guests can enjoy lunch or appetizers (pupus) while watching dolphins, sea turtles and whales (seasonal) frolic in the ocean. This is the ideal spot for watching a Hawaiian sunset. Big screen television, dancing and entertainment scheduled throughout the week.
Lava Legends & Legacies Polynesian Luau
Featuring Kona's only oceanfront Luau, guests can enjoy an open bar and a feast of traditional Luau favorites. Watch as the evening begins with an authentic Imu ceremony and continues with a lively performance of song and dance that is common throughout the Pacific Islands. The evening of entertainment concludes with an incredible fire knife demonstration by the award winning Tihati Productions!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel provides over 25,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for small intimate gatherings or meeting to theatrical Theme Parties for up to 500 guests! Audio visual equipment is available to rent in addition to WIFI services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (441)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
441 out of 441
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hilton, NY
Jul 26, 2010

Good family place

The hotel was in a good location in town close for shopping and restaurants. Our family especially enjoyed the hotel lagoon which was great for snorkeling and swimming. It also had a nice salt water pool. We enjoyed the luau at the hotel. The food and entertainment were great. We had 2 standard room and our rooms were not in a great location. We were on the second floor above restaurant air conditioners and where the laundry was delivered at about 5:00 AM so it was noisy. The rooms had older carpet and furnishings but were clean. The staff was helpful and pleasant. We were not in the rooms that much as we traveled around for sight seeing. I believe the snorkeling in the hotel lagoon was a highlight of the trip. If you take a standard room check the location of the room before you move in. There are many nice locations even if they don't look directly on the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of restaurants and shopping places very near the hotel. There is a nice market for fruit and clothing and crafts just a short walk from the hotel. Try the hotel luau we thought it was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arkansas
Jul 20, 2010

Great location!

We only stayed here one night because it was a bit above our price range. The bed was very comfortable and the room nice. It was our last night and we rented this room because it was the 4th of July and there was a bay view. Unfortunately we could not see the fireworks or the parade from our room because we were only on the second floor and facing the wrong side for the fireworks. Although the hotel was non smoking everywhere, we had a mostly shared balcony with a small half divider and we had neighbors who smoked excessively on the balcony ruining our balcony experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Piedmont, OK
Jul 19, 2010

If I could do it again, I'd do it w/Kona

We did everything imagineable, one of my highlights was the vanilla farm, the hot pool and the fresh fruit. The variety of things to do on the island was so cool. It was nice to come back to a nice clean room daily and they even offer beach towels :). Its like your own terrairium-beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VFOX
Business
Maui Hawaii
Jul 6, 2010

great location for the price

Aloha, I enjoyed my stay my room was ocean front as requested, the staff was friendly much Aloha spirit. I was given an awesome seat so I could enjoy the fireworks show while dinning with a special price dinner of Crab & Prime Rib. Beautiful evening I was there for a seminar on Monday. The hotel is older use to be a Hilton back in the 80's. Has old Hawaiian charm. I would go back again. This was easy for me thank you for booking this on such short notice being able to hear the ocean at night was awesome and relaxing! Mahalo, Virginia Fox Medeiros

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Special 20% coupon given at registration time for Dining in Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katelax26
Business
SF, CA
Jul 3, 2010

great place for the $

The hotel was very nice! We had an awesome ocean front room which the was a complimentary upgrade because we were on our honeymoon. The pool was very cool with an ocean front set-up. We also liked how close we were to shops and dining...we could just walk, no driving!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to LuLu's...fun place!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SD Biz Man
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 24, 2010

Gold Star Experience

My stay was for business purposes overnight, but needed to enjoy the beauty of the Big Island as best one can and still conduct business. Conveniently located to my business locations. After a stressful day of meetings, the room accommodations were well appointed(value ocean view type) and provided the solace and comfort that was needed. The view was incredible and the staff were all very courteous. Well priced. Definitely recommend this to all. I can hardly wait to return for a pleasure trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 22, 2010

Great Value for the Price

We were upgraded to an oceanview room with a king bed and a balcony. It had a fantastic view and we were extremely comfortable the whole week. The hotel doesn't have a beach, but few hotels on the island (if not just in that price category) do, as my understanding goes. To compensate, they have the lagoon, which is a nice place to swim when the tide is high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a nice public beach about a half-mile south.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu,Hi
Jun 14, 2010

very convenient location

Staff was very friendly and willing to help if you needed anything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

hotel buffet was very good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tugboat Annie
Business
Chicago
Jun 10, 2010

Lovely Lagoon

The location is one of the best features of this hotel. It was within easy walking distance to shopping and restaurants. The room was clean with a great balcony and ocean view.We really enjoyed the private lagoon which enabled us to try out our snorkeling skills before going out on the ocean.We could also see the gorgeous fish and even an eel who reside in the lagoon just by looking down into the water from the sidewalk. The luau featured great entertainmment and delicious food. Even though it started to rain during the meal, the staff was prepared with rain gear for us and the show went on. The staff were pleasant and cooperated with any requests. I felt that the pillows were uncommonly hard and asked housekeeping about it and they offered to bring up a feather pillow instead. We really enjoyed our stay at the Royal Kona and would definitely stay there again when we are in Kona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We tried several restaurants and really enjoyed Bongo Bens just down the street a bit and we had morning coffee at Lava Java which is the place to be in the morning for people watching.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gottascuba
Business
Murrieta,Ca
Jun 1, 2010

Great place !

I have stayed at other hotels in the Kona area and this was by far the best. Great little oceanside bar, great food at the restaurant, free parking and a short walk to the main town. Even though I had a late check in the staff upgrade my room to an oceanfront at no extra cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top