$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
454 reviews
Awesome

This hotel is walking distance to main downtown.. However the view, bar and restaurant make you not... See full review

  • Abbey S.
  • Feb 23, 2015
Nice place to stay

While the hotel does need some updating the overall experience was amazing. The room had a great... See full review

  • Kathy E.
  • Jan 12, 2015
Oceanfront Kailua resort features Don the Beachcomber mai tai heaven
Perched on a lava-rock promontory on the edge of downtown Kailua-Kona, the Royal Kona Resort is a landmark hotel with renovated rooms and stellar ocean views. On site, guests find the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don's Mai Tai Bar. A tri-star shaped hotel built around an open-air lobby and surrounded by a tropical saltwater fishpond, the atmosphere captures the Big Island spirit without forgoing all the niceties of resort living. A sandy beach ledge, sheltered swimming lagoon and split-level swimming pool add to the romance.

 

Highlights
  • Split-level swimming pool
  • Fitness center
  • Legendary Don the Beachcomber restaurant and mai tai bar
  • Saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach
  • Evening luau and Polynesian revue
Location
The oceanfront Royal Kona Resort is perched on a dramatic lava-rock bluff in Kailua-Kona town, just minutes from restaurants and shops. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, snorkeling, coffee and macadamia nut farms, big-game fishing and local-style charm.
Rooms
The tri-star shaped Royal Kona Resort has recently refurbished and remodeled its accommodations, resulting in a fresh, Island-contemporary atmosphere. Each alii, bay and lagoon tower guest room features a beautiful garden, mountain or ocean view, private balcony, air conditioning, TV, mini-refrigerator and high-speed wireless Internet access at the Royal Kona Resort (fees may apply).
Dining
The Royal Kona Resort is home to the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don’s Mai Tai Bar, where, of course, a mai tai is a must. Several nights a week, the Royal Kona Resort also presents an oceanfront luau and Polynesian revue. Restaurants are plentiful throughout Kailua-Kona.
Recreation
Enjoy the Royal Kona Resort's split-level swimming pool, saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach, tennis courts (fees apply), fitness center and full-service spa (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.4 mi/15 km)

 

Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park (“Snorkel Beach”) (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.8 mi/149 km)
Policies and fees
  • The freshwater pool will be closed for repairs from 1 - 7 April 2015. During this period, the saltwater lagoon will be available for use. Arrangements have been made for guests to enjoy access to the freshwater pool area at neighboring Kona Reef.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Royal Kona Resort Rooms

Alii Tower / Lagoon Tower Rooms
All guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Alii / Lagoon Tower Garden/Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.
Bay Tower Rooms
Offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Bay Tower Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Don the Beachcomber
Set oceanfront with sunsets and a tropical atmosphere, the Hotel presents Don the Beachcomber, a specialty-themed restaurant serving Pacific Fusion cuisine. This Restaurant is the newest addition to the Royal Kona Resort serving breakfast and dinner daily.
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Curving around the water's edge, features Hawaiian specialty drinks including the Original Mai Tai! In addition to the complete cocktail service in Kona's most spectacular location overlooking Kailua Bay, guests can enjoy lunch or appetizers (pupus) while watching dolphins, sea turtles and whales (seasonal) frolic in the ocean. This is the ideal spot for watching a Hawaiian sunset. Big screen television, dancing and entertainment scheduled throughout the week.
Lava Legends & Legacies Polynesian Luau
Featuring Kona's only oceanfront Luau, guests can enjoy an open bar and a feast of traditional Luau favorites. Watch as the evening begins with an authentic Imu ceremony and continues with a lively performance of song and dance that is common throughout the Pacific Islands. The evening of entertainment concludes with an incredible fire knife demonstration by the award winning Tihati Productions!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel provides over 25,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for small intimate gatherings or meeting to theatrical Theme Parties for up to 500 guests! Audio visual equipment is available to rent in addition to WIFI services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (454)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
454 out of 454
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cat Friend
Business
San Francisco
Nov 3, 2012

Nice time

We had a good time--the Royal Kona is old and bit rundown, but we still had a good time. We were on the water overlooking the Bay--it was utterly gorgeous. We kept the sliding door to the balcony open and listened to the waves all night. SO relaxing! Fantastic view. Would have appreciated a microwave to heat up leftovers. It was clean and nice just not Top of the Line or UltraModern. It was well within walking distance of almost everything in the town, so the location was great. Can't stress the view and waves sounds enough though! That was well worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss Huggo's on the Rocks or the Lava Java restaurants. Lots of fun and good food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
justin50b
Business
Bailey, Colorado
Nov 2, 2012

Nice

Very Nice and Clean establishment. although aged it keeps up with the modern hotels. Ammenities could have been a little better and more conveinient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

almost anything you'd want is within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael in Motion
Business
Santa Clarita, CA
Nov 1, 2012

Kona classic!

I thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Royal Kona Resort. It is wonderfully situated, being right on the ocean and right next to town. The staff are fantastically friendly and so helpful. Nothing can beat the value you get for the moderate price paid!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AngieeR
Business
Fairfield, CA
Oct 31, 2012

Beautiful Hotel!!

Absolutely enjoyed my stay at this hotel! While it is older it is nicely kept up and very comfortable and clean! Everyone was very nice and helpful whenever we needed something. I would definitely book this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barb from Reno
Business
Reno, NV
Oct 30, 2012

Fantastic location & compassionate staff

I love this hotel! My husband and I stayed here 20 years ago when this was a Hilton property, and it is much the same now as it was then - vintage Hawaii decor and a breathtaking oceanfront location within walking distance to the many shops & restaurants in the Kona/Kailua area. We had an oceanfront room in the Lagoon Tower, with the waves crashing below on the black rocks. It was incredible & mesmermizing to hear and see the waves, along with the stunning sunrises and sunsets. While we were there, my Dad quite unexpectedly went into hospice care in Chicago and I had to rush home. The staff approved a refund for my shortened stay and could not have been kinder or more compassionate. I will definitely return to this comfortable and welcoming resort many more times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We were able to find free street parking on the street in front of the hotel every night of our stay. Probably not possible all times of the year, but it worked out fine in the weeks after the Iron Man triathalon when the crowds were gone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iren2012
Business
Michigan, USA
Oct 23, 2012

Exotic place to stay

Exotic, beautiful, inspiring and mystical place! There was the only thing what upset me much: my room wasn't ready when i arrived at the hotel at 3p.m. My flight was too long -16 hours; and i was too tired to wait for an additional hour at the lobby when my room will be cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Delicious food, reasonable prices, inviting environment...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Island Girl Kelly
Business
Birmingham, AL
Oct 12, 2012

Royal Kona Resort

Ocean View Room had good view of ocean even though not one of the ocean front rooms. It is an older hotel, but rooms had been updated. Rooms were clean, but very little light in bathroom, so it felt a little closed in. The grounds were beautiful. Nice pool area overlooking ocean, but not really a beach. There is a nice sandy lagoon area where you can get in the water and lay out. Short walking distance of lots of restaurants and (mostly touristy) shops. Convenient to the main highway to get around island. Also had a decent Luau onsite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicken Katsu
Business
Honolulu,Hi
Oct 11, 2012

Happy Birthday!!!!!

We went sight seeing,Volcano,Waimea,Waipio Valley,Pollolu Lookout it was a breath taking exsperience one that I will never forget. Thankyou Aunty Veda-Rose for the Kona Coffee,you will always be remembered with my first cup every morning. I will be back to conquer Maunkea.Had a good night sleep.I expected a little more Hospitality and at least a great cup of coffee(Kona Coffee)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel has a Breakfast Bouffet, but across the street has a great menu and affordable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HANSOME HAYES
Business
kona
Oct 7, 2012

beautiful room but housekeeping was poor

Housekeeping not too good Restaurant way too expensive Parking is extra

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

prices much better than hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
llesneski
Business
Larkspur, California
Oct 6, 2012

Location is perfect

Positive experience except for the noise coming from the luau. Was very loud. Otherwise we enjoyed are stay very much and would recommend your hotel to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top