$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
458 out of 458
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nanners409
Business
Pennsylvania
Mar 5, 2013

50th anniversary

LOVE this hotel. Just spent our 50th anniversary here and couldn't of been better! great room! great view! staff outstanding! Our 2nd time staying at the Royal.....and hope to do so again in the near future.. Mahalo for making our anniversary a very memorable one. ;)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
patty perky
Business
lakewood, wa
Mar 3, 2013

Royal Kona

My room facing the ocean was fabulous. The roar of t he ocean, the views just couldn't be improved upon. however the last nite was a garden room & I was awakened to horns blowing & traffic noise. The hotel is in dire need of major uplift. Bthroom fixtures were rusty, popcorn ceilings cheap furniture. But the bones & the location are awesome & it was full on my last nite. I,m certain it was a fabulous place when it was first built.Service was so-so.Couldn't get a wine glass but had a small fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I had one meal there & it was very good. The only breakfast available was a $16. buffet but right next dooron the beach is a place where you can get excellant coffee &lighter fare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nateruns
Business
massachusetts
Feb 27, 2013

In need of an update but still nice

The Royal Kona really is in the perfect spot for the big island and the common areas are really amazing. As was the ocean view from our room. That said the carpet was very dirty and overall the room was a bit tired. As were the halls and elevators. The price was very reasonable. The location was tip top, the service was very good the lagoon was very neat and the patio and lounge were pretty top notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Monstera, short drive by Big Island standards for a great Japanese/sushi meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snorkelking
Business
michigan
Feb 27, 2013

Location and View are unbeatable

With an oceanfront location on Ali'i drive and a panoramic view of the ocean, coastline, and Kailua bay, you can't beat the Royal Kona. Restaurants and shopping are literally steps away from the hotel. Yes, the outdoor carpeting in the walkways has seen better days - who cares? The rooms are nice with a flat screen TV, comfortable beds, a table & chairs, a wet bar & fridge, and most importantly a large balcony. Its a great set up to relax and watch the sunset after a long day snorkeling and sightseeing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There is phenominal snorkeling in front of the Bay Tower of the hotel. Ignore the signs - there are plenty of people swimming/snorkeling in the bay everyday. We saw turtles, eels, tons of fish and even a manta ray!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pens5301
Business
columbia
Feb 27, 2013

Royal Kona

Great location within walking distance to great shops and resturants. Comfortable and friendly hotel. Recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Impressed with Hawaii
Business
Trail B.C.
Feb 18, 2013

Fantastic location

Just got back from the Royal Kona Hotel in Hawaii. I'll start off with the good points, very friendly and helpfull staff. The location is perfect the atmosphere around the Hotel is great. When I first got there I was impressed by the scenery and the layout of the Hotel. There are definately better Hotels around but for a highter price. First impression is very good, that is until you walk up to the front desk and see the condition of the front desk, ceiling, and the mail boxes behind the counter, They are in definate need of upgrading. Walking up to my room I noticed that they had carpeting which is in dire need of replacement. When I got to my room I was impressed with our view ( south tower facing south) but that was about all I was impressed with, The rooms are a throw back to the 70's, all of the furniture is in need of replacement, When I sat on my bed I was not impressed, I lifed my mattress up and found that the Hotel had put a 3/8 sheet of plywood between my mattress and boxspring instead of replacing them. The only nice thing about the rooms is they were clean. If you plan on staying here don't expect to be impressed by the rooms. You will also pay for the internet $4.95 a day for one week and $ 10.00 a day for parking, Other than that it's in a great location and the price is right, I met a local waitress right across the street and she pretty much summed the Royal Kona Hotel up in one sentence. She said "They act like they are 5 star Hotel when in reality there only a 2 1/2 star Hotel" I would have to agree with her statement!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of great restaurants within walking distance and for better prices. The Royal Kona Hotels Restaurants are not worth the price and the service is terrible the food okay. The servers are friendly and helpful but they were way over worked.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel buz
Business
Westmont, IL
Feb 17, 2013

Beautiful setting

Loved the hotel setting - the bar/grill opens up to the ocean. What a lovely view! Conveniently located near shops, restaurants, and nightly/daily entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TesKen
Business
Illinois
Feb 14, 2013

Wonderful Vacation

This was our second time staying at the Royal Kona and we loved it again. They gave us an excellent room (Oceanfront). The lagoon is wonderful to snorkel in, lots of fish, eels and even a turtle once in awhile. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The only thing they changed that I wish they didn't was that they don't give guests a coupon for breakfast anymore. We used that every morning last time we stayed and this time we did go to other places for breakfast. Our next trip to the Big Island, we will be staying here again. Thank you so much for a great stay Royal Kona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to everthing, dining, shopping, activities, beach etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CaryD
Business
Portland, OR
Feb 11, 2013

Great proximity to downtown

Rooms overlooking the inlet are great and location to downtown is terrific. However, you need to enjoy the nightlife because the bands at 3 clubs go till closing time. Beds could use updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

3 locations all within stumbling distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mushy
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 9, 2013

Winter break

Hotel is very retro and needs updating. We had booked a garden view room and what we got was a 2nd floor room overlooking the roof with the air conditioners running 24 hrs a day. When I asked about the room I was told that this is what is offered for a garden view room. I suggest when making your booking you talk to the hotel to be sure of what you are getting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top