$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
514 reviews
good staycation

i live on the island and had a very lovely time. my go to hotel when im looking for a nice getaway See full review

  • Mollykona
  • Jun 25, 2015
Excellent experience.

Staff ,room ,cleanliness ,all excellent. Would definitelyly stay there again! Went there for son's... See full review

  • Joseph W.
  • Jun 14, 2015
Perched on a lava-rock promontory on the edge of downtown Kailua-Kona, the Royal Kona Resort is a landmark hotel with renovated rooms and stellar ocean views. On site, guests find the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don's Mai Tai Bar. A tri-star shaped hotel built around an open-air lobby and surrounded by a tropical saltwater fishpond, the atmosphere captures the Big Island spirit without forgoing all the niceties of resort living. A sandy beach ledge, sheltered swimming lagoon and split-level swimming pool add to the romance.

 

Location
The oceanfront Royal Kona Resort is perched on a dramatic lava-rock bluff in Kailua-Kona town, just minutes from restaurants and shops. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, snorkeling, coffee and macadamia nut farms, big-game fishing and local-style charm.
Dining
The Royal Kona Resort is home to the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don’s Mai Tai Bar, where, of course, a mai tai is a must. Several nights a week, the Royal Kona Resort also presents an oceanfront luau and Polynesian revue. Restaurants are plentiful throughout Kailua-Kona.
Rooms
The tri-star shaped Royal Kona Resort has recently refurbished and remodeled its accommodations, resulting in a fresh, Island-contemporary atmosphere. Each alii, bay and lagoon tower guest room features a beautiful garden, mountain or ocean view, private balcony, air conditioning, TV, mini-refrigerator and high-speed wireless Internet access at the Royal Kona Resort (fees may apply).
Highlights
  • Split-level swimming pool
  • Fitness center
  • Legendary Don the Beachcomber restaurant and mai tai bar
  • Saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach
  • Evening luau and Polynesian revue
Nearby attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park (“Snorkel Beach”) (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.8 mi/149 km)
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.4 mi/15 km)

 

Recreation
Enjoy the Royal Kona Resort's split-level swimming pool, saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach, tennis courts (fees apply), fitness center and full-service spa (fees apply).

 

Policies

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Royal Kona Resort Rooms

Alii Tower / Lagoon Tower Rooms
All guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Alii / Lagoon Tower Garden/Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.
Bay Tower Rooms
Offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Bay Tower Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Don the Beachcomber
Set oceanfront with sunsets and a tropical atmosphere, the Hotel presents Don the Beachcomber, a specialty-themed restaurant serving Pacific Fusion cuisine. This Restaurant is the newest addition to the Royal Kona Resort serving breakfast and dinner daily.
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Curving around the water's edge, features Hawaiian specialty drinks including the Original Mai Tai! In addition to the complete cocktail service in Kona's most spectacular location overlooking Kailua Bay, guests can enjoy lunch or appetizers (pupus) while watching dolphins, sea turtles and whales (seasonal) frolic in the ocean. This is the ideal spot for watching a Hawaiian sunset. Big screen television, dancing and entertainment scheduled throughout the week.
Lava Legends & Legacies Polynesian Luau
Featuring Kona's only oceanfront Luau, guests can enjoy an open bar and a feast of traditional Luau favorites. Watch as the evening begins with an authentic Imu ceremony and continues with a lively performance of song and dance that is common throughout the Pacific Islands. The evening of entertainment concludes with an incredible fire knife demonstration by the award winning Tihati Productions!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel provides over 25,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for small intimate gatherings or meeting to theatrical Theme Parties for up to 500 guests! Audio visual equipment is available to rent in addition to WIFI services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
514 out of 514
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AngieeR
Fairfield, CA
Oct 31, 2012

Beautiful Hotel!!

Absolutely enjoyed my stay at this hotel! While it is older it is nicely kept up and very comfortable and clean! Everyone was very nice and helpful whenever we needed something. I would definitely book this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mollykona
Business
Kona
Jun 25, 2015

good staycation

i live on the island and had a very lovely time. my go to hotel when im looking for a nice getaway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alexandra M.
Business
Brooklyn
Jun 22, 2015

Beautiful honeymoon

My husband and I stood at The Royal Kona for our honeymoon and it was amazing. Our balcony room had a great view. We were able to see the Luau right from our balcony. It's close to EVERYTHING. Walking distance. Very clean, restaurant is a bit expensive but there are other restaurants near by that are reasonable. Overall an amazing experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joseph W.
Business
N/A
Jun 14, 2015

Excellent experience.

Staff ,room ,cleanliness ,all excellent. Would definitelyly stay there again! Went there for son's wedding, what a great experience, they even upgraded our room for no reason, my son and daughter in law arrived 1 day late because of Midwest blizzard, hotel upgraded their room no charge. Ocean front, loved it. Drove to volcano at night, just awesome, can't rave enough about our trip, we all just had a wonderful time! LuAu ,dinner cruise,whales,sunsets what a paradise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christine M.
Business
Portland
Jun 12, 2015

Great getaway

Loved every minute. Good service, location and amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AAAB
Business
Sydney
May 31, 2015

Relaxing family trip

Trip was simply to see another island while we are here. Kona was relaxing and the hotel was nice. I think that the Bay tower that we stayed at is reasonable for its price however may require a little renovation. Other than that the service was ok but the resort itself was lovely. It would have been great if we had a kettle in the room as we had kids, we needed to boil water regularly. We did request for one but it never came.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gypsieness
Business
Carmel Valley
May 31, 2015

Birthday trip

Lovely hotel on edge of town. Great staff who were orofessional and attentive to our needs. Stayed in main tower. Upgraded to room 508 with beautiful view of bay towards North side for reduced rate of $24 a night due to special occasion. Total cost of room $139 a night for partial ocean view in May.Thank you Linda ! Older hotel in town but then they all are. I perfer this one because of the ocean breeze and beautiful lobby/bar complete with columns surrounded by the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nina W.
Business
N/A
May 28, 2015

family stay

Our stay was okay , we did find a roach in the bathroom and there was a very big wet spot on the floor, the rack where you hang your towels had rust. But other then that it looks very pretty outside . Staff was very nice and friendly .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathleen K.
Business
GORE
May 26, 2015

Big island Vacation

We spent four nights at the Royal Kona Resort, and had an absolutely awesome time. We were blessed to be in a room with a wraparound lanai facing the ocean and the main street of Kailua-Kona. From the lanai, we watched dolphins, swimmers, boats, and one early morning saw a cruise ship come into port in a display of beautiful lighting. The courtyard outside our room in the central area of the tower, was stunning, with tall trees and beautiful flowers. The open air lobby was also wonderful, and it was so nice to have a glass of watermelon water when passing through. Shopping and restaurants (had breakfast at Bongo Ben's every morning!) were within easy walking distance. The Royal Kona was a fabulous hotel. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N/A
May 15, 2015

Wonderful! Location, Location, Location!

I came to Kona for my 60th birthday gift to myself. I had lived in Kona in the past for 8 years. Kona has changed, but this place still has that special Hawaiiana atmosphere without being priced too high...the pond of seawater is great! and Don The Beachcomber's bar and restaurant are among the nicest for fine drinks and dining...within walking distance are all sorts of eateries and shops ....and the OCEAN is right there! Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anna K.
Business
N/A
May 10, 2015

Great Value

I will definitely come back. The hotel is a bit on the older side, but a great value. I loved staying ocean in Kona! Falling asleep and walking up to the sounds of crashing ocean waves is the life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top