$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
453 reviews
A very good resort for family

The style of the resort - all openness and panoramic ocean view. I am happy just setting in the bar... See full review

  • Lady from Brisbane
  • Jul 23, 2014
Great get away

Quick check in Nice rooms in the lagoon tower Located on the bay on the edge of down town. Bar menu... See full review

  • GeoJo
  • Mar 13, 2014
Oceanfront Kailua resort features Don the Beachcomber mai tai heaven
Perched on a lava-rock promontory on the edge of downtown Kailua-Kona, the Royal Kona Resort is a landmark hotel with renovated rooms and stellar ocean views. On site, guests find the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don's Mai Tai Bar. A tri-star shaped hotel built around an open-air lobby and surrounded by a tropical saltwater fishpond, the atmosphere captures the Big Island spirit without forgoing all the niceties of resort living. A sandy beach ledge, sheltered swimming lagoon and split-level swimming pool add to the romance.

 

Highlights
  • Split-level swimming pool
  • Fitness center
  • Legendary Don the Beachcomber restaurant and mai tai bar
  • Saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach
  • Evening luau and Polynesian revue
Location
The oceanfront Royal Kona Resort is perched on a dramatic lava-rock bluff in Kailua-Kona town, just minutes from restaurants and shops. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, snorkeling, coffee and macadamia nut farms, big-game fishing and local-style charm.
Rooms
The tri-star shaped Royal Kona Resort has recently refurbished and remodeled its accommodations, resulting in a fresh, Island-contemporary atmosphere. Each alii, bay and lagoon tower guest room features a beautiful garden, mountain or ocean view, private balcony, air conditioning, TV, mini-refrigerator and high-speed wireless Internet access at the Royal Kona Resort (fees may apply).
Dining
The Royal Kona Resort is home to the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don’s Mai Tai Bar, where, of course, a mai tai is a must. Several nights a week, the Royal Kona Resort also presents an oceanfront luau and Polynesian revue. Restaurants are plentiful throughout Kailua-Kona.
Recreation
Enjoy the Royal Kona Resort's split-level swimming pool, saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach, tennis courts (fees apply), fitness center and full-service spa (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.4 mi/15 km)

 

Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park (“Snorkel Beach”) (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.8 mi/149 km)
Policies and fees
The pool will be closed from 23 September to 30 September. During this period, the private saltwater lagoon will remain available. Guests can also use the pool facilities at neighboring Kona Reef.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.6323 -155.9891
Area served
Kailua-Kona-Big Island of Hawaii, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-LOA
Area description
Unique and dramatic setting located overlooking beautiful Kailua Bay. Walking distance to historic Kailua-Kona town's shopping and attractions. Approximately 15 minutes south of Kona International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Royal Kona Resort Rooms

Alii Tower / Lagoon Tower Rooms
All guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Alii / Lagoon Tower Garden/Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.
Bay Tower Rooms
Offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Bay Tower Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel provides over 25,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for small intimate gatherings or meeting to theatrical Theme Parties for up to 500 guests! Audio visual equipment is available to rent in addition to WIFI services.

Dining

Don the Beachcomber
Set oceanfront with sunsets and a tropical atmosphere, the Hotel presents Don the Beachcomber, a specialty-themed restaurant serving Pacific Fusion cuisine. This Restaurant is the newest addition to the Royal Kona Resort serving breakfast and dinner daily.
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Curving around the water's edge, features Hawaiian specialty drinks including the Original Mai Tai! In addition to the complete cocktail service in Kona's most spectacular location overlooking Kailua Bay, guests can enjoy lunch or appetizers (pupus) while watching dolphins, sea turtles and whales (seasonal) frolic in the ocean. This is the ideal spot for watching a Hawaiian sunset. Big screen television, dancing and entertainment scheduled throughout the week.
Lava Legends & Legacies Polynesian Luau
Featuring Kona's only oceanfront Luau, guests can enjoy an open bar and a feast of traditional Luau favorites. Watch as the evening begins with an authentic Imu ceremony and continues with a lively performance of song and dance that is common throughout the Pacific Islands. The evening of entertainment concludes with an incredible fire knife demonstration by the award winning Tihati Productions!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (453)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
453 out of 453
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SidSux
Pasadena, California
Jul 20, 2012

Possibly one of the best locations in Kona

Right on the beach. You can enjoy your meal and drink while staring out to the endless Pacific! All shops and restaurants located close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seattle Nicholas
Seattle, WA
Aug 14, 2014

A Taste of Old Hawaii

This hotel has the feel of an Elvis movie without feeling old. Let's call it 'vintage chic.' Great location. We overlooked the lagoon, ocean and mountain side. The restaurant is excellent as well as the bar. (Special shout out to Misty the bartender. She mixes a mean drink and serves up some great sass.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ltdan1985
Cleveland, Ohio
Aug 13, 2014

Still waiting to for Hotel Managment to contact me

I stayed at this resort on August 5, 2014 and checked out on August 6, 2014. My trip was ruined because of the resort and treatment by staff after I was badly injured at resort. Around 4pm on August 5, 2014 I cut my toe severely while swimming in their lagoon. There was no warning sign at the deep part of the extremely dangerous lagoon. After getting injured as I bled all over the resort to guest services for first aide. When asking for help I was told to wait and was ignored. I then went to the bathroom since my accident was not important and got towels to try and stop the bleeding. Till a other guest got help for me. Then after 10-15 minutes security did a report and got me first aide. No one asked if I needed any help. Later that evening the wound would not stop bleeding and I had to go to ER in Kona where I had to get a shot, medication, and ended up sleeping in the hospital the majority of the night and not enjoying my hotel room bed. I am still waiting to hear back from the hotel management and what they plan to make up for my trip being bad. It's now approaching a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aussie JourneyMan
Gold Coast, Australia
Aug 9, 2014

Pass the blame Staff

Although a little dated on the outside, the resort has everything you need, EXCEPT for helpful staff. We had booked a tour for Mauna Kea and the company was unable to contact us with location changes. Unable to contact us directly, they called the Resort and left a message for us at 1:30pm, only for the front desk to unsuccessfully pass on the message when we checked in at 3:40pm. This resulted in us missing our tour. After speaking with the tour company and learning about the undelivered message, we then asked the front desk, and there was indeed a message waiting for us. The front desk then not only refused to take any responsibility for this, there was NO apology. Even when the "Activities" manager called our room, there was NO apology, they simply tried to blame the tour company.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of food/pubs nearby

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rickstar
michigan
Aug 6, 2014

great place

Hotel was older. But very clean. Grounds was well maintained. Lots of things to do with pool and lagoon. Food was great. Beautiful view of the ocean and ocean sound from our ocean view room . Staff was great and had a very relaxing quit stay. Thank you Royal Mona staff. Went here on our honeymoon ill be back with the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lost of showing close by along with night life.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leiser crew
Boston/Switzerland
Aug 3, 2014

Great stay!

Great location, awesome bar, awesome entrance! This is a really fun place to stay as a couple! Don'so tiki bar is downstairs, and Hugo's restaurant is next door. Great value and great size room. Not brand new, but, very clean and friendly and walking distance to downtown Kailua (5-10 minute walk).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OC Pro Traveller
Orange County
Jul 27, 2014

Good location, nice staff, dated rooms

The location of this hotel is right where all the restaurants are in Kona.There are plenty of places to walk to and have dinner or lunch. Parking is not included and it is $10/night. Staff is pleasant and helpful. The rooms are dated. Nothing Royal here. Old carpet, old furniture and new TV. The room we had was rather spacious and also had a big balcony. Bathroom is tiny. There was microwave and small fridge. This is a good hotel if luxury is not on your mind and want to save a couple bucks. I hope this will help someone decide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lady from Brisbane
Brisbane, Australia
Jul 23, 2014

A very good resort for family

The style of the resort - all openness and panoramic ocean view. I am happy just setting in the bar area, looking to the ever changing view of the sea - what a beautiful day. Staff are worm and caring, making one feel being taking care of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Umeke, a very nice lunch with fresh fish, salad and rice with around $13 - very good value.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mo Vacationer
Springfield, MO
Jun 27, 2014

Kona visitor

Room was very nice with a fantastic view of ocean surf. As to be expected though with a location constantly bombarded with salt air, most everything metal was rusting. Snorkeled lagoon pool with lots of fish to see. Within walking distance of all the shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sharron and Wayne
Wollongong, Sydney Australia
Jun 14, 2014

We love Royal Kona

My partner and I have stayed at the Royal Kona Resort two times both times for approximately 7 days each.We love this hotel.Its really well located and an easy walk to all the shops in Kona. The staff are friendly and helpful. The bar/restaurant is great and the food is delicious. You can sit on the balcony and watch the Luau and take in the beautiful sunsets. The only problem we have encountered is it can be alittle noisy if you have loud neighbours. You can really hear other doors shutting and people talking through the walls. We were kept awake until 3 in the morning on our last visit due to our rather noisey neighbours, but apart from that we would definately recommend the Royal Kona for couples or families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many delicious places to eat in Kona. Go for a walk an explore around the shops. Everybody has different "Happy Hours" too.

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cuban traveller
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jun 7, 2014

Average Experience

The hotel has good potential in terms of location, amenities, activities etc. May need some remodeling around the building. Had to actually switch rooms because the A/C was leaking water due to clogged and dirty A/C system. Most staff members are pleasant but the lady who checked us in and switched rooms the next day was unfriendly and unapproachable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search