$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
441 reviews
Hard to beat the location, price and amenities!

Can't think of a single complaint. Right at the southern end of Kona with everything in walking... See full review

  • JReagan
  • Dec 5, 2014
Old faithful

RKH is a grand dame hotel. Maybe a little long in the tooth but fundamentally classy bones and... See full review

  • Bibble
  • Dec 1, 2014
Oceanfront Kailua resort features Don the Beachcomber mai tai heaven
Perched on a lava-rock promontory on the edge of downtown Kailua-Kona, the Royal Kona Resort is a landmark hotel with renovated rooms and stellar ocean views. On site, guests find the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don's Mai Tai Bar. A tri-star shaped hotel built around an open-air lobby and surrounded by a tropical saltwater fishpond, the atmosphere captures the Big Island spirit without forgoing all the niceties of resort living. A sandy beach ledge, sheltered swimming lagoon and split-level swimming pool add to the romance.

 

Highlights
  • Split-level swimming pool
  • Fitness center
  • Legendary Don the Beachcomber restaurant and mai tai bar
  • Saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach
  • Evening luau and Polynesian revue
Location
The oceanfront Royal Kona Resort is perched on a dramatic lava-rock bluff in Kailua-Kona town, just minutes from restaurants and shops. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, snorkeling, coffee and macadamia nut farms, big-game fishing and local-style charm.
Rooms
The tri-star shaped Royal Kona Resort has recently refurbished and remodeled its accommodations, resulting in a fresh, Island-contemporary atmosphere. Each alii, bay and lagoon tower guest room features a beautiful garden, mountain or ocean view, private balcony, air conditioning, TV, mini-refrigerator and high-speed wireless Internet access at the Royal Kona Resort (fees may apply).
Dining
The Royal Kona Resort is home to the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don’s Mai Tai Bar, where, of course, a mai tai is a must. Several nights a week, the Royal Kona Resort also presents an oceanfront luau and Polynesian revue. Restaurants are plentiful throughout Kailua-Kona.
Recreation
Enjoy the Royal Kona Resort's split-level swimming pool, saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach, tennis courts (fees apply), fitness center and full-service spa (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.4 mi/15 km)

 

Attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park (“Snorkel Beach”) (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.8 mi/149 km)
Policies and fees
The pool will be closed from 23 September to 30 September. During this period, the private saltwater lagoon will remain available. Guests can also use the pool facilities at neighboring Kona Reef.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Royal Kona Resort Rooms

Alii Tower / Lagoon Tower Rooms
All guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Alii / Lagoon Tower Garden/Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.
Bay Tower Rooms
Offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Bay Tower Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel provides over 25,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for small intimate gatherings or meeting to theatrical Theme Parties for up to 500 guests! Audio visual equipment is available to rent in addition to WIFI services.

Dining

Don the Beachcomber
Set oceanfront with sunsets and a tropical atmosphere, the Hotel presents Don the Beachcomber, a specialty-themed restaurant serving Pacific Fusion cuisine. This Restaurant is the newest addition to the Royal Kona Resort serving breakfast and dinner daily.
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Curving around the water's edge, features Hawaiian specialty drinks including the Original Mai Tai! In addition to the complete cocktail service in Kona's most spectacular location overlooking Kailua Bay, guests can enjoy lunch or appetizers (pupus) while watching dolphins, sea turtles and whales (seasonal) frolic in the ocean. This is the ideal spot for watching a Hawaiian sunset. Big screen television, dancing and entertainment scheduled throughout the week.
Lava Legends & Legacies Polynesian Luau
Featuring Kona's only oceanfront Luau, guests can enjoy an open bar and a feast of traditional Luau favorites. Watch as the evening begins with an authentic Imu ceremony and continues with a lively performance of song and dance that is common throughout the Pacific Islands. The evening of entertainment concludes with an incredible fire knife demonstration by the award winning Tihati Productions!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (441)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
441 out of 441
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SidSux
Pasadena, California
Jul 20, 2012

Possibly one of the best locations in Kona

Right on the beach. You can enjoy your meal and drink while staring out to the endless Pacific! All shops and restaurants located close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JReagan
Business
Grass Valley, CA
Dec 5, 2014

Hard to beat the location, price and amenities!

Can't think of a single complaint. Right at the southern end of Kona with everything in walking distance. On site dining, bar, Luau, pool, lagoon, spa, exercise room, discount tours and attractions. What else is there?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy your junk and food at Walmart first.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bibble
Business
Philadelphia
Dec 1, 2014

Old faithful

RKH is a grand dame hotel. Maybe a little long in the tooth but fundamentally classy bones and comfortingly reliable. Really fabulous front desk staff, the food and service in the bar nothing woefully average, but with a spectacular sunset ocean setting like this, you won't really care.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make a left out of the hotel and enjoy a fabulous breakfast at Java on the Rock, my most favorite coffee shop in the world. It's Outdoor, literally oceanfront and nothing comes closer to my idea of morning in heaven than listening to the waves, drinking one if their delicious lattes with the sand between my toes,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tablet6
Business
California, USA
Nov 28, 2014

Its all about the location

Situated right in the heart of Kona. Hopping distance to all restaurants and shopping places. Hotel is old, have nice view of the ocean. We stayed for 5 nights. 6 miles to kalaulu beach (snorkeling) and Magic Sands beach. 10 miles to Coffee tours. But about 25 miles to Hapuna beach. Bathroom, beds, ventilation, everything is ooooold. But, man the location is just awesome. Parking is $10 per night. Luckily we found street parking for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Poloka
Business
Kailua-Kona
Nov 25, 2014

Yearly Hawaiian Vacation

Older hotel with a great location. Most of the staff is very friendly. This is about my 25th stay at this hotel and it was the worst room I have had due to noise and location within the building ... 2nd floor and the wrong end of the building. It is a fairly easy walk to most of what you might want to do in Kailua-Kona. Additional charges:$/day for parking, $/day wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

It is difficult to really see the island of Hawaii without a rental car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
picky cleannik
Business
NYC
Nov 20, 2014

Pleasantly surprised

I arrived at the resort on Halloween night, which set the stage for the rest my stay. The hotel's location could not be better in terms of connecting to the heart of Kailua. It also has the best proximity to the ocean, with excellent views of both the Pacific and the bay. The bar pool and breakfast area are directly on the water, and beautiful. The morning glow of the Pacific is magical.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Manago Hotel in Captain Cook serves simple and delicious home style Hawaiian food in a simple lodge-like dining room. It's famous for its pork chops, and the butter fish literally melts in your mouth. It was constructed in 1917 by the Manago brothers, and is now owned by Dwight Manago--third generation. The Teshima restaurant in Honalo (just north of Captain Cook) serves delicious Japanese food--again in a simple setting--particularly the ahi--best I've ever had!! Both are a 15-20 minute drive from the Kailua-Kona strip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crisscross usa
Business
Santa Clara County, California
Nov 14, 2014

Great resort

Loved my time here..had only 2 negatives tof my stay. Our luau was canceled due to kitchen issues. They tried to reschedule us, but we had other events. We ended up doing the much more expensive luau a few blocks over from Royal Kona. The other is I wish they had a hot tub. Otherwise, their lagoon was awesome, the pool & bar had great views & everyone was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NanaJo1
Business
Mt Home, Idaho
Sep 28, 2014

Birthday Getaway

We love this hotel and go almost every year for my birthday. The only complaints are the internet is not worth what you pay for. Several times we ended up at a restaurant that had internet service so we could send emails and videos to friends and family. Our last day there we had to call to have our room cleaned and get fresh towels so we could get ready to go to dinner. Overall we love this place and the lagoon where we can relax and snorkel. You can walk into town for gifts and dining choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several places to eat, Huggins, Lava Java and Bubba Bumps.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KAP1
Business
Silver Spring, Maryland
Aug 21, 2014

Royal Kona-August-2014

Great location on the big island of HI. The builidng is rather outdated (late 1960s). Amenities are OK. Does have a seaside enclave for a salty swim. The interriors of the detached building needs serious refurbishing. The carpets are old and the tiled floors are worn out. The off-season rate was competitive. Good Luau!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sheraton and Marriott are higher cost but much better options (not close to Kona City area).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seattle Nicholas
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 14, 2014

A Taste of Old Hawaii

This hotel has the feel of an Elvis movie without feeling old. Let's call it 'vintage chic.' Great location. We overlooked the lagoon, ocean and mountain side. The restaurant is excellent as well as the bar. (Special shout out to Misty the bartender. She mixes a mean drink and serves up some great sass.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ltdan1985
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Aug 13, 2014

Still waiting to for Hotel Managment to contact me

I stayed at this resort on August 5, 2014 and checked out on August 6, 2014. My trip was ruined because of the resort and treatment by staff after I was badly injured at resort. Around 4pm on August 5, 2014 I cut my toe severely while swimming in their lagoon. There was no warning sign at the deep part of the extremely dangerous lagoon. After getting injured as I bled all over the resort to guest services for first aide. When asking for help I was told to wait and was ignored. I then went to the bathroom since my accident was not important and got towels to try and stop the bleeding. Till a other guest got help for me. Then after 10-15 minutes security did a report and got me first aide. No one asked if I needed any help. Later that evening the wound would not stop bleeding and I had to go to ER in Kona where I had to get a shot, medication, and ended up sleeping in the hospital the majority of the night and not enjoying my hotel room bed. I am still waiting to hear back from the hotel management and what they plan to make up for my trip being bad. It's now approaching a week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top