$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 24, 2015

Royal Kona Resort

3 stars
View map of 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona (Big Island), HI 96740

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
431 reviews
amazing

We where a little skeptical because of reviews. But once we arrived we where in aww . This place... See full review

  • Nicole B.
  • Jul 24, 2015
Great place to stay and enjoy the ocean view. Great Luau!

We enjoyed our stay very much. We had a nice view from our balcony. Our only complaint about the... See full review

  • Nyla W.
  • Jul 19, 2015

The Royal Kona Resort in Kona, located on the Big Island of Hawaii, sits on the tip of Kailua Bay, and its spacious rooms are located in three towers: the center Alii Tower, the south Lagoon Tower and the north Bay Tower. Guests enjoy magnificent views of the Pacific Ocean, a private lagoon, Kailua Bay, tropical gardens and a seaside town.

 

Kailua-Kona is located on the Big Island’s leeward side and offers protection from prevailing winds. This means little rain and an average year-round temperature of 70-80 degrees Fahrenheit, which is perfect for enjoying the beach, pool or lanai.

Location
The oceanfront Royal Kona Resort is perched on a dramatic lava-rock bluff in Kailua-Kona town, just minutes from restaurants and shops. The Kona region is a favorite Big Island destination for its sunshine, snorkeling, coffee and macadamia nut farms, big-game fishing and local-style charm.
Dining
The Royal Kona Resort is home to the legendary Don the Beachcomber Restaurant and Don’s Mai Tai Bar, where, of course, a mai tai is a must. Several nights a week, the Royal Kona Resort also presents an oceanfront luau and Polynesian revue. Restaurants are plentiful throughout Kailua-Kona.
Rooms
The tri-star shaped Royal Kona Resort has recently refurbished and remodeled its accommodations, resulting in a fresh, Island-contemporary atmosphere. Each alii, bay and lagoon tower guest room features a beautiful garden, mountain or ocean view, private balcony, air conditioning, TV, mini-refrigerator and high-speed wireless Internet access at the Royal Kona Resort (fees may apply).
Highlights

The Royal Kona Resort is full service with an oceanfront swimming pool, lighted tennis courts, The Lotus Center spa, full-service hair salon and private swimming lagoon on Kailua Bay. The resort takes advantage of ocean views. The Don the Beachcomber Restaurant, described as Polynesian retro-tiki chic, was designed by tiki architect George Wimberly and sits on the water’s edge.

 

The oceanfront, open air Don’s Mai Tai Bar has a 360-degree ocean view, and Don’s Breezeway Lounge delivers a better full-ocean view. The Royal Kona Luau is an oceanfront production with Hawaiian-style buffet, Samoan fire dance and other exciting activities. The historic Kona Town, filled with shops and restaurants, is within walking distance.

Nearby attractions
  • Hulihee Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Downtown Kailua-Kona (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Kahaluu Beach Park (“Snorkel Beach”) (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (19.2 mi/30.9 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Captain Cook) (92.8 mi/149 km)
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (9.4 mi/15 km)

 

Recreation
Enjoy the Royal Kona Resort's split-level swimming pool, saltwater swimming lagoon and mini-beach, tennis courts (fees apply), fitness center and full-service spa (fees apply).

 

Policies

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Kona Resort also booked these hotels.

★★
$100
3.6 / 5 218 reviews
★★★
$135
4.0 / 5 137 reviews
★★★
$179
4.1 / 5 69 reviews
★★★
$179
4.4 / 5 10 reviews
★★★
$137
3.9 / 5 72 reviews
★★★
$165
3.8 / 5 25 reviews
★★★
$108
5.0 / 5 6 reviews

Royal Kona Resort Rooms

Alii Tower / Lagoon Tower Rooms
All guestrooms in the Alii and Lagoon Towers were completely remodeled in 2006, offering guests a fresh, new, contemporary decor. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Alii / Lagoon Tower Garden/Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.
Bay Tower Rooms
Offers travelers a choice of comfortable, value-priced guestrooms which were refurbished in 2001. All guestrooms feature large open-air lanai and mini-refrigerators. Available room categories include: Bay Tower Standard, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View and Oceanfront.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel provides over 25,000 square feet of function space that is ideal for small intimate gatherings or meeting to theatrical Theme Parties for up to 500 guests! Audio visual equipment is available to rent in addition to WIFI services.

Dining

Don the Beachcomber
Set oceanfront with sunsets and a tropical atmosphere, the Hotel presents Don the Beachcomber, a specialty-themed restaurant serving Pacific Fusion cuisine. This Restaurant is the newest addition to the Royal Kona Resort serving breakfast and dinner daily.
Don's Mai Tai Bar
Curving around the water's edge, features Hawaiian specialty drinks including the Original Mai Tai! In addition to the complete cocktail service in Kona's most spectacular location overlooking Kailua Bay, guests can enjoy lunch or appetizers (pupus) while watching dolphins, sea turtles and whales (seasonal) frolic in the ocean. This is the ideal spot for watching a Hawaiian sunset. Big screen television, dancing and entertainment scheduled throughout the week.
Lava Legends & Legacies Polynesian Luau
Featuring Kona's only oceanfront Luau, guests can enjoy an open bar and a feast of traditional Luau favorites. Watch as the evening begins with an authentic Imu ceremony and continues with a lively performance of song and dance that is common throughout the Pacific Islands. The evening of entertainment concludes with an incredible fire knife demonstration by the award winning Tihati Productions!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Royal Kona Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
431 out of 431
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SidSux
Friends
Pasadena, California
Jul 20, 2012

Possibly one of the best locations in Kona

Right on the beach. You can enjoy your meal and drink while staring out to the endless Pacific! All shops and restaurants located close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shay B.
Couples
Tacoma
Jul 26, 2015

Post deployment vacation

Decent recent, especially for the price! The location realistically gets no better, since google maps didn't even prepare me for the closeness to all of the downtown bars, restaurants, shops and even the Kona pier. Most reviews are right saying it's slightly outdated, but it's comfortable, nice clean white beds, amazingly cool AC (because who doesn't love waking up freezing and not wanting to get out of bed on vacation?). We did pay for parking which was probably worth it considering it'd be a little harder to always find parking with the area being so busy in the summertime. The luau at the resort was great as well. Mediocre pool with slightly dingy looking water, but the view from the pool deck was amazing. Great and friendly staff, literally greeting you any and everywhere. Overall, a great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dmgal
Couples
Rollinsville
Jul 25, 2015

Always like staying here

You can't beat the location for the heart of Kona right on the ocean and the staff is very friendly. Not luxury but rooms are big and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicole B.
Couples
N/A
Jul 24, 2015

amazing

We where a little skeptical because of reviews. But once we arrived we where in aww . This place just sealed the deal to bring my whole family.. the hotel was amazing, all those reviews about needing a upgrade was kinda upsetting . Who really goes to Hawaii to sit in there room anyway.. we will return next year for a longer stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ravi P.
Family
N/A
Jul 22, 2015

Old rooms

No Wifi access. Old rooms and carpet. Pool is very small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nyla W.
Couples
N/A
Jul 19, 2015

Great place to stay and enjoy the ocean view. Great Luau!

We enjoyed our stay very much. We had a nice view from our balcony. Our only complaint about the room was the air conditioning. The vent was high above our bed, and blew cold air right down on us. It was also very noisy. My husband booked a fishing charter for one day. We attended the luau which was great! The rest of the time we just did some sightseeing. shopping, and went to a couple beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ric
Family
Philadelphia
Jul 17, 2015

great family vacation

We stayed 2 nights here. The hotel is fantastic, right in the beach. Minutes walking to get food and supplies. The bar is excellent. Room is spacious. Very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jukid
Couples
Mableton
Jul 11, 2015

Honeymoon

Staff placed champagne bottle in our room as a gift for honeymoon. Super happy for that. Hotel was great. No problems. Love it all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Howard C.
Single
Naperville
Jul 11, 2015

Very nice location next to the ocean

Yes it met my expectations. Great location and close to shopping areas and convenient to go north and south and close to the airport......,,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CKIM
Family
oakland
Jul 2, 2015

Royal Kona - no frills

We stopped overnight here before heading to the other side of the isle and chose it mostly for the on-line deals we could find. Like other reviews, agree with dated despite supposed renovation. This is especially noticeable in the bathrooms with the fixtures and general functions of shower/tub and electrical, lighting. Rooms are spacious (request ocean views and upper floors) and the hotel is family friendly with helpful staff that are accessible except when you are competing with large group tours. Would recommend that the hotel focuses on improving breakfast options (especially the warm food/eggs) sliding doors need to be upgraded linen quality in terms of swim towels and room towels spend money to upgrade bathrooms and carpeting in rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Royal Kona Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mollykona
Couples
Kona
Jun 25, 2015

good staycation

i live on the island and had a very lovely time. my go to hotel when im looking for a nice getaway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top