$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
81 reviews
Weekend Getaway

We stayed here two years ago and loved it. Coming back was just as enjoyable. We explored other... See full review

  • MikWra
  • Oct 2, 2014
No better place...

Been here before. Visited other hotels. No comparison. BEST hotel for walk-to snorkling. Beautiful... See full review

  • luv Mauna Lani
  • Aug 17, 2014
Waikoloa beachfront dream resort with golf, tennis, full spa and yoga
Fronting a luscious turquoise bay lined with powdery white sand, Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers guests a picture-perfect location in South Kohala's upscale Waikoloa. With award-winning tennis and spa amenities, grand guest accommodations -- nearly all with ocean views -- and unique activities such as turtle feeding, Travel + Leisure magazine consistently rates the resort as one of the "Top Hotels in the World."
Highlights
  • Join in the resort's many activities, ranging from historic petroglyph tours to beachside yoga classes
  • Tennis courts, ranked one of the "Top 50 Tennis Resorts" by Tennis Magazine
  • Experience one of the "World's Best Spas" per Travel + Leisure magazine, built to resemble a Hawaiian village
Location
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows is less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona, in the upscale and sunny community of Waikoloa. The resort fronts a sugary beach and cove, neighbored by an ancient fishpond. Guests enjoy excellent shopping at two malls several miles away.
Rooms
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers deluxe guest rooms with mountain, garden or ocean views and Beachfront Bungalows with private plunge pools. Guest rooms include a private balcony, personal bar, LCD flat-screen TV, Internet access and daily housekeeping service.
Features
Recreation
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers excellent recreational activities. Get friends together for a game of sand volleyball, or sign up for a class at the fitness center (fees may apply). For guests craving a bit of history, the hotel offers historic and educational tours and classes. The resort is also home to a spa, tennis club and two championship golf courses (fees apply).
Dining
Mauna Lani Bay offers a variety of dining experiences ranging from in-room private dining to the hotel's signature restaurant, The Canoehouse, serving fresh Island cuisine and a Wine Spectator "Award of Excellence" wine selection.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (22.4 mi/36.1 km)
Attractions
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (5 mi/8 km)
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Hapuna Beach (6.8 mi/11 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (28.6 mi/46 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (48.3 mi/77.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (102 mi/164 km)
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $25 plus tax per room per night inclusive of parking, Internet access, and other amenities and discounts.

  • Overnight parking fee is $18.00 plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows Rooms

Ocean View Room
The Ocean View guest rooms feature excellent views of the beach, ocean and the dynamic Kohala coast. In winter it is common to see humpback whales breaching. This room is perfect for guests who prefer to experience sunset or sunrise over the Pacific from the comfort of their private lanai
Standard Room
Overlooking the Mauna Kea Mountain, these rooms are the most affordable of the luxury guest rooms.
Garden View Room
The Garden View guest rooms offer views of the beautiful gardens of Mauna Lani Resort. This room is perfect for guests who prefer lush greenery.
Ocean Front Room
The Ocean Front guest rooms directly overlook the beach, palms and straight out onto the warm Pacific Ocean. The views are, of course, spectacular. In winter, it is common to see humpback whales breaching

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Dining

Mountain Thunder Coffee Lanai
Hours: 7 days; 6am - 4pm
Huli Sue's at Mauna Lani
Located at the Golf Clubhouse overlooking the Golf Course and Kohala Coast. Daily Lunch 11:00am - 4:00 pm Dinner Tuesday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
The CanoeHouse
Enjoy a creative farm-to-table menu of island fresh cuisine with a contemporary flair, as you relax and enjoy scenic Kohala Coast sunsets. Chef's Bites are served in the CanoeHouse Lounge. Seasonal Summer Schedule: Dinner served Tuesday - Saturday from 5:30 pm - 8:45 pm. Dinner reservations recommended. Call 808-881-7911, complimentary valet parking. Enjoy live entertainment from 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm. (Solo musician)
The Bay Terrace
The open-air garden setting of the Bay Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy a taste of the islands. Breakfast features a bountiful buffet and ala carte menu. Lunch offers fresh salads, sandwiches and island favorites including tropical drinks. Signature Dinner Buffets are served Sunday & Monday evenings. Dinner Buffet reservations are recommended. Call 881-7911 Breakfast Buffet: 6:30 am - 10:00 am Sample Menu Breakfast Ala Carte: 6:30 am -10:30 am Lunch: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm Sample Menu Dinner Buffets 5:00 pm - 8:30 pm Sunday & Monday

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 81
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aaronsdadd
Business
Southern California
Dec 1, 2014

Excellent staff, world class sunsets offset disappointments

The best feature of this hotel was the staff!!! Everyone at the front desk was very helpful and the valet staff was outstanding. We were very dissatisfied with our standard room (parking lot view) and moved tiwce before upgrading to a partial ocean view. The room was well appointed except for the dresser. Nice pool and hot tub area. What was most disapointing was the food and drinks at the beach. Just expected better from a such a highly rated resort - expensive and bland. Our best meals and drinks were all off-property. Location is great for going just about anywhere. Go to the Famer's Market in Waimea - it's a real treat and slice of Hawaii life! Just wasn't the value we expected. Aloaha spirit of the staff keeps it a winner. AMAZING sunsets, from the beach or if you are up high enough,your room and take a nap in the hammocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Talk to the locals and dine out. Better values and a chance to get authentic island food. Ippy's, Three Fat Pigs and the food at the Farmer's Market in Waimea are all treats!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shrk
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 19, 2014

Good option

Room was really nice and the location is great. Staff was pleasant. The food was ok, though not a lot of options on site. Seemed a bit pricey for what you got. We ended up doing most dinners at the Fairmont up the road. I think next time we would either go a bit cheaper - i.e., the Hilton, or more up market - i.e., the Fairmont.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MikWra
Business
Temecula, CA
Oct 2, 2014

Weekend Getaway

We stayed here two years ago and loved it. Coming back was just as enjoyable. We explored other resorts in the area for possibilities, but we continue to return to the Mauna Lani. Perfect if you want direct access to excellent beach, pool. We prefer a location with few children, so this was perfect for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jetena
Business
Los Angeles, California
Sep 21, 2014

Great vacation

The staff were very friendly. Facility is great! We we upgraded to an ocean view room...huge bonus. The snorkeling is wonderful. Gear is included with the resort fee. Great service all around. We had a late flight 9:55 pm. While we we not granted a late check-out. We were allowed to use all hotel amenities and were given a hospitality room to shower and relax before we left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a shopping area with food court about a 2 mile drive down the highway. Here the food is reasonably priced. Hotel dining is a bit expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
luv Mauna Lani
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 17, 2014

No better place...

Been here before. Visited other hotels. No comparison. BEST hotel for walk-to snorkling. Beautiful grounds, with amazing staff. Will be booking again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Some of the BEST snorkling on the Big Island is a 10-minute walk from this hotel. No other hotel can say that!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sc82
Business
Newport Beach, CA
Jul 30, 2014

Mauna Lani

We have been coming here for 25 plus years. The ambiance is so perfect, laid back, and beautiful. Many of the staff members have been there for the long run and add to the charm. Mike, the beach bar, bartender is a gem and recognizes generations of customers. A relatively new addition is Chef Allen at the Canoe House who is really terrific. The only drawback is the tear down of the the beach restaurant which has led to a more limited beach menu. They are working on adding an outdoor grill which would be terrific. If you which to relax in a beautiful place and be completed relaxed, the Mauna Lani is the perfect spot. We will continue to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a shopping center within the complex complete with a market and restaurants. Easy bike, shuttle or walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
schmoemeister
Business
Spokane, WA
Apr 17, 2014

Has it all!

We stayed in Kona at a small condo and near Hilo in a cottage and ended our stay on the big island here at this beautiful place. Our room was so nice and the lanai overlooked the ocean and the pool (didn't expect that as we couldn't afford a "ocean view" room). Wonderful HOT hot tubs and the pool was brand new. Nice padded beach chairs with big cushy towels and cabanas at the beach and poolside and there were plenty to go around so you didn't have to scout out a place in the morning! You can rent snorkel gear right there on the beach (it was free if you get an upgrade on your day fee which also included a bunch of other stuff). We took the snorkel gear and walked a bit along the beautiful fish ponds to a WONDERFUL snorkeling area and a stunning beach. Staff was VERY friendly and food was wonderful at the bay cafe. My husband even took a water color class from a wonderful artist poolside one day - he LOVED it! We would go back in a heartbeat. You could stay here and not even need a car - has it all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We loved the Kona Brewing Company down in Kona (about 1/2 hr. drive) for lunch or dinner. Wonderful staff, food and just fun!! Beachside in Kona we also recommend Bongo Bens for breakfast and the Ono fish and chips at Quinns. There is a great place between the airport and Kona as well called the Pine Tree Cafe that had excellent food at a great price as well!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irma S.
Business
Seattle
Feb 6, 2014

Love the hotel

So much history - right next to the Royal Fishing grounds. Beautiful beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Happy hour at Ruth Chris steakhouse

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
infernoc
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
May 9, 2013

Ok. But Not Great. Did not feel like a 4 star hotel in the end.

Beware when booking a "not refundable rate". If concerns come up. The front desk treated us as if, what did you expect you booked through a discount site. *But to be fair when we brought up our concern to the manager. They comped our parking and sent us a complementary amenities at the next hotel we stayed at which was very nice. Note: the standard rooms face inward on the valet and parking lot and the hotel had 3 floors. So you are close to comings and goings a the hotel. Random things we observed: Sheets were scratchy, toilet paper was cheap, there is no separate light in the bathroom, and no black out curtains. All in all if you get for an amazing price it would be worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great Hawaiian Plate lunch place. Ippys Hawaiian Barbeque

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donna and Kevin
Business
Napa
Feb 12, 2013

What a Paradise!

We loved the Mauna Lani! It was more than we expected and cannot wait to go back. Very lovely and private with great amenities and such good food on site. The beach is so wonderful there... I chose Mauna Lani because of the ancient fishponds and petroglyphs and that history made it very special! I fell in love with the Sting Ray on site and visited him often. Shops, restaurants and an upscale grocery store were really close to hotel and such a nice convenience. We spent more than one Happy Hour at Tommy Bahamas restaurant for the fabulous coconut prawns watching the sunset. Simply paradise... We'll be back very, very soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Do the free guided tour to see all the different fish and turtles on the property. Also, the ancient fish ponds and petroglyphs on the property made this property very special and magical for us!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top