$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
80 reviews
Weekend Getaway

We stayed here two years ago and loved it. Coming back was just as enjoyable. We explored other... See full review

  • MikWra
  • Oct 2, 2014
No better place...

Been here before. Visited other hotels. No comparison. BEST hotel for walk-to snorkling. Beautiful... See full review

  • luv Mauna Lani
  • Aug 17, 2014
Waikoloa beachfront dream resort with golf, tennis, full spa and yoga
Fronting a luscious turquoise bay lined with powdery white sand, Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers guests a picture-perfect location in South Kohala's upscale Waikoloa. With award-winning tennis and spa amenities, grand guest accommodations -- nearly all with ocean views -- and unique activities such as turtle feeding, Travel + Leisure magazine consistently rates the resort as one of the "Top Hotels in the World."
Highlights
  • Join in the resort's many activities, ranging from historic petroglyph tours to beachside yoga classes
  • Tennis courts, ranked one of the "Top 50 Tennis Resorts" by Tennis Magazine
  • Experience one of the "World's Best Spas" per Travel + Leisure magazine, built to resemble a Hawaiian village
Location
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows is less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona, in the upscale and sunny community of Waikoloa. The resort fronts a sugary beach and cove, neighbored by an ancient fishpond. Guests enjoy excellent shopping at two malls several miles away.
Rooms
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers deluxe guest rooms with mountain, garden or ocean views and Beachfront Bungalows with private plunge pools. Guest rooms include a private balcony, personal bar, LCD flat-screen TV, Internet access and daily housekeeping service.
Features
Recreation
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers excellent recreational activities. Get friends together for a game of sand volleyball, or sign up for a class at the fitness center (fees may apply). For guests craving a bit of history, the hotel offers historic and educational tours and classes. The resort is also home to a spa, tennis club and two championship golf courses (fees apply).
Dining
Mauna Lani Bay offers a variety of dining experiences ranging from in-room private dining to the hotel's signature restaurant, The Canoehouse, serving fresh Island cuisine and a Wine Spectator "Award of Excellence" wine selection.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (22.4 mi/36.1 km)
Attractions
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (5 mi/8 km)
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Hapuna Beach (6.8 mi/11 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (28.6 mi/46 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (48.3 mi/77.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (102 mi/164 km)
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $25 plus tax per room per night inclusive of parking, Internet access, and other amenities and discounts.

  • Overnight parking fee is $18.00 plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.9437 -155.8666
Area served
Kohala Coast - Kona, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-KOA
Area description
On 29 oceanfront acres at Kalahuipua'a on the Big Island's Kohala Coast, 23 miles north of the Kona International Airport. Flanked by Mauna Kea, Mauna Loa, Hualalai and the ancient Kohala Mountains in the distance. On Makaiwa Bay and three miles of secluded shoreline. Part of the 3,200 - acre Mauna Lani Resort located on ancient 16th century Kaniku lava flow and dotted with 15 acres of ancient springfed Hawaiian fishponds; historic park and preserves with petroglyphs; shelter caves and the restored King's Trail, Ala Loa. Lush grounds and ten spectacular man-made ponds teeming with tropical fish and Hawaiian green sea turtles. Seven inches of rainfall annually; average temperature 78' Fahrenheit.

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows Rooms

Ocean View Room
The Ocean View guest rooms feature excellent views of the beach, ocean and the dynamic Kohala coast. In winter it is common to see humpback whales breaching. This room is perfect for guests who prefer to experience sunset or sunrise over the Pacific from the comfort of their private lanai
Standard Room
Overlooking the Mauna Kea Mountain, these rooms are the most affordable of the luxury guest rooms.
Garden View Room
The Garden View guest rooms offer views of the beautiful gardens of Mauna Lani Resort. This room is perfect for guests who prefer lush greenery.
Ocean Front Room
The Ocean Front guest rooms directly overlook the beach, palms and straight out onto the warm Pacific Ocean. The views are, of course, spectacular. In winter, it is common to see humpback whales breaching

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Dining

Mountain Thunder Coffee Lanai
Hours: 7 days; 6am - 4pm
Huli Sue's at Mauna Lani
Located at the Golf Clubhouse overlooking the Golf Course and Kohala Coast. Daily Lunch 11:00am - 4:00 pm Dinner Tuesday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
The CanoeHouse
Enjoy a creative farm-to-table menu of island fresh cuisine with a contemporary flair, as you relax and enjoy scenic Kohala Coast sunsets. Chef's Bites are served in the CanoeHouse Lounge. Seasonal Summer Schedule: Dinner served Tuesday - Saturday from 5:30 pm - 8:45 pm. Dinner reservations recommended. Call 808-881-7911, complimentary valet parking. Enjoy live entertainment from 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm. (Solo musician)
The Bay Terrace
The open-air garden setting of the Bay Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy a taste of the islands. Breakfast features a bountiful buffet and ala carte menu. Lunch offers fresh salads, sandwiches and island favorites including tropical drinks. Signature Dinner Buffets are served Sunday & Monday evenings. Dinner Buffet reservations are recommended. Call 881-7911 Breakfast Buffet: 6:30 am - 10:00 am Sample Menu Breakfast Ala Carte: 6:30 am -10:30 am Lunch: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm Sample Menu Dinner Buffets 5:00 pm - 8:30 pm Sunday & Monday

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anchorage, Alaska
Jun 6, 2010

Finest in the World

Like a heavenly retreat from the noisy world. Most things complementary; shuttle, parking, bicycles, water toys, marshmallow toasting, etc. Turtles everywhere! Stunning golf, hit it over the ocean on one hole. Shallow bay for kids, another deeper bay with stunning coral reefs and lots of fish. Sit under their famous blue cabanas and watch the ocean. Food excellent, pricing usual for resorts. Nearby shopping plus grocery store for fruit and sandwiches,etc, AND great Japanese food restaurant, also Tommy Bahama's and Ruth's Chris. Mauna Lani is a smaller, intimate, luxury hotel to really get away and recharge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Didn't use the rental car at all. Stayed on grounds, used their free valet parking, shuttle or walk to shops where you can shop at the grocery store for food and snacks. Also great juice/smoothie place too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OAKLAND, CA
May 10, 2008

Great Honeymoon Spot

Lucky us. We've ben to Kona for 12 consecutive years but this was our first stay at the Mauna Lani. We chose this resort for our honeymoon, (second marriages for us and we're over 60). We had a great room and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and the lovely grounds. Rooms are large and a bit more old world than we were accustomed to but as it turned out there were a lot of great features that were not initially obvious. The grounds are extensive and very well maintained. The fitness was excellent and we went every day. The best was the staff people that greeted us upon arrival and the very personal attention paid to getting us settled in. We will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Good shopping and excellent selection of restaurants nearby. It is within walking distance as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Carolina
May 14, 2010

Finding paradise in paradise

The grounds were lush and beautiful, making exploring delightful. Fish and turtle ponds with numerous breeds were fun to watch. Since the service was excellent and there was ample space in both the room and bath area, the whole experience was most relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
May 25, 2010

Fabulous!

We went for our honeymoon and they upgraded us to an ocean view room for free and had a bottle of champagne set up in our room. Our departing flight wasn't until 8 pm and they allowed us a late checkout time for free. Loved the comfy robes and slippers provided for us as well as the nightly turn down service that included fresh bottled water and orchids on our pillows. Mauna Lani provides tasteful recycling containers in each room for those empty water bottles. We also appreciated that the hotel has preserved important historical and cultural aspects of the property like ancient fishing ponds and petroglyphs. The beach is lovely. Sea turtles swimming right along the shore or even sunbathing on the sand! We rented a car, a mustang convertible and would highly recommend it! It was one of the highlights to be driving around the island with the top down! The Big Island is not huge, thus day trips are easy to plan. The concierge desk gave us a list of places to visit and along with the free guide books every where, we were able to see so many great things! Before we arrived in Hawaii, we booked a helicopter tour and a star gazing tour, would also highly recommend both! The grocery store at the shops just down the road has great prices. We bought breakfast food, snacks, and even some souvenirs there. Actually, we thought the gift shop at the hotel to be pretty well priced too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson, WY
Jul 14, 2007

Best Honeymoon Spot or Getaway!

Loved it! Loved it! Loved it! From the moment we arrived, bleary eyed from the trip, we were treated so special! The check-in with the beautiful leis... THEY CARE! We had dinner the first night at their bar which was perfect. The rooms were lovely. The grounds were spectacular! I cannot say enough good things about this resort! We were baby boomers on our honeymoon. (second marriage) We tried all of the restaurants. All were superb! Lunch at the Gallery was a special treat! Dinner twice at the Canoe House where the staff will take pictures of you with the sunset background. We were able to explore the entire island without being worried about being on the American Plan. We could go into Kona or travel to Hilo for dinner. That helped us experience the entire island. If I could come back again, count us in for the Mauni Lani Resort! Great for families, honeymooners, or people wanting to see the Big Island. Did I mention the beautiful room, the great staff, the maids that cleaned, but never intruded. DELUXE!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Aug 27, 2008

Awesome Resort in Hawaii

This is the best hotel in Hawaii! It's beautiful, environment friendly and a great value! The hotel staff are all extremely friendly, helpful and lowkey. There are no extra charges and even freebies such as bike rental, snorkel gear rental and a shuttle around the complex. It's also very child friendly with many fish ponds and free toys. The restaurants are pricey like all Hawaii hotels, but the food here is well worth it. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to splurge on a wonderful Hawaii vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't want to spend $27 for a breakfast buffet, take a short stroll to the shopping complex where there is a Starbucks and Foodland.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bruce & Chris
Business
Lake Arrowhead, CA
Dec 20, 2010

One week stay in December, 2010

We went primarily for snorkilng, sight seeing, beachcombing, and relaxation. The hotel is beautiful, with lush green grounds with seawater ponds, all with various kinds of fish and even young green turtles. There is plenty of beach space in between lava flow outcrops, two 18-hole golf courses surrounding, and a series of original Hawaiin fish ponds, still being used to control fish like the old hawaiins did. Rooms are spacious, each with a private veranda and a small fridge. There is a fair sized market in the mauna Lani Shops area near hotel, and larger ones in Kailua-Kona and Waimea. Dining out was great everywhere, if a little expensivs...the Canoe House on premises is a beautiful open air setting, as are Browns Beach House (at Fairmont Orchid) and Huggo's downtown Kailua. The snorking was OK, but the water was a little shallow neat hotel, and not as clear as on Maui, probably due to nearby wave action. Did get close to good sized green turtle a few times (like 2 feet away!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Actually, about an hour and a half drive...beautiful rain forest walk (1/2 mile) at Akaka Falls state park, off Rte 19 a few miles north of Hilo on other side of island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 29, 2009

Exceptional

I've been going to this hotel for over 15 years and it is still one of the absolute best places I've ever been. I haven't been able to top it, and I recommend it to everyone I know. If you're traveling without kids, I'd recommend staying on the Canoe House side of the hotel -- less noise from the pool and a gorgeous view of the mountains. The buffet breakfast is a highlight. My boyfriend and I would get up early, take a beautiful walk along the beach with some Kona coffee, and arrive back hungry and ready for breakfast. Such an amazing way to start the day. The beach is incredible. Honu turtles float in the water, amazing birds walk around on the beach, and the cabanas give you plenty of shade if it's hot (usually around noon.) The staff is amazingly helpful and nice. It doesn't get any better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stop at the Safeway near the airport when you arrive, pick up some fresh fruit and snacks to keep in the the in-room refrigerator (empty -- there's no minibar.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Campbell, CA
Jan 17, 2010

Beautiful Hotel and friendly staff

I had a conference at the Fairmont and decided to stay at the Mauna Lani based on reviews. I went over to the Fairmont for my conference so I was able to compare the two hotels. I would stay at the Mauna Lani again for the following reasons: friendly staff, free parking, free coffee in the morning, free internet, and interesting grounds to explore. I would also recommend to friends to stay at this hotel because although it is not as "ritzy" as the Fairmont, it is definitely more bang for the buck in the most beautiful setting. My husband even wished we had spent more time in the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Make sure you visit all the lagoons here.. there's sea turtle, hammer head sharks along with colorful fish. You can also walk around the Mauna Lani resort area for all the additional sites and parks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Niguel
Nov 23, 2008

My review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows

Great Service and comfort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Shops at Muana Lani offer great restaurants including Tommy Bahama and Ruths Chris and a market for Breakfast, Lunch or in room needs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top