$220 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2015 Check-out: Sep 26, 2015

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
View map of 68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jo Er
Friends
Singapore
Jun 8, 2012

Overall good experience

There's some ants in the room everywhere , we end up changing room the next day to a smaller room. Overall was great, wish breakfast is provided and I can be able to request for high floor and late check out before I arrive. The staffs were fantastic . Beach not so promising but there's lots of sea turtles around to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

45 min drive to SAMs restaurant after kona airport. The food is cheap and in big portions . Value for money.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cookiemark
Single
Chico, California
Feb 15, 2013

Really Pleasant Experience

Lovely place-- hotel makes the most of the soft Hawaiian breezes. Fascinating fish ponds nearby. Beach chairs are comfortable and offer adjustable sun/wind shades-- perfect for relaxing and watching the sunset. Meals are pricey but rooms have mini-fridges and there is a market in the resort shopping area. Parking is $18 a night, so add that on to your rental car expense. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Lots to do in and around the hotel, and the location is good for access to all of the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a nice food market in the shopping area out toward the highway.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allen B.
Couples
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Sep 5, 2011

A Classic Beauty

The Mauna Lani is a fantastic and clssic Hawaiian property, The location is picture perfect and extremenly private. Trhe beach, seascape and grounds are immaculate and the amenities (spa, workout and tennis facility, bikes, water toys, etc.) are wonderful. The only dings that I have (and they are relatively minor) is that some of the property is a bit tired and dated, and the rooms are just OK. We stayed in a corner ocean-side room (the top room they offer) and while the room was spacious, the bathroom was old offering a standard tub/shower with a dated shower curtain - OK, just not 5-star!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There are 20-30 coffee plantations along the Kona side offering free tours and tastings. It's similar to a vineyard tour in Napa and well worth some time to explore.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Beverly Hills, CA
Aug 22, 2010

Nice

Nice room, great property, a little dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Goto Guy
Couples
Hollywood, CA
May 11, 2009

A fantastic, secluded resort

This hotel had been recommended by family members who had stayed there recently and it lived up to the billing. From the moment we were greeted at the front door with complimentary leis, ice cold water with fresh strawberries and lemons soaking in it, and a valet who offered to park our car in guest parking and bring us the keys so we could avoid the $21/ night valet charges, the staff at the Mauna Lani set the tone for our stay. We were given a complimentary room upgrade to ocean front (likely a function of traveling during a very down time but appreciated nonetheless) and the room was immaculate. All the staff made every effort to learn our names and greet us personally. HIGHLIGHTS: The morning brunch was 5 star with varitey every day and some home run staples like fresh waffles and omelettes. A nearly empty beach front meant we had our choice of hammocks or cabanas at all times (again, likely due to the downturn, but still wonderful). Complementary snorkel gear and reasonably priced workout classes. It is a secluded resort with not a ton of activities, but it is perfect if you're looking to unwind without the hustle and bustle of the bigger resorts. We walked next door to the Fairmont Orchid and it seemed positively restless by comparison. Again, we may have hit it at the perfect time, but the Mauna Lani offered the perfect, relaxing retreat that we were hoping for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Our best meal was actually at Huggo's which is in Kona, probably about 20 mi from the hotel, but only 5 or 6 from the airport. It's a casual beachfront bar with bar type food that was very good. the entertainment was Grammy winner LT Smooth who plays there regularly. It has a great view to watch the sunset with very affordable prices on food and drinks and great, casual ambience.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Seal Beach, CA
Aug 3, 2010

Which one, Mauna Lani Bay or Mauna Kea?

I couldn't decide between the Mauna Lani Bay or the Mauna Kea so we spend a few days at both. The Mauna Lani Bay is HUGE. It has a separate spa/fitness center and two beach's. There is a lot of coral on the beaches so it's good for snorkeling and the water is very calm since it's a bay. Snorkel gear is included in your stay. The Mauna Kea grounds are huge, but it doesn't have a spa, though the gym was nice. The beach is AMAZING. There are lounge chairs on the beach, and they set up an umbrellas for you once you find a place to settle- you have to find your own place to set-up, where they'll help you set up at the Mauna Lani. The Mauna Kea pool is pretty weak and we didn't notice any pool service for food or drinks, where as the food was very reasonable and good at the Mauna Lani pool- which is also much nicer, but not an infinity pool. It also has nicely padded round double loungers with a cover you can use. There are a lot more places to eat a the Mauna Lani Bay and you can choose a cold (cereal/fruit) or hot breakfast (full works) that is cheaper and better than at the Mauna Kea. There's also a small shopping center with a grocery store just outside the hotel. Both places give you an empty small refrigerator to use, which was very nice. We had a Plumera room at the Mauna Kea, which would not be worth it if it wasn't for the $100/night credit. The lounge is just a room with some cookies or brownies and some drinks. It's nothing like a Club Room at a Ritz. You do get a nice beach view room and the rooms are updated with a very nice bed and excellent bedding, though there was no carpeting in the room, which the wife didn't like. The room at the Mauna Lani Bay was a little dated, particularly the bathroom faucet and tub. The bed/bedding wasn't bad, but it was not as nice as the Mauna Kea. It's still a nice room, but the Mauna Kea was recently refinished. The Mauna Kea also had a lot more channels, including HBO, Food, HGTV that the wife liked. The service is more polished at the Mauna Lani Bay. The food server's interact better and know your name because they ask for your room number when you get a table. The pool and beach service is also better. It's not bad at the Mauna Kea, but we did notice a distinct improvement at the Mauna Lani. Internet and parking are also included at the Manua Lani Bay, as are a shuttle to the shopping center/fitness center/second beach, and other services listed on their website. The Mauna Kea charges a $15/night self parking or $20/night valet parking fee- very cheesy IMO. Both are nice places, but different. The Mauna Kea had a LOT more families and kids, where the Mauna Lani Bay was much quieter and seemed to have more couples there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Merriman's and Sansei for fine dining. Pine Tree (by the airport) or Hawaiian Style Cafe (breakfast/lunch only) in Waimea for tasty local food.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Venice, CA
Dec 15, 2009

Lovely!

We met for a family Birthday celebration that could not be topped. The resort was lovely and the staff so friendly and helpful. The fish ponds all over the resort were facinating. The cabana chairs were delightful. All of the complimentary activities were great. The only complaint that I have (and it is minor!) is that the pool is not very exciting and is a bit isolated from the beach. We go to Mexico a lot and the pools tend to be right on the water with a negative edge. This was pretty traditional, but still fun to bob around in. The best part was the snorkeling and the sea turtles RIGHT THERE. We had an amazing time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate like kings the entire trip but Huli Sue's and Manta were the best. Sensai 1/2 price shushi on Sunday/Monday was great too, but a long line.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Met Fan In LA
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 24, 2009

Our Trip!

Third time! All great. Staff is wonderful. The room location was perfect. We would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Blue Dragon was excellent. Open air with Jazz music. Manta at the Mauna Kea was extremely romantic but expensive!

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Phoenix, Az
Jun 6, 2009

Mauna Lani Hotel

Mauna Lani is conveniently located on prime property with tremendous history and cultural significance to the Hawaians. The thought and preparation to preserve this property and enable the guest to enjoy it is exceptional. The director of cultural affairs has an office in the hotel and is active in educating those interested. There are multiple beaches available with staff and accomodations for snorkel, scuba, sunset cruises and nature walks. We took time to hike Mauna Kea, take in the volcanoes, soak up the sun, and thoroughly relax in this very nuturing and healing environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Take the morning walks along the beach trails in either direction and don't hesitate to meet "Danny" Akaka for a cultural tour of the property! If you have rented a car I highly recommend a drive up to the North point and back through Waimea. Saddle Road to Mauna Kea is spectacular as well.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun Diego
Friends
San Diego
Jun 30, 2009

My second stay at the Mauna Lani

Don't miss the hot rock lomi lomi massage at the spa. It was fantasic. As were the nightly sunsets. In 2008, we saw the green flash from the Mauna Lani beach. Great snorkeling down at the second beach inlet. This was my second trip because the staff and facility was so great. You never have to leave. The biggest decision is, "Should I hang out at the beach today? Or, the pool?" While on the beach/pool in a personal cabana, servers will take your drink/food order and deliver it. Does life get better than that? There were 6 of us traveling and celebrating 4 birthdays and a 25th wedding anniversary. We got special goodies each night to mark the occasions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The food at the Mauna Lani can be pricey. And, only one restaurant is open at a time. Just down the Queens Highway, is the Queens Marketplace and the Kings Shops. Both have food options that are less expensive. Also, the Mauna Lani rooms have a small refridgerator. Perfect for storing sandwiches, salads, yogurt and fruit from the local Foodland Market. This helps offset the pricey food at the resort.

Back to menu Return to top