$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
127 reviews
Great Beach!

Be sure to request the bed you want on check-in. We didn't request a King and they gave us 2 queens... See full review

  • JBradley
  • May 15, 2014
Paradise!

This resort is one of the best I've ever been. I checked neighboring Fairmont and Hilton and they... See full review

  • Natalie V.
  • Apr 30, 2014
Waikoloa beachfront dream resort with golf, tennis, full spa and yoga
Fronting a luscious turquoise bay lined with powdery white sand, Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers guests a picture-perfect location in South Kohala's upscale Waikoloa. With award-winning tennis and spa amenities, grand guest accommodations -- nearly all with ocean views -- and unique activities such as turtle feeding, Travel + Leisure magazine consistently rates the resort as one of the "Top Hotels in the World."
Highlights
  • Join in the resort's many activities, ranging from historic petroglyph tours to beachside yoga classes
  • Tennis courts, ranked one of the "Top 50 Tennis Resorts" by Tennis Magazine
  • Experience one of the "World's Best Spas" per Travel + Leisure magazine, built to resemble a Hawaiian village
Location
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows is less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona, in the upscale and sunny community of Waikoloa. The resort fronts a sugary beach and cove, neighbored by an ancient fishpond. Guests enjoy excellent shopping at two malls several miles away.
Rooms
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers deluxe guest rooms with mountain, garden or ocean views and Beachfront Bungalows with private plunge pools. Guest rooms include a private balcony, personal bar, LCD flat-screen TV, Internet access and daily housekeeping service.
Features
Recreation
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers excellent recreational activities. Get friends together for a game of sand volleyball, or sign up for a class at the fitness center (fees may apply). For guests craving a bit of history, the hotel offers historic and educational tours and classes. The resort is also home to a spa, tennis club and two championship golf courses (fees apply).
Dining
Mauna Lani Bay offers a variety of dining experiences ranging from in-room private dining to the hotel's signature restaurant, The Canoehouse, serving fresh Island cuisine and a Wine Spectator "Award of Excellence" wine selection.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (22.4 mi/36.1 km)
Attractions
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (5 mi/8 km)
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Hapuna Beach (6.8 mi/11 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (28.6 mi/46 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (48.3 mi/77.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (102 mi/164 km)
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $25 plus tax per room per night inclusive of parking, Internet access, and other amenities and discounts.

  • Overnight parking fee is $18.00 plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.9437 -155.8666
Area served
Kohala Coast - Kona, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-KOA
Area description
On 29 oceanfront acres at Kalahuipua'a on the Big Island's Kohala Coast, 23 miles north of the Kona International Airport. Flanked by Mauna Kea, Mauna Loa, Hualalai and the ancient Kohala Mountains in the distance. On Makaiwa Bay and three miles of secluded shoreline. Part of the 3,200 - acre Mauna Lani Resort located on ancient 16th century Kaniku lava flow and dotted with 15 acres of ancient springfed Hawaiian fishponds; historic park and preserves with petroglyphs; shelter caves and the restored King's Trail, Ala Loa. Lush grounds and ten spectacular man-made ponds teeming with tropical fish and Hawaiian green sea turtles. Seven inches of rainfall annually; average temperature 78' Fahrenheit.

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows Rooms

Ocean View Room
The Ocean View guest rooms feature excellent views of the beach, ocean and the dynamic Kohala coast. In winter it is common to see humpback whales breaching. This room is perfect for guests who prefer to experience sunset or sunrise over the Pacific from the comfort of their private lanai
Standard Room
Overlooking the Mauna Kea Mountain, these rooms are the most affordable of the luxury guest rooms.
Garden View Room
The Garden View guest rooms offer views of the beautiful gardens of Mauna Lani Resort. This room is perfect for guests who prefer lush greenery.
Ocean Front Room
The Ocean Front guest rooms directly overlook the beach, palms and straight out onto the warm Pacific Ocean. The views are, of course, spectacular. In winter, it is common to see humpback whales breaching

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Dining

Mountain Thunder Coffee Lanai
Hours: 7 days; 6am - 4pm
Huli Sue's at Mauna Lani
Located at the Golf Clubhouse overlooking the Golf Course and Kohala Coast. Daily Lunch 11:00am - 4:00 pm Dinner Tuesday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
The CanoeHouse
Enjoy a creative farm-to-table menu of island fresh cuisine with a contemporary flair, as you relax and enjoy scenic Kohala Coast sunsets. Chef's Bites are served in the CanoeHouse Lounge. Seasonal Summer Schedule: Dinner served Tuesday - Saturday from 5:30 pm - 8:45 pm. Dinner reservations recommended. Call 808-881-7911, complimentary valet parking. Enjoy live entertainment from 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm. (Solo musician)
The Bay Terrace
The open-air garden setting of the Bay Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy a taste of the islands. Breakfast features a bountiful buffet and ala carte menu. Lunch offers fresh salads, sandwiches and island favorites including tropical drinks. Signature Dinner Buffets are served Sunday & Monday evenings. Dinner Buffet reservations are recommended. Call 881-7911 Breakfast Buffet: 6:30 am - 10:00 am Sample Menu Breakfast Ala Carte: 6:30 am -10:30 am Lunch: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm Sample Menu Dinner Buffets 5:00 pm - 8:30 pm Sunday & Monday

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun Diego
San Diego
Jun 30, 2009

My second stay at the Mauna Lani

Don't miss the hot rock lomi lomi massage at the spa. It was fantasic. As were the nightly sunsets. In 2008, we saw the green flash from the Mauna Lani beach. Great snorkeling down at the second beach inlet. This was my second trip because the staff and facility was so great. You never have to leave. The biggest decision is, "Should I hang out at the beach today? Or, the pool?" While on the beach/pool in a personal cabana, servers will take your drink/food order and deliver it. Does life get better than that? There were 6 of us traveling and celebrating 4 birthdays and a 25th wedding anniversary. We got special goodies each night to mark the occasions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The food at the Mauna Lani can be pricey. And, only one restaurant is open at a time. Just down the Queens Highway, is the Queens Marketplace and the Kings Shops. Both have food options that are less expensive. Also, the Mauna Lani rooms have a small refridgerator. Perfect for storing sandwiches, salads, yogurt and fruit from the local Foodland Market. This helps offset the pricey food at the resort.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allen B.
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Sep 5, 2011

A Classic Beauty

The Mauna Lani is a fantastic and clssic Hawaiian property, The location is picture perfect and extremenly private. Trhe beach, seascape and grounds are immaculate and the amenities (spa, workout and tennis facility, bikes, water toys, etc.) are wonderful. The only dings that I have (and they are relatively minor) is that some of the property is a bit tired and dated, and the rooms are just OK. We stayed in a corner ocean-side room (the top room they offer) and while the room was spacious, the bathroom was old offering a standard tub/shower with a dated shower curtain - OK, just not 5-star!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There are 20-30 coffee plantations along the Kona side offering free tours and tastings. It's similar to a vineyard tour in Napa and well worth some time to explore.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Carolina
Jul 27, 2010

Great views and a good location but

Very nice but a lot of kids with no supervision screaming and yelling at pool. Hotel appeared to be empty when we were there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Goto Guy
Hollywood, CA
May 11, 2009

A fantastic, secluded resort

This hotel had been recommended by family members who had stayed there recently and it lived up to the billing. From the moment we were greeted at the front door with complimentary leis, ice cold water with fresh strawberries and lemons soaking in it, and a valet who offered to park our car in guest parking and bring us the keys so we could avoid the $21/ night valet charges, the staff at the Mauna Lani set the tone for our stay. We were given a complimentary room upgrade to ocean front (likely a function of traveling during a very down time but appreciated nonetheless) and the room was immaculate. All the staff made every effort to learn our names and greet us personally. HIGHLIGHTS: The morning brunch was 5 star with varitey every day and some home run staples like fresh waffles and omelettes. A nearly empty beach front meant we had our choice of hammocks or cabanas at all times (again, likely due to the downturn, but still wonderful). Complementary snorkel gear and reasonably priced workout classes. It is a secluded resort with not a ton of activities, but it is perfect if you're looking to unwind without the hustle and bustle of the bigger resorts. We walked next door to the Fairmont Orchid and it seemed positively restless by comparison. Again, we may have hit it at the perfect time, but the Mauna Lani offered the perfect, relaxing retreat that we were hoping for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Our best meal was actually at Huggo's which is in Kona, probably about 20 mi from the hotel, but only 5 or 6 from the airport. It's a casual beachfront bar with bar type food that was very good. the entertainment was Grammy winner LT Smooth who plays there regularly. It has a great view to watch the sunset with very affordable prices on food and drinks and great, casual ambience.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Carolina
Jul 27, 2010

Great views and a good location but

Very nice but a lot of kids with no supervision screaming and yelling at pool. Hotel appeared to be empty when we were there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seal Beach, CA
Aug 3, 2010

Which one, Mauna Lani Bay or Mauna Kea?

I couldn't decide between the Mauna Lani Bay or the Mauna Kea so we spend a few days at both. The Mauna Lani Bay is HUGE. It has a separate spa/fitness center and two beach's. There is a lot of coral on the beaches so it's good for snorkeling and the water is very calm since it's a bay. Snorkel gear is included in your stay. The Mauna Kea grounds are huge, but it doesn't have a spa, though the gym was nice. The beach is AMAZING. There are lounge chairs on the beach, and they set up an umbrellas for you once you find a place to settle- you have to find your own place to set-up, where they'll help you set up at the Mauna Lani. The Mauna Kea pool is pretty weak and we didn't notice any pool service for food or drinks, where as the food was very reasonable and good at the Mauna Lani pool- which is also much nicer, but not an infinity pool. It also has nicely padded round double loungers with a cover you can use. There are a lot more places to eat a the Mauna Lani Bay and you can choose a cold (cereal/fruit) or hot breakfast (full works) that is cheaper and better than at the Mauna Kea. There's also a small shopping center with a grocery store just outside the hotel. Both places give you an empty small refrigerator to use, which was very nice. We had a Plumera room at the Mauna Kea, which would not be worth it if it wasn't for the $100/night credit. The lounge is just a room with some cookies or brownies and some drinks. It's nothing like a Club Room at a Ritz. You do get a nice beach view room and the rooms are updated with a very nice bed and excellent bedding, though there was no carpeting in the room, which the wife didn't like. The room at the Mauna Lani Bay was a little dated, particularly the bathroom faucet and tub. The bed/bedding wasn't bad, but it was not as nice as the Mauna Kea. It's still a nice room, but the Mauna Kea was recently refinished. The Mauna Kea also had a lot more channels, including HBO, Food, HGTV that the wife liked. The service is more polished at the Mauna Lani Bay. The food server's interact better and know your name because they ask for your room number when you get a table. The pool and beach service is also better. It's not bad at the Mauna Kea, but we did notice a distinct improvement at the Mauna Lani. Internet and parking are also included at the Manua Lani Bay, as are a shuttle to the shopping center/fitness center/second beach, and other services listed on their website. The Mauna Kea charges a $15/night self parking or $20/night valet parking fee- very cheesy IMO. Both are nice places, but different. The Mauna Kea had a LOT more families and kids, where the Mauna Lani Bay was much quieter and seemed to have more couples there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Merriman's and Sansei for fine dining. Pine Tree (by the airport) or Hawaiian Style Cafe (breakfast/lunch only) in Waimea for tasty local food.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Venice, CA
Dec 15, 2009

Lovely!

We met for a family Birthday celebration that could not be topped. The resort was lovely and the staff so friendly and helpful. The fish ponds all over the resort were facinating. The cabana chairs were delightful. All of the complimentary activities were great. The only complaint that I have (and it is minor!) is that the pool is not very exciting and is a bit isolated from the beach. We go to Mexico a lot and the pools tend to be right on the water with a negative edge. This was pretty traditional, but still fun to bob around in. The best part was the snorkeling and the sea turtles RIGHT THERE. We had an amazing time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate like kings the entire trip but Huli Sue's and Manta were the best. Sensai 1/2 price shushi on Sunday/Monday was great too, but a long line.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarabecksmom
Chicago, IL
Jun 2, 2010

First Rate Service

This is a fabulous location for a getaway, honeymoon or beach vacation. Service was first rate from check-in to restaurants, doormen and checkout. All were super friendly and very helpful. Food was a little pricey but worth the expense, especially breakfast buffet. This is not your place if you want to be in the tourist part of the island - Kona is 20 miles down the road. If you want to tour, however, it is easy to get to any other part of the Big Island from here. It is also the sunniest side of the island with very little rain so it's perfect for beach lovers. We had a fabulous time here and would return if we come back to this island. Great package price and value for off-season stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Met Fan In LA
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 24, 2009

Our Trip!

Third time! All great. Staff is wonderful. The room location was perfect. We would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Blue Dragon was excellent. Open air with Jazz music. Manta at the Mauna Kea was extremely romantic but expensive!

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daniela sasha
California
Apr 13, 2012

Family Fun

The hotel was a very relaxing place for our family. We loved the oceanfront location and nice beach access. The free amenities were great.....bikes, cabanas, laundry room, etc. The pool was warm and not overcrowded, but the place could use a better pool with a slide for the kids. Overall, the grounds were very tropical and beautiful to walk around and explore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to the local grocery store to pick up breakfast and lunch stuff to keep in our fridge.

Back to menu Return to top