$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 8, 2014 Check-out: Oct 9, 2014

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
77 reviews
No better place...

Been here before. Visited other hotels. No comparison. BEST hotel for walk-to snorkling. Beautiful... See full review

  • luv Mauna Lani
  • Aug 17, 2014
Beautiful, relaxing, quiet place.

Wanted to relax, sleep, enjoy good food, swim + snorkel, explore the island further ... loved it.... See full review

  • just traveling me
  • Jul 28, 2014
Waikoloa beachfront dream resort with golf, tennis, full spa and yoga
Fronting a luscious turquoise bay lined with powdery white sand, Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers guests a picture-perfect location in South Kohala's upscale Waikoloa. With award-winning tennis and spa amenities, grand guest accommodations -- nearly all with ocean views -- and unique activities such as turtle feeding, Travel + Leisure magazine consistently rates the resort as one of the "Top Hotels in the World."
Highlights
  • Join in the resort's many activities, ranging from historic petroglyph tours to beachside yoga classes
  • Tennis courts, ranked one of the "Top 50 Tennis Resorts" by Tennis Magazine
  • Experience one of the "World's Best Spas" per Travel + Leisure magazine, built to resemble a Hawaiian village
Location
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows is less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona, in the upscale and sunny community of Waikoloa. The resort fronts a sugary beach and cove, neighbored by an ancient fishpond. Guests enjoy excellent shopping at two malls several miles away.
Rooms
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers deluxe guest rooms with mountain, garden or ocean views and Beachfront Bungalows with private plunge pools. Guest rooms include a private balcony, personal bar, LCD flat-screen TV, Internet access and daily housekeeping service.
Features
Recreation
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers excellent recreational activities. Get friends together for a game of sand volleyball, or sign up for a class at the fitness center (fees may apply). For guests craving a bit of history, the hotel offers historic and educational tours and classes. The resort is also home to a spa, tennis club and two championship golf courses (fees apply).
Dining
Mauna Lani Bay offers a variety of dining experiences ranging from in-room private dining to the hotel's signature restaurant, The Canoehouse, serving fresh Island cuisine and a Wine Spectator "Award of Excellence" wine selection.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (22.4 mi/36.1 km)
Attractions
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (5 mi/8 km)
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Hapuna Beach (6.8 mi/11 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (28.6 mi/46 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (48.3 mi/77.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (102 mi/164 km)
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $25 plus tax per room per night inclusive of parking, Internet access, and other amenities and discounts.

  • Overnight parking fee is $18.00 plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.9437 -155.8666
Area served
Kohala Coast - Kona, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-KOA
Area description
On 29 oceanfront acres at Kalahuipua'a on the Big Island's Kohala Coast, 23 miles north of the Kona International Airport. Flanked by Mauna Kea, Mauna Loa, Hualalai and the ancient Kohala Mountains in the distance. On Makaiwa Bay and three miles of secluded shoreline. Part of the 3,200 - acre Mauna Lani Resort located on ancient 16th century Kaniku lava flow and dotted with 15 acres of ancient springfed Hawaiian fishponds; historic park and preserves with petroglyphs; shelter caves and the restored King's Trail, Ala Loa. Lush grounds and ten spectacular man-made ponds teeming with tropical fish and Hawaiian green sea turtles. Seven inches of rainfall annually; average temperature 78' Fahrenheit.

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows Rooms

Ocean View Room
The Ocean View guest rooms feature excellent views of the beach, ocean and the dynamic Kohala coast. In winter it is common to see humpback whales breaching. This room is perfect for guests who prefer to experience sunset or sunrise over the Pacific from the comfort of their private lanai
Standard Room
Overlooking the Mauna Kea Mountain, these rooms are the most affordable of the luxury guest rooms.
Garden View Room
The Garden View guest rooms offer views of the beautiful gardens of Mauna Lani Resort. This room is perfect for guests who prefer lush greenery.
Ocean Front Room
The Ocean Front guest rooms directly overlook the beach, palms and straight out onto the warm Pacific Ocean. The views are, of course, spectacular. In winter, it is common to see humpback whales breaching

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Dining

Mountain Thunder Coffee Lanai
Hours: 7 days; 6am - 4pm
Huli Sue's at Mauna Lani
Located at the Golf Clubhouse overlooking the Golf Course and Kohala Coast. Daily Lunch 11:00am - 4:00 pm Dinner Tuesday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
The CanoeHouse
Enjoy a creative farm-to-table menu of island fresh cuisine with a contemporary flair, as you relax and enjoy scenic Kohala Coast sunsets. Chef's Bites are served in the CanoeHouse Lounge. Seasonal Summer Schedule: Dinner served Tuesday - Saturday from 5:30 pm - 8:45 pm. Dinner reservations recommended. Call 808-881-7911, complimentary valet parking. Enjoy live entertainment from 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm. (Solo musician)
The Bay Terrace
The open-air garden setting of the Bay Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy a taste of the islands. Breakfast features a bountiful buffet and ala carte menu. Lunch offers fresh salads, sandwiches and island favorites including tropical drinks. Signature Dinner Buffets are served Sunday & Monday evenings. Dinner Buffet reservations are recommended. Call 881-7911 Breakfast Buffet: 6:30 am - 10:00 am Sample Menu Breakfast Ala Carte: 6:30 am -10:30 am Lunch: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm Sample Menu Dinner Buffets 5:00 pm - 8:30 pm Sunday & Monday

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
infernoc
Salt Lake City, UT
May 9, 2013

Ok. But Not Great. Did not feel like a 4 star hotel in the end.

Beware when booking a "not refundable rate". If concerns come up. The front desk treated us as if, what did you expect you booked through a discount site. *But to be fair when we brought up our concern to the manager. They comped our parking and sent us a complementary amenities at the next hotel we stayed at which was very nice. Note: the standard rooms face inward on the valet and parking lot and the hotel had 3 floors. So you are close to comings and goings a the hotel. Random things we observed: Sheets were scratchy, toilet paper was cheap, there is no separate light in the bathroom, and no black out curtains. All in all if you get for an amazing price it would be worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great Hawaiian Plate lunch place. Ippys Hawaiian Barbeque

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Feb 5, 2010

Great to disappointing..

From the moment we checked in, we felt very welcomed. The staff was very nice and very helpful. The room we checked into was small but comfortable, and with a great view overlooking the garden and the ocean. A good value for the price. We had previously decided to treat ourselves to a suite for the last two nights, and therefore moved to an ocean view suite, located on the six floor. The front desk staff was very efficient and ensured and easy move in no time with assistance to make it perfect. The view there was breathtaking. Full pool view as well as the ocean, no obstruction. The room was spacious, nice living room, great balcony. All was fine, until the next morning when we discovered a huge leak in the room and therefore had to move to a different room. We were upgraded to an ocean front suite. The space and shape of the room were poorly designed. The room was dark and the view, although ocean front, was definitely not as nice as the previous room. The furniture are old and the bathrooms (in all rooms) need to be remodeled. Pool side experience: nice pool, good menu choices (food and drinks), poor service. Dirty dishes were left uncleared for hours. On the other hand, the service we received by the beach front was perfect; friendly and professional. Breakfast experience: excellent. Great staff. Attentive, nice, warm, knowledgeable. The food was amazing. Buffet or a la carte breakfast, all foods looked good and tasted delicious. Spa: terrible. Do not ever get the special "Watsu" massage. It happens in a small "lava" pool, and is based on stretches and strokes under water. It sounds good and so unusual. Yet, it should definitely be more explanatory at time of booking. Hygiene wise is it... against all principles! You are in the water for a full hour with a woman (or a man if you prefer), a perfect stranger, in a swimming suit, holding you against her body, her face.. Although the stretches feel really good, just the thought of somebody you absolutely do not know holding you for that long, touching and manipulating your body, somewhat against hers, in all sorts of positions is.... repulsive (guys out there, you might think it sounds great, but trust me, it is not what you expect!). I would definitely rather recommend a regular massage where your body is covered and only the massage therapist's hands are touching you. And I am not a prude! Overall my experience at the Mauna Lani Bay Hotel was mediocre. The service at the front desk and at the restaurant, for breakfast, was good though and people really do care. The landscaping of the hotel is beautiful. Gorgeous gardens, nice pool, nice beach (although it didn't bother me, I have to say that this is not the best beach if you want to swim in the ocean due to the reefs all around, but it is beautiful). Not a bad place to stay, but the hotel definitely needs big time remodeling and improvements in quite a few areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast experience is the best part! Definitely do not skip it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Walnut
Dec 7, 2008

Very confuse

The building is kinda old. the pool inside smell kinda not so good.. price is reasonable though.. and the ocean view is great ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Timeline
South Carolina
May 4, 2010

Honeymoon

Ocean view was the end unit next to mountain view. Room over looked the utility building. Hotel was empty, they could have came us a better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

45-60 minute drive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irma S.
Seattle
Feb 6, 2014

Love the hotel

So much history - right next to the Royal Fishing grounds. Beautiful beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Happy hour at Ruth Chris steakhouse

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seal Beach, CA
Aug 3, 2010

Which one, Mauna Lani Bay or Mauna Kea?

I couldn't decide between the Mauna Lani Bay or the Mauna Kea so we spend a few days at both. The Mauna Lani Bay is HUGE. It has a separate spa/fitness center and two beach's. There is a lot of coral on the beaches so it's good for snorkeling and the water is very calm since it's a bay. Snorkel gear is included in your stay. The Mauna Kea grounds are huge, but it doesn't have a spa, though the gym was nice. The beach is AMAZING. There are lounge chairs on the beach, and they set up an umbrellas for you once you find a place to settle- you have to find your own place to set-up, where they'll help you set up at the Mauna Lani. The Mauna Kea pool is pretty weak and we didn't notice any pool service for food or drinks, where as the food was very reasonable and good at the Mauna Lani pool- which is also much nicer, but not an infinity pool. It also has nicely padded round double loungers with a cover you can use. There are a lot more places to eat a the Mauna Lani Bay and you can choose a cold (cereal/fruit) or hot breakfast (full works) that is cheaper and better than at the Mauna Kea. There's also a small shopping center with a grocery store just outside the hotel. Both places give you an empty small refrigerator to use, which was very nice. We had a Plumera room at the Mauna Kea, which would not be worth it if it wasn't for the $100/night credit. The lounge is just a room with some cookies or brownies and some drinks. It's nothing like a Club Room at a Ritz. You do get a nice beach view room and the rooms are updated with a very nice bed and excellent bedding, though there was no carpeting in the room, which the wife didn't like. The room at the Mauna Lani Bay was a little dated, particularly the bathroom faucet and tub. The bed/bedding wasn't bad, but it was not as nice as the Mauna Kea. It's still a nice room, but the Mauna Kea was recently refinished. The Mauna Kea also had a lot more channels, including HBO, Food, HGTV that the wife liked. The service is more polished at the Mauna Lani Bay. The food server's interact better and know your name because they ask for your room number when you get a table. The pool and beach service is also better. It's not bad at the Mauna Kea, but we did notice a distinct improvement at the Mauna Lani. Internet and parking are also included at the Manua Lani Bay, as are a shuttle to the shopping center/fitness center/second beach, and other services listed on their website. The Mauna Kea charges a $15/night self parking or $20/night valet parking fee- very cheesy IMO. Both are nice places, but different. The Mauna Kea had a LOT more families and kids, where the Mauna Lani Bay was much quieter and seemed to have more couples there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Merriman's and Sansei for fine dining. Pine Tree (by the airport) or Hawaiian Style Cafe (breakfast/lunch only) in Waimea for tasty local food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nuadasilverhand
portland, OR
Jan 2, 2012

Beautiful grounds, rooms fine considering cost

The grounds of the Mauna Lani are just amazing, in some ways it is worth it just to visit this hotel and wander the paths, salt ponds, and beaches. OTOH, the cost is quite high and I hoped that the interior of the room, while adequate, would be more modern and contemporary. The shower should not be a walkover tub to-get-in type. The Bay Terrace breakfast is quite varied and high quality (we did not do the buffet, it looked good). The Ocean Grille is best for drinks not food. The Canoe House is truly fine dining, and almost worth the expense, as the kitchen is doing fine work, and the service is very professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not miss walking the paths and visiting the salt ponds to see the fish.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tokyo, Japan
Jun 10, 2009

Great resort - rooms need a bit of work

Spa was great but pricey as expected. Rooms were a bit outdated but the hotel was beautiful. Got upgraded to ocean view at no charge which was nice but expected more from the room at a hotel of this caliber.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't eat at the japanese restaurant at the nearby mall. Terrible food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun Diego
San Diego
Jun 30, 2009

My second stay at the Mauna Lani

Don't miss the hot rock lomi lomi massage at the spa. It was fantasic. As were the nightly sunsets. In 2008, we saw the green flash from the Mauna Lani beach. Great snorkeling down at the second beach inlet. This was my second trip because the staff and facility was so great. You never have to leave. The biggest decision is, "Should I hang out at the beach today? Or, the pool?" While on the beach/pool in a personal cabana, servers will take your drink/food order and deliver it. Does life get better than that? There were 6 of us traveling and celebrating 4 birthdays and a 25th wedding anniversary. We got special goodies each night to mark the occasions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The food at the Mauna Lani can be pricey. And, only one restaurant is open at a time. Just down the Queens Highway, is the Queens Marketplace and the Kings Shops. Both have food options that are less expensive. Also, the Mauna Lani rooms have a small refridgerator. Perfect for storing sandwiches, salads, yogurt and fruit from the local Foodland Market. This helps offset the pricey food at the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allen B.
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Sep 5, 2011

A Classic Beauty

The Mauna Lani is a fantastic and clssic Hawaiian property, The location is picture perfect and extremenly private. Trhe beach, seascape and grounds are immaculate and the amenities (spa, workout and tennis facility, bikes, water toys, etc.) are wonderful. The only dings that I have (and they are relatively minor) is that some of the property is a bit tired and dated, and the rooms are just OK. We stayed in a corner ocean-side room (the top room they offer) and while the room was spacious, the bathroom was old offering a standard tub/shower with a dated shower curtain - OK, just not 5-star!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There are 20-30 coffee plantations along the Kona side offering free tours and tastings. It's similar to a vineyard tour in Napa and well worth some time to explore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search