$234 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
View map of 68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
84 reviews
The best vacation ever!

Next time I will take the children. Beautiful beach, nice rooms, very good restaurants! Love the... See full review

  • veronika o.
  • Dec 30, 2014
Weekend Getaway

We stayed here two years ago and loved it. Coming back was just as enjoyable. We explored other... See full review

  • MikWra
  • Oct 2, 2014
Waikoloa beachfront dream resort with golf, tennis, full spa and yoga
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows is located on the Kohala Coast in the 3,200 Mauna Lani Resort. Ocean front Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows is a tranquil resort with golf, tennis, spa, sports & fitness club and  water sports fronting a  turquoise bay lined with white sand, Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows offers guests a picture-perfect location  on the sunny South Kohala Coast. With award-winning tennis and spa amenities, newly refreshed guest accommodations -- nearly all with ocean views -- and unique activities such as turtle feeding, Travel + Leisure magazine consistently rates the resort as one of the "Top Hotels in the World."
Highlights
  • Join in the resort's many activities, ranging from historic petroglyph tours to beachside yoga classes
  • Tennis courts, ranked one of the "Top 50 Tennis Resorts" by Tennis Magazine
  • Experience one of the "World's Best Spas" per Travel + Leisure magazine, built to resemble a Hawaiian village
Location
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows is 25 minutes north of the Kona International Airport  on the Kohala Coast. The resort fronts a white sand beach and cove, neighbored by  ancient fishponds. Guests can enjoy shopping at the Shops at Mauna Lani center on the resort or nearby at two additional malls 5 miles away.
Rooms
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows offers deluxe guest rooms with mountain, garden or ocean views and five private bungalows, each with 4,000 square feet of indoor, outdoor living space, private pool and Jacuzzi. All guest rooms include a private lanai, LCD flat-screen TV, Internet access and daily housekeeping service.
Features - Recreation
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows offers excellent recreational activities. Get friends together for a game of sand volleyball, or sign up for a class at the sports & fitness club (fees may apply). For guests craving a bit of history and Hawaiian culture, the hotel offers historic and educational tours and classes. The resort is also home to a spa, tennis club and two championship golf courses (fees apply).
Dining
Mauna Lani Bay offers a variety of dining experiences ranging from in-room private dining to the hotel's signature restaurant, The CanoeHouse, serving fresh Island cuisine and a Wine Spectator "Award of Excellence" wine selection.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (22.4 mi/36.1 km)
Attractions
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (5 mi/8 km)
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Hapuna Beach (6.8 mi/11 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (28.6 mi/46 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (48.3 mi/77.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (102 mi/164 km)
Policies and Fees
  • Overnight parking fee is $18 USD plus tax.
  • Resort fee is $25 plus tax per room per night inclusive of parking, Internet access and other amenities and discounts.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows Rooms

Ocean View Room
The Ocean View guest rooms feature excellent views of the beach, ocean and the dynamic Kohala coast. In winter it is common to see humpback whales breaching. This room is perfect for guests who prefer to experience sunset or sunrise over the Pacific from the comfort of their private lanai
Standard Room
Overlooking the Mauna Kea Mountain, these rooms are the most affordable of the luxury guest rooms.
Garden View Room
The Garden View guest rooms offer views of the beautiful gardens of Mauna Lani Resort. This room is perfect for guests who prefer lush greenery.
Ocean Front Room
The Ocean Front guest rooms directly overlook the beach, palms and straight out onto the warm Pacific Ocean. The views are, of course, spectacular. In winter, it is common to see humpback whales breaching

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Dining

Golf Clubhouse
Located at the Golf Clubhouse overlooking the Golf Course and Kohala Coast. Golfers can enjoy their favorite clubhouse fare, including burgers and beer. Daily Lunch 11:00am - 4:00 pm Dinner Tuesday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
The CanoeHouse
This signature oceanfront restaurant features Hawaiian regional cuisine with a contemporary flair. Dinner and cocktails offer diners views of spectacular Kohala coast sunsets and starlit skies.
The Bay Terrace
The open-air garden setting of the Bay Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy a taste of the islands. Breakfast begins with fresh Kona coffee and a bountiful buffet of island favorites or light ala carte items. Seasonal dinner buffets are Breakfast Buffet: 6:30 am - 10:00 am Sample Menu Breakfast Ala Carte: 6:30 am -10:30 am Lunch: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm Sample Menu Dinner Buffets 5:00 pm - 8:30 pm Sunday & Monday
Mountain Thunder Coffee Lanai
Specialty coffees, light breakfasts, lunch and evening pupus and cocktails are served
The Ocean Bar & Grill
This casual poolside venue offers lunch and dinner fresh off the grill.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 84
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natalie V.
Business
Boston
Apr 30, 2014

Paradise!

This resort is one of the best I've ever been. I checked neighboring Fairmont and Hilton and they are nothing in comparison. Exceptional hotel with very good value for the money! HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Fish!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaiian Lounger
Business
Virginia
Jun 22, 2012

Provides great scenery and a relaxing environment

The hotel is asthetically pleasing....fish and shark ponds, nature walks on the beach, awesome views of the sunset, and a very nice beach area with hammocks. The hotel also offers you bicycles to tour around the property. The breakfast buffet and lunch restaurant were great. Some of the downsides that we encountered: Do not drive your rental vehicle up to the hotel because you will be charged a rather outlandish valet fee. About the rental vehicle-make sure that you keep your receipts. We were charged for 2 days over what we had our vehicle. I had to call the Budget 1800 number to get that fixed and get a refund. The Canoe Restaurant- Literally a waste of money. The food is nothing exceptional and it is highly overpriced. The costs must support the purchases of the IPADs that the restaurant uses so you can view the wine list. Food is way overpriced and rather bland. We went there once and never went back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Go to Alli Drive, lots of restaurants, ocean views, shopping, entertainment, historical sites and hotels.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daniela sasha
Business
California
Apr 13, 2012

Family Fun

The hotel was a very relaxing place for our family. We loved the oceanfront location and nice beach access. The free amenities were great.....bikes, cabanas, laundry room, etc. The pool was warm and not overcrowded, but the place could use a better pool with a slide for the kids. Overall, the grounds were very tropical and beautiful to walk around and explore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to the local grocery store to pick up breakfast and lunch stuff to keep in our fridge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hapa Son
Business
Honolulu, HI
Dec 27, 2010

Lots of aloha

We biked the site and walked several of the trails. The hotel offered varied activities daily, although we didn't take advantage of them because of our plans to visit heiau in South and North Kohala. Staff was always accommodating regarding information about the area, getting bikes for us and helping us with dining alternatives [the Canoe House had no convenient dining times because of the holiday crowds]. We've stayed at the hotel and along the Kohala coast several times, but this was our favorite visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Monstera, a Japanese restaurant in The Shops about half a mile from the hotel, was a very good recommendation. We also liked eating at Merriman's in Waimea about 12-15 miles away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aloha Friends
Business
San Jose, CA
Oct 12, 2010

Speechless

Luxorious but not superficial. The hotel and its grounds are magnificent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Would be nice if the hotel had more dining options. Having breakfast at the hotel is really expensive. $27+ each person for buffet...that much for eggs, cereal and pancakes?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Prairie TX
Apr 10, 2010

Great Hotel

The Mauna Lani Bay Hotel is a great place for a relaxing vacation. It has a great location and the staff is great. There are two beaches for snorkeling, the spa is top notch, and the golf course is excellent also. It is a great place to go for a relaxing vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Up to the north in this little town on the harbor there are two very good restraunts with reasonable prices. One is the Harbor Grill that has very good seafood and the other is Cafe Pesto which has very good pizzas and italian food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Venice, CA
Dec 15, 2009

Lovely!

We met for a family Birthday celebration that could not be topped. The resort was lovely and the staff so friendly and helpful. The fish ponds all over the resort were facinating. The cabana chairs were delightful. All of the complimentary activities were great. The only complaint that I have (and it is minor!) is that the pool is not very exciting and is a bit isolated from the beach. We go to Mexico a lot and the pools tend to be right on the water with a negative edge. This was pretty traditional, but still fun to bob around in. The best part was the snorkeling and the sea turtles RIGHT THERE. We had an amazing time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate like kings the entire trip but Huli Sue's and Manta were the best. Sensai 1/2 price shushi on Sunday/Monday was great too, but a long line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, New York
Aug 17, 2009

Nearly perfect but worth 5 stars!

Quiet location 30 min north of Kailua-Kona airport/urban area but central to all parts of the island if you have a rental car. You could go to this hotel and never leave the site with plenty of relaxing and sporting activities for all. Would have preferred that the beach grill had dining hours beyond 4p for those wishing to have a more casual dinner pool and/or beachside. The Canoe House dinner menu is not kid friendly unless you have a sushi and seafood eater!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Head to the Queen's & King's Marketplaces two exits south of hotel for great shopping and dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay Area, CA
Aug 16, 2009

Mauna Lani Hotel

Excellent facility, outstanding service, tremendous staff. I look forward to returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento
Sep 14, 2008

Great Vacation Resort!

The Mauna Lani was beyond our expectations! The staff was always ready to help us and very friendly. Check in was a breeze and the grounds were beautiful. Our son loved the staff and activities at the Kids Kamp and we enjoyed the beach front, restaurants and shopping which is very close by. We liked how it was a short drive to everything we wanted to do, including Kona and Hilo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Activities for everyone were close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top