$260 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2015 Check-out: Jul 21, 2015

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
View map of 68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
87 reviews
Great Rooms, Amazing Beach, Great Staff

The beach amenities on the resort are great. Multiple 2 seat cabana's to use, Great hammock... See full review

  • Jeffrey R.
  • Jun 28, 2015
The best vacation ever!

Next time I will take the children. Beautiful beach, nice rooms, very good restaurants! Love the... See full review

  • veronika o.
  • Dec 30, 2014
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows is located on the Kohala Coast in the 3,200 Mauna Lani Resort. Ocean front Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows is a tranquil resort with golf, tennis, spa, sports & fitness club and  water sports fronting a  turquoise bay lined with white sand, Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows offers guests a picture-perfect location  on the sunny South Kohala Coast. With award-winning tennis and spa amenities, newly refreshed guest accommodations -- nearly all with ocean views -- and unique activities such as turtle feeding, Travel + Leisure magazine consistently rates the resort as one of the "Top Hotels in the World."
Location
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows is 25 minutes north of the Kona International Airport  on the Kohala Coast. The resort fronts a white sand beach and cove, neighbored by  ancient fishponds. Guests can enjoy shopping at the Shops at Mauna Lani center on the resort or nearby at two additional malls 5 miles away.
Dining
Mauna Lani Bay offers a variety of dining experiences ranging from in-room private dining to the hotel's signature restaurant, The CanoeHouse, serving fresh Island cuisine and a Wine Spectator "Award of Excellence" wine selection.
Rooms
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows offers deluxe guest rooms with mountain, garden or ocean views and five private bungalows, each with 4,000 square feet of indoor, outdoor living space, private pool and Jacuzzi. All guest rooms include a private lanai, LCD flat-screen TV, Internet access and daily housekeeping service.
Property features
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows offers excellent recreational activities. Get friends together for a game of sand volleyball, or sign up for a class at the sports & fitness club (fees may apply). For guests craving a bit of history and Hawaiian culture, the hotel offers historic and educational tours and classes. The resort is also home to a spa, tennis club and two championship golf courses (fees apply).
Highlights
  • Join in the resort's many activities, ranging from historic petroglyph tours to beachside yoga classes
  • Tennis courts, ranked one of the "Top 50 Tennis Resorts" by Tennis Magazine
  • Experience one of the "World's Best Spas" per Travel + Leisure magazine, built to resemble a Hawaiian village
Nearby attractions
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (5 mi/8 km)
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Hapuna Beach (6.8 mi/11 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (28.6 mi/46 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (48.3 mi/77.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (102 mi/164 km)
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (22.4 mi/36.1 km)
Policies
  • Overnight parking fee is $18 USD plus tax.
  • Resort fee is $25 plus tax per room per night inclusive of parking, Internet access and other amenities and discounts.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows Rooms

Ocean View Room
The Ocean View guest rooms feature excellent views of the beach, ocean and the dynamic Kohala coast. In winter it is common to see humpback whales breaching. This room is perfect for guests who prefer to experience sunset or sunrise over the Pacific from the comfort of their private lanai
Standard Room
Overlooking the Mauna Kea Mountain, these rooms are the most affordable of the luxury guest rooms.
Garden View Room
The Garden View guest rooms offer views of the beautiful gardens of Mauna Lani Resort. This room is perfect for guests who prefer lush greenery.
Ocean Front Room
The Ocean Front guest rooms directly overlook the beach, palms and straight out onto the warm Pacific Ocean. The views are, of course, spectacular. In winter, it is common to see humpback whales breaching

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Dining

Golf Clubhouse
Located at the Golf Clubhouse overlooking the Golf Course and Kohala Coast. Golfers can enjoy their favorite clubhouse fare, including burgers and beer. Daily Lunch 11:00am - 4:00 pm Dinner Tuesday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
The CanoeHouse
This signature oceanfront restaurant features Hawaiian regional cuisine with a contemporary flair. Dinner and cocktails offer diners views of spectacular Kohala coast sunsets and starlit skies.
The Bay Terrace
The open-air garden setting of the Bay Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy a taste of the islands. Breakfast begins with fresh Kona coffee and a bountiful buffet of island favorites or light ala carte items. Seasonal dinner buffets are Breakfast Buffet: 6:30 am - 10:00 am Sample Menu Breakfast Ala Carte: 6:30 am -10:30 am Lunch: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm Sample Menu Dinner Buffets 5:00 pm - 8:30 pm Sunday & Monday
Mountain Thunder Coffee Lanai
Specialty coffees, light breakfasts, lunch and evening pupus and cocktails are served
The Ocean Bar & Grill
This casual poolside venue offers lunch and dinner fresh off the grill.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 87
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Captiol Crooner
Business
New York
Jun 2, 2015

Honeymoon

Nice rooms, though we did see some ants crawling around. The beach and pools were beautiful. Staff was nice and helpful. They gave us juice and leis when we arrived, which was a nice touch. It was really fun to watch all the interesting fish throughout the premises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kazuhiko k.
Business
Kanagawa
May 26, 2015

It is a very nice hotel.

We stayed in this hotel the first time in 15 years. Service also very well not the same as before, Canoe House restaurant taste location also was the best. Also, I would want to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
veronika o.
Business
Westlake Village
Dec 30, 2014

The best vacation ever!

Next time I will take the children. Beautiful beach, nice rooms, very good restaurants! Love the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Plaza with all the stores and coffee shops.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aaronsdadd
Business
Southern California
Dec 1, 2014

Excellent staff, world class sunsets offset disappointments

The best feature of this hotel was the staff!!! Everyone at the front desk was very helpful and the valet staff was outstanding. We were very dissatisfied with our standard room (parking lot view) and moved tiwce before upgrading to a partial ocean view. The room was well appointed except for the dresser. Nice pool and hot tub area. What was most disapointing was the food and drinks at the beach. Just expected better from a such a highly rated resort - expensive and bland. Our best meals and drinks were all off-property. Location is great for going just about anywhere. Go to the Famer's Market in Waimea - it's a real treat and slice of Hawaii life! Just wasn't the value we expected. Aloaha spirit of the staff keeps it a winner. AMAZING sunsets, from the beach or if you are up high enough,your room and take a nap in the hammocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Talk to the locals and dine out. Better values and a chance to get authentic island food. Ippy's, Three Fat Pigs and the food at the Farmer's Market in Waimea are all treats!

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shrk
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 19, 2014

Good option

Room was really nice and the location is great. Staff was pleasant. The food was ok, though not a lot of options on site. Seemed a bit pricey for what you got. We ended up doing most dinners at the Fairmont up the road. I think next time we would either go a bit cheaper - i.e., the Hilton, or more up market - i.e., the Fairmont.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MikWra
Business
Temecula, CA
Oct 2, 2014

Weekend Getaway

We stayed here two years ago and loved it. Coming back was just as enjoyable. We explored other resorts in the area for possibilities, but we continue to return to the Mauna Lani. Perfect if you want direct access to excellent beach, pool. We prefer a location with few children, so this was perfect for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jetena
Business
Los Angeles, California
Sep 21, 2014

Great vacation

The staff were very friendly. Facility is great! We we upgraded to an ocean view room...huge bonus. The snorkeling is wonderful. Gear is included with the resort fee. Great service all around. We had a late flight 9:55 pm. While we we not granted a late check-out. We were allowed to use all hotel amenities and were given a hospitality room to shower and relax before we left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a shopping area with food court about a 2 mile drive down the highway. Here the food is reasonably priced. Hotel dining is a bit expensive.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
luv Mauna Lani
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 17, 2014

No better place...

Been here before. Visited other hotels. No comparison. BEST hotel for walk-to snorkling. Beautiful grounds, with amazing staff. Will be booking again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Some of the BEST snorkling on the Big Island is a 10-minute walk from this hotel. No other hotel can say that!

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sc82
Business
Newport Beach, CA
Jul 30, 2014

Mauna Lani

We have been coming here for 25 plus years. The ambiance is so perfect, laid back, and beautiful. Many of the staff members have been there for the long run and add to the charm. Mike, the beach bar, bartender is a gem and recognizes generations of customers. A relatively new addition is Chef Allen at the Canoe House who is really terrific. The only drawback is the tear down of the the beach restaurant which has led to a more limited beach menu. They are working on adding an outdoor grill which would be terrific. If you which to relax in a beautiful place and be completed relaxed, the Mauna Lani is the perfect spot. We will continue to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a shopping center within the complex complete with a market and restaurants. Easy bike, shuttle or walk

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
schmoemeister
Business
Spokane, WA
Apr 17, 2014

Has it all!

We stayed in Kona at a small condo and near Hilo in a cottage and ended our stay on the big island here at this beautiful place. Our room was so nice and the lanai overlooked the ocean and the pool (didn't expect that as we couldn't afford a "ocean view" room). Wonderful HOT hot tubs and the pool was brand new. Nice padded beach chairs with big cushy towels and cabanas at the beach and poolside and there were plenty to go around so you didn't have to scout out a place in the morning! You can rent snorkel gear right there on the beach (it was free if you get an upgrade on your day fee which also included a bunch of other stuff). We took the snorkel gear and walked a bit along the beautiful fish ponds to a WONDERFUL snorkeling area and a stunning beach. Staff was VERY friendly and food was wonderful at the bay cafe. My husband even took a water color class from a wonderful artist poolside one day - he LOVED it! We would go back in a heartbeat. You could stay here and not even need a car - has it all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We loved the Kona Brewing Company down in Kona (about 1/2 hr. drive) for lunch or dinner. Wonderful staff, food and just fun!! Beachside in Kona we also recommend Bongo Bens for breakfast and the Ono fish and chips at Quinns. There is a great place between the airport and Kona as well called the Pine Tree Cafe that had excellent food at a great price as well!

Back to menu Return to top