$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

4 stars
68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Kona (Big Island of Hawaii), HI 96743
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
127 reviews
Great Beach!

Be sure to request the bed you want on check-in. We didn't request a King and they gave us 2 queens... See full review

  • JBradley
  • May 15, 2014
Paradise!

This resort is one of the best I've ever been. I checked neighboring Fairmont and Hilton and they... See full review

  • Natalie V.
  • Apr 30, 2014
Waikoloa beachfront dream resort with golf, tennis, full spa and yoga
Fronting a luscious turquoise bay lined with powdery white sand, Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers guests a picture-perfect location in South Kohala's upscale Waikoloa. With award-winning tennis and spa amenities, grand guest accommodations -- nearly all with ocean views -- and unique activities such as turtle feeding, Travel + Leisure magazine consistently rates the resort as one of the "Top Hotels in the World."
Highlights
  • Join in the resort's many activities, ranging from historic petroglyph tours to beachside yoga classes
  • Tennis courts, ranked one of the "Top 50 Tennis Resorts" by Tennis Magazine
  • Experience one of the "World's Best Spas" per Travel + Leisure magazine, built to resemble a Hawaiian village
Location
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows is less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona, in the upscale and sunny community of Waikoloa. The resort fronts a sugary beach and cove, neighbored by an ancient fishpond. Guests enjoy excellent shopping at two malls several miles away.
Rooms
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers deluxe guest rooms with mountain, garden or ocean views and Beachfront Bungalows with private plunge pools. Guest rooms include a private balcony, personal bar, LCD flat-screen TV, Internet access and daily housekeeping service.
Features
Recreation
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows offers excellent recreational activities. Get friends together for a game of sand volleyball, or sign up for a class at the fitness center (fees may apply). For guests craving a bit of history, the hotel offers historic and educational tours and classes. The resort is also home to a spa, tennis club and two championship golf courses (fees apply).
Dining
Mauna Lani Bay offers a variety of dining experiences ranging from in-room private dining to the hotel's signature restaurant, The Canoehouse, serving fresh Island cuisine and a Wine Spectator "Award of Excellence" wine selection.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (22.4 mi/36.1 km)
Attractions
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (5 mi/8 km)
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
  • Hapuna Beach (6.8 mi/11 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (19.8 mi/31.8 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (28.6 mi/46 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (48.3 mi/77.8 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (102 mi/164 km)
Policies and fees
  • Resort fee is $25 plus tax per room per night inclusive of parking, Internet access, and other amenities and discounts.

  • Overnight parking fee is $18.00 plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows Rooms

Ocean View Room
The Ocean View guest rooms feature excellent views of the beach, ocean and the dynamic Kohala coast. In winter it is common to see humpback whales breaching. This room is perfect for guests who prefer to experience sunset or sunrise over the Pacific from the comfort of their private lanai
Standard Room
Overlooking the Mauna Kea Mountain, these rooms are the most affordable of the luxury guest rooms.
Garden View Room
The Garden View guest rooms offer views of the beautiful gardens of Mauna Lani Resort. This room is perfect for guests who prefer lush greenery.
Ocean Front Room
The Ocean Front guest rooms directly overlook the beach, palms and straight out onto the warm Pacific Ocean. The views are, of course, spectacular. In winter, it is common to see humpback whales breaching

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Hotel Map

19.9437 -155.8666
Area served
Kohala Coast - Kona, HI
Nearby airports
Kona International Airport-KOA
Area description
On 29 oceanfront acres at Kalahuipua'a on the Big Island's Kohala Coast, 23 miles north of the Kona International Airport. Flanked by Mauna Kea, Mauna Loa, Hualalai and the ancient Kohala Mountains in the distance. On Makaiwa Bay and three miles of secluded shoreline. Part of the 3,200 - acre Mauna Lani Resort located on ancient 16th century Kaniku lava flow and dotted with 15 acres of ancient springfed Hawaiian fishponds; historic park and preserves with petroglyphs; shelter caves and the restored King's Trail, Ala Loa. Lush grounds and ten spectacular man-made ponds teeming with tropical fish and Hawaiian green sea turtles. Seven inches of rainfall annually; average temperature 78' Fahrenheit.

Dining

Mountain Thunder Coffee Lanai
Hours: 7 days; 6am - 4pm
Huli Sue's at Mauna Lani
Located at the Golf Clubhouse overlooking the Golf Course and Kohala Coast. Daily Lunch 11:00am - 4:00 pm Dinner Tuesday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 8:00 pm
The CanoeHouse
Enjoy a creative farm-to-table menu of island fresh cuisine with a contemporary flair, as you relax and enjoy scenic Kohala Coast sunsets. Chef's Bites are served in the CanoeHouse Lounge. Seasonal Summer Schedule: Dinner served Tuesday - Saturday from 5:30 pm - 8:45 pm. Dinner reservations recommended. Call 808-881-7911, complimentary valet parking. Enjoy live entertainment from 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm. (Solo musician)
The Bay Terrace
The open-air garden setting of the Bay Terrace is the perfect location to enjoy a taste of the islands. Breakfast features a bountiful buffet and ala carte menu. Lunch offers fresh salads, sandwiches and island favorites including tropical drinks. Signature Dinner Buffets are served Sunday & Monday evenings. Dinner Buffet reservations are recommended. Call 881-7911 Breakfast Buffet: 6:30 am - 10:00 am Sample Menu Breakfast Ala Carte: 6:30 am -10:30 am Lunch: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm Sample Menu Dinner Buffets 5:00 pm - 8:30 pm Sunday & Monday

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
infernoc
Salt Lake City, UT
May 9, 2013

Ok. But Not Great. Did not feel like a 4 star hotel in the end.

Beware when booking a "not refundable rate". If concerns come up. The front desk treated us as if, what did you expect you booked through a discount site. *But to be fair when we brought up our concern to the manager. They comped our parking and sent us a complementary amenities at the next hotel we stayed at which was very nice. Note: the standard rooms face inward on the valet and parking lot and the hotel had 3 floors. So you are close to comings and goings a the hotel. Random things we observed: Sheets were scratchy, toilet paper was cheap, there is no separate light in the bathroom, and no black out curtains. All in all if you get for an amazing price it would be worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great Hawaiian Plate lunch place. Ippys Hawaiian Barbeque

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Feb 5, 2010

Great to disappointing..

From the moment we checked in, we felt very welcomed. The staff was very nice and very helpful. The room we checked into was small but comfortable, and with a great view overlooking the garden and the ocean. A good value for the price. We had previously decided to treat ourselves to a suite for the last two nights, and therefore moved to an ocean view suite, located on the six floor. The front desk staff was very efficient and ensured and easy move in no time with assistance to make it perfect. The view there was breathtaking. Full pool view as well as the ocean, no obstruction. The room was spacious, nice living room, great balcony. All was fine, until the next morning when we discovered a huge leak in the room and therefore had to move to a different room. We were upgraded to an ocean front suite. The space and shape of the room were poorly designed. The room was dark and the view, although ocean front, was definitely not as nice as the previous room. The furniture are old and the bathrooms (in all rooms) need to be remodeled. Pool side experience: nice pool, good menu choices (food and drinks), poor service. Dirty dishes were left uncleared for hours. On the other hand, the service we received by the beach front was perfect; friendly and professional. Breakfast experience: excellent. Great staff. Attentive, nice, warm, knowledgeable. The food was amazing. Buffet or a la carte breakfast, all foods looked good and tasted delicious. Spa: terrible. Do not ever get the special "Watsu" massage. It happens in a small "lava" pool, and is based on stretches and strokes under water. It sounds good and so unusual. Yet, it should definitely be more explanatory at time of booking. Hygiene wise is it... against all principles! You are in the water for a full hour with a woman (or a man if you prefer), a perfect stranger, in a swimming suit, holding you against her body, her face.. Although the stretches feel really good, just the thought of somebody you absolutely do not know holding you for that long, touching and manipulating your body, somewhat against hers, in all sorts of positions is.... repulsive (guys out there, you might think it sounds great, but trust me, it is not what you expect!). I would definitely rather recommend a regular massage where your body is covered and only the massage therapist's hands are touching you. And I am not a prude! Overall my experience at the Mauna Lani Bay Hotel was mediocre. The service at the front desk and at the restaurant, for breakfast, was good though and people really do care. The landscaping of the hotel is beautiful. Gorgeous gardens, nice pool, nice beach (although it didn't bother me, I have to say that this is not the best beach if you want to swim in the ocean due to the reefs all around, but it is beautiful). Not a bad place to stay, but the hotel definitely needs big time remodeling and improvements in quite a few areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast experience is the best part! Definitely do not skip it.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Feb 5, 2010

Great to disappointing..

From the moment we checked in, we felt very welcomed. The staff was very nice and very helpful. The room we checked into was small but comfortable, and with a great view overlooking the garden and the ocean. A good value for the price. We had previously decided to treat ourselves to a suite for the last two nights, and therefore moved to an ocean view suite, located on the six floor. The front desk staff was very efficient and ensured and easy move in no time with assistance to make it perfect. The view there was breathtaking. Full pool view as well as the ocean, no obstruction. The room was spacious, nice living room, great balcony. All was fine, until the next morning when we discovered a huge leak in the room and therefore had to move to a different room. We were upgraded to an ocean front suite. The space and shape of the room were poorly designed. The room was dark and the view, although ocean front, was definitely not as nice as the previous room. The furniture are old and the bathrooms (in all rooms) need to be remodeled. Pool side experience: nice pool, good menu choices (food and drinks), poor service. Dirty dishes were left uncleared for hours. On the other hand, the service we received by the beach front was perfect; friendly and professional. Breakfast experience: excellent. Great staff. Attentive, nice, warm, knowledgeable. The food was amazing. Buffet or a la carte breakfast, all foods looked good and tasted delicious. Spa: terrible. Do not ever get the special "Watsu" massage. It happens in a small "lava" pool, and is based on stretches and strokes under water. It sounds good and so unusual. Yet, it should definitely be more explanatory at time of booking. Hygiene wise is it... against all principles! You are in the water for a full hour with a woman (or a man if you prefer), a perfect stranger, in a swimming suit, holding you against her body, her face.. Although the stretches feel really good, just the thought of somebody you absolutely do not know holding you for that long, touching and manipulating your body, somewhat against hers, in all sorts of positions is.... repulsive (guys out there, you might think it sounds great, but trust me, it is not what you expect!). I would definitely rather recommend a regular massage where your body is covered and only the massage therapist's hands are touching you. And I am not a prude! Overall my experience at the Mauna Lani Bay Hotel was mediocre. The service at the front desk and at the restaurant, for breakfast, was good though and people really do care. The landscaping of the hotel is beautiful. Gorgeous gardens, nice pool, nice beach (although it didn't bother me, I have to say that this is not the best beach if you want to swim in the ocean due to the reefs all around, but it is beautiful). Not a bad place to stay, but the hotel definitely needs big time remodeling and improvements in quite a few areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast experience is the best part! Definitely do not skip it.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Walnut
Dec 7, 2008

Very confuse

The building is kinda old. the pool inside smell kinda not so good.. price is reasonable though.. and the ocean view is great ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Walnut
Dec 7, 2008

Very confuse

The building is kinda old. the pool inside smell kinda not so good.. price is reasonable though.. and the ocean view is great ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Timeline
South Carolina
May 4, 2010

Honeymoon

Ocean view was the end unit next to mountain view. Room over looked the utility building. Hotel was empty, they could have came us a better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

45-60 minute drive

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Timeline
South Carolina
May 4, 2010

Honeymoon

Ocean view was the end unit next to mountain view. Room over looked the utility building. Hotel was empty, they could have came us a better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

45-60 minute drive

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allen B.
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Sep 5, 2011

A Classic Beauty

The Mauna Lani is a fantastic and clssic Hawaiian property, The location is picture perfect and extremenly private. Trhe beach, seascape and grounds are immaculate and the amenities (spa, workout and tennis facility, bikes, water toys, etc.) are wonderful. The only dings that I have (and they are relatively minor) is that some of the property is a bit tired and dated, and the rooms are just OK. We stayed in a corner ocean-side room (the top room they offer) and while the room was spacious, the bathroom was old offering a standard tub/shower with a dated shower curtain - OK, just not 5-star!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There are 20-30 coffee plantations along the Kona side offering free tours and tastings. It's similar to a vineyard tour in Napa and well worth some time to explore.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Venice, CA
Dec 15, 2009

Lovely!

We met for a family Birthday celebration that could not be topped. The resort was lovely and the staff so friendly and helpful. The fish ponds all over the resort were facinating. The cabana chairs were delightful. All of the complimentary activities were great. The only complaint that I have (and it is minor!) is that the pool is not very exciting and is a bit isolated from the beach. We go to Mexico a lot and the pools tend to be right on the water with a negative edge. This was pretty traditional, but still fun to bob around in. The best part was the snorkeling and the sea turtles RIGHT THERE. We had an amazing time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate like kings the entire trip but Huli Sue's and Manta were the best. Sensai 1/2 price shushi on Sunday/Monday was great too, but a long line.

Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Bungalows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, Az
Jun 6, 2009

Mauna Lani Hotel

Mauna Lani is conveniently located on prime property with tremendous history and cultural significance to the Hawaians. The thought and preparation to preserve this property and enable the guest to enjoy it is exceptional. The director of cultural affairs has an office in the hotel and is active in educating those interested. There are multiple beaches available with staff and accomodations for snorkel, scuba, sunset cruises and nature walks. We took time to hike Mauna Kea, take in the volcanoes, soak up the sun, and thoroughly relax in this very nuturing and healing environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Take the morning walks along the beach trails in either direction and don't hesitate to meet "Danny" Akaka for a cultural tour of the property! If you have rented a car I highly recommend a drive up to the North point and back through Waimea. Saddle Road to Mauna Kea is spectacular as well.

Back to menu Return to top